Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

OZ

• 05-05-2011 5:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭

Well another mate is leaving on a plane today bound for OZ, ever get the feeling that the best of our country is leaving? Have to say fair play to 'em and all that jazz, bit jelous to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭partyndbs

back in a yr its alrite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

We might aswell start moving random counties over there aswell. Sure oz has all our people might aswell give em our land too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Given that they are going through their won property bubble many going over could find themselves in a bad situation. It's a great spot when you have work but if you're out of work for a long period of time you don't be long feeling it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,214 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

I Was VB wrote: »
    Well another mate is leaving on a plane today bound for OZ, ever get the feeling that the best of our country is leaving? Have to say fair play to 'em and all that jazz, bit jelous to be honest.

No I'm still here;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

my brother went to Oz on Tues

we're off to NZ as soon as visa set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭haydar

Myself and the other half off on the fifth of july forever. Though it will be hard to leave my 280 euro a week job night packing in Dunnes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Its Australia not "OZ"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Pauleta wrote: »
    Its Australia not "OZ"

Thats not a knife, its a spoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Following the yellow-brick road, is he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Hazys wrote: »
    Thats not a knife, its a spoon.
    I see you've played knif-y spoon-y before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Best me hole! The best are here trying to fix ****. Everyone was off to Australia before the resession. Am I missing something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

Im off in September, why dont you go with your mate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Riamfada wrote: »
    Best me hole! The best are here trying to fix ****. Everyone was off to Australia before the resession. Am I missing something?

They also re-elected Brian Lenihan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Tell him to watch out for shankings. A newspaper tucked into the waistband is a good protection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

If your friends are of the age group that usually go travelling then I don't see the problem. Loads of people are moaning about having to emigrate when they probably would have gone for a year anyway.

It's couples with families, people with their roots set down or people with no other option that have to go in search of work. Now that's sh!tty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

The creme de la creme will still be here!

I'm staying :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

kfallon wrote: »
    The creme de la creme will still be here!

I'm staying :pac:

That's very assuring to know, kf, considering...
    The more **** you have in a day the smaller the load with each **** but better the sensation :pac:

By **** 9 or 10 it's just a puff of smoke :p
    There is only one area I want rubbed and I'll even provide the baby oil :pac:

Reminds me of the scene in 'Twin Town'....."Tits and a hand shandy" :D

:D:D

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

fontanalis wrote: »

That was mainly due to the best kept in Castleknock and Portmarnock, i'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 amoXx

I'm off there in a year aswell. Can't wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Nevore wrote: »
    Tell him to watch out for shankings. A newspaper tucked into the waistband is a good protection.

Omar's phone book FTW....sh*t I am doing this wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Oisintarrant

I'm sick to death of waiting for the country to right itself.

Been waiting 4 years now to come home and keep hoping maybe next year. Before anyone says it, no, I dont think I would get a job back home doing what I'm doing so dont bother with the traitor comments.

I can guarantee theres 1000's more in the same boat all around the world. Its not the same as the 80's when there was no hope of ever going back home.

Temporary emigration is all the rage these days.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I'm sick to death of waiting for the country to right itself.

Been waiting 4 years now to come home and keep hoping maybe next year. Before anyone says it, no, I dont think I would get a job back home doing what I'm doing so dont bother with the traitor comments.

I can guarantee theres 1000's more in the same boat all around the world. Its not the same as the 80's when there was no hope of ever going back home.

Temporary emigration is all the rage these days.:)

It's called "travelling" - I don't think many see it as being permanent when they leave (me just being a weird exception!)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

ever get the feeling that the best of our country is leaving?

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

fontanalis wrote: »

I dont get it ????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

It's a nice place to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭population

Australia is a lovely place and I think the majority of people who are going there are backpackers despite the press narrative, but I think the difference this time is that 10 years ago people came back safe in the knowledge they could pick up a job. Now if they have a job over there, and no prospects at home, chances are they will stick around for keeps.

Worse places to be though. Great weather. Public beaches. Medicare, Isla Fisher. All good:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Make sure and stay there though.

Don't all camp back the minute things improve and push up house prices again for the people that held the fort here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Spend a week in Bondi or St. Kilda and your mind will quickly be put at ease. As a general rule in my experience, those who want to have fun go to Australia. For the most part, those who are considered the best don't have to leave for work and, those that do, don't need to go as far as Australia for it.

Don't be too jealous. Australia has an inflated reputation in Ireland. Take a few spots out of it and it's quite a dull country I found.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

GerM wrote: »
    Spend a week in Bondi or St. Kilda and your mind will quickly be put at ease. As a general rule in my experience, those who want to have fun go to Australia. For the most part, those who are considered the best don't have to leave for work and, those that do, don't need to go as far as Australia for it.

Don't be too jealous. Australia has an inflated reputation in Ireland. Take a few spots out of it and it's quite a dull country I found.

agree...Spend a day in Bondi junction and it will be like you never left..sunburnt red faced culchie gaaa jersey wearing gimps every where...What's the point in going to OZ if your gonna hang around Bondi in the teagardens with the reast of the embarrasing fools from Ireland...I cringe when i think of this...Most Australians think we are idiots & i can see why...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

Thought this was going to be about Tobias Beecher and co :(

Shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

one mate going in june, 4 in july, me by the end of the year hopefully.

On top of approx 30 I know there already. A generation lost im afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭dpe

Australia is fantastically overrated. If you're going to go travelling (rather than actually emigrating) there are better and cheaper destinations. Lots and lots of better and cheaper destinations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

I dont say fair play to them or envy anyone going to Australia or anywhere else. Grass is always greener on the other side.

Alot of people follow the herd mentality and travel places just because everyone else is.
    For many going away is a short term gamble or solution to current unemployment, its grand getting a job abroad but if its just washing windows its hardly going to lead to a career that they might eek out with harder graf here. Alot will return here having wasted their visas and find themselves in similar situation to what they left but without the get out option of a visa.

I dont think things are too bad here in Ireland, if all the moaning was finished with and the media changed its tune of highlighting so many gripes and moans for sensationalism we would be better off and people could get up in the morning with a more positive vibe about their day ahead.

I dont envy anyone flying abroad best of luck to them, i admire the positive people here making it happen.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

It wasn't so long ago we sent them there for thieving and prostitution.
    So unless you're a bad thief or out of work callgirl then no. Our best are not going there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

The people I know who are heading south are not the kind of people who make any kind of useful contribution here anyhow. We may lose a few good men, but generally no, the best are not going.

When the dowturn down under comes they'll be back here, back on Boards, asking if they can get dole, and moaning when they are told as they didn't pay their taxes here, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭clived2

If you are going to OZ
    Nevore wrote: »

Aint no newspaper going to save you from

what Adebisi is going to do to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

I think that traveling is important to the individual, as it is good to experience what the wider world has to offer.. Altough living in Bondi junction in a crap flat with a dozen others isnt really that much of an experience..

The best are still here, they are building up on education and experience and waiting for their chance..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

clived2 wrote: »
    If you are going to OZ

Aint no newspaper going to save you from

what Adebisi is going to do to you.

I really thought it was gonna be about OZ too.

I wonder does he know about the band named after him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭lima

The best remain in Ireland? pfft! please, the best have and will move abroad in recession times..

Unless they are studying and taking advantage of the 'free' Irish education of course.. or unless daddy knows someone, or they are gangsters, or if they know politicians. If they are still in Ireland in college, then after they'll feck off to London (if career minded) or Aus, Canada if they are a bit more adventurous and risk taking.

Irish people have always sought opportunities worldwide and it's no different now..

I for one moved abroad to London in 2004 straight after college to get better opportunities, tried to come home to Dublin 3 times to no avail, and am now about to go to Aus on a WHV (my last few months to activate it, sure why not).. plus I've got my Canada visa to use within the next 11 months..

As I have been saying for years.. All the Clever ones have left...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I know a few lads that are doing well for themselves over there but there are many more who came back like a dog with its tail between its legs. It is usually those that treat it like a sun holiday for the first two months that come back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Moving 12000 miles away to some Australian sh1thole doesn't appear anywhere on my list of priorities, nor New Zealand, where my ears would bleed just listening to the natives' accent.

...and forking out thousands of Aus Dollars to get residency, so that you can work for more than three months at a time - bollocks to that!

Unless you manage to eventually wangle a high-paid job, you're marooned there for evermore because of the flight costs, and when one of your family nembers decides to die back home, you're screwed even more for the cost of getting home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Moving 12000 miles away to some Australian sh1thole doesn't appear anywhere on my list of priorities, nor New Zealand, where my ears would bleed just listening to the natives' accent.

...and forking out thousands of Aus Dollars to get residency, so that you can work for more than three months at a time - bollocks to that!

Unless you manage to eventually wangle a high-paid job, you're marooned there for evermore because of the flight costs, and when one of your family nembers decides to die back home, you're screwed even more for the cost of getting home.
    So you would rather stay in an Irish ****hole and listen to the ear bleeding natives?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

The grass is never greener on the other side

So you would rather stay in an Irish ****hole and listen to the ear bleeding natives?

Yep, better the arseholes you know, than the arseholes you don't.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I certainly would

orourkeda wrote: »
    The grass is never greener on the other side

I think a lot of the Aussie grass is on the brown side, or sh1t coloured, to put it into layman's terms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

agree...Spend a day in Bondi junction and it will be like you never left..sunburnt red faced culchie gaaa jersey wearing gimps every where...What's the point in going to OZ if your gonna hang around Bondi in the teagardens with the reast of the embarrasing fools from Ireland...I cringe when i think of this...Most Australians think we are idiots & i can see why...

I agree Bondi & St Kilda are the kind of place that attract muppets thats for sure, in saying that if you have the minerals you can do alright in Australia its a fine country and its looked after me. Looking at it from the outside.... Ireland is not the centre of the universe by a long shot, sometimes you need to get away from to appreciate it.... but at the same time get away from it to appreciate that its not that great either.

To me Ireland will always be home.... but am happy enough to call Australia home as well.

People going on a one year visa are not emigrating they are just holidaying all 20,000 of them, there is only about 3000 Irish people actually emigrate to Australia each year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Riamfada wrote: »
    I dont get it ????

anyone who re elected him after what he did to the country clearly does not have a brain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

lima wrote: »
    The best remain in Ireland? pfft! please, the best have and will move abroad in recession times..

Unless they are studying and taking advantage of the 'free' Irish education of course.. or unless daddy knows someone, or they are gangsters, or if they know politicians. If they are still in Ireland in college, then after they'll feck off to London (if career minded) or Aus, Canada if they are a bit more adventurous and risk taking.

Irish people have always sought opportunities worldwide and it's no different now..

I for one moved abroad to London in 2004 straight after college to get better opportunities, tried to come home to Dublin 3 times to no avail, and am now about to go to Aus on a WHV (my last few months to activate it, sure why not).. plus I've got my Canada visa to use within the next 11 months..

As I have been saying for years.. All the Clever ones have left...

I think the point that a fair few people are making is that the "best" aren't forced to leave. They will find employment in Ireland or, as I pointed out earlier, at worst, somewhere a lot closer than Australia such as London. Those that leave are doing so to make more money. It was always the case, in recession or otherwise. It's a choice; they're not being forced to do so. Those that are forced to leave are those that aren't the most highly qualified in our society. As mentioned above, the vast majority of those that go to Australia do so with the aim of getting something that will pay the bills and fund their drinking; emigration isn't the main thing in their mind when they leave.