Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Men who can dance - whats the attraction?

• 28-04-2011 11:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭

Women often remark that a man with dancing skills ( i mean has taken lessons maybe , and has proper moves, not drunken gyrating on friday night in coppers) is a desirable trait. WHy is this? WHat is it that makes some women go weak at the knees when they see this? I cant fathom it, surely a man shaking his hips
    and ass around the place is not really the height of masculinity?

Can you ladies shed some light on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Ticktactoe

The researchers say that movements associated with good dancing may be indicative of good health and reproductive potential.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Because it's incredibly rare to see a (white) man who can dance well, and rare things are desirable. :P

Nah, all kidding aside, it's probably the health/fitness/confidence in ones' movements thing. I don't know though, since I don't dance nor pay much attention to those who do..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I can dance to something with a good rhythm, cant stand dancing to unts-unts-unts dance music though it wrecks my head, give me something cool like a decent soul track and I can bop away all night, I havent been dancing in aaaaages though.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

My aunt used to always say that dancing was a vertical expression of a horizontal desire!

There is something really nice about being swept around a dancefloor. I'm also impressed by good dancing so it all adds to it I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

I go with the research idea. Research as shown that women prefer good dancers as it shows symmetry, good genes etc.

Also, there are pretty obvious links between dancing and sex. Sway with me, have your way with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭yawha

Waestrel wrote: »
    surely a man shaking his hips
    Firstly, not all dancing involves shaking one's hips and ass around the place.
    Secondly, define "masculinity".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

Stamina, rhythm, cardio fitness, confidence and if they are doing well dancing with me rather then at me then they are already my body language and we are following each others non verbal body movement cues.

A man who can tango will always make a woman weak at the knees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Ticktactoe wrote: »
    The researchers say that movements associated with good dancing may be indicative of good health and reproductive potential.
    If thats the case, then the researchers are saying that I am sterile and on my deathbed :(

A mate of mine is a wicked dancer (not trained, just gots tons of moves) and when he is on the dance floor, he is quickly surrounded by girls who want to dance with him for the craic but never anything more. He has a gf so he is only up for the laugh too, but when he was single, it was the exact same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭dango

Das Kitty wrote: »
    My aunt used to always say that dancing was a vertical expression of a horizontal desire!

Is your aunt George Bernard Shaw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Waestrel

yawha wrote: »
    Firstly, not all dancing involves shaking one's hips and ass around the place.
    Secondly, define "masculinity".

Well said, i suppose being able to lead a woman in a dance is very masculine (In the classical sense - man in control etc)

And of course, dancing well in public is sure sign of confidence.

Rarity too, so few irish men can dance well, or at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Women often remark that a man with dancing skills ( i mean has taken lessons maybe , and has proper moves, not drunken gyrating on friday night in coppers) is a desirable trait. WHy is this? WHat is it that makes some women go weak at the knees when they see this? I cant fathom it, surely a man shaking his hips

Can you ladies shed some light on this?

everybody knows you dance like you ****

good dancer = good in bed (in theory). even if you're not intending to actually sleep with the person, it is the possibility and the play that is exciting / alluring / fun.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

I love a guy who can get out and have a dance around the dancefloor, it's so attractive to me. For me a guy dancing equals him having rhythm, being fun, being confident in himself, uninhibited and not giving a sh1t what anyone else is saying.

One of my best dates ever ended up with he and I dancing around a postage stamp dancefloor until 4am, just throwing shapes and having the craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭boomkatalog

It's rare I see a guy who can actually dance well in a nightclub. I've seen a few lads shamelessy attempt it though and that to me is attractive. They don't really care if they look like a muppet, show's they're some bit confident, good craic and probably trying to make you laugh :)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

dango wrote: »
    Is your aunt George Bernard Shaw?

Nah but I guess she was quoting him without reference!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Salty

I definitely find a man that can dance more attractive. As mentioned above, confidance and being able to have the craic goes hand in hand with a guy who can dance well. And if it's also an indicator of his performance between the sheets, then how bad!;)
    My boyfriend is quite a good dancer, and I love clubbing with him because he's just fun and relaxed to be with on a night out. :)

• Site Banned Posts: 328 ✭✭michelledoh

I've heard that if a guy can dance well: he is great in bed! Apparently dancing is kind of like an obscure mating ritual... hmmm thinking about some dancing lessons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

As a guy this is just a guess but it seems obvious to me.

I'm attracted to girls who have similar interests to me because it means we have something in common which we can relate over. Girls like guys who can dance because girls like dancing. Is it really any more complicated than that?

Of course I'm generalizing in assuming that all girls like dancing. So here is a question, do girls who don't like dancing still find men who are dancers more attractive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Waestrel

So, in a related matter, why do girls love dancing so much. I mean, its held in religous esteem by some girls. Absolute slaves to the rhythm.

Well we were always told the rhythm was gonna get us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

It's rare I see a guy who can actually dance well in a nightclub.

Just as rare as a woman who can dance well, I'd imagine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭boomkatalog

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Just as rare as a woman who can dance well, I'd imagine

Sssssh, when I'm drunk I'm a regular Beyonce! :pac:

No thats true, but then most girls don't make a huge effort, just the bit of hip movements and the odd twirl :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Sssssh, when I'm drunk I'm a regular Beyonce! :pac:

No thats true, but then most girls don't make a huge effort, just the bit of hip movements and the odd twirl :p

In fairness, most girls would be a bit better than guys, just out of sheer practice.

As a guy, a girl who can really dance is a huge turn on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Guys that take dance lessons don't appeal to me at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭lilmissprincess

Theres some scene in Hitch where they declare women look at mens dancing to see what they're like in bed.

In my experience, the two correlate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Yeah I do believe the good at dancing=good in bed theory...

Its never failed me anyway :D

Theres some scene in Hitch where they declare women look at mens dancing to see what they're like in bed.

This one?

Heres a question, what Will Smith does in this video, is that what women would consider to be good dancing? as in just keeping a basic rythm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

The robot is guaranteed to make the ladies wet............

....... themselves laughing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

Apparently, it's one of many abilities which are genetic, indicate good health, good genes, and most importantly, can't be faked. Singing well is almost equally attractive I've noticed.
    It's all through the animal kingdom if you look, most species attract mates using genetically programmed abilities/looks/intelligence etc

Think of the things we find most attractive in a partner : most are genetic, and difficult to fake or reproduce without the corresponding genes.

Simples !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Great dancers = demons in the sack. Add in the confidence it takes to sashay solo on the dance floor and I have a winner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Depends on what kind of dancer tbh. Patrick Swayze inspired stuff is a no-no...same goes for Travolta style moves...

I don't like anything that looks too rehearsed or hints at dance classes on the side. I just like a guy with rhythm. It's the combination of rhythm and confidence that makes someone on the dance floor attractive to me, doesn't matter if he's not a candidate for the Dance Olympics. It's obviously suggestive of another kind of rhythm too, which definitely plays into it consciously or sub-consciously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

That Hitch scene is how I learned to dance... seriously! :p Keep it simple! Every so often I can't resist throwing in a bit of Axl Rose action though :D

I guess the appeal would be that if you can keep a steady rhythm on the dancefloor, then you can probably keep a steady rhythm elsewhere... with the opposite being the case too. Plus the whole evolutionary argument above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

I'm going to go with the got rhythm/good in bed theory. I remember liking a guy from afar but was put off when he started dancing. The only way I could describe it is that it looked like he was shoveling invisible soil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Ticktactoe

Guys that take dance lessons don't appeal to me at all.

Its kinda like cheating... you either have it or you dont!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hookah

If the majority of women believe a good dancer is gonna be good in bed, and subsequently sleep with him for that reason, then all good dancers will get plenty of practice at sex, becoming better lovers, and eventually prove the adage that all good dancers are great in the sack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Or guys who can dance have better natural rhythm and are more confident than their knock-kneed counterparts thereby making them both more attractive to the opposite sex and naturally better in bed?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

I think its a sign of good listening and also that they are not stuck in their heads, so they have a good left right brain integration.

However, a good as a dancer someone is, if they dont show up on time, their dancing credentials quickly cease to lost their sparkle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Adrian009

You want MOVES, ladies? I'll show you my moves!:D:D:D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qg2euuFh2cU

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Adrian009

... so, you dance a lot?:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Was an OK soul dancer in the day - met my wife on the Northern Soul scene - although with the kids and all that I haven't done it for a fair few years now. You do tend to get approached a little more if you have the guts to get up and bust a move - it's true. Even if it just provides an excuse to break the ice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭onlyrocknroll

A little off topic but I remember when 'I see you Baby' (shaking that ass) by Groove Armada was being played in clubs; the attempts of white Irish people to shake their derrieres wasn't exactly the most attractive thing I've ever seen.

I don't think anybody, male or female, got too excited by the sight of that.

A little off topic but I remember when 'I see you Baby' (shaking that ass) by Groove Armada was being played in clubs; the attempts of white Irish people to shake their derrieres wasn't exactly the most attractive thing I've ever seen.

I don't think anybody, male or female, got too excited by the sight of that.

They're having fun. It's liberating to dance to good music and it shouldn't be a competition.

Plus the old white/black thing is always a bit dodgy. I'm sure it has some basis culturally - as in perhaps its wider application/acceptance in black music and subculture - but I've seen some pretty dynamite white soul dancers down the years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

Does sean nós dancing count?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

stovelid wrote: »
    Plus the old white/black thing is always a bit dodgy. I'm sure it has some basis culturally - as in perhaps its wider application/acceptance in black music and subculture - but I've seen some pretty dynamite white soul dancers down the years.
    +1. It'd defo cultural. Knew a black lad, a Dubliner before this was more common, couldn't dance to save his life(his caribbean cousins could though). Plus look back at old 60's 70's pop shows. The whites are atrocious for the most part, but so are the blacks for the most part and the average mixed middling white women dancing today would be better the better black woman of that past.
    trad wrote: »
    Does sean nós dancing count?
    Only if they use the arms I'd say. Otherwise it looks a bit epileptic running on the spot to my eye. Imagine flamenco without the arms involved? Same thing.
    EDIT this guy, no spring chicken and way back before riverdance is using his arms. Mixing it up a bit, with added human juices and fun.

This guy? Good church goer of the parish, never had an impure thought and never saw his wife naked, about as sexy as an armadillo on your head

Riverdance seems to have popularised the arms again thank God.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

I've danced competitively since I was 15, still do occasionally but life and time constraints have limited it to Tango (mostly Argentine), competitions. I've had the same partner since I was 19 and we're friends only.

After girls have seen us dance and figure out we aren't a couple, he's INNUNDATED with offers. :) Tango is very masculine and controlled, the man always leads and the woman submits and thats the appeal.

So yeah, learn to dance because the ladies love it.:)

Giselle wrote: »
    I've danced competitively since I was 15, still do occasionally but life and time constraints have limited it to Tango (mostly Argentine), competitions. I've had the same partner since I was 19 and we're friends only.

After girls have seen us dance and figure out we aren't a couple, he's INNUNDATED with offers. :) Tango is very masculine and controlled, the man always leads and the woman submits and thats the appeal.

Went to a good few Tango shows when I was in Argentina.

Basically stylish, choreographed porn.

I mean this in a entirely good way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Went to a good few Tango shows when I was in Argentina.

Basically stylish, choreographed porn.

I mean this in a entirely good way.

Its meant to be the story of a Gaucho and a prostitute haggling over a price. Subtle, it ain't.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

Giselle wrote: »

Tango is so hard and so skilled though.... its very easy for it to look very very bad unless you know what you are doing. Beautiful dance when done right.

See...unlike the other performing arts, you cant cover up a cock up in dance...

I hate Irish dancing, its like the antichrist to dance, everything dance shouldnt be...half the body paralysed...anti-sex, anti-body...anti sensuality..

Ok Flatley put the sex back into it...but as it stands now on an official level I dont think its been liberated really.

"I would only believe in a God that knows how to dance. ..."-Nietszche

T
    I hate Irish dancing, its like the antichrist to dance, everything dance shouldnt be...half the body paralysed...anti-sex, anti-body...anti sensuality..

Ok Flatley put the sex back into it...but as it stands now on an official level I dont think its been liberated really.

Same as, Irish dancing is ridiculous looking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭onlyrocknroll

They're having fun. It's liberating to dance to good music and it shouldn't be a competition.

I wasn't trying to be snooty. It's just a little funny when people dance badly. I know it's probably hilarious when I try to dance.

I take your point about the black/white thing though. Sorry that was a really silly thing to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭swapple