Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can you do any 'official' dances?

• 28-04-2011 11:59am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Not like shake-yer-arse-in-the-club dancing, but proper styles - the waltz, tango, flamenco, swing-dancing, Irish dancing, ballet, etc?

If so, what do you know, and how hard was it to learn?
    If not, why not, and would you ever learn one?

I don't know any.. well, I learned the Waltz when I was quite young, and theoretically know how to do it, but I'm a bit clumsy. :o I'd love to learn something like the Tango, though, or Swing! Swing looks like so much fun. :D

Yourselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I'd love to be able to tango, a couple I know who got married a while back both took dance lessons and amazed everyone with their first dance it was really cool to see. Its a pity people dont dance the same way in clubs they used to back in the rock and roll/swing days, that'd be awesome :D

I did ballroom dancing for years as a child, the trophies are lying in the attic somewhere. I suppose I can still waltz. I would love to learn swing dancing - after my hiphop dancing voucher has expired I may sign up for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I have a love for swing just because it always looks like so much damn fun in the movies, everyone going mental with big smiles plastered on their faces, throwing each other around the place and just having a ball :D

That said, probably not the best dance to mix with drink..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

Krudler I totally agree, I used to go to a 50's themed nightclub in Toronto, the dancing was amazing!

I can waltz pretty well, my Dad taught me when I was little, he tried to teach me set dancing too but that was a bit too energetic for me :)

I'd love to be able to do the Lindy Hop and the Charleston which are quite similar but A. I am a tall lumbering clumsy yoke and B. I would be far too mortified to ever do a dance class. I saw a couple performing the Lindy Hop and others at the Dublin Vintage Fair last year and I was just in awe, love it.

Edit: There's a Charleston on Just Dance 2, it's fun :)

liah wrote: »
    I have a love for swing just because it always looks like so much damn fun in the movies, everyone going mental with big smiles plastered on their faces, throwing each other around the place and just having a ball :D

That said, probably not the best dance to mix with drink..

the 40's style stuff of big bands and killer suits on the men twirling women around the floor ,looked soooo cool. These days its drunkenly groping someone on a nightclub floor with no rhythm. And how come nightclubs dont play slow songs anymore? now its all repetivite dance sh1te at the end with all the cool stuff at the beginning.

There is (well was, its closed down now) a really cool bar in Limerick that did a night where the dj went through the decades of music ever 20 mins or so, started with big 20's style jazz through the 50's rock n roll Buddy Holly type stuff through Jackson 5 and Motown/soul to the 80's and 90's then stopped, it was awesome and everyone was having a great laugh bopping away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Proud to say I can swing dance; including Lindy Hop, Charleston and Six beat/boogie woogie. Not amazing at all but spent a few years going to classes and social events; tended to favour the routines best as you knew what was coming (in terms of trick steps, jumps, change in the music) but you could always make it look like a surprise to onlookers. Went to a dance event in Perth with the world famous Frankie Manning in 2005, and they taught West coast swing which varied a little from what I had learned, so was thrown in the deep end big time!

Did aerials in a workshop envirnoment; I'm far too terrified and clumsy to trust my weight and timing to a partner!

Did rock and roll as an eight week course and gave a shot to balboa; as much as I loved rock and roll it was bloody hard work and eventually the class clashed with other plans I had.

Does Zumba count?? Kinda I guess but that's more aerobic.

Dancing is deadly. I challenge everyone and anyone to give it a go, great way to keep fit and make friends, and alcoholis kept to a minimum because you need to concentrate!

I wish more men still wore those suits and trilby (?) hats. Looked so class.

Me too, I really want suits and hats to make a comeback, men dressed like men back in the 50's.

krudler wrote: »
    Me too, I really want suits and hats to make a comeback, men dressed like men back in the 50's.

I remember Justin Timberlake wearing the look a lot in the early-mid 00's and always thought it would pick up more after that, but it hasn't. I don't like Justin Timberlake, but that would've been deadly. :(

Oh I hate modern male fashion, River Island is just an assault on taste, they seem to think every guy these days is skinny and gay. I really dont want a pink, illfitting tshirt with silver rhinestones and patches on it thanks.

Suits are stylish, and style never goes out of fashion :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

Does the Macarena count?

Because I am fricking awesome at that. :D

Maple wrote: »
    Does the Macarena count?

No! :pac:

Does the Macarena count?

I can still do the Hamster Dance.. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Saturday night, da da dee da dee da da !!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

I've done Salsa and Swing lessons, neither stuck really.

I can do a few reels and sets.

I can waltz competently as well but it's fairly easy once you're shown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

I did ballet as a kid. Hated it.

Square dancing in school.

And modern jazz when I got older.

Would love to learn jive.

Dont know any formal dances like waltz or tango. As in life, partnering takes a special skill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

I used to spend a lot of time in Spain and did a fair bit of flamenco, even had one of those awesome big frilly dresses and the clicky heels but it fell by the wayside when I was in college. My God though, male flamenco dancers are phenomenally sexy, I still go a little weak at the knees when I hear Spanish guitar :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

I learned Waltzing and Irish dancing when I was younget I can't remember it been really hard but I did practice everynight. My father used to play the accordian and my sisters and I used to put on shoes in the kitchen :) I miss it, I still remember it pretty well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

I took about 14 years of ballet/modern and jazz. Took a little tap but did not like it much.

I can waltz but I love swing and salsa :)

Swing and Salsa are just so much fun, I wish it was more acceptable to actually dance at clubs rather just the standard T&A shaking.

I had a Hispanic guy ask if I was Mexican when we were dancing once cause he said I did not salsa like a "white girl." I was flattered :o

I would love to learn more ballroom dancing stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

I can pick up dance styles pretty quickly, never going to be at professional level but enough to get out on the floor and have a good time Both my mum and granddad are great dancers while my dad had two left feet [parents actually meet at a ceile were he failed to impress with his dance moves :p]. At 91 my granddad can still get up and do a reel around the floor and if you leave him alone for any amount of time he starts dancing on the spot.

Had an ex-boyfriend who was big into swing dancing. During the summer in new york they do a thing called midsummer swing were they've an open air dance space set up at Lincoln center and each night is a different dance style. They have professionals run everyone through the basic steps for an hour then for the next 2 or 3 hours they've a live band for people to dance to....really amazing night out. We went to the swing night with big bad voodoo daddy as the guest band, one of the best nights out I've ever had.

I love dancing, doesn't matter about the style. Use to go out every friday back in college days, really need to get back doing that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

I used to know my ceili steps as a kid but it's all forgotten now. I can manage a waltz and about 1/4 of a jive but that's about it...*

*Oh, and air guitar headbanging...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

I did 18 years of ballet, and taught it a bit so Id be pretty good at that although a bit out of practice now since its so hard to find adult classes to match with my work schedule! As for the first questions of it being difficult, then yes it is but in the best way-when you enjoy something and are passionate about it doesnt seem so much like work. I did classes 4 times a week, and up to 6 times a week if we had shows or exams on so I had to sacrifice quite a bit but it was worth every second, as well as every cut foot or sore muscle :D

I did a lot of modern and contemporary stuff aswell, which I was probably better at because I dont have long ballerina legs. Nothing you could rock out on a club dancefloor though! I tried my hand at tap for awhile but hated it.

Im pretty good at Salsa and know dances like the Pasa Doble quite well. I also took a few Burlesque classes and they taught us the correct way to get the Beyonce booty shake down, its harder than it looks! I really want to take up swing though, it looks like so much fun! I know there used to be classes on around Amiens street there a couple of years ago, I must check it out actually and see if they're still on!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

Azureus wrote: »
    I did 18 years of ballet, and taught it a bit so Id be pretty good at that although a bit out of practice now since its so hard to find adult classes to match with my work schedule! As for the first questions of it being difficult, then yes it is but in the best way-when you enjoy something and are passionate about it doesnt seem so much like work. I did classes 4 times a week, and up to 6 times a week if we had shows or exams on so I had to sacrifice quite a bit but it was worth every second, as well as every cut foot or sore muscle :D

I loved dance (minored in it in college) but I do not miss having to tape up my feet and the scary calluses and stuff. God, I had a callus rip off during class once, not fun :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

jujibee wrote: »
    God, I had a callus rip off during class once, not fun :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Yep I remember coming out of an exam once and my toenail was hanging off, lambswool covered in blood!! Or being on stage and smiling sweetly on the outside, except feeling like your feet are going to explode and almost to tears on the inside :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭confusticated

I did salsa classes for a couple of months, was fairly awful at it. I'm generally okay for the twirly around kind of dancing, but I have absolutely no sense of rhythm. None. I have to concentrate to clap in time with a group. So I have to dance with someone with enough rhythm to make up for that...one of the guys in my salsa class was the same, we'd a great laugh but were absolutely desperate whenever we were partnered up.

I'd love to be able to dance properly, but have very very little hope of it ever happening.

Edit: except ballet. From those comments above, it sounds like very cultural torture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I took ballet classes for about 10 years. Started in France when I was 4 and then took it up here also. It was a lot different in France, more emphasis on classical.

Did Irish dancing for about 8 years. Went about...4 times a week? Was intense! Especially in my club...we (well...not me!) were always winning the worlds and stuff. Very competitive. But it was mostly the parents that were competitive! My Mother wasn't at all.

I've taken the odd hip hop class. And love Zumba...dunno does that count though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

I took years of ballroom dancing when I was younger, Regret giving it up! I ended up in a swing dancing club by accident when I was in london, swing dancing + alcohol= me being elbowed really hard in the face :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I can Irish dance.

I was only talking to one of the lads in college today who's in the Dance soc. I'm gonna join in September!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Did Irish Dancing for years, now as a child I was thrown out of gym for being too big and clumsy, lol am double jointed to my detriment, I was just a big overgrown kid.

Would love to learn the Charleston with himself, but I'd really love to do adult ballet, there are classes for beginners on Saturdays in Dublin city centre, just need to get around to it :) Would do wonders for my posture and joints :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I think it'd be a bit of a stretch to say I can Irish dance now, but I did do it for about 12 years or so. My mum is actually really into it, was an amazing dancer when she was younger and signed me up for classes when I was 4. I still remember her gluing my socks to my legs! :pac:

I was pretty good. There are a lot of trophies and medals I won (and some which my mum won!) somewhere at home. Tbh, I think I gave up because I stopped enjoying it, because when I danced all I ever felt was over-whelming pressure. That's kind of sad.

I'd really like to do it again sometime, just for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,164 ✭✭✭Konata

I do irish dancing and have done since I was 11 :) My only regret is that I didn't start earlier! I loved it from that very first class, when I mastered my 123s in a circle and my teacher made everyone clap for me :D

I danced competitively from 13-19, went all over Ireland and to England and Scotland too. My Mum brought me everywhere and we had fantastic chats on our journeys, it kept us close. I've made amazing friends from my dance school and from other schools and we all have so much fun at class and at feiseanna!

I gave up when I went to college but since I dropped out last year, I've taken it up again. Not competitively but just doing it cause I love it. I never felt much pressure but I do see it on many girls. It's sad that dancers can end up so stressed out over major competitions :( I just danced because I loved it, yes I was disappointed with results sometimes but luckily I had no pressure from my teacher or parents so it was generally okay.

I don't think I'll ever have a life without irish dancing in it somewhere. I still go to the Connachts and All Irelands every year, even though I don't compete anymore. They're like seperate little worlds and they help me destress! I plan to send my kids to dance class and I'll always have the girls I shared so much with for so many years in my life :)

Is Irish Dancing hard? Hell yes! At the top level, the standard is amazing. You have to be so versatile - a tap dancer, a gymnast, an athlete... it's incredible to watch. If you fall in love with it like I did though, it'll all merely be a rewarding challenge :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

I am quite skilled in the art of classical dance and music such as,
    Step's "5,6,7,8" masterpiece of a song,
    Bloodhound Gang's "Bad Touch" also known as "u & me baby ain't nothing but mammals"
    Vengaboys "Boom, Boom,Boom,Boom",
    Las Ketchup
    and of course the much acclaimed "Chicken Dance".
    :p

If I can save the money in time, I am hoping to start Zumba classes in May, going 2 days a week.

I love dancing, and often dance about the sitting room when I'm alone [and the curtains are closed],
    I love the dancing in the film Dirty Dancing and wish they held classes for it. Also like to watch dance groups on shows like "so you think you can dance", and Strictly come dancing though I don't tend to follow every episode of the programmes.
    Would love to be able to break dance and do flips and stuff!:)
    I also love watching the Olympic ice skaters performing to music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

I'd love to be able to tango, a couple I know who got married a while back both took dance lessons and amazed everyone with their first dance it was really cool to see. Its a pity people dont dance the same way in clubs they used to back in the rock and roll/swing days, that'd be awesome :D

On a sort of unrelated note there's a load of first wedding dances up on youtube where the bride and groom start off with your orthodox song and then break into something outrageous. A pretty cool thing to do imo, though the respective parents would probably have a heart attack. This is up there with the best of them;

Does the Macarena count?

Time spent singing the Macarena

tumblr_lc8n6zl2151qbst30o1_500.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Competitive dancesport for ten years, love the ballroom dances and have a few trophies to prove it.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Did tap and jazz dancing for a few years in me teens. Would love to take up some sort of dance class at some stage....keep saying that but never actually do it. Me and my putting stuff on the long finger! I'll be dead before long...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

i can waltz learnt years ago in primary school, would love to learn to ballroom dance but im not the most co-ordinated of people:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Novella wrote: »
    I still remember her gluing my socks to my legs! :pac:

With the skimpy ballroom costumes, you spray glue your knickers to your bottom so you don't get any migration where the sun doesn't shine.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Adhamh

Cameras were rare in those days, so they were there only to record the good dancers. Has anyone actually seen any 'hiphop dancing'? Damn good it is. But that's a different thing to dancing to hiphop, if you get my drift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭mandz

I took up bellydancing a few years ago. Great fun. I love the dressing up. :D

Also tried zumba classes to get a taste of other dances, that's a serious work out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 ehraz

Azureus wrote: »
    I really want to take up swing though, it looks like so much fun! I know there used to be classes on around Amiens street there a couple of years ago, I must check it out actually and see if they're still on!!

Swing classes in The Grand Social on a Monday night and in the Turk's Head on a Wednesday night. The class lasts an hour and then there is social dancing to practice what you've learnt. It's good craic.

There is also a swing picnic in Stephen's Green coming up in on 16th July and one on the 14th August, where people will be swing dancing at the bandstand.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

15 years of ballet, loved every single second of it! It's a lot of hard work, but it's brilliant. Now, I was never going to be a prima ballerina, but I was ok I guess. Just loved it so much. I gradually stopped when I started college, just didn't have the time, and was really enjoying the ol' college social life! I went back this year for a term and it was great, and found a studio near me in NY. As soon as I get a job, I'll be off to get some new gear and take some classes.

Over the years have done tap, jazz, modern and musical theatre. I still have a love of all things dance! I'm studying Business and the Arts in college, so the area of arts administration is of huge interest to me. Maybe someday I'll find myself working in a dance company!

If anyone's looking to give ballet a shot, I definitely recommend Cois Ceim. I got a voucher form Boards Deals before Christmas for one term of classes, so cheers Boards for dragging me back on the ballet wagon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

And how come nightclubs dont play slow songs anymore? .

Ahhh the 'slow set', those were the days! Boys on one side, girls on the other, a few go betweens trying to set up the couples, and Celine Dion blasting outta the speakers.....:P

On topic: Did Irish Dancing for a few years, that's about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭premierlass

I did Irish dancing at school. It was competition dancing, the kind where the Yanks wear false ringlets and horrific multicoloured costumes. :p Awful stuff mostly, but I enjoyed the set dances. My sister learnt step dancing when she lived up north and even went in for the Oireachtas once. I'd do that only I don't have the stamina. It looks great fun.

I can also waltz but haven't tried it in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭boidey

I had always wanted to waltz, so a few weeks ago I joined a jive class to start somewhere. It was great fun and now I'm on the lookout for some waltzing lessons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭missgroovy21

kinda sad.......any 90s/00's s club 7. steps. bsb, 5ive, nsync you name it i know all the dances word perfect!!!!!! dont laugh cuz known the Steps routines won me 600euro in 2006 at a competition

I also Jive, Cha Cha, Charleston and Samba!!!!

Im the person you love to have at parties!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

No I can't, but I would love to learn. Just not high enough on the priority list I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I can do a whole heap of scottish country dances - eighth-some reel and dashing white sergeant and the like...they were part of PE in school and common fodder at every wedding and party ceilidh since. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

I can do the dance from Footloose :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

Chinafoot wrote: »
    I can do the dance from Footloose :)

I can also do that! or at least i think i can after a few drinks. I have some kinda dance addiction, Manys a time i've been the only person on the dance floor ripping it up.
    I do get told pretty often i'm a good dancer(modest), sometimes i think i would like to do some proper classes but i don't like the idea of discipline in dancing. I always think that discipline takes the fun outta things.
    That probably goes back to when i was about 8 and my mum brought to an irish dancing class where some evil wagon shouted at me and all the other kids for about an hour, and then my mum was late picking me up because she got the times mixed up and i just sat outside crying until some nice girls found me and brought me home.
    So because of that irish dancing nazi i'll be sticking to my drunken free style.