Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Castle for €700,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

Life isn't a fairy tale :mad:Living in castles and dancing around bonfires, judging by that username I bet you're still waiting for your Knight in shining armour :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Xivilai wrote: »
    Life isn't a fairy tale :mad:Living in castles and dancing around bonfires, judging by that username I bet you're still waiting for your Knight in shining armour :D

Im waiting for my prince.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

That's an Offaly nice house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

Don't be silly. No one wants to live in Offaly. It's not even a real county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

That house is now cheaper than my parents house was valued at 4 years ago

....makes you think eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

Imagine the f*cking cleaning, not to mention dealing with the probable residential ghost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

Baracks great great great grandaddy probably grew up in that house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

f**k ive always wanted a castle, doesnt have to be a big one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭TomJoe Wallace

Look

http://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/busherstown-house-moneygall-co-offaly/1248452

It's a castle and it's in Moneygall.

I want it but sadly can't afford it. :(

Loads of people on boards should chip in and we could have it as a gathering place :D

Also

This room:
    http://photos.myhome.ie/media/2/5/4/1248452/100_37221_l.jpg

Is this not the room from Resident Evil 1?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Alter-Ego wrote: »
    That's an Offaly nice house.

That's an Offaly bad joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

HazDanz wrote: »
    Imagine the f*cking cleaning, not to mention dealing with the probable residential ghost.

Yes did you even consider the likelihood of other forlorn spirits living there? :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

the grounds are spectacular, not too keen on the inside of the castle, plus it would be a bitch to heat, but I'd pay it for the land alone if I had a spare 700k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

msg11 wrote: »
    That's an Offaly bad joke.
    More of a pun really...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Oh I like.

*checks wallet

Damn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

If I bought that every year i would have a rock concert in my back garden

and year after year the lineup would get worse and worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

RedXIV wrote: »
    That house is now cheaper than my parents house was valued at 4 years ago

....makes you think eh?

Rip Off Ireland

If when i win the euromillions tomorrow night. I'm buying it. This is the place i want to grow old in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Alter-Ego wrote: »
    More of a pun really...

True that. I looked at it as a joke. In that case not a bad pun..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

Oh I'd love to live in that castle. Offaly? Not so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭LK_Dave

its not a real castle unless it has a motte:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

And not a radiator in sight, Fukishima wouldn't warm it.

Although it'd be nice for when Barack returns, we'd be hanging, shooting the breeze, sipping cold ones.......

*shouts* "Michelle, two more beers, and hurry the fúck up. Jaysus Barack, where did ya pick that wan up?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

LK_Dave wrote: »
    its not a real castle unless it has a motte:p

Win the Euromillions
    Buy castle
    Dig Motte
    Fill with sharks that fire laser beams
    Peeew Peeeew

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

IfThis is the place i want to grow old in.

Anybody under 19 fucks off out of there the first chance they get so you'll feel old from the minute you move in anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Offaly?
    No thanks, i'd rather this one.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

Xivilai wrote: »
    Yes did you even consider the likelihood of other forlorn spirits living there? :o

I did :) I would get Scooby and the gang over to solve a murder mystery I guess as well while i'm at it :p

Plazaman wrote: »
    And not a radiator in sight, Fukishima wouldn't warm it.

Although it'd be nice for when Barack returns, we'd be hanging, shooting the breeze, sipping cold ones.......

*shouts* "Michelle, two more beers, and hurry the fúck up. Jaysus Barack, where did ya pick that wan up?"

Have you seen the amount of fireplaces in that place? That should keep us warm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I like the little add that says you can mortgage it with AIB for €2900 a month!
    They never learn, do they?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

What's wrong with Offaly :confused:

I bet most of you making those comments have never been there and know nothing about it. I'd much rather buy a castle in Offaly than Phibsboro or whatever other Dublin kip you'd care to name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Oh_Noes wrote: »
    What's wrong with Offaly :confused:

I bet most of you making those comments have never been there and know nothing about it. I'd much rather buy a castle in Offaly than Phibsboro or whatever other Dublin kip you'd care to name.

Didn't that muppet that tried unsuccessfully to run the country come from there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

jester77 wrote: »
    Didn't that muppet that tried unsuccessfully to run the country come from there?

One of them did. Sure if we were to randomly dislike every county that produced an incompetent politician there'd be nowhere left to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

If i won the euromillions id buy it!
    Id be all sacrilegious though and renovate the hell out of the inside of it :)

Prob be very bad for the old wifi !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Im waiting for my prince.

You're fucked so.

Wait...

Daft has got more pictues of the castle.

http://www.daft.ie/searchsale.daft?id=578148

Really want it. And the horse drawn gold carraiges. And the four poster bed.

I'd love to ring up and ask to view the place. It'll be a day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Lets not turn this into another Dublin v The Country thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

That's a proper bargain really.

Don't know whether to laugh or cry at the thought that people were paying almost that amount for crappy little apartments in the city during the boom..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

We better not let alison o'riordain see this.

Looks like serious value to me, that place would have been a few million a while back.

I'd imagine in about 10 yrs it will be back around the €2-3 Million mark.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Nice alright and very cheap. I'd be asking why. Then again practicalities come into it. Sadly. Unless you wanna sleep on bean bags you're gonna have to furnish the place and semi dee or apartment style furniture won't cut it. Then the upkeep. The roof alone could cause problems. You'd likely be starting at one end of the house going through and fixing all the problems and then back to the start again. Then the cost of heating the place. Mad money. 10 acres won't get you much in rental income. Then you're in the middle of bloody nowhere. Getting anything is a chore and unless you're self employed, online worker, writer, artiste where would you work? Even if I had the euromillions I'd be thinking no.

Me I'd be buying an actual castle/keep, not a georgian revival one. Something like http://www.viviun.com/AD-135597/ Massive walls, small windows so easier to heat. Easier upkeep too. Less delicate materials. They come up a fair bit. People don't seem to hang on to them for very long. Few years and then move on with the castle bug well sated. I reckon punt 700K at that one and they'd take it.

Though if I was going all property mad with nigh on a million to splash I'd be looking overseas. Get some seriously gorge period dwellings in Europe. Euromillions money? If I ever bought a ticket :D Hell buy a Greek island and live in a tent :Dhttp://www.privateislandsonline.com/nafsika-island.htm

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Morlar wrote: »
    I'd imagine in about 10 yrs it will be back around the €2-3 Million mark.

Thats the kind of talk that got us in trouble in the first place, wash your mouth out with soap!

phill106 wrote: »
    Thats the kind of talk that got us in trouble in the first place, wash your mouth out with soap!

Screw you hippy, I am about to apply for a massively over-extended 110% mortgage. Then I will build a moat and change my name to 'Colonel Mustard'. What can possibly go wrong ?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

**** me, nice gaff!

Potential typo? Got to be like 1.7 million unless the owners are really desperate.

Some yank will snap that up after seeing Obama on the telly I'd wager.

Edit: Love how the agent's name is Frank Knight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

HazDanz wrote: »
    AS far as I know all castles come with some English peasantry to act as butlers and the like.
    Wibbs wrote: »
    Me I'd be buying an actual castle/keep, not a georgian revival one. Something like http://www.viviun.com/AD-135597/ Massive walls, small windows so easier to heat. Easier upkeep too. Less delicate materials. They come up a fair bit. People don't seem to hang on to them for very long. Few years and then move on with the castle bug well sated. I reckon punt 700K at that one and they'd take it.
    Damp. It's the same with stone walled cottages they have no moisture barrier costs a fortune to get them sealed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

That isn't a castle, it's a castellated house.

Basically, the Georgian version of Euromillions winners built these sorts of houses. Not something that would be considered to be of particularly fine taste in architectural or property terms, hence the valuation. As far as I know the Minchin family who built it were in financial trouble at the time, and wanted an impressive looking downgrade, hence the castle effect on what is actually a pretty normal country house.

This property has a really nice folly still standing, which is actually the most interesting thing about it, but sadly appears not to be for sale.

There is no significant amount of land for sale with the property apart from what is on the avenue, I wouldn't really be convinced that this is a great deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

Wibbs wrote: »
    Nice alright and very cheap. I'd be asking why. Then again practicalities come into it. Sadly. Unless you wanna sleep on bean bags you're gonna have to furnish the place and semi dee or apartment style furniture won't cut it. Then the upkeep. The roof alone could cause problems. You'd likely be starting at one end of the house going through and fixing all the problems and then back to the start again. Then the cost of heating the place. Mad money. 10 acres won't get you much in rental income. Then you're in the middle of bloody nowhere. Getting anything is a chore and unless you're self employed, online worker, writer, artiste where would you work? Even if I had the euromillions I'd be thinking no.

Though if I was going all property mad with nigh on a million to splash I'd be looking overseas. Get some seriously gorge period dwellings in Europe. Euromillions money? If I ever bought a ticket :D Hell buy a Greek island and live in a tent :Dhttp://www.privateislandsonline.com/nafsika-island.htm

yeah nice gaff alright - thing is though, it looks and is furnished like a squat on the inside!! seriously, you'd think if you could afford castle you'd actually be bothered putting in some nice gear!

later10 wrote: »
    That isn't a castle, it's a castellated house.

Basically, the Georgian version of Euromillions winners built these sorts of houses. Not something that would be considered to be of particularly fine taste in architectural or property terms, hence the valuation. As far as I know the Minchin family who built it were in financial trouble at the time, and wanted an impressive looking downgrade, hence the castle effect on what is actually a pretty normal country house.

This property has a really nice folly still standing, which is actually the most interesting thing about it, but sadly appears not to be for sale.

There is no significant amount of land for sale with the property apart from what is on the avenue, I wouldn't really be convinced that this is a great deal.
    wasnt there 10 acres, or is that like one 100000 mile long driveway 50 feet wide and that is all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭ISDW

phill106 wrote: »
    wasnt there 10 acres, or is that like one 100000 mile long driveway 50 feet wide and that is all?

10 acres is really not a lot for a house that size. The field next to our house is 12 acres and it is surprisingly small.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

ISDW wrote: »
    10 acres is really not a lot for a house that size. The field next to our house is 12 acres and it is surprisingly small.

a mate of mine's mother leases out about 40 acres and makes just about enough to live on - so no, you're right. the ten acres wouldn't really be worth much in the grand scheme of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Morlar wrote: »
    We better not let alison o'riordain see this.

She's Americas problem now.