Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anybody who has got bad tattoos please explain them to me?

• 11-05-2011 11:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,869 ✭✭✭

For some reason i have been seeing a load of people with bad tattoos lately and I am just curious about them. What were the people thinking when they got them? I am taking about the little crosses on the knuckles and the general ones that look self done.

I always assume they are prison tats but even at that what is the logic?
    Do people think they look nice?
    Does it make them look hard?
    Just boredom made them do it?
    Do they regret them or simply not care?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Yeah got one before, thought it was cool but it washed off after a day ffs!

Still got a free chewing gum with it so every cloud..... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I think it's probably one of life's unwritten rules - never ask someone with prison tattoos why they have prison tattoos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,085 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    For some reason i have been seeing a load of people with bad tattoos lately and I am just curious about them. What were the people thinking when they got them? I am taking about the little crosses on the knuckles and the general ones that look self done.

I always assume they are prison tats but even at that what is the logic?
    Do people think they look nice?
    Does it make them look hard?
    Just boredom made them do it?
    Do they regret them or simply not care?

I see a lot of tattoos in general which are pretty badly rendered. I'm not sure if it's just bad designs or the standard of tattoo artists in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

dont have any but ive seen some shocking ones.

worked with an english guy who had the bacardi bat logo down his arm-he couldnt even explain it.

A skanger bird i know got her 4 yr old kids godparents names tattoed on her ankle....in the kids handwriting-looks like the tattoo artist had had a stroke!
    to top it she must be the only one who doesnt know the godmother cant stand her really.

2 mates in spain, one got ooohh on his arse, the girl got arrrr on hers. put their arses together you get "ooohh arrrrrr" like a pirate. they were off their heads on pills at the time if thats any explanation!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭heyheyhey1982

Went to school with a guy who did a few of his own tats. he had a knife and ink and spelled out his name. It looked like a childs writing. When i first seen it i couldnt believe what he'd done. It looked mad. I seen him recently and he had massive tats covering up the old self job ones. but they had to be big so his new tats are solid black and about 3 inches wide in a lightening bolt. Still looks ****.

I dont get tats either. i went to school with a fella who had a tazmanian devil and irish flag. how i laughed.

Know another guy with chinese writing that means "power" pfft.

in a gym and i reckon 30-40% of the guys & girls have them. i stil have never seen a tattoo and thought "wow i'd love that". I honestly think its the most retarded thing any one can do to them selves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Lavattack

On holidays with the whole family in '07 in NYC and stayed in a pub until 11am....went down the city and walked into tattoo parlour. Asked yer man would he put one on for half price if I picked it out without looking. he said grand so I picked the animals book and pointed at some random page. I am a 22 year old male with a unicorn on his back :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,318 ✭✭✭weiland79

I have a tatoo of a ' magic mushroom ' on my right bum cheek.

It was totally friggin awesome ....... when i was 16

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

o1s1n wrote: »
    I see a lot of tattoos in general which are pretty badly rendered. I'm not sure if it's just bad designs or the standard of tattoo artists in this country.

weve a fantastic standard of artist in this country but youll always get scratchers.

in places i used to work you'd get people asking for intentionally badly done work, theyd come in with a photo of tupac or ask for one of Bechams atrocious pieces. you could help slaggin every one of them off asking them how theyre gonna feel walking on a beach in ibiza and everybody has the same tattoo as they do

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Lavattack wrote: »
    On holidays with the whole family in '07 in NYC and stayed in a pub until 11am....went down the city and walked into tattoo parlour. Asked yer man would he put one on for half price if I picked it out without looking. he said grand so I picked the animals book and pointed at some random page. I am a 22 year old male with a unicorn on his back :D:D

Not buying that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭ArtyM

Having studied this subject extensively over many years, drawing from the fields of psychology, sociology, genetics and anthropology it appears that this is a phenomenon that transcends race, religion, ethnicity, and sex.
    Analysis of the accumulated data does however give us a very clear cause.....
    They were pi**ed drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Got a few tattoos but only one self done around the belly button,did it 20 years ago,it says made in limerick.When i showed it to my ma she said,ya made in limerick but concieved up against a wall. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

lol some crazy ones described in this thread, im contemplating getting one, not sure though, il probably die considering if i should or not haha

any good places people can recommend to get it done in Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Tramp stamps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Mountjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,210 ✭✭✭maximoose

My gf's dad has the cross you're talking about on his knuckles along with some other tats on his hands that he did himself when he was younger. Regrets them a LOT.

Bad tattoos I'd like to add in to the mix:

Tramp Stamps
    Football Crests
    Wings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Melion wrote: »
    Not buying that

even for half price?

maximoose wrote: »
    My gf's dad has the cross you're talking about on his knuckles along with some other tats on his hands that he did himself when he was younger. Regrets them a LOT.

Treat that gf well. That dad does not sound like a man you want as an enemy,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I was thinking 'this will be cool' at the time.

Getting it removed now and it hurts like a b!tch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Lord Derpington

This would be funny for a while
    lawnmower-tattoo.jpg

lol some crazy ones described in this thread, im contemplating getting one, not sure though, il probably die considering if i should or not haha

plenty of places but its best to make up your own mind as to whats 'decent' as style and artistic abilty are very subjective. Also if its something basic then you wont need a more expensive artist to do it.

most places are very goo dwith hygene these days but you should ask anyway to be sure

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Lavattack

Lavattack wrote: »
    Not buying that

I am assuming Corbally in Limerick??

Tell ya what, next time your heading toward Kerry PM me. I will show it to ya if you'd like. I live only in Tarbert so you should pass this way some time or another.

EDIT: I will get my sis to take a picture there soon altogether for you and put it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,869 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

ArtyM wrote: »

That would be the same class as the crap tats I am talking about IMHO.

Generally I am talking about the really sh*t ones that are just Xs and generally on the hands but have seen the on the face too.

I reckon you get judged as worse than if you had a massive scar on your face. Not saying it fair to be judged on a scar but people do it.

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    That would be the same class as the crap tats I am talking about IMHO.

Generally I am talking about the really sh*t ones that are just Xs and generally on the hands but have seen the on the face too.

I reckon you get judged as worse than if you had a massive scar on your face. Not saying it fair to be judged on a scar but people do it.

do you mean the blue ink crosses when you say 'Xs' or the straight edge X

http://static-l3.blogcritics.org/09/12/07/120781/straight-edge-x-hand-tattoo.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,869 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

do you mean the blue ink crosses when you say 'Xs' or the straight edge X

http://static-l3.blogcritics.org/09/12/07/120781/straight-edge-x-hand-tattoo.jpg
    Obviously not because these are not a common tat in Ireland that look like they were done in prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭TheVoodoo

A fellah' who was in my old school got a large ps3 controller tattooed on his chest. L1 L2 on the left shoulder, R1 R2 on the right everything was there and his nipples were the analogue sticks. Came back from a drinking holiday(Turkey?) with it. Defo' think he regrets it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,833 ✭✭✭phill106

TheVoodoo wrote: »
    A fellah' who was in my old school got a large ps3 controller tattooed on his chest. L1 L2 on the left shoulder, R1 R2 on the right everything was there and his nipples were the analogue sticks. Came back from a drinking holiday(Turkey?) with it. Defo' think he regrets it now.

Especially with the playstation network being down...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

When I was in Mullingar I kept seeing lads with their first names tattooed on their forearms. :confused: I mean, what, are they going to forget them or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

liah wrote: »
    When I was in Mullingar I kept seeing lads with their first names tattooed on their forearms. :confused: I mean, what, are they going to forget them or something?

It's good to put your name on everything in Mullingar as someone is sure to attempt to steal it, even forearms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

When I was a young lad, a tasteful ACAB indian inked across your knuckles was all the rage. Often accompnaied with that Saint stick figure on the forearm.

I sometimes wonder how they got on with the last 25 years of explaining that piece of Dublin argot (All Coppers Are Bastards) to people abroad, job interviewers; prospective girlfriends and Father-in-laws.

stovelid wrote: »
    When I was a young lad, a tasteful ACAB indian inked across your knuckles was all the rage. Often accompnaied with that Saint stick figure on the forearm.

I sometimes wonder how they got on with the last 25 years of explaining that piece of Dublin argot (All Coppers Are Bastards) to people abroad, job interviewers; prospective girlfriends and Father-in-laws.

what the hell was with those things? i worked in a factory when i was 17 and 80% of the people had them. another guy had a panther and a scorpion, he was the 'artistic one'
    sometimes wonder how they got on with the last 25 years of explaining that piece of Dublin argot (All Coppers Are Bastards) to people abroad, job interviewers; prospective girlfriends and Father-in-laws

easy Always Carry A Bible had a few ex cons tell me that one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

what the hell was with those things?

Fuck knows.

And it often looked like a cariccature of a camp man as one hand was often on the waist and the other was hanging down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

A lad I went to school with got his first name tattooed down one forearm. I heard a few years later that he added the surname to the other arm :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 731 ✭✭✭inmyday

i dont regret getting it!

Will you regret it when you are over 60? Will it look stupid then?

Master of the Universe

weve a fantastic standard of artist in this country but youll always get scratchers.

Don't get me wrong, I have seen some pieces by Irish tattoo artists which have left my jaw on the floor. But unfortunately not as many as I'd have liked! And I'm not sure if it's an issue with designs people are going to them with or what.

Most of the ones I've seen have had issues with the drafting. Lots of people seem to want figurative work in some form or another, (faries/portraits etc) - this is something which is a great indicator whether someone can draw or not. And I'm sad to say that in a lot of tattoos I've seen here it's been lacking. (Disproportionate bodies, a lot of them seem to have issues with faces and organically textured things like wings). What I'm trying to figure out is this because the person who came with the design couldn't draw or more worryingly, the artist themselves.

I know tattooing itself is an artform which does take a lot of effort and there are factors to be considered with needles and depth that I'd know absolutely nothing about. I just spent a long time in art college focusing on a degree in painting (there was a hell of a lot of drafting and drawing!) and whenever I see a bad tattoo someone has on them for life it makes me wince a bit. I know it's none of my business and they probably love it themselves (I'd never say otherwise) - but as an indicator as to the level of tattooing in this country, I dunno. I always wanted to get a sleeve, but have seen so many bad tattoos I've been completely put off the idea.
    in places i used to work you'd get people asking for intentionally badly done work, theyd come in with a photo of tupac or ask for one of Bechams atrocious pieces. you could help slaggin every one of them off asking them how theyre gonna feel walking on a beach in ibiza and everybody has the same tattoo as they do

Fair play to anyone who can sit there and draw a portrait of tupac on some dodgy individual. I know I couldnt :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

TPD wrote: »
    A lad I went to school with got his first name tattooed down one forearm. I heard a few years later that he added the surname to the other arm :pac:

oh ffs

Master of the Universe

inmyday wrote: »
    Will you regret it when you are over 60? Will it look stupid then?

Who the **** cares how it'll look when you're 60? You'll be a withered old bag of skin anyway :pac:

Fair play to anyone who can sit there and draw a portrait of tupac on some dodgy individual. I know I couldnt :)

oh these werent portraits. these were coppies of his tattoos they were after. badly drawn AK 47s and the like *shudder*

Master of the Universe

oh these werent portraits. these were coppies of his tattoos they were after. badly drawn AK 47s and the like *shudder*

Jesus wept! That's just short of 'LOVE' and 'HATE' across your knuckles.

Who the **** cares how it'll look when you're 60? You'll be a withered old bag of skin anyway :pac:

Would you say that to your relatives that are that age?
    I doubt youll think the same when you reach 60

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 DerekWaters

Have a few tattoos hate them all now with a passion, if I had the funds I'd get them removed tomorrow.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭54kroc

Do people still get a dot tattooed on three fingers? Anybody know what it means?

Master of the Universe

inmyday wrote: »
    Would you say that to your relatives that are that age?
    I doubt youll think the same when you reach 60

What I was pointing at, is that at 60 you have far greater things to worry about than a tattoo you got when you were young and care free. In fact I'm sure you'd look at it with nostalgia - I know I would.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

The majority of my 7 tattoos are ridiculous, transformers symbol on my leg, Thundercats on my back. Who the fúck cares though?

And i hate that argument about what it will look like when you're 60, the majority of the population when im that age is going to have tattoos so it wont look anywhere near as ridiculous as people think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭feelpablo

Im fairly well covered at this stage and i get that comment about once a week.."what about when your old and wrinkly".... I could not care one bit, i made the decision to put these on my body, to make a statement about who i am...some are visible for every one, some are more private...

But i sure as ****e wont be one feckin bit worried if i make it to 60 or 70... actually i would say i'll get more joy showing them off at that stage :D

Jesus wept! That's just short of 'LOVE' and 'HATE' across your knuckles.

I quite like that. Its a traditional old school tattoo like swallows on the chest or a rock of ages backpiece. Usually worn by people who are already heavily tattooed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭BickNarry

stovelid wrote: »

Fairly common skinhead tattoo with a double meaning. It also stands for All Colours Are Beautiful.

This is my buddys tattoo..... friendship.

I love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

I've a good few tattoos,but only one I don't like, its covering most of my left arm and I don't know what it is,it looks like there is a dog's head in there or something.

On another note,one of my friends got a tattoo last week on the back of his head,its his family crest with his surname in Irish underneath it,now when i say the back of his head I mean his skull this tattoo is covering the whole back of his head,I think it looks shit and in a few months so will he!

And i hate that argument about what it will look like when you're 60, the majority of the population when im that age is going to have tattoos so it wont look anywhere near as ridiculous as people think.

Yeah thats true, there will be indeed plenty of people with tattoos when youre 60, as they are ver popular now.

Some of my dad's friends have tattoos, and they dont wear short sleeves in summer. And one hates the tattoos he has.
    Maybe our generation wont be like these guys.