Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jedward - Would you like to see them win Eurovision??

• 06-05-2011 9:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭

I for one wold like to see them win.

There as mad as a bag of wet hens, but to be fair they are the best of the bunch that was on the Late Late Show the night they were being picked.

And knowing their Luck, they will probably win it.

Best of Luck to them I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Yes because I put a tenner on them :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

whycliff wrote: »
    I for one wold like to see them win.

There as mad as a bag of wet hens, but to be fair they are the best of the bunch that was on the Late Late Show the night they were being picked.

And knowing their Luck, they will probably win it.

I hope not. We could never afford to host it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

To be quite honest I couldn't be more indifferent to this thread!

If they win, fair play, if they don't, who cares!

Either outcome will not spark any emotion in me whatsoever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭BengaLover

YES YES YES!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭BengaLover

Whoever directed that video should be shot tho..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Of course, they are nice kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

**** it why not. They are representing Ireland anyway so good luck to them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

they are more irritating than a sandpaper enema. make me feel ashamed to be a human

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Thread lacks poll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

whycliff wrote: »

WHYCliff ..............why:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

No.

Not because it's Jedward.

We just can't afford to host it to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

kfallon wrote: »
    To be quite honest I couldn't be more indifferent to this thread!

If they win, fair play, if they don't, who cares!

Either outcome will not spark any emotion in me whatsoever!

Teehee, so indifferent, you posted a comment on it. *Points finger* You Sir are a closet eurovision fan, congratulations, join the club (we have badges).

There's nothing more entertaining than getting locked whilst watching the eurovision with a group of friends, listening to the snide comments from the presenters (RIP Terry Wogan) and then of course shouting at the telly with equally snide comments like it was the World Cup.

I say YEAH to John and YEAH to Edward - go for it lads, ye can't be worse than the Turkey (or indeed Turkey for that matter).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Yes, they are genuinely nice kids.
    There is much worse out there and for all the daftness of them and lack of talent, they are making serious money, they are additionally creating revenue for staff around them and they are not breaking balls or related to crime of any kind.

Finally they are Irish. We should support our own just as much as others!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Cormic

God no. We have a bad enough reputation without these two representing us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Thread needs a poll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I'm glad they're doing well, they seem like genuinely nice lads.

They're harmless really, I don't get all the hate!

Uriel. wrote: »
    No.

Not because it's Jedward.

We just can't afford to host it to be honest.

Of course we can. When you allow yourself (incorrectly) to be on the hook for 200 billion, 5 million to host something really isn't the issue.
    Also, what do you think is going to happen, RTE close because they can't afford to host the eurovision?

1. Won't happen.
    2. Please let that happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

No.

I want someone to eat them so they will die and we'll never be subjected to their idiocy ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭chalkitdown

As a cheesy pop song it'll probably do ok in the competition. Pity it's a pair of knobs performing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

After I saw them on Vincent Browne I just though that I would love to kick the living shít out of them wish them well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Biggins wrote: »
    Yes, they are genuinely nice kids.
    There is much worse out there and for all the daftness of them and lack of talent, they are Louis Walsh is making serious money, they are additionally creating revenue for staff around them and they are not breaking balls or related to crime of any kind.

Finally they are Irish. We should support our own just as much as others!

All fixed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,163 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Personally I think they are a right pair of muppets and cant bear to watch them. The song is pretty catchy though when its on the radio - them singing live is a different story - completely out of tune.

HOWEVER, I would love to see them at least get through to the final next Sat. Seemingly Europe loves them so ya never know. I for one will be watching! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

I genuinely hope they do win. They are two nice young lads! If my daughter had posters of them all over he wall I don't think I'd object too much. They have a "dozy image" they have made their own. They can't be that thick, they're multi millionaires. They work hard, and give their fans the time they deserve.

The Germans, dutch, danish and french are writing about them, and seem so far to love them. They won't stop Ireland from being a political laughing stock, but they sure as hell won't make it any worse.

GO JEDWARD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

A real life Zig and Zag and the best of luck to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭CptMackey

I hope they loose. Hate em with a passion. They are the most annoying People on the planet. How they got anywhere with no decernable talent is beyond me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I hope they win! good luck jedward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

CptMackey wrote: »
    I hope they loose. Hate em with a passion. They are the most annoying People on the planet. How they got anywhere with no decernable talent is beyond me.

I can see why people might dislike them or their music, but how can one say they hate them with a passion?

Anything there ever on is car crash TV, but its very watchable to see whats going to happen.

Seen them on Wagons Den one night, I was hoping Sheila Sheik was going to grab one of their head and let them motorboat her titties.
    But it never happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

I hope they win too,it's not a bad song and Ireland are the best at Eurovision we should win it every year :)

.......you watch Wagon's Den?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

The-Rigger wrote: »
    .......you watch Wagon's Den?

For my sins. Its on after Desperate Housewives... and the other half watches it.

I feel for you. Let me know next time and we'll go kick a ball.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Not even kind of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭ucdmike

When is it on? Cant see them winning but I think they'll do fairly well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭ArtyM

Yes.
    Oh wait did you say win the eurovision, I thought you said get run over by a steamroller.
    So, No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

BengaLover wrote: »
    Whoever directed that video should be shot tho..
    Waste of a bullet. Jedward should be stood one in front of another, and shot in the head. Two sh|tes with the one bullet.

I hope Lordi type sh|t wins, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,163 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

ucdmike wrote: »
    When is it on? Cant see them winning but I think they'll do fairly well.

14th is the final. The heats are next tuesday and thursday I think and they are on the second heat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

ArtyM wrote: »
    I thought you said get run over by a steamroller

Their hair would be exactly the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

they won't even make it past the semis, awful rubbish, france will walk the eurovision this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭sallydan

Sure why not...cant do any worse than a turkey!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Absolutely not.

They might well be nice kids, but that doesn't make up for the fact that they have zero talent and have the most irritating form of the "wanna talk in Americanisms" affliction known to man, despite them not actually making any sense when talking and not having anything worthwhile to say.

What makes me laugh is that people who swore that they'd never watch the x-factor ****e if they got through to the following week (a) kept watching and (b) are now the biggest offenders of spouting "aww, give 'em a chance / support our own".

Eurovision might be a guilty pleasure, but I reckon the real reason the EU/IMF are screwing us is because of our two-fingers via Dustin and now these twits.

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Eurovision might be a guilty pleasure, but I reckon the real reason the EU/IMF are screwing us is because of our two-fingers via Dustin and now these twits.

Ah go way, you don't really think that? Do ya? Irelands political landscape is a shamble all because we don't take the eurovision seriously? That's even a bit too much for the best conspiracy theorist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

People are going on as if the eurovision is the mercury music awards or something, more or less every act in it is going to be crap and tacky. I'm fully behind Jedward( ooh er missus). I find the people who get wound up by jedward a little sad, they're an act for kids and kids love them, no harm whatsoever. Anyway I think it more a case of people feigning anger and outrage to make themselves look cool and edgy.

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Ah go way, you don't really think that? Do ya? Irelands political landscape is a shamble all because we don't take the eurovision seriously? That's even a bit too much for the best conspiracy theorist!

Welcome to After Hours.....enjoy your stay! ;):D

People are going on as if the eurovision is the mercury music awards or something, more or less every act in it is going to be crap and tacky. I'm fully behind Jedward( ooh er missus). I find the people who get wound up by jedward a little sad, they're an act for kids and kids love them, no harm whatsoever.

Did we send Bosco in the 80s ?
    Anyway I think it more a case of people feigning anger and outrage to make themselves look cool and edgy.

You'd be wrong, in one case at least.

If anything it's the people who u-turned on their promises to quit watching the x-factor tripe if the twints were kept in who look like fools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

I wouldn't mind if they won to be honest.This country could do with a boost to its profile and although I'd like someone else to represent us,if we won it then it could go some way to raise it!

Anyways doing a sweepstakes or similar on Eurovision night is a bit of craic,I reckon everyone will wanna get Jedward!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The guy

It's not a serious singing competition with talent and good songs it's the eurovision, send them, they can't do any worse than what's there already.

Welcome to After Hours.....enjoy your stay! ;):D

So you don't believe it... phew, I was gonna get the dr to increase your prescription! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Did we send Bosco in the 80s ?

You'd be wrong, in one case at least.

If anything it's the people who u-turned on their promises to quit watching the x-factor tripe if the twints were kept in who look like fools.

Bosco was't a music act.

"people who u-turned on their promises"

Oh how could they, the monsters!