Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ISPCC overstepping the mark a bit!

• 11-05-2011 7:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

The ISPCC have realised a new video.

I know they are trying to raise awareness but for feck sake I think that they went a bit far. Who the hell wants to see a kid get the crap beat out of him while having dinner?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Good ad, effective.

Little fúcker deserved it though. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

The fact that you've posted it here to raise discussion about it here means it's effective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

Who the hell wants to see a kid get the crap beat out of him while having dinner?

Nobody wants to see it. That's the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

Better than them trocaire ads that come on when you're having food, they put me right off what i'm having.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Itd be better if it was in 3D...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Great ad, very effective

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

I didnt watch it.......................anyone pick up any good tips?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

The amount of ignorance surrounding child abuse in ireland is staggering I bet some people will be watching that in disbelief. People in this country need a video like this in order to cop on to the reality children are facing daily. If kids are saved from loss of childhood following this video then a few people being upset over dinner is something I can live with to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭snollup

great ad. great little actor also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Liamario

I think it's a great advert. I think it should be left till after 9 though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Considering that there has been an increase of 20,000 calls to Irish Childline last year alone, I'd say its very much needed!

See: http://www.thejournal.ie/childline-received-2300-calls-a-day-last-year-134019-May2011/
    The service received more than 830,000 calls in 2010, an increase of 20,000 on the previous year. The number represents almost 2,300 calls a day from children and young people.

Liamario wrote: »

why? people should have a idea of what goes on in houses where children are abused, thats probably tame compared to some of the stuff children go through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Well i'm gonna stop beating my kid now. Can't believe i'm that person in the video. Very effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Aldebaran wrote: »
    Nobody wants to see it. That's the point.

Ya I know but dont you think they went a little bit far!

It needs to be effective but I think they might just make people pissed off at them.

@benwavner yes yes we did pick up tips and are now going out to kick the ****e out of every under 12 out there.

I dont support child beatings except in special circumstances such a young runt playing his phone on the bus or hanging outside a shop smoking and wearing a hoodie!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

When the kids are asleep, good thinking batman! Wouldn't want them thinking it's wrong or anything!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Now little johnny, let that be a lesson to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

God forbid anything would put you off your dinner OP :rolleyes:

Excellent ad imo, the more shocking, the more people can appreciate how badly affected the victims are, the more likely you would make a call on someone else's behalf!

Ya I know but dont you think they went a little bit far!

It needs to be effective but I think they might just make people pissed off at them.

@benwavner yes yes we did pick up tips and are now going out to kick the ****e out of every under 12 out there.

I dont support child beatings except in special circumstances such a young runt playing his phone on the bus or hanging outside a shop smoking and wearing a hoodie!

Do you know what physical abuse is? The kind of people pissed of about this video are cretins who have no concept of empathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

To be fair though, that is only one side of the story. The kid might have flushed the car keys down the toilet for all we know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Liamario

krudler wrote: »
    why? people should have a idea of what goes on in houses where children are abused, thats probably tame compared to some of the stuff children go through
    It's not adults that i'm concerned about, it's children seeing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

It made it to the front page of Reddit today which goes to show just how much of an impact it's having.

I agree about that part but I do think it needs to be shown. The kid is a great little actor by the way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

D-Generate wrote: »
    To be fair though, that is only one side of the story. The kid might have flushed the car keys down the toilet for all we know.

The keys can be replaced - the kid can't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

didnt know they could show that kind of smut on the tv, you normally have to pay some german lads for quality stuff like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,674 ✭✭✭DirtyBollox

joshrogan wrote: »
    Better than them trocaire ads that come on when you're having food, they put me right off what i'm having.

really? made me enjoy it more, i have it they dont :pac:

Any one who hits their kid like that needs serious help I hope people seeing this thread and video report and potential cases to the police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

You'd really, really love five minutes with a fella who beats a child like that.

Disciplining a child is one thing but the sadistic cowardly little ****es who inflict their longings on a child like that...

Five minutes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

kfallon wrote: »
    God forbid anything would put you off your dinner OP :rolleyes:

Aint putting me off my dinner :P

I'm sure my Grandmother would be shocked at it though. I dont think it would be suitable for my 8 year old niece to be watching it either. I know the message needs to be got out there but you need to find the line so that its acceptable and effective at the same time.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Do you know what physical abuse is? The kind of people pissed of about this video are cretins who have no concept of empathy.

Why who's pissed? I'm not. Just pointing the video out and giving an opinion on it.

And who the hell doesn't know what physical abuse is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭xaoifsx

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I agree about that part but I do think it needs to be shown. The kid is a great little actor by the way.

that kid is in the new movie hanna! or they just look very very alike!! ;)

This advert is horrible though.. I know its to raise awareness but still.. Some people are just sick.. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

I've never been a fan of the ISPCC. Too self-righteous and liberal for me and others. But I must applaud this ad. This is exactly the type of violence which needs to be exposed. But I wonder what effect it will have on children in a normal (non-violent) home if they view it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

They didn't go too far at all. I seen this earlier today and I was nearly crying. Frankly they didn't go far enough. That's happening in homes up and down the country, and it fcuking well needs to be taken in hand.

A few years ago, when my daughter wasn't even 2, we were playing and I was crawling up and down the sitting room chasing her. She ran to the living room door, but I was too fast and she didn't have time to open it, she turned around in stitches laughing. I just stopped and thought, jesus, there is another little girl not getting to the door quick enough but then getting the head slapped off her and she's crying not laughing. It had such an effect on me, totally turned my stomach!

xaoifsx wrote: »
    that kid is in the new movie hanna! or they just look very very alike!! ;)

This advert is horrible though.. I know its to raise awareness but still.. Some people are just sick.. :(

I agree with you I would call it horrible its very hard to watch.

what if they had friends they know are going through the same thing? might encourage them to call

Jesus what a stupid ad, could they have looked any more amateur

bluewolf wrote: »

I dont think your going to find many method actors that will star in videos about child abuse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

It shouldn't be shown during dinner ffs, it should be on after 9pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

Good, but for after 9pm. Why should my happy, not beaten kids be watching that ? They would be fair traumatised to see that happens to other kids, and it's not like they (my kids) can or should do anything about it at 3 and 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭redz11

I don't see the point of this ad.

Abusive parents/guardians are not going to change their habits on seeing this ad. Of course anyone who beats a kid knows that it's wrong - they just don't give a crap.

Other adults, on seeing this ad, are going to be horrified. But come on, give people some credit - I would like to think that anyone seeing a child being beaten like that would report it - they wouldn't need an ad to tell them that this sort of thing is wrong?!

And I would imagine that if a child saw this ad ... well, mightn't it sort of "normalise" this behaviour? Make them think it's acceptable, since it's being shown on TV?

I just can't see who this ad is being aimed at, or how it could help?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

bluewolf wrote: »

Yeah I see what you're saying. They should have had the father beat the shíte out of him for real :rolleyes:

redz11 wrote: »

Abusive parents/guardians are not going to change their habits on seeing this ad. Of course anyone who beats a kid knows that it's wrong - they just don't give a crap.

Other adults, on seeing this ad, are going to be horrified. But come on, give people some credit - I would like to think that anyone seeing a child being beaten like that would report it - they wouldn't need an ad to tell them that this sort of thing is wrong?!

And I would imagine that if a child saw this ad ... well, mightn't it sort of "normalise" this behaviour? Make them think it's acceptable, since it's being shown on TV?

Actually a lot of child abusers dont see their behaviour as wrong in fact they often blame the child for their actions. The fact is a lot of people in ireland didnt report abuse and some education was needed. It has already brought awareness to the issue as a thread has been opened about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

What an amateur, you dont hit the face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

To be honest that ad is a lot more effective than any of the black and white photography, child in a dank environment **** that is normally used around this issue. The stuff i just mentioned allows you to remove yourself from things, think that the issue of child abuse is one of a class that is lower than you.

There you have a kid of likes like any other kid in Ireland in a house that could be any house in Ireland. The shock lies in the fact that within the ad the abuse happens so casually, it's not a once off or an "accident", which is often how people try and justify lamping their kid around.

Great ****ing ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Rocket19

redz11 wrote: »

What I think they should be doing is encouraging people to report it. Yes, its shocking to watch, but we already know it happens.
    I think what they should be doing is getting the message out there that you have to do something about it.

My friend was telling me about this guy on the bus who was dragging his little kid (about 3) around, shouting and swearing at her.
    Finally, one person (a lady) said something to him and told him "how dare you, this isn't acceptable, this is your child", etc.

Apparently he just ripped into the woman, shouting at her agressively.
    No-one said anything. No-one backed backed her up. No-one else stood up for the little girl. The guy wasn't kicked off the bus. Nothing was done.

That's what has to change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

The ad is highlighting the fact that children don't have the same rights as adults. Good ad, and it doesn't hurt to Have it before the water shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Galway K9

joshrogan wrote: »

Thats intentional.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Galway K9 wrote: »
    Thats intentional.:D

People should send trocaire food instead of money.

Oh wait, you can't pay exhorbitant wages with food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

OMG thats really awful. I know it isnt real but I just want to take that little boy and mind him, keep him safe. Thats really sad.

People who do that to children are scum. They're lower than scum. They are to society as what camel vomit is to gourmet food.

To be honest that ad is a lot more effective than any of the black and white photography, child in a dank environment **** that is normally used around this issue. The stuff i just mentioned allows you to remove yourself from things, think that the issue of child abuse is one of a class that is lower than you.

There you have a kid of likes like any other kid in Ireland in a house that could be any house in Ireland. The shock lies in the fact that within the ad the abuse happens so casually, it's not a once off or an "accident", which is often how people try and justify lamping their kid around.

Great ****ing ad.

Child abuse is not confined to a paticular class there is a myth that it is confined to the "lower class" (I hate the term class).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

That ad angry up the blood :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Wow i really wasn't aware of child abuse before this amazing ad(sarcasm).

This ad should really be on at a later time, i'd imagine it's pretty disturbing for children to watch.