Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

21 Kisses

• 15-05-2011 9:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭

Can anyone please tell me where the Irish tradition, where you get 21 kisses on your 21st birthday, comes from??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Kya1976 wrote: »
    Can anyone please tell me where the Irish tradition, where you get 21 kisses on your 21st birthday, comes from??

beer goggles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭thehairyelbow

Some oul pervy uncle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Pervy 21 year olds. It's great to be 21! I'm passed it by a little bit, but it's a great tradition in my opinion.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

It was the only way farmers sons got the chance of a brief clinch with a woman and not a sheep. :D Good question though and I honestly have no clue, nor can recall any explanation for it.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Tradition or just drunkin ****e?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Its to test your self control around women, if you can get through all 21 without cracking a fat then you are a no longer a boy

Shryke wrote: »
    Pervy 21 year olds. It's great to be 21!
    this is true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

21 prostitutes would be a far better (if slightly costlier) idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

If your a male it prooves your THE MAN!!!,
    If your woman, it prooves your a tramp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

Wibbs wrote: »
    It was the only way farmers sons got the chance of a brief clinch with a woman and not a sheep. :D Good question though and I honestly have no clue, nor can recall any explanation for it.
    lol surely things can't be that bad:p:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Phoenix Park

lol surely things can't be that bad:p:pac:

nope, they really are that bhaaaad

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Well I for 1 wasn't complaining...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Shryke wrote: »
    Pervy 21 year olds. It's great to be 21! I'm passed it by a little bit, but it's a great tradition in my opinion.

Indeed. Especially when the birthday girl lets you slip the tongue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Dont know but I have yet to be at a 21st birthday party where the kisses dont start to get scarce on about the 12th of 13th kiss.

orourkeda wrote: »

or bog the hand :eek::D:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Onesimus

It was invented for unattractive geeks like myself to make us feel wanted.

Lookin forward though to when I'm 30.

Onesimus wrote: »
    It was invented for unattractive geeks like myself to make us feel wanted.

Lookin forward though to when I'm 30.

You get 30 slaps to the head for your 30th :(

Dont know but I have yet to be at a 21st birthday party where the kisses dont start to get scarce on about the 12th of 13th kiss.
    So the tradition is that it has to be from 21 different girls/blokes yes?

And sheep. Don't forget the sheep.

:eek::eek: Now I'm not looking forward to my next birthday :P:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

It must be a new tradition. It wasn't around when I was that age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

You never been at a 21st where they sit the birthday boy/girl down on a chair and people literally form a queue to get their peck? Usually has a DJ counting them and some terrible music in the background.

My best mate is a good looking woman but on her 21st she stood at the top of the room like a lamb to the slaughter waiting for the 21 kisses. Her face had turned bright red and after about the 15th kiss nobody was going up to kiss her. It slowly dragged to 19 kisses and at this stage her face was a nice shade of beetroot so me and another mate went up to give her the last 2 kisses. I would not mind but her boyfriend was too busy getting pissed at the bar to even notice. The poor girl.

ps I forgot to mention we are all members of the same family.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

My best mate is a good looking woman but on her 21st she stood at the top of the room like a lamb to the slaughter waiting for the 21 kisses. Her face had turned bright red and after about the 15th kiss nobody was going up to kiss her. It slowly dragged to 19 kisses and at this stage her face was a nice shade of beetroot so me and another mate went up to give her the last 2 kisses. I would not mind but her boyfriend was too busy getting pissed at the bar to even notice. The poor girl.

ps I forgot to mention we are all members of the same family.

Why weren't ye going up to kiss her anyway?!

Brothers have seniority where I come from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Cringe. That happend to a mate of mine. It was a stupid thing to do. It was in a quiet rural pub with a small crowd of mates. Like you said, after about 12, there was just his girlfriend left who was waiting to be the big 21st snog. Some people went outside to try to 'round up' some girls, all while my mate sat there like a tool. And worse again the DJ was playing that smoochy french duet song, aaagghh, can't think of the name of it). After some looking around and shoe shuffling the girlfriend had to get stuck in early. It was a disaster.

If anyone knows what song I am on about (all you mentalists out there), please tell me the name. The music is commonly used on jingles or tv ads where there is a bit of romance. A french guy singing and also a girl too. Kinda nice and kinda chessey. Slow tempo song.

Found it - Je t'aime, yuck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

It must be a new tradition. It wasn't around when I was that age.

It was. Nobody wanted to kiss you ( Apart from Mr.Perkins )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I didn't have this for mine :( is it all on the lips and all?

Same here.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Onesimus

Better than a stab in the eye with a sharp stick :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 F_Fitzy

I refused to have 21 kisses at mine. Its a stupid tradition and never works well. My sisters boyfriend didnt know of the tradition, so her 21st kiss was from a friend of my dads she had met for the first time that night. Mortified. And my friends boyfriend was in the toilet during the countdown, so there was an awkward 20 second pause between her 20th kiss and 21st.

I refused... best decision ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

orourkeda wrote: »

How did your sister react when you did that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭smiley girl

I was at a 30th birthday party last week and the birthday girl got 30 kisses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Depends on how close those friends are :p Then again, every 21st I've been to had someone practically getting the shift on the last kiss (last kiss a girl for a lad, last kiss for a lad a girl).
    Same here.:o
    Never bothered with a 21st myself, you're not missing out...oh wait you are, and so did I *cries in a corner*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

As well as the tradition of the quality of the kissers deteriorating as the toll gets into the teens, anyone remember the story of the girl who went through the rigmarole of the 21 kisses, then had to track down 20 of the boys a week later after some randomer who'd been dragged into the affair was diagnosed with meningitis? Or was that just a 90s urban legend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I'm thankful I never had the traditional 21st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

As meningitis isn't particularly contagious, I'd doubt it.

Edit: Meningitis can be spread by kissing or human contact. My bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Cringe. That happend to a mate of mine. It was a stupid thing to do. It was in a quiet rural pub with a small crowd of mates. Like you said, after about 12, there was just his girlfriend left who was waiting to be the big 21st snog. Some people went outside to try to 'round up' some girls, all while my mate sat there like a tool. And worse again the DJ was playing that smoochy french duet song, aaagghh, can't think of the name of it). After some looking around and shoe shuffling the girlfriend had to get stuck in early. It was a disaster.

If anyone knows what song I am on about (all you mentalists out there), please tell me the name. The music is commonly used on jingles or tv ads where there is a bit of romance. A french guy singing and also a girl too. Kinda nice and kinda chessey. Slow tempo song.

Found it - Je t'aime, yuck
    lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

It didn't happen when I was 21 nor with any of my mates. Fairly sure it's a recent-ish thing. My memory from those days is a bit unreliable though so you never know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Circus_O

Slightly off topic but in searching for 21 kisses traditions i stumbled upon this

http://www.metro.co.uk/weird/821591-evil-clown-hired-for-stalking-threats-and-a-pie-in-the-face

Yes, an evil clown parents hire to scare their kids
    Dominic Deville stalks young victims for a week, sending chilling texts, making prank phone calls and setting traps in letterboxes.

He posts notes warning children they are being watched, telling them they will be attacked.

But Deville is not an escaped lunatic or some demonic monster.

He is a birthday treat, hired by mum and dad, and the ‘attack’ involves being splatted in the face with a cake.
    Well, glad i'm not swiss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Onesimus wrote: »
    Better than a stab in the eye with a sharp stick :pac:

That's for a fortieth. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Is it particularly an Irish thing ? I don't think so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Been at two 18ths in the last few months and they got 18 kisses. That's cheating, imo!
    In fairness, I think the both of them got more kisses off the lads than they did girls.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

I didnt have a traditional 21st thank god so didnt have to endure that!
    Always found it fairly cringey to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Have only seen it done once, and had enough booze on board to hijack the queue and give a mate of mine his 21st kiss. His girlfriend was none too pleased :o Stupid thing to do anyway. Most awkward point of the whole night.

Azureus wrote: »
    I didnt have a traditional 21st thank god so didnt have to endure that!
    Always found it fairly cringey to be honest.

Sounds like most people agree with that.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

It was done to me at my 21st, cringe worthy!!! It's a bit of a laugh...but i felt so used afterwards :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

i was in amsterdam for the 21st so didnt get to do the 21 kisses and quite frankly i'm glad. i would say it is horribly awkward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

The tradition is the last kiss is from the mother but if you've a girlfriend/boyfriend do they give the last kiss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Load of bollix, my 21st was the same as any other Saturday out, one thing I would never do is a have a party to celebrate any birthday, just not my thing