Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drink companies and their gimmicks

• 14-05-2011 7:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭

Last night I was drinking a few cans of Carling, and plastered all over the can is "NEW Cold Indicator".

Apparently when the little padlock on the can turns blue, the can is cold and ready to drink.

Now, I have some problems with this:
    - why can't people use their common ****ing sense and feel the can to see if it's cold; why rely on a gimmick?

Also on the can are the following statements:
    - "improved seam for great taste protection"
    - "in can liner for great taste protection"

...what the hell is the world coming to? What do you make of this?
    Btw I bought the cans because they were cheap, not because I'm a sucker for gimmicks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

...what the hell is the world coming to? What do you make of this?
    Btw I bought the cans because they were cheap, not because I'm a sucker for gimmicks

....that unless they were giving them away, theres no excuse for having carling, and that it was considered unworthy even for snakebite 'back in the day'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Believe it or not,i just opened my first can of Coors light and i noticed how blue the thing was,although the can was in the fridge the last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭ride-the-spiral

Beer drinkers are idiotic peasants who need to be informed by coloured cans when a beverage is suitable for consumption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

One mans gimmick is anothers mans marketing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Beer drinkers are idiotic peasants who need to be informed by coloured cans when a beverage is suitable for consumption.

And in what beverage, Sir, do you partake?
    If you say 'cider', then you're gay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

When I was a barman, we had a fridge for Carlsberg glasses.
    And the rep gave up these realy tall stylish Carlsberg glasses. The idea being the glass came from the fridge so your pint would be realy cold

I loved the idea!

And used to specifically ask for a drink from this fridge when I was on the right side of the counter

And in what beverage, Sir, do you partake?
    If you say 'cider', then you're gay
    Since when did cider become gay?

When I was a barman, we had a fridge for Carlsberg glasses.
    And the rep gave up these realy tall stylish Carlsberg glasses. The idea being the glass came from the fridge so your pint would be realy cold

I loved the idea!

And used to specifically ask for a drink from this fridge when I was on the right side of the counter

That's not a gimmick, that's physics.

The most effective advertising tricks are the ones that you don't even consciously notice.

Such as? That's interesting. Any links I could read about this? (btw this is a genuine interest, not a smart-arse reply!:pac:)

Nodin wrote: »
    Since when did cider become gay?

Not gay in the homosexual sense, in the 'hahaha your gay' childhood slagging sense. I don't know, there's just something weird about seeing a man drink cider - it's for the wimmen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭van der vart

....that unless they were giving them away, theres no excuse for having carling, and that it was considered unworthy even for snakebite 'back in the day'.

What do you mean, back in the day, im drinking it now :confused:

Not gay in the homosexual sense, in the 'hahaha your gay' childhood slagging sense. I don't know, there's just something weird about seeing a man drink cider - it's for the wimmen.

....cider was for a long time the drink of choice for the skins, punks and other heads down various lanes, over walls and hidden in the shrubbery of certain parks. As a former "cider crazed youth" of the 80's, I'm somewhat suprised to see its now considered so upmarket as to be 'gay'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I fùcking hate unnecessary spoilers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

hahahahaha, cider is just for women?

you must drink in wine bars do ya

Ive never seen a woman drinking a flagon of cider!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

TheZohan wrote: »
    I fùcking hate unnecessary spoilers.
    ****ing pain in the hole they are, CTLA FTW!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Enough with the spoiler

What does CTLA mean?

Colorado Trial Lawyers Association

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 304 ✭✭WhiteRussian

barone wrote: »
    hahahahaha, cider is just for women?

you must drink in wine bars do ya

Cider is for feminine men;

"Oh how I love the sweet taste of cider. It is reminiscent of a male ejaculation in my mouth and tastes like the sweet jizz that decorates my tonsils"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

Ive never seen a woman drinking a flagon of cider!

You've never seen me then. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

It's called "added value" OP. Considering the per unit cost of a single can is measured as a slim percentage of the final retail sale, producers need to keep coming up with new gimmicks to justify their high prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

It's actually a very clever move. You see these "beers" are piss. But, as long they are really, really cold, people don't notice. That's why you have the blue thing on Coors, the Budweiser and Heineken Extra cold taps and now this Carling thing.

Karona wrote: »
    You've never seen me then. :D

You sound like my kinda woman so ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Oranage2 wrote: »
    One mans gimmick is anothers mans marketing!
    One mans gimmick is another mans marketing, is another mans profit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Cider isn't a womans drink :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

This thread is head-wreaking on m.boards...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

GalKiefer wrote: »
    This thread is head-wreaking on m.boards...
    Is it because of all the spoilers
    ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

The ice on those ice taps in bars actually has no cooling effect on the beer whatsoever, it is purely for show. The cost of maintaining one single ice tap is approximately €500 annually.

I do not understand cold beer drinkers... you can't even taste it. Though I suppose if you drink Bud or Carling that's quite an advantage.

The ice on those ice taps in bars actually has no cooling effect on the beer whatsoever, it is purely for show. The cost of maintaining one single ice tap is approximately €500 annually.

I do not understand cold beer drinkers... you can't even taste it. Though I suppose if you drink Bud or Carling that's quite an advantage.

So you drink warm beer,just so you can taste it?

Yes. I drink ale at 12 to 15 degrees celcius if possible.

You sound like a craic to go out with,its no surprise your from Kilkenny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

over time the market will judge if its worthwhile ...though 500 p a is a lot

think of the environmental cost multiplied by thousands too

I agree. My own view is that the ice cold beer is here to stay but the ice taps will disappear once every beer company starts doing them and they are not a novelty any more. This will significantly reduce the cost of running them.
    You sound like a craic to go out with,its no surprise your from Kilkenny

Yea I'm a fucking riot man, we should totally meet up and talk about refrigeration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭Floodric

We have Bud Ice in work, but not the useless ice tap and it still sells like mad. The novelty is well worn off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Adyx wrote: »
    It's actually a very clever move. You see these "beers" are piss. But, as long they are really, really cold, people don't notice. That's why you have the blue thing on Coors, the Budweiser and Heineken Extra cold taps and now this Carling thing.

Actually I think it makes them even worse.

Was drinking Heineken Extra Cold the other night. Managed 4 pints all night. Think I actually gagged a few times!

mconigol wrote: »
    Actually I think it makes them even worse.

Was drinking Heineken Extra Cold the other night. Managed 4 pints all night. Think I actually gagged a few times!

Have you tried removing the penis from your mouth before sipping?

Yes. I drink ale at 12 to 15 degrees celcius if possible.

You, Sir, are an Abomination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

i dont get all the carling hatrid for 1 euro a can max you cant do any better , 12 cans for a tenner in tescos , better value and better tasting than dutch, bav, zyveks , pratzki or most of the other cheap beers

sure most of the carling sold in ireland ends up in my gaf anyway with or without taste lock cans and flavour seals and whatever other shíte they want to put on it

Cider isn't a womans drink :confused:

Some women like Bulmers in the pub.

Mind you, last time I was in an off-licence and noticed the cider selection they only had 2 litres of feckin Bulmers. No Merrydown, Olde English, Special Vat...or the rare but feckin lethal Orchard Glow.....cheap, nasty, strong....might even have been sat next to an apple at some stage in its production.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

You've obviously never had a 2 litre burst over your head. Cider is only out manned by carlsberg special brew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Bambi wrote: »
    You've obviously never had a 2 litre burst over your head. Cider is only out manned by carlsberg special brew

if only we sold that stuff here :( its great and gets you wánkered

Actually there was a kind of pils that came in a can with brown stripes that was lethal. That was expensive, but what was used for snake bite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭jt69er

Who told you this?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Duff Light & Duff Dry are both the same as regular Duff beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Absolutely. I like my beer a tad chilled but not freezing cold. I have to be able to taste the beer.

Now that's a great beer. Ever had Carlsberg Elephant? Can get it in Germany - blows the head off ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Now that's a great beer. Ever had Carlsberg Elephant? Can get it in Germany - blows the head off ya.

It's sh1te!

Strong alcohol taste ruins the beer. You should try some of the Belgian stuff, lovely strong beer flavour and plenty of strength.

In relation to the 'cool' icon on Carling the brand is owned by Molson Coors who introduced the icon on Coors Light a few years back.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    It's sh1te!

Strong alcohol taste ruins the beer. You should try some of the Belgian stuff, lovely strong beer flavour and plenty of strength.

Yeah I agree, but this was years ago during a teenage holiday to Germany so getting fuckfaced was our aim - the ruining of the taste meant nothing to us!
    Yeah I've tried a few heavy Belgian beers, Duval (sp?) is one of my favourites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

I don't get this ice-cold beer stuff. I'm not a beer snob. Occasionally I'll go to a pub that does "proper" beers, but I'll happily drink Heineken in a pub and Tuborg at home and I was grand alternating between Bud and Carlsberg yesterday. But beer isn't supposed to be at a near freezing temperature. It literally kills the taste. Fridge temperature is what lager is supposed to be served at, so between 4 and 6 degrees, and even then some people would argue that's too cold. Other beers like ales, stouts and porters are meant to be served even warmer. This is all being done for people who don't even like the drink their drinking.

I understand drinking for a buzz, I'm guilty of it myself. But would you really be bothered if you had to drink something you don't even like?