Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Disgusting

• 11-05-2011 10:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/boy-12-suicidal-over-torment-by-preteen-bullies-says-mum-2643440.html
    A two-year campaign of harassment by primary school bullies has driven a 12-year-old boy to the brink of suicide, his mother has revealed.
    The desperate mum reported the intimidation to gardai after his tormenters set up a profile for him on a gay adult website.
    The Wicklow woman, who wishes to remain anonymous for fear her son would be subjected to further abuse, told how for the past two years pre-teen bullies have made his life a misery.
    "He's been so upset and frustrated and keeps asking 'why me? I'm not the one who did anything wrong. Why are they attacking me?'" she said. "He loves school but he just does not want to go there anymore. "At the lowest point, he has been suicidal."
    The case bears similarities to the Phoebe Prince tragedy. The Irish teen killed herself after suffering physical and online abuse at a high school in Massachusetts.
    Despite the best efforts of the family and the school, the bullying, which she described as physical and verbal, has escalated over the past two years and even gone online.
    Two months ago, after being tipped off by a teacher, the mum discovered the Facebook page which openly mocked the youngster and contained disturbing messages.
    "Adult males from everywhere in the world were coming onto the page because links to the page had been put on gay websites and then I really began to wonder 'where do I go now?'
    "It stunned me, all I could ask was why and how could someone steal someone's identity in this manner?"
    And while her child hadn't seen the page, the bullies were teasing him about it during school.
    Within days, after gardai were contacted, the page was removed but the ordeal has left the family in distress.
    The mum says no one has been punished and the bullying goes on.
    "I was in such a state I thought I was going to have a heart attack. The doctor said I was suffering from constant panic

shocking..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

A possible solution here is a) you go the school. b) if not handled to your satisfaction you go to the police c) no solution you settle it yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 OhMeOhMy

As a primary teacher myself, I think a lot more should be done about this kinda thing within the school and in ALL cases, prevention is better than cure. No tolerance for bullying stressed to the kids from DAY ONE. Get the kids discussing bullying, make them understand that there is no such thing as an 'innocent bystander.'
    Also going on for two years? Disgraceful. I'd like to know what was being done in the run up to this to protect this child and to break the gang of bullied up. There is only every one or two active bullies in a group and the rest are passive, scared to say anything and riding along on the protection being in the group gives them. There are things that can be done and teachers (most of them do) need to understand that a child's welfare is paramount

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Ev84

Nearly everyone is bullied at some stage in their youth but these days there is a whole new way of bullying with the internet. It's sad. The parents of that 12 year old need to get him into some form of self defense class be it boxing or karate or anything simular to teach him to look after himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Good thing she decided to stay anonymous, I'm sure there's thousands of instances of kids setting profiles of someone else on gay hook-up sites which have recently been removed. They'll never guess!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Bullying is a part of life.
    In any family there will be a bully.
    Be it the father, the mother , the siblings,
    the school mates, the sports coach,
    it's a part of growing up.
    For some it's too much to handle.
    Some can't handle it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Ev84 wrote: »
    Nearly everyone is bullied at some stage in their youth but these days there is a whole new way of bullying with the internet. It's sad. The parents of that 12 year old need to get him into some form of self defense class be it boxing or karate or anything simular to teach him to look after himself.

Martial arts may build up his self-confidence and self-esteem, but there's no evidence from the article that he was subject to any form of physical abuse.

Edit: Sorry, I overlooked that - the mother said there was indeed physical abuse.

Even so, the story is about psychological abuse - just as damaging.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

I don't think bullying is explained properly in schools. It is always put across in this sort of "bullies are weak and pick on you to feel big" or "bullies are cowards" sort of way. These things may be true, but I think they don't get across the full extent of what it's about. Individuals being bullied should be, above all else, outraged at the notion that somebody has taken the decision to bully them.

When you are being bullied, other people are attempting to add difficulty, and sometimes enormous difficulty, to your life for their own amusement. Life is complicated, challenging and daunting enough without this pointless misery imposed by others. When I was in school and somebody attempted to bully me I was outraged, absolutely furious, that somebody would even think of adding to my burden in order to have a laugh with their friends, and so I didn't hesitate for one moment in informing everyone, including the bullies themsevles, that it was not going to happen. It ended instantly.

If bullying was portrayed as the absurdly selfish and utterly pointless source of stress that it is, I think people would be more angered by the sheer capriciousness of it, and would make damn sure that it ends, and promptly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

policarp wrote: »
    Some can't handle it.

Eh? I never seen someone bullied growing up ( In primary school) After that in secondary school a victim would defend themselves after the first attempt, or you had the older guys stepping.

And no one in my family is a bully,its disgusting and cowardly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

My brother used to bully me for years so one day when he started id enough and grabbed the iron and hopped it off his head, he didn't open his mouth or dare use his fists on me again.

Eh? I never seen someone bullied growing up ( In primary school) After that in secondary school a victim would defend themselves after the first attempt, or you had the older guys stepping.

And no one in my family is a bully,its disgusting and cowardly.

Are you sure?

No,I made it all up. :rolleyes:

It never got any where when I was growing up, simple as that. As for know I don't know but I can say I didn't see it when I was growing up.

No,I made it all up. :rolleyes:

It never got any where when I was growing up, simple as that. As for know I don't know but I can say I didn't see it when I was growing up.

Every child is bullied in some way or another.
    Were you never bullied?

I can honestly say I was never bullied. I can safely assume many people were never bullied either.

I am not saying it doesn't happen but to say everyone is bullied at some point in their childhood is untrue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Get the Aussie kid in to teach him how to powerslam the cnuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I can honestly say I was never bullied. I can safely assume many people were never bullied either.

I am not saying it doesn't happen but to say everyone is bullied at some point in their childhood is untrue.

Theres different degrees of bullying, in secondary school, same sex ones especially, you're always going to get slagged off about something by someone, if you can give it back as good as you can get then it'll usually go away, its all dick waving stuff , just some people take it too far and it turns into actual bullying. I guy I used to go to school with was really timid and bullied by the class dimwit until one day he said something about his father being dead (really below the belt stuff) and the timid guy picked up his history book, walked over and belted the guy so hard he flew out of his chair, he got up started crying and ran out of the class, he never opened his yap again :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I was bullied all through school. I was a bit different and an easy target. Physically, I was weaker than my fellow students, so 'stand up for yourself' and 'fight back' was great advice at the time but hopeless. A thin lanky 12 year old can only do so much against 3 strong hurlers/rugby players.

That said the emotional stuff was a million times worse than the physical stuff. The rumours and the isolation.

It all ended when I was 15 and through a mutual interest in good music, I made friends with a few dope smoking, hard drinking, dont give a sh*t 18 year olds. No-one touched me then, and I became cool by association.

Nowadays, at 6'4 and over 110kg if anyone ever tried to physically bully me, I will do my utmost to 'talk' them out of it, with my fist if necessary . Thankfully no-one has picked a fight with me since I was 17.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Tell you something if I was the father of one of the kids doing the bullying he'd get some going over off me! He'd regret the day he ever started picking on someone else!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

I used to get bullied, solved it with a few good swings of a hurley and my fists on the different occasions. Also stopped being shy and started insulting people back. It wasn't easy when it was going on though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Ev84

Buceph wrote: »
    Get the Aussie kid in to teach him how to powerslam the cnuts.

This Aussie kid? :pac: Right job for him...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Mum needs to move the kid out of that school imho.
    Once the bullying gets beyond a certain point there's not really any getting back to normality. Take him out of school, send him to judo lessons and put him to new school for next term.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

Our daughter was bullied between 1st and 3rd year in secondary school. Schools, from our experience, are not really prepared for bullying when it starts. They'll have the relevant "procedures" in place on paper, but little else.

Our daughter was a very quiet, caring, and mannerly girl, as were a lot of her peers in her 6th class primary class. There was another class which consisted, primarily, of troublemakers from 'disadvantaged' families. Someone had the brainstorm to mix both classes in 1st year, assuming that that 'good' pupils would have a soothing influence on the troublesome ones.

How wrong they were. This has been tried (and has failed miserably) in the wider society. The bullying became so bad that she was ostracised at breaks, resulting in another girl in the class having to flag it with the teacher. She was also assaulted in school on two occasions. It got to the point where I told her to fight back - and fight hard.

Needless to say, this came to a head and I was called to the school one day. Now, I had flagged the problems with the school by phone and letter, so they were well aware. I met with the Principal after my daughter had been in a fight, and I told the principal that I had told her to do so. She said I shouldn't have.

I pointed out to her that the school couldn't protect her; we couldn't protect her; so there was no other option. Incredibly, one of the teachers informed the bully that we had made a complaint, proving the point that they can't deal with bullying.

Things subsided after that, but, upon starting 3rd year, a group of about 20 (including the bully) surrounded her in a public toilet, kicking and scraping at the cubicle door in order to try to beat her. Were it not for her mobile phone I don't know what would have been the end of it. The Gardai were called and we were advised to lodge an assault compliant. But this would have made matters worse.

To her credit, she did her Junior Cert (and did very well). She then transferred to another school for her Leaving Cert, where she fitted in very well, and had two very happy years. She's now a very well-adjusted adult who we love dearly, and is training to be an accountant, and we sometimes speak of those dark days.

She herself reckons it made her a stronger person, but there is no way she (or anyone else) should have to go through this.

We were lucky in that we always encouraged our children to talk to us and confide in us - no matter what. I firmly believe that, coupled with the type of person she is, is what saved her.

krudler wrote: »
    Theres different degrees of bullying, in secondary school, same sex ones especially, you're always going to get slagged off about something by someone, if you can give it back as good as you can get then it'll usually go away, its all dick waving stuff , just some people take it too far and it turns into actual bullying. I guy I used to go to school with was really timid and bullied by the class dimwit until one day he said something about his father being dead (really below the belt stuff) and the timid guy picked up his history book, walked over and belted the guy so hard he flew out of his chair, he got up started crying and ran out of the class, he never opened his yap again :pac:

Good on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Freddie59 wrote: »
    The bullying became so bad that she was ostracised at breaks, resulting in another girl in the class having to flag it with the teacher.

This is the part that would kill me. There's obviously another kid in that class who has proven she cares to a degree, and she can't do anything amongst her peers. Kids just aren't strong enough to do something like that.

I know that when it's said, it's meant in a different way, but youth really is wasted on the young. You just hope it's something the child can survive and grow from, but even when some kids survive it, it leaves them in an awful place for adulthood.

This is the part that would kill me. There's obviously another kid in that class who has proven she cares to a degree, and she can't do anything amongst her peers. Kids just aren't strong enough to do something like that.

I know that when it's said, it's meant in a different way, but youth really is wasted on the young. You just hope it's something the child can survive and grow from, but even when some kids survive it, it leaves them in an awful place for adulthood.

Too true. Our daughter was one of the lucky ones. How many children are wrapped up in this every day? Caused by dysfucntional little pricks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Paul.C

If it were my son id go in and sort the kids out myself. Theres some people say you cant do that but what if the lad did the unthinkable, youd not be able to live with yourself.

Paul.C wrote: »
    If it were my son id go in and sort the kids out myself. Theres some people say you cant do that but what if the lad did the unthinkable, youd not be able to live with yourself.

Don't think I didn't consider it. But how do you do that when it's girls?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

You obviously didn't see the episode of Malcolm in the Middle where Lois sets out to get revenge on some girls who pulled a prank on Reese...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Paul.C

If its girls then find out where they live and sort out their fathers(prefferably in front of them). They will be forced to act if they see you are willing to go to the next level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭rochey84

The point that is often missed when it comes to bullying is that it is not neccessarily the actions of the "bully" that defines bullying but how the actions effect the "bullied". I was bullied to a degree all throughout school, however I never really noticed it, I always thought it was just lads being lads, I suffer terribly from low self-esteem and low self confidence even now, I'm able to stand up for myself but only when I've been pushed to the limit and honestly can't take anymore. By that I mean when I'm crying on my own about what is going on and I then get reactive and start to hold my own, my confidence is getting better now but I'm no where near where I would like to be. I think that education is key. It really is as simple as that, I never (up until I was 26) had a relationship where I could really talk openly with my parents but I'm lucky I do now. Nowadays when something gets to me, I think it through consider my options and react only if I feel a reaction will get me somewhere, my heart goes out to all the kids in the country that are being bullied now but life does get better as you grow up and you develop confidence. I really hope that the poor kid mentioned in the stories above gets through it and becomes a better person for it! And remember that when you do get older and you realise that your life is 10 times better than those that bullied you in school its cause you're the strong person for withstanding that for as long as you did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭NomdePlume

I think there should be mandatory debate sessions in schools, and imo it's relevant to the problem of bullying.

There needs to be some arena where the studious, quiet child gets to speak up, develop confidence, and have power in a conflict situation. I think debate would encourage children to think about the 'fair fight' as verbal, one-to-one, and respectful.
    When the shy nerd defeats the obnoxious nob in a battle of wits, it's a delicious way to show that knowledge is power.

It wouldn't solve everything, and I'm probably naive about it, but I still think it's a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

To her credit, she did her Junior Cert (and did very well). She then transferred to another school for her Leaving Cert, where she fitted in very well, and had two very happy years. She's now a very well-adjusted adult who we love dearly, and is training to be an accountant, and we sometimes speak of those dark days.

I'm sorry for your loss ;).

It seems to me that girls get it worse, it's more psychological.

A friend in college had a little brother who had a Bebo page set up by bullies to get at him. I believe my friend visited some of the bullies and everything stopped, but not every child has a bigger sibling that can help.

Of the people I went to secondary school with one killed himself after school one day another killed himself after he left and I've heard a third guy killed himself a few years later. All three were heavily bullied.
    Parents were told there was no bullying problem.

The headmaster made a speech about the first suicide that was very obviously an attempt at deflecting the blame away from the school and himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭superelliptic

Our daughter was bullied between 1st and 3rd year in secondary school. Schools, from our experience, are not really prepared for bullying when it starts. They'll have the relevant "procedures" in place on paper, but little else.

Our daughter was a very quiet, caring, and mannerly girl, as were a lot of her peers in her 6th class primary class. There was another class which consisted, primarily, of troublemakers from 'disadvantaged' families. Someone had the brainstorm to mix both classes in 1st year, assuming that that 'good' pupils would have a soothing influence on the troublesome ones.

How wrong they were. This has been tried (and has failed miserably) in the wider society. The bullying became so bad that she was ostracised at breaks, resulting in another girl in the class having to flag it with the teacher. She was also assaulted in school on two occasions. It got to the point where I told her to fight back - and fight hard.

Needless to say, this came to a head and I was called to the school one day. Now, I had flagged the problems with the school by phone and letter, so they were well aware. I met with the Principal after my daughter had been in a fight, and I told the principal that I had told her to do so. She said I shouldn't have.

I pointed out to her that the school couldn't protect her; we couldn't protect her; so there was no other option. Incredibly, one of the teachers informed the bully that we had made a complaint, proving the point that they can't deal with bullying.

Things subsided after that, but, upon starting 3rd year, a group of about 20 (including the bully) surrounded her in a public toilet, kicking and scraping at the cubicle door in order to try to beat her. Were it not for her mobile phone I don't know what would have been the end of it. The Gardai were called and we were advised to lodge an assault compliant. But this would have made matters worse.

She herself reckons it made her a stronger person, but there is no way she (or anyone else) should have to go through this.

We were lucky in that we always encouraged our children to talk to us and confide in us - no matter what. I firmly believe that, coupled with the type of person she is, is what saved her.

Same thing was happening in my school in the mid nintys when I was doing my junior cert in Galway. The lads in question were so bad they should have been expelled (not for bullying me and other people, but for what they did during class, and for vandalism to school property) but the Principal felt that he couldnt do anything about it, because the bullys lived near his house, and he knew his car/house would be bricked if he kicked them out (nice to see such dedication to the job, there). I did my JC, and thank god, my folks told me I was being sent to a private school in town for the leaving, so that was the end of it. Being in a class full of knackers - sorry, Disadvantaged - kids is brutal, because your outlook towards people gets utterly warped -you think everyones a potential scumbag! My first day in the private school I met a lad who would have had a bulls-eye on his forhead in my old school because he was artistic , quiet, and very smart academically, but in the private school he was one of the popular crowd, just because people enjoyed his company! I had finally met people who valued intelligence and skill over vandalism, and drinking in hedge-rows! :pac:

kowloon wrote: »
    I'm sorry for your loss ;).

It seems to me that girls get it worse, it's more psychological.

A friend in college had a little brother who had a Bebo page set up by bullies to get at him. I believe my friend visited some of the bullies and everything stopped, but not every child has a bigger sibling that can help.

Of the people I went to secondary school with one killed himself after school one day another killed himself after he left and I've heard a third guy killed himself a few years later. All three were heavily bullied.
    Parents were told there was no bullying problem.

The headmaster made a speech about the first suicide that was very obviously an attempt at deflecting the blame away from the school and himself.

That is so very sad.

I had finally met people who valued intelligence and skill over vandalism, and drinking in hedge-rows! :pac:
    One of the lucky ones, my friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Some can't handle it.
    Seems like something a bully would say to justify themselves. And no, relentless campaigns like those outlined on this thread are not a part of life for everyone. I love the way you imply the fault lies with the victim too - for not handling it.

As for violent bullies, violence in return is probably the only thing that will put manners on the little sh1tbags...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭u_c_thesecond

Some can't handle it.

this post is the funniest thing ive ever read!

I have burns across my head because of an arson attack when i was five, and i was never bullied EVER!!!!!!!!!! However my 5 year old niece was called "Handicapped " the other day by a boy in her class because shes missing a finger- so she should just learn to deal with it should she- at 5 years old????????

So dont say "Its a part of life" because it bloody isint!

You think that being bullied is ok- thats its a natural thing everyone must go through? Sounds like to me your either a bully- or you have been bullied and your trying to justify it because it was by someone you loved like a parent!!!!!!!

Bullying is a part of life? What the difference between you being attacked in the street- calling the police and someone being arrested , or in a playground- someone attacking you, you cry and run to the teacher???
    Funny as a child its bullying- as an adult its assult!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Might be hard for kids to do but,only solution is one good hard box in the jaw.You may get a beating for it,but at least the bully knows what to expect next time he picks on you.

Were you never bullied?

Define 'bullying'. A one-off incident where you can (or are physically able to) defend yourself is one thing.

Years of assaults, harassment, and intimidation are another thing. I fail to understand how you can be so crass about it. Do you have children? Have any been bullied?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Some can't handle it.

It's a part of life so it's acceptable???????
    It's acceptable for a 12 year old boy to be on the brink of suicide?
    So he can't handle it at 12, and suicide is the way out cos he should
    just get used to it?????????

SERIOUSLY??????????:confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Faolchu

. Kids just aren't strong enough to do something like that.

I was. in my final two years in school i was sickend by teh attitude of my peers. they woudl bully the first years enetering secondry school. the way they saw it, it had happened to them so they had a right to do it. a few of us decided that it wasnt right. we approached the bullies and told them to leave it out, if they were in the lower years then us it usually worked. if it didnt be they in a lower class then us or not we'd knock the snot out of them. one kicking was usually enough. yeah i know resorting to violence to resolve it isnt always the answer but we did try and reason wth them first and gave them fair warning that if they persisted we would do it, they decided not to head that warning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

Faolchu wrote: »
    yeah i know resorting to violence to resolve it isnt always the answer but we did try and reason wth them first and gave them fair warning that if they persisted we would do it, they decided not to head that warning
    Unfortunately with bullies it tends to be the only way.
    Been there done that and have come across scum that would not stop bullying until their last breath if it came to it.
    We, as parents need to educate our kids to be not only confident and happy in themselves but able to stand up for themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I would really hate to be a child now with the scary humiliation potential that technology affords.

Saying counter-violence works is right but it's almost another form of bullying (or at least macho pressure) to expect every kid to be able to fight back successfully against bullies. A simple fact of the world is that most people don't like to fight and the minority that do (or even the big mouths that pretend they can) have carte blanche to do what they want to other kids.

stovelid wrote: »
    I would really hate to be a child now with the scary humiliation potential that technology affords.

Saying counter-violence works is right but it's almost another form of bullying (or at least macho pressure) to expect every kid to be able to fight back successfully against bullies. A simple fact of the world is that most people don't like to fight and the minority that do (or even the big mouths that pretend they can) have carte blanche to do what they want to other kids.

In a nutshell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Even so, the story is about psychological abuse - just as damaging.

Even more so IMO, bruises heal easy enough, had plenty of kickings myself as a nipper mental but abuse lasts a lot longer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭7upfree

Having been bullied for the first three years of secondary school, I have to say it is the hardest thing for any one individual to have to go through. It's easy to say stand up to them but when there is 6 or so of them and 1 of you it is a lot easier said then done.
    When I was in second year I made friends with a new student who had only joined our school that year and introduced her to the few friends I still had, within a couple of weeks she had turned all of them against me and I had become completely Isolated.
    I was tormented for weeks and on one occassion while waiting to go to our next class which a teacher was late for I was pushed around like a rag doll amongst all my piers.
    I am not a violent person and hate the thought of fighting. However on one occassion when I did decide to stand up for myself and answer back to one of my bullys (who for weeks had been banging into me everytime they passed) as I walked away they caught me by the hair and that was it, I snapped and we ended up fighting and being seperated by a passing teacher, as they say there is only so much one person can take. We both got suspended, as it was part of the school policy.

The school is not equipped to deal with bullying, no offence to any teachers posting here. I was very active and played alot of sports, I particullarly loved basketball, which soon became another place for them to torment me, and on one occassion a teacher had the cheek to say to me that "You seem to have a lot of problems stemming from basketball" as if it was my fault that I was good at basketball and the other kids had a right to pick on me because they were jealous.

Luckily for me I had my parents who were my rocks I could talk to them about anything. However it wasn't me who initially told them as I was too ashamed of what was happening, Someone passed a comment to my younger sister one day and as she was only about 10 at the time she didn't think twice about saying it at the dinner table one evening. It was the best thing she ever did for me.

I matured alot faster then most of my piers as I spent alot of time with adults until I eventually made friends outside of school. I sometimes feel like I missed out on parts of my early teens, as I had alot to deal with for a young person thankfully after I did my junior cert I changed schools as I had no interest in doing transistion year.

I went from a school that had possibly 60 students or so to a school that had 130 plus students in my year. I had nothing but grief in the first school and I will admit it was terrifying starting in a new school with so many pepole but I got to know all my piers and I made some amazing friends who I still have 6 years after we finished school.

I know running away from your problems isn't the answer but in this case it is the only answer. I know my parents were terrified the same thing would happen to me again but thankfully it didn't.

I have met people who bullied me in recent years, even worked part time jobs with some of them and it is amazing once they are split up how quiet they can become.

Bullying ISNT something that happens to everyone and it IS NOT the childs fault that someone decides to pick on them because they are quiet or different, anyone who has this attitude has obviously never had to endure the kind of torment that a bullied child has.

I hope this child finds some way of dealing with it, and the fact that his parents are trying to help does mean alot to a child. It is something I wish I hadn't gone through, however it has made me the person that I am today, as even to this day I still have bad days and think back to those days but they are becoming less frequent as the years go on, and luckily I still have my wonderful parents to talk to, and now my partner who will listen anytime I need to talk.

I would adivse anyone who is being bullied talk to your parents (or a trusted adult), and never be ashamed to admit that someone is picking on you, it does get better as you get older as the majority of these bullies do actually get older and mature aswell.

It is a subject that is not fully understood and needs to be talked about more openly, no one should ever be made to feel ashamed because they do not have the malice that is sometimes needed to answer back to and stand up to these bullies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭7upfree

blaze1 wrote: »
    Even more so IMO, bruises heal easy enough, had plenty of kickings myself as a nipper mental but abuse lasts a lot longer

This is to true. You soon forget the bruises once they are gone. The mental abuse I don't think ever fully heals.