Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how fast can you get caught going, without losing license.

• 13-05-2011 1:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭

A family member got caught going well fast on the motorway today.
    The garda wasnt nasty about it at all, but he did make sure she saw the error of her ways.

im worried for her that it might lead to more than two points and a 80e fine.
    Does anybody here know how its determined to fine or take the license?

she has two points already, also speeding but these are nearly expired and she was only a smidge over back then. Today tho, she was bombing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

AFAIK speeding is always 2 points/€80, regardless of the speed. As long as she isn't charged with dangerous or careless driving that should be the end of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

when i was younger i was stopped by the guards who said i was doing 95, I knew they were wrong because i was actually going faster and they never showed me any proof of my speed, 2 points and a fine of 60 r 80 euro i think i got, iv slowed down since before anyone has a go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭muad_dib77

Anan1 wrote: »
    AFAIK speeding is always 2 points/€80, regardless of the speed. As long as she isn't charged with dangerous or careless driving that should be the end of it.

good stuff. im assuming mr garda wouldve mentioned it when he pulled her over if he was going to do any of those things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

muad_dib77 wrote: »
    good stuff. im assuming mr garda wouldve mentioned it when he pulled her over if he was going to do any of those things.
    if she was going to be charged i think she would have been arrested

when i was younger i was stopped by the guards who said i was doing 95, I knew they were wrong because i was actually going faster and they never showed me any proof of my speed, 2 points and a fine of 60 r 80 euro i think i got, iv slowed down since before anyone has a go

ah this guy guy whipped out the laser gun, and made her do an alco test. all above board.

if she was going to be charged i think she would have been arrested

okidoki. shes here with me now, so no arrests :)

thanks for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Depends really.

I've heard of cases where they say nothing then a summons comes in the post a few months later :/

Their not required to say anything on the spot and some won't because direct confrontation is more hassle.

Depends really.

I've heard of cases where they say nothing then a summons comes in the post a few months later :/

Their not required to say anything on the spot and some w
    on't because direct confrontation is more hassle.

uhoh. thats nasty.

shes only a little thing, i doubt the garda wouldve been intimidated by her. id better just say nothing for the next month, and we will see if she gets a summons.

fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

What was the speed and what type of road/speed limit was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

How fast is "well fast"? Is anything above 160km considered dangerous driving or did I imagine that?

she was a motorway so limit was 120.
    speed on gun was 173.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

Ha fair play to the cops for actually catching her at that speed! I'd imagine if you were being done for dangerous driving it would be there and then thou

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

It's pretty simple really, if the Garda went to the bother of taking down her name and address but did not issue a ticket there and then she will almost certainly get a summons and it may be a lot longer than a month before it arrives. I wouldn't count my chickens until at least November to assume that he just forgot or figured that he had caught enough that day to meet his quota normal tally of speedsters.

You said she 'got caught going well fast' so I assume by that you mean that she was well over the limit in which case the Garda is exercising his right to take her straight to court without the option of just paying a fixed fine.

Given that she has already racked up points for speeding she can expect a hefty fine and more points if/when she gets to court.

edit: I see she was doing 173, I'd bring my toothbrush to the court!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭rubberdecky

She may be only a litle thing but she has a heavy right foot!!
    173kmph, bloody hell!!
    No excusing that, 2 points is a joke for that kind of dangerous speed imho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

speed on gun was 173.

Any particular reason for doing this speed?

She may be only a litle thing but she has a heavy right foot!!
    173kmph, bloody hell!!
    No excusing that, 2 points is a joke for that kind of dangerous speed imho
    Given the right conditions, 173km/h on a motorway can be quite safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

Anan1 wrote: »
    Given the right conditions, 173km/h on a motorway can be quite safe.

yip. if its straight and theres no other traffic. however, its going to take a bit of arguing in court. I remember seeing a similar dangerous driving case dropped as the defendant argued that the road was visibly clear and straight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Ah, let's not start this again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Satanta

From drivingschoolireland.ie
    You will be banned from driving if you are convicted in court of an offence such as drink driving, dangerous driving or leaving the scene of a crash. You will be banned from driving as a result of the conviction alone, no matter how many penalty points are on your licence record.
    The courts can issue driving bans for any offences involving vehicles, not just the offences already resulting in automatic bans. The court will decide the period of the ban in each case.

Depends if they think her speeding can be charged as dangerous driving I guess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

173kph means court i'm afraid. She'll need a solicitor to represent her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭board_stiff

Was she issued with a speeding ticket at the time?

I know in the case of speed cameras that there is no grading based on how much over the limit you are. i.e If you are 10km over the limit or 90km over the limit it is a standard 2 points and €80 fine and that's it.

However if caught by a guard I assume they could claim that the driver was found to be driving carelessly which carries a mandatory court appearance where points and fine will be decided.

If she has received the speeding ticket then I would say it's case closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Bearcat wrote: »
    173kph means court i'm afraid. She'll need a solicitor to represent her.

Are you making that up?

Gardai on this forum have confirmed several times that if you speed on an empty motorway, even if you do 300km/h, you only get a €80 fine and 2 penalty points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

speed on gun was 173.

No ticket there and then correct ?

Expect summons for careless driving. Could even be for dangerous driving depending on the garda.

Be glad if its just a fixed fine notice for speeding.

Engage solicitor if summons comes.

(I noticed refernence to assurances from authorities to the effect that speeding simpliciter is always just a ticket - that has not been my experience)

guys

jesus

i wasnt trying to start a debate on road safety here.

shes aware it was a.stupidy speed to be doing, and theres no excuse for it.

safe or not is determined by too many factors other than the driver, so lets just not go there.

i was really just hoping to find out how much sh.t shes in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

unkel wrote: »
    Are you making that up?

Gardai on this forum have confirmed several times that if you speed on an empty motorway, even if you do 300km/h, you only get a €80 fine and 2 penalty points.

Actually, I'd be of the opinion if you can do 300km/h you'll get off scott free. The aul mondeo's don't have that much acceleration :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

speed on gun was 173.

Just because she was on a motorway doesn't mean the limit was 120, she could have been in the 100 zone. Did she just tell you she was on a motorway or did she say she was in a 120 zone?

BDJW wrote: »
    Just because she was on a motorway doesn't mean the limit was 120, she could have been in the 100 zone. Did she just tell you she was on a motorway or did she say she was in a 120 zone?

true that.

its a 120zone where she got nabbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

The general rule of thumb is twice the speed limit will land you infront of a judge. Now this is printed nowhere and is the opinion of a few garda friends of mine. This again is to them only and not the opinion of AGS.

Its all relative, i mean if you were doing 70km outside a school say and the limit was 50km which sometimes ive seen 30km posted, then you would quite rightly be done for it. I however have done 140km on the motorway and passed Gardai with the gun out and nothing has happened. (saying that at the time a car was passing me and they went after him)

I have also been in several cars when the driver was caught doing over the posted speed limit and none of them got a "Ticket" so im wondering where this has come from about Tickets.

Normally you get the odd "Expect something in the post" comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

coylemj wrote: »
    It's pretty simple really, if the Garda went to the bother of taking down her name and address but did not issue a ticket there and then she will almost certainly get a summons
    They don't issue tickets at the roadside. At least they don't always.

She should receive a fixed penalty notice in the post within two weeks. If she doesn't, then there may be a summons on the way.

AFAIK, Gardai have the option to bypass the fixed penalty notice and bring you straight to court for serious speeding, but in general if you've been doing something crazy, they'll opt for dangerous driving or similar.

There's no set definition on what is or isn't crazy speeds, as speed limits are often arbitrarily set. So 80km/h on one 50km/h road might be pushing it a bit whereas 70km/h on another might be absolute madness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭shogunpower

as far as i know it was always that if you were over 100mph its court or under 100mph its the usual fine, so looks like shell have to buy a suit for court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Could you ring the Garda and ask him ?

Might put you out of your misery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭board_stiff

cronin_j wrote: »
    I have also been in several cars when the driver was caught doing over the posted speed limit and none of them got a "Ticket" so im wondering where this has come from about Tickets.

Normally you get the odd "Expect something in the post" comment.

I have only had one experience of it and it was about 6-7 years ago but as I recall the Garda asked the driver for his drivers license, went back to his car for a few minutes and came back with a speeding "ticket" he had written up and told him to pay it in the local station, which he did. He got a letter a couple of months later saying he had 2 points added to his license.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

as far as i know it was always that if you were over 100mph its court or under 100mph its the usual fine.

That was what I had heard aswell, didn't know if it was true or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

I was done for 172 kph on the motorway, and while the guard was a bit grumpy about it, all I got was the standard €80/2 points in the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Clocked at 173kmph would mean you're speedo showing around 185kmph. Would I be right in saying that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Fizman wrote: »
    Clocked at 173kmph would mean you're speedo showing around 185kmph. Would I be right in saying that?

If the real speed was 173km/h (real speed is not necessarily the same sas the clocked speed), the indicated speed must legally be somewhere between 173km/h and 194km/h

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

unkel wrote: »
    Are you making that up?

no unkel......I was told by a traffic cop the same but doctors differ. I hope your right. Some cops will read the riot act anything over 160kph.

Regards and I was'nt trying to stir it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,494 ✭✭✭harr

the girl wont know till the summons or the fixed fine comes in the post and she could be waiting up 4 months for that.
    Its all depends on the guard that stopped her,i have heard of lads getting done for dangerous driving at lower speeds,she would be better of trying to contact the guard in question to find out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

I'd be prepared for the worst if it were myself :D

I'd expect a summons. Then if you only get 2 points and an €80 fine it'd be a nice surprise :D

Anyone else point out it can't have been a clear motorway if at least the guards where there? Or how long did they take to catch up? Havn't read through all the posts, just a glance :D

as far as i know it was always that if you were over 100mph its court or under 100mph its the usual fine, so looks like shell have to buy a suit for court.
    BDJW wrote: »
    That was what I had heard aswell, didn't know if it was true or not

This is more or less the rule of thumb in the UK which is probably why its quoted here too but I dont actually think its the case here.

Its not just over 100 either iirc, there is an amount over each limit which can land you in court, i.e. 50mph in a 30 zone. I dont think any of this applies in Ireland and its a case by case basis and the vast majority result in 2 points and a fine I would say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭Keith186

A family member got caught going well fast on the motorway today.
    The garda wasnt nasty about it at all, but he did make sure she saw the error of her ways.

im worried for her that it might lead to more than two points and a 80e fine.
    Does anybody here know how its determined to fine or take the license?

she has two points already, also speeding but these are nearly expired and she was only a smidge over back then. Today tho, she was bombing it.

OP, she might be alright.

I won't be going into it but I was caught going faster in an 80 km/h zone. Had a chat (rollicking) with the Garda for a while and he sent me on my way with two points and €80 fine.
    I was lucky, the other Garda there wanted court and disqualification!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

Speeding tickets and penalties should be proportional to the extent to which you are over the limit as in many countries, 89Kmh in a 60 zone should not penalised more than 68kmh. Likewise having no motor tax for a week should be less than for 6 weeks. Parking 10 mins over a meter should not attract the same sanction as being there for 90 mins over.

It is the lack this kind of detail that brings leads to a lack of support for Irish laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

That's only just over 100mph... while it's 'more' dangerous if there was a lot of traffic around or it was wet, I don't think it's really dangerous per se.

Although I have definitely heard of that '100+ = court' thing before.

'Dangerous' depends on the conditions and also the car.

With that being said, today the traffic on the M7 was at about 120-130kmh in the overtaking lane, it was raining pretty heavily and there was a few cm's of water lying on the road, and a middle aged guy in an S-Class Merc came flying from the left-most lane right into the overtaking lane in 1 diagonal movement (3 lane motorway) in front of me at, at least, 190kmh and I nearly sh!t myself.

Anyways OP, I think you're obliged to tell her to cop on before she causes herself or someone harm and I'd be watching all the letters you get in the post for the next month or two!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

Jes*s you have to love the way all these threads turn into complete brawls!

Firstly, In relation to the OP's question - IMHO I would imagine that she would have given some sort of indication if it was likely that she would get more than the normal 2 penalty points and €80.

As someone else said the best thing for her to do would probably be to talk to the officer and see what it has to say. I was in a situation where I got pulled over for going through a light that turned amber as I entered into the junction. When I went in to show my license I sat down and talked to the Sargent and discussed the matter. He agreed with me and discussed it with the Garda in question. They didn't issue the penalty points.

At the end of the day the Gardai are people too and will listen to you make a rationale argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

I wouldn't worry unduly about the fact that she didn't get a ticket there and then. Nobody I know caught for speeding did and all got the usual fine and points in the post so I wouldn't say it's an ominous sign!

*dreams of being able to go 173km in her Yaris*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

Shane732 wrote: »
    At the end of the day the Gardai are people too and will listen to you make a rationale argument.

While I absolutely hate people high-horsing it about speeding... you'd want to have some balls to try and talk your way out of this ticket.

What sort of rational argument could you put forward to a Garda to condone 173km/h?
    Unless she said she was in labour (the pregnant variety that is) at the scene, I doubt she'd have much of an excuse.

If you mean just ring to ask the guy what you should expect, then that's fair enough and I'll completely backtrack.. :D

It's not just marginally over the limit though, it's way over the limit so, if it were me, I would just keep my mouth shut and hope I get the points in the post rather than the summons.

If I were a Garda and I hadn't made my mind up about whether to issue a standard fine or issue a summons, and the offending woman rang me about it, I might deem that as possibly her trying to influence my decision... I'd send her the summons.

Maybe I'm just an as$hole though.. :)

Vertakill wrote: »
    While I absolutely hate people high-horsing it about speeding... you'd want to have some balls to try and talk your way out of this ticket.
    There's no such thing as 'high-horsing', it's a meaningless insult bandied about by those unable to compose a decent argument. FWIW, I was once let go after flashing a (completely unmarked) Megane out of the overtaking lane at 105mph on the M50. It's a lot tougher, though, when it's a dedicated speed trap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

Vertakill wrote: »

With that being said, today the traffic on the M7 was at about 120-130kmh in the overtaking lane, it was raining pretty heavily and there was a few cm's of water lying on the road, and a middle aged guy in an S-Class Merc came flying from the left-most lane right into the overtaking lane in 1 diagonal movement (3 lane motorway) in front of me at, at least, 190kmh and I nearly sh!t myself.

Thought the M7 was only two lanes, at Naas north it changes to the N7 and 3 lanes with a 100kph limit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Limerick Bandit

Fizman wrote: »

173Kph = 108mph

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

173Kph = 108mph

What he means is that car speedos often over read, often by up to 10%.

So if the actual road speed was 173, the driver may have been shown a speed of 190 on the speedo.