Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stray dog

• 01-05-2011 11:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭

Hi lads,I'm in a bit of a sticky spot and I need advice. I know something like this came up recently but I have to ask. A good mate of mine has lost several lambs to a stray dog(we know for certain it's a dog but don't know who it belongs to) and he has asked me to shoot it as he doesn't have a gun. I have exclusive permission for his land but I'm a bit unsure about it. What do I do? He needs this dog gone and the guards just told him to shoot it but can I do it in his stead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Xplor.er

if i was you i would just shoot the dog for the farmer, dispose of it and dont talk about it again. Knowone will know;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Hondata92

My understanding is that once a dog is worrying livestock then it can be shot once you have the landowners permission to shoot on the land.

Personally if i shot the dog i would ring the guards or have the farmer do so to tell them that a dog of "X" description has been shot due to attacking/killing livestock

I once had to shoot a dog on my land that was worrying livestock and i informed the guards who made a note of it ( i had been in contact with them prior to this about the legality of it)

I knew who owned the dog and before i shot it, i had confronted them and they denied owning the dog, once it had been humanely dispatched i never heard a word about it but that was on my own land yet cant see it been any different if you are shooting on the farmers behalf, that been said just have the farmer ring the guards to confirm its all above board

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

You can shoot the dog, but only as a last resort. You can try trapping the dog and informing the owner that his/her dog is causing harm. If they deny ownership of the dog, and you know its their dog, then you are one step closer to being in the clear.

Now when it comes to the shooting of a dog you can only do so uner the conditions that the owner has been given fair opportunity to control the dog, the local dog warden has been informed and done nothing or failed to catch the dog, and lastly that you yourself have failed to catch the dog.

If the dog is shot then you have a few things you need to do/know.
    • Firstly, make sure you have permission to be on the land from the land owner or a member of his/her family. Writing is best so he cannot deny it later and leave you hanging.
    • Inform the Gardai within 48 hours that the dog has been shot on these lands, and not elsewhere that you DO NOT have permission for.
    • Make sure the livestock is lawfully on the land. In other words that its the farmer's livestock and should be there. You cannot shoot a dog for worrying livestock that shouldn't/has no right to be on those lands.
    • Lastly, and probably that the dog was infact worrying livestock. You cannot shoot an animal that was simply "passing through". To that end have photographic evidence of damage/injury to any livestock. The more you have the better.
    All of this is in accordance with the 1960 Dogs(Protection of Livestock) Act, and in keeping with the 1986 & 1992 Control of dogs act. By complying with the steps above, AL OF THEM, and informing owners, Gardai, etc prior to any shooting then you are covering both yourself and the landowner should the dog owner "suddenly" remember that the dog is theirs and try and claim/sue either of ye for damages.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭fodda

If you can capture it there is no need to shoot it and put yourself in a tricky situation.

It may be lost or it could have been dumped which means it may even come when called as it would be used to humans but obviously scared off by an angry farmer shouting at it.

http://www.ispca.ie/Legal-Chapter-11-2.aspx

Look at Q28/b and this bit ...... he was the person in charge of the livestock,

So does that mean you have to be the farmer or his employee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

Thanks for the input lads,but while I was trying to figure out the safest way to do this,the farmer got pi$$ed off waiting for me and went out last night with a buddy of mine(and his .30-06) and they got him! They did go to the gardai first to get the ok to do it though. Oh well,thanks anyway guys:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

Xplor.er wrote: »
    if i was you i would just shoot the dog for the farmer, dispose of it and dont talk about it again. Knowone will know;)

exactly shoot the bugger, done and dusted:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

giving people advice on this forum to just shoot a dog and dump it without telling anyone is a bit stupid imo. another reason for the anti's to disprove and you'd be surpised who on here might know the op and it could get him in alot of trouble. just my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Hunter21

Longranger please do us all a favour and edit your post about how the dog was shot. Too much detail was given, it was like you fired rocket launchers and "blew" up Osama Bin Laden last night.

Im not admin or moderator but just spare the details.

PS this is not a dig at you, just I know from experience that saying things on forums can land you in ****e with the narrow minded outside world

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

OP has his issue resolved and to prevent a morality debate, which is against charter rules, i'm closing the thread.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo