Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do people actually use the term "west brit" in real life

• 03-05-2011 9:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭

I only ever hear the term on boards.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Yore ma uses the term West Brit all the time.

And in Russia, the term West Brit uses you.

Both cool stories, bro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I've heard it said, mostly in a joking manner, but a couple of times in seriousness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

Never heard "west brit" till i joined boards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

I was heading up to Beflast one day, got lost and stopped and asked for directions. I saw a chinese guy, showed him the map and asked if this road went North, he said: 'No, it go west a brit'

/christ that was a terrible joke...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Yes and every day random people start ranting to me about how great atheism is and how everyone else is an inferior human being.

and whenever I ask someone how to solve a problem they tell me to blast it with piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I think people only use it once in real life.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭Downlinz

KeithM89 wrote: »
    I was heading up to Beflast one day, got lost and stopped and asked for directions. I saw a chinese guy, showed him the map and asked if this road went North, he said: 'No, it go west a brit'

/christ that was a terrible joke...

oh dear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Never heard "west brit" till i joined boards

Same here, but I live a short walk from the capital of West Britain - Kingstown (Dun Laoghaire, as those filthy locals put it), where I spend my days wrapped in a Union Jack, fapping to pictures of the Queen.

Does any other point on the compass have a 'Brit'? Possibly the south-east Brits of Brittany in France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

Isn't it a term of affection used by Northside Dubliners when describing Southside Dubliners ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 TheBucks

I think it's only used to get some people going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Does any other point on the compass have a 'Brit'? Possibly the south-east Brits of Brittany in France.

There are lots of them in France. During the property boom/tiger they were mad to buy second houses over there or move to brittany

Ever been on the Eurotunnel? Hardly no French cars on the bloody thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Downlinz wrote: »
    I only ever hear the term on boards.ie

In fairness, it's a term normally used on boards.ie by the same people who use the term "boggers"...even though "boggers" originated as a derivate of the term "Bog Trotter" which came to prominence in England back in the day as a derogatory term for all Irish people.

So the irony generally just leaves me laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭MardiB

My Dad calls me a west brit because I read the Sunday times:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Predator_

The real question is, do west brits actully say the nonsense they post in AH in real life? I say not because they would be smashed.

Predator_ wrote: »
    The real question is, do west brits actully say the nonsense they post in AH in real life? I say not because they would be smashed.

I don't actually fap to the Queen. You caught me, fair play.

I fap to Helen Mirren playing the Queen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

In fairness, it's a term normally used on boards.ie by the same people who use the term "boggers"...even though "boggers" originated as a derivate of the term "Bog Trotter" which came to prominence in England back in the day as a derogatory term for all Irish people.

So the irony generally just leaves me laughing.

Wouldn't have thought it would be the same type using it, didn't know that's where it came from.

Heard it a couple of times in real life, sounds just as stupid.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

I don't actually fap to the Queen. You caught me, fair play.

I fap to Helen Mirren playing the Queen.

Are you Irish?

Not in your eyes! :pac:

explain!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

You remind me of facekicker, without the humour.

explain!

I'm from West Britain :pac:

Fair enough, you fit in well here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 threestripes

only when referring to those inside the Pale and many Free Staters from Mayo

Fair enough, you fit in well here.

I should hope so, if I leave the house I risk being smashed, and I have no desire to be a potato.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

The real question is, do keyboard warriors actully say the nonsense they post in AH in real life? I say not because they would be smashed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I've never heard the term West Brit used by anyone who wasnt cowering behind a keyboard.

The real question is, do keyboard warriors actully say the nonsense they post in AH in real life? I say not because they would be smashed.

Smashed by who?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭LondonIrish90

Actually the real question is, do people like you walk the streets of Ireland looking for a tear up with people who don't conform to your stringent criteria for being a good Irishman?

I'm willing to bet you wouldn't even give a dirty look if you saw a six foot tall man in the street in shirt with the union flag emblazoned on it in some way, let alone give it all the west-brit traitor verbal abuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I'd break their nose if they called me it in RL.. especially if it was one of the nerds on here that role play hard men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭spyderski

It is, in fact, impossible to live in the Dun Laoghaire area without using the term "West Brit"! Around 20% of the population fall into this category. When someone walks into a shop and says " Good morning my good man" in a plummy english accent, what other term can you use for them? Its not necessarily a derogatory term, just a genuine description of what they are. Im sure many west brits recognise themselves as such!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Yes people use it, it perfectly describes some.

I use it in a joking manner usually.

Actually the real question is, do people like you walk the streets of Ireland looking for a tear up with people who don't conform to your stringent criteria for being a good Irishman?

I'm willing to bet you wouldn't even give a dirty look if you saw a six foot tall man in the street in shirt with the union flag emblazoned on it in some way, let alone give it all the west-brit traitor verbal abuse.
    Who would wear a shirt like that? :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

I've very occasionally met West Brits. People born and bred in Ireland (usually but not always Dublin) with distinctly British sounding accents and points of reference. I read the Grauniad most days but wouldn't class myself as a West Brit. There are numerous indicators but any one of them isn't conclusive proof that someone is a West Brit. Accent, newspaper, education, sports etc .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭QuinnC88

Wolfe Tone wrote: »

A West-Brit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

Smashed by who?

Andy Gray.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭LondonIrish90

Wolfe Tone wrote: »

Maybe an Iron Maiden fan, such as your good self!

Sure they have many shirts with the union flag depicted on them in some manner. Nothing to do with loyalism, patriotism or anything, but still people like predator would call them a west-brit. Through the medium of the internet of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

spyderski wrote: »
    It is, in fact, impossible to live in the Dun Laoghaire area without using the term "West Brit"! Around 20% of the population fall into this category. When someone walks into a shop and says " Good morning my good man" in a plummy english accent, what other term can you use for them? Its not necessarily a derogatory term, just a genuine description of what they are. Im sure many west brits recognise themselves as such!
    I've very occasionally met West Brits. People born and bred in Ireland (usually but not always Dublin) with distinctly British sounding accents and points of reference. I read the Grauniad most days but wouldn't class myself as a West Brit. There are numerous indicators but any one of them isn't conclusive proof that someone is a West Brit. Accent, newspaper, education, sports etc .
    I hadn't heard of the term until I started reading this thread and was going to ask what it was. Thank you for clearing it up ;)

Maybe an Iron Maiden fan, such as your good self!

Sure they have many shirts with the union flag depicted on them in some manner. Nothing to do with loyalism, patriotism or anything, but still people like predator would call them a west-brit. Through the medium of the internet of course.
    Nah I will stick to my IRA tee shirt if its all the same

(I kid)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'd hazard a guess that unless your line of work necessitates being around people with special needs all the time *(excluding AH), you wouldn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

People don't really use it too much anymore, and when they do its for a bit of craic mostly.

But years ago, during the height of the troubles, if it was leveled at someone it was said with bile, with real hatred - ie "fucking west brit bastard".

I haven't seen it used like that in a long time.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

First heard it when I was 15... i er... paid attention in school...

Last heard it... about 15 minutes ago when some gobshíte was mouthing off some stupid generalisations about people aged between 20 / 25 referring to Dublin as West Brits and the real Ireland being out in the west coast...

fúcking moron...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Im a South-East Icelander

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

I am from the North and consider myself Irish.

I have seen the same people that criticise the term "west brit" criticise me for calling myself Irish.

I really need to stop pointing out hypocrisy on this forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

I used the term, "Fucking eejit" or "jackeen" more often ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

Im a South-East Icelander

Where do you live, Donegal ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

East Brit..East Belfast...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭MadameCholet

There are a lot of different accents in Ireland though. My mum has had people tell her that she isn't Irish. she is, she just has a very soft accent. And the people you imagine 'sound British' would not pass for British in Britain for one moment. All the British would hear would be an Irish accent. But, the British don't have a monopoly on speaking very well, and the absence of a strong accent is speaking well.

I've had people tell me I sound English too. I find it really tedious and usually think to myself 'insular knacker'.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

It came up in a conversation over coffee with friends the other day; something about D4. Never mind that we were in D4 at the time; I find it reassuring that they can use that term around me without worrying, since I actually am a Brit. A Wester-than-West Brit, you might say. :o

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray