Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To the bottom dweller to vandalised my pride and joy

• 24-04-2011 09:11AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭

A change the image of my car from the two photos below ...

Die a slow and painful death you evil piece of trash ...

This country has gone to hell :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,813 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

I hope you called the Gardaí and made a complaint? This looks like someone tried to burn it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭jodaw

Yes, other car burned out also.

Scum just pure scum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

Whats the point.

I hope they catch whoever did this, fecking disgraceful.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,813 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Wow. In your driveway? Someone could have been killed had it spread to the house. Please tell me the Gardaí are involved? This is a serious thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭LookBehindYou

Those scum should be thrown to hungry dogs.

Yes done in the driveway. Guards are involved but i cannot see anything coming from it.

I do not have any grief with anyone so this is just a pure act of badness. I loved that fecking car and now i will have to part company with in all because of some little toad.

The car has been around for over 30 years and now this. Sick to my stomach it makes me:mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Irish Fire

Those scum should be thrown to hungry dogs.

Hungry dogs?? They would rather starve than eat Sh1t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭KingIsabella

"It would have been worth him doing it to catch him"- im guessing your feeling like that right about now.

can't believe someone would do that just for the sake of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭YBTurbo

Just seen this, devastated for you :(

My Dad was trying to ring you about the car, with an interest to buying it to restore to her former glory.

But your phone seems to be turned off, if you get a chance I will PM you his phone number so you can contact him.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭mk2

Insurance?surly your insurance will cover this,i mean its bad but its no write off and insurance should cover fire at least?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Gutted for you :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Looks more like a planned act to me. ****ing bastard should have his legs broken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Jesus, she looked like a beauty. I hope the scum are caught, and I hope she can be revived to her former glory!

My condolences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭gyppo

Sickened to see the pics, can't imagine how bad you must feel, OP

Must be sold, pics and price removed from DD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Sorry to hear. Those **** should be hung. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

Bloody hell, :mad::mad: Scrotes........ :mad::mad:

Dont give in to them, Get her back on the road / repaired... She deserves it ;)

Some cameras and motion lights needed also.

A big two fingers to them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Bad buzz. Sorry to see that. Is it that bad its not past repairing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭manta mad

:mad:
    sorry to see that happen to you !!!!! :(

hope those responsible are caught and deservedly punished !!!!!!!!

can it be saved ????
    hope it can !

if you need a place to park it up for a while ,drop me a pm ..

Hi Guys,

Thanks very much for all the replies about the car. Just wanted to give a little update on it.

I put it up on donedeal yesterday as a kneejerk reaction and was overwhelmed by the responses. All i can say is thank you to all the offers of places to park it up and maybe supply of parts.

YBTurbo: the reason the phone was switched off was the amount of replies and it being Easter sunday and all :)

But then i began to question myself about getting rid of her ... and i am really torn about it. But i cannot see how i can keep her where she is and even after ploughing i more cash to get her restored i would simply afraid the same would happen again.

But she is a beauty that gave me pleasure everyday i owned it. Guys if any of you have any contacts for people that do restoration please PM me the details as i would be interested to know what such a job would cost and also this would facilitate me i getting the car out of the way for the moment.

Once again thank you for all your replies.

Take care

jodaw wrote: »
    Hi Guys,

Thanks very much for all the replies about the car. Just wanted to give a little update on it.

I put it up on donedeal yesterday as a kneejerk reaction and was overwhelmed by the responses. All i can say is thank you to all the offers of places to park it up and maybe supply of parts.

YBTurbo: the reason the phone was switched off was the amount of replies and it being Easter sunday and all :)

But then i began to question myself about getting rid of her ... and i am really torn about it. But i cannot see how i can keep her where she is and even after ploughing i more cash to get her restored i would simply afraid the same would happen again.

But she is a beauty that gave me pleasure everyday i owned it. Guys if any of you have any contacts for people that do restoration please PM me the details as i would be interested to know what such a job would cost and also this would facilitate me i getting the car out of the way for the moment.

Once again thank you for all your replies.

Take care

Ah fair enough, i'm glad your trying to keep as you would regret it if you sold it. The car is a beauty and its very rare to see a 633Csi.

It is very possible to restore, but afaik you will need to strip it back to a bare shell, sandblast it and start from scratch, just so you don't miss any severly damaged areas and to keep the possible rust at bay. If you are handy with a spanner yourself it should keep labour costs down.

Best of look restoring it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

sorry to see what happened to you beautiful car i could not make out what happened at first but i see you had a car cover on it which mostly got burned ,bar the front left wing from what we can see very little metal seems damaged so it must be very repairable hope you do and keep it but i suppose your enjoyment will never be the same again worrying about a recurrence

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Those bastards!!

I always presumed those car covers were non combustible.... or fire retardant.

Any idea how it started?

Would it just take a match to light a corner of it?

Anything now a days is a target for arsonists, skips, wheely bins, skip bags and now car covers!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 536 ✭✭✭ahal

Sorry for your troubles.

These car covers are more hassle than they're worth in my experience. I've lost 3 of them ... a certain culturally enriching minority like to know what people have parked on their property. All I can say is, I'm glad I don't own a shotgun.

On the flipside the scumbags in question are obviously jealous that you have something they'll never have in their sad, crisp - bag for condom, "your dinner's poured out" lives. It's the typical scumbag mentality: "I can't have it so no one else should". Hearing you talk about bringing her back from the brink equates to scumbags - 0, you - 1!

Sorry to say this, but looking at the 'after' pic made me think that worse has been advertised on DD as 'pristine' :p

Best of luck.

Tony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭james1410

sorry to hear about this i would be well and truely pissed of it happend to my e30! on the plus side there wasent to much damage done by the looks of things! so she can be saved!

my father bought a hillman super minx convertable a few years back and in between collecting her some low life burned the inside of her out! she was still going and driving and it was sold on to be restored but it's just jealousy! is why they do it!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Jesus OP, I felt sick to my stomach after seeing that, I'm shocked that someone would do something so malicious.

I've seen cars restored to perfection from worse, however, so hopefully the same can happen here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭texasgal

Unbelievable .. and in your own driveway?? Wow .. so sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

as a fellow 633csi owner all i can say is fuck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭wax

That's disgusting. What I wouldn't do if I caught them.:mad:

Don't sell it. You'll later regret it. Take some time before you make a decision but you'll get one back on them (in your own mind) if you restore it yourself and I guarantee you'll love the car even more. You'll learn alot in the process.
    Take some inspiration from this thread

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

Dirty feckers. :mad:

On the plus side, it could have been worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Tigger wrote: »
    as a fellow 633csi owner all i can say is fuck
    How come **** is not starred out as usual but is on my posts?:confused:
    On the plus side, it could have been worse.
    Yes, you can testify to that after what happened to your little DAF.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭richardsheil

What a horrible thing to happen.

A neighbour of mine had a79 Citroen Dyane that had been in the family since new. It had been restored in the early noughties.

Some scummers stole it and burnt it out in St. Anne's Park, Raheny.

A truly despicable act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭tc20

just after seeing this OP, and i'm sick to the pit of my stomach....absolute scumbags :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

You need to use the [nofilter][/nofilter] tags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭mondeo

Thats desperate! Cannot think of anything worse to wake up in the morning to. I'd take this worse then if my wife to be left me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Buffman

That sort of sh1t really pisses me off, feel sorry for you OP. Did the neighbours see anything?
    Yes, other car burned out also.

Scum just pure scum

What was the other car you lost?

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Treehouse72

Sorry, I can't quite work out what happened to the car...was it a fire started around the left front wheel arch? What are all those splodges that look like bird droppings all over the body? What's the silver material on the bonnet and windscreen? And is that the windscreen smashed too?

Sorry, not terribly au fait with knacker car knickers' MO's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Sorry, I can't quite work out what happened to the car...was it a fire started around the left front wheel arch? What are all those splodges that look like bird droppings all over the body? What's the silver material on the bonnet and windscreen? And is that the windscreen smashed too?

Sorry, not terribly au fait with knacker car knickers' MO's.

read the earlier posts i worked it out, it was a car cover( took me a while though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Treehouse72

dharn wrote: »
    read the earlier posts i worked it out, it was a car cover( took me a while though)

Ah, of course. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭chevyv8

this sort of crap sickens me to see, what the fcuk are some scumbags made off. a buddy of mine had the same crap done to his camaro, he had it in a carcoon and some little sh*t set it on fire. my buddy managed to save the car though, he lost two rear tyres and rims. what alerted him was the bang the tyres made when they exploded. the scumbag who set it knew exactly what he was at. he open the carcoon and put in a lighted bag of rubbish under the fuel tank area. what comes to mind when i see this carry on is balls in a vice job, no mercy shown. hope you get it sorted out. :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Really sorry for your trouble. Its sickening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Yes, you can testify to that after what happened to your little DAF.:(

i'm pre 2006 we have different rules

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭v240gltse

hi jodaw

so sorry for your troubles , it never ceases to amaze me that low lifes can wreck someones pride and joy and in all honesty naff all will happen to them.
    :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

it looked such a lovely car

regards

brendan

Hi all just wanted to give an update on things,

To Buffman: The other cars were a Laguna and a mint P38 Range Rover (both written off), Luckily the Fiat Coupe LE was parked a bit away so i am happy for this.

Either way i am over it now and them loser have nothing but bad karma coming their way. On the flipside, i feel i have had plenty of good karma coming my way.

I will not mention any names on here since i am sure these people are too modest but i have had some seriously kind offers from people on here and elsewhere. Thank you all very much.

Initially i was going to sell the car on, but i then realised that i could not do that. I have decided to keep it.

I was first off thinking of renting a lock up locally and bringing it back down to metal and build it back up from there. But to be honest i am probably overestimating my skills in this area biggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gif

I would love to learn these things as i go and i am sure that i would love the car even more when it was finished, but i do not think i have the time, tools, expertise at my disposal.

It is amazing how certain things happen. Of all things the insurance assessor for the other cars restored classic cars of a hobby and was foaming at the mouth to take the BMW on as a project, so i may go down this route.

I hope this project will go ahead. It will cost a bit but what price to give my 6er back its dignity???

I may well update this thread or begin a new thread for its resurrection. Either way i seen some very reasonably classic car storage options for when it is done.

Also in the future i will put in the effort to bring it to a few shows where mabye a few of you can see it in the flesh instead of its sad state now.

Time to get to work ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

Thanks for the update ...;)

Keep us up to date with progress ....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭davoxx

i offer my condolences, she looked like a nice car.
    how is the rebuild going? is there much damage to the engine/interior?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Scotty #

To Buffman: The other cars were a Laguna and a mint P38 Range Rover (both written off), Luckily the Fiat Coupe LE was parked a bit away so i am happy for this.
    I'm no detective but this seems very extreme to be a random act of vandalism. Was there any other damage in the area? If it was random then I'd say the local Garda have a fairly short list of would be capable.

Just because you don't have any obvious enemies doesn't mean some looper doesn't like you. It could have been something that you might consider really small or silly that someone else has held a grudge over. I don't know... just my thoughts.

Either way, I hope they die screaming! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭reverenddave

maybe the guy in the shed did it !!!

wow that looks creepy :D

Screenshot_22.png

Screenshot_1_6.png

Screenshot_2_4.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

That is just so mean and pointless. I hope you get the car back on the road soon enough. What a disaster.

/M