Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do people from Dublin south speak with american accents?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

so you can hear how stupid somebody is before you start talking to them

Yeah, 'cos accents are like, so easy to judge a person by

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Its my field!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Why do people from the south-east speak so intelligently and articulately, while at the same time retaining the irishness in their accent? Its incredible. :D

Why do birds suddenly appear...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭this is arse

Why do i fart so much :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Why do i fart so much :)

Why did my PC shutdown when I clicked on your attachment?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Korvanica wrote: »
    Why do northsiders talk like this?

He from the Southside though.

St Pats fan. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

daveyc21 wrote: »
    Why do people from Dublin south speak with american accents?

I'm pretty sure Tallaght is on the southside and I havent heard many barrack obamas or jay lenos out that way. I suppose on your point though there is a lot of britneys and beyonces

You're in the wrong part of Dublin.

If you head over to Crumlin and Drimnagh, you'll hear it everywhere.

macman2010 wrote: »
    Anybody who talks with an american accent is either a posh wannabe or someone who took the J1 working holiday in the states way to seriously.
    sometimes is a combo of both.:rolleyes:

oooorrrrr, now correct me if I'm wrong, but they might, just might mind, be American!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,398 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Why are north siders all knackers? They're actually just wannabe knackers, I live on the west side, we're real knackers. We think coolock is posh

• Registered Users Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

Lapin wrote: »
    He from the Southside though.

St Pats fan. :D

Hah oops... :rolleyes:

Ok Dubs in general :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

and also certain areas of north Dublin like Malahide?

Coming from a Corkman, the exact same thing happens in Cork. People from the southside here used insults like "you douchebag" or "you moron" and the accents sound right from hollywood.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

Especially the fellas from Rochestown/West Douglas and Blackrock areas. They're all about the "dude" and "thats awesome" with those ridiculous runners that go just above the ankle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I'm foine with the accent ,it's noice to have such a variation and moi friends all agree

^ The loiez outta ya ;)

Happy froiday everybody 0/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

CHealy wrote: »
    Especially the fellas from Rochestown/West Douglas and Blackrock areas. They're all about the "dude" and "thats awesome" with those ridiculous runners that go just above the ankle.

yes..I hate the "dude" and "awesome" lads from S Dublin...Usually lads called oisin and podge etc...very punchable type of people..

Do you usually use violence towards people who sound different to your ears?

What a violent land you live in. Must avoid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

• Registered Users Posts: 968 ✭✭✭fatbhoy

And why do all culchies have lisps?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,218 ✭✭✭Goose81

and also certain areas of north Dublin like Malahide?
    Its only 16 year old girls who have a slight American twang that they grow out of,as for the others its just a well spoken accent.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

why do boggers suddenly get an american accent when they hit the Dublin boundary?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,368 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Simple answer is they don't, but teenager mimic TV they watch .

• Registered Users Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Why do people from Dublin south speak with american accents

We don't and I don't think Americans speak with south Dublin accents either. So that just leaves the possibility of your ears needing their 10,000 mile service and a bit of retuning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Predator_

Because they are idiots. They should be deported