Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do people actually use the term "west brit" in real life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I'd break their nose if they called me it in RL.. especially if it was one of the nerds on here that role play hard men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭spyderski

It is, in fact, impossible to live in the Dun Laoghaire area without using the term "West Brit"! Around 20% of the population fall into this category. When someone walks into a shop and says " Good morning my good man" in a plummy english accent, what other term can you use for them? Its not necessarily a derogatory term, just a genuine description of what they are. Im sure many west brits recognise themselves as such!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Yes people use it, it perfectly describes some.

I use it in a joking manner usually.

Actually the real question is, do people like you walk the streets of Ireland looking for a tear up with people who don't conform to your stringent criteria for being a good Irishman?

I'm willing to bet you wouldn't even give a dirty look if you saw a six foot tall man in the street in shirt with the union flag emblazoned on it in some way, let alone give it all the west-brit traitor verbal abuse.
    Who would wear a shirt like that? :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

I've very occasionally met West Brits. People born and bred in Ireland (usually but not always Dublin) with distinctly British sounding accents and points of reference. I read the Grauniad most days but wouldn't class myself as a West Brit. There are numerous indicators but any one of them isn't conclusive proof that someone is a West Brit. Accent, newspaper, education, sports etc .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭QuinnC88

Wolfe Tone wrote: »

A West-Brit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

Predator_ wrote: »
    Smashed by who?

Andy Gray.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭LondonIrish90

Wolfe Tone wrote: »

Maybe an Iron Maiden fan, such as your good self!

Sure they have many shirts with the union flag depicted on them in some manner. Nothing to do with loyalism, patriotism or anything, but still people like predator would call them a west-brit. Through the medium of the internet of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

spyderski wrote: »
    It is, in fact, impossible to live in the Dun Laoghaire area without using the term "West Brit"! Around 20% of the population fall into this category. When someone walks into a shop and says " Good morning my good man" in a plummy english accent, what other term can you use for them? Its not necessarily a derogatory term, just a genuine description of what they are. Im sure many west brits recognise themselves as such!
    I've very occasionally met West Brits. People born and bred in Ireland (usually but not always Dublin) with distinctly British sounding accents and points of reference. I read the Grauniad most days but wouldn't class myself as a West Brit. There are numerous indicators but any one of them isn't conclusive proof that someone is a West Brit. Accent, newspaper, education, sports etc .
    I hadn't heard of the term until I started reading this thread and was going to ask what it was. Thank you for clearing it up ;)

Maybe an Iron Maiden fan, such as your good self!

Sure they have many shirts with the union flag depicted on them in some manner. Nothing to do with loyalism, patriotism or anything, but still people like predator would call them a west-brit. Through the medium of the internet of course.
    Nah I will stick to my IRA tee shirt if its all the same

(I kid)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'd hazard a guess that unless your line of work necessitates being around people with special needs all the time *(excluding AH), you wouldn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

People don't really use it too much anymore, and when they do its for a bit of craic mostly.

But years ago, during the height of the troubles, if it was leveled at someone it was said with bile, with real hatred - ie "fucking west brit bastard".

I haven't seen it used like that in a long time.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

First heard it when I was 15... i er... paid attention in school...

Last heard it... about 15 minutes ago when some gobshíte was mouthing off some stupid generalisations about people aged between 20 / 25 referring to Dublin as West Brits and the real Ireland being out in the west coast...

fúcking moron...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Im a South-East Icelander

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

I am from the North and consider myself Irish.

I have seen the same people that criticise the term "west brit" criticise me for calling myself Irish.

I really need to stop pointing out hypocrisy on this forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

I used the term, "Fucking eejit" or "jackeen" more often ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

Im a South-East Icelander

Where do you live, Donegal ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

East Brit..East Belfast...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭MadameCholet

There are a lot of different accents in Ireland though. My mum has had people tell her that she isn't Irish. she is, she just has a very soft accent. And the people you imagine 'sound British' would not pass for British in Britain for one moment. All the British would hear would be an Irish accent. But, the British don't have a monopoly on speaking very well, and the absence of a strong accent is speaking well.

I've had people tell me I sound English too. I find it really tedious and usually think to myself 'insular knacker'.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,150 ✭✭✭✭bnt

It came up in a conversation over coffee with friends the other day; something about D4. Never mind that we were in D4 at the time; I find it reassuring that they can use that term around me without worrying, since I actually am a Brit. A Wester-than-West Brit, you might say. :o

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Seeing as I now live East of Britain, should I be an East Brit? Although, I'm actually in Edinburgh at the mo, so that should be a slightly-to-the-north-of-England-but-still-technically-Britain Brit?

Seriously. "West Brit" is up there with "bleeding-heart liberal" in terms of internetspeak for "I have no ****ing clue what I am talking about, but I hope no one one will notice if I throw out a blind cliched insult and whistle a little."

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.