Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paul Mcgrath Norman Whiteside drunk video

• 20-04-2011 9:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭

Years ago Paul Mcgrath and Norman Whiteside appeared on skysports as guests for a premierleague game,The thing is they went for a few pints before had and were pissed drunk, I saw clips of it before and whilst enbarressing for them it was quite funny, does anyone know if this is online somewhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Lets not amuse ourselves at the expense of a national hero who has has his life (and that of everyone close to him) destroyed by drink eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

flahavaj wrote: »
    Lets not amuse ourselves at the expense of a national hero who has has his life (and that of everyone close to him) destroyed by drink eh?

+10000000000000000000000000000

Knock yourself out

http://www.google.ie/

School holidays must be early this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Great thread :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

shadowcomplex you are a weirdo.

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Knock yourself out

http://www.google.ie/

School holidays must be early this year

Its actually Easter holidays at the moment!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

POTD contender imho.

Its actually Easter holidays at the moment!

Lol, indeed it is :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Served him a few pints before, top man. Hes a huge man IRL, tv doesnt do him justice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

thats the incident that cost McGrath his United career.nothing funny about laughing at a alcoholic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

mike65 wrote: »
    shadowcomplex you are a weirdo.

Just reported your post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

yabadabado wrote: »
    thats the incident that cost McGrath his United career.nothing funny about laughing at a alcoholic.

McGrath was gone from UTD before SkySports existed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭osullic

Just reported your post

smooth move champ:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Sútalún

Just reported your post

1067629-cool_story_bro_super.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Just reported your post

Mike65 is a protected poster. Removal of him would be in violation of the protection acts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

I met Paul McGrath once at a LOI match in Waterford and even though I was an adult in my thirties and I never ask for autographs I actually went up to Paul. and I was a bit nervous about doing so. A nicer man you couldnt meet. He deserves our respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

McGrath was gone from UTD before SkySports existed.

yeah he was but that incident wasn't on sky tv and its wasn't a premiership game. that happened around 88/89

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,010 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

joke of a thread and not in a funny way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Just reported your post

As have i. Disgraceful behaviour. This isn't the boxing forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭naughto

Just reported your post
    as i did

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Grand amount of hypocrisy in this thread. Its funny the people who we choose to mock and the ones we choose to protect.

McGrath is a hell of a nice guy alright....but...ah nevermind...it would be like arguing with a badger.

(anyone ever see a badger before btw? Ok...I'm away...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Grand amount of hypocrisy in this thread. Its funny the people who we choose to mock and the ones we choose to protect.

McGrath is a hell of a nice guy alright....but...ah nevermind...it would be like arguing with a badger.

(anyone ever see a badger before btw? Ok...I'm away...)

I've only ever seen a dead one. I've often feared meeting one, they have a fearsome reputation but that said i don't know anyone who was ever attacked by one. A bit like swans in that respect i suppose. You always hear how swans are nails and not to be trifled with but do you know anyone who was ever attacked by one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

He was sent-off in an over 40's match a week or two ago IIRC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Badgers can live to 40?

A badger would bite your ankle till he hit bone. Like Norman Hunter.

Just reported your post

:pac: lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,835 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Bloody hell, I'm sure the OP was just wondering if somebody in the soccer forum might know where to find the video.

I'm going out on a limb here but I'm pretty sure that he's not planning on pulling his mickey out and **** himself silly over the soul destroying addiction of a much cherished national icon.
    In fact it was probably just idle curiosity as oppossed to a sinister attempt to mock an unfortunate person.

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

OK whilst laughing at an alcoholic is never right, the charge of hypocrisy against Irish people actually has some merit.

Paul McGrath was a great player. Paul McGrath can be a nice man. But, and this is a big but, he criminally wasted God given ability and has done some terrible things in his life. Things that if Roy Keane, Wayne Rooney, John Terry et al did, would see them strung up on here.

I'm sure the "wasted his talent" comment will make some people say "What about being PFA Player of the year? What about the performance against Italy?". I could list many other examples. But all I'm saying is that we should remember both sides of the man. Or at least be a little more tempered when slaughtering English footballers who are being far more professional. Alcoholism is a terrible disease and the man has my sympathies, but we can be hypocritical at times.

It also seems strange that Robbie Keane gets slaughtered far more than McGrath, so it is not a pro-Irish/anti-English agenda. It just seems to me that Irish people have far greater sympathy for the rogue, boozehound type character than many other countries.

McGrath is a national hero and I'm not trying to be iconoclastic. But hypocrisy is hypocrisy.

nullzero wrote: »
    Bloody hell, I'm sure the OP was just wondering if somebody in the soccer forum might know where to find the video.

googleprivacy13.jpg

Google seems to be a site many on Boards seem to not know about!

OK whilst laughing at an alcoholic is never right, the charge of hypocrisy against Irish people actually has some merit.

Paul McGrath was a great player. Paul McGrath can be a nice man. But, and this is a big but, he criminally wasted God given ability and has done some terrible things in his life. Things that if Roy Keane, Wayne Rooney, John Terry et al did, would see them strung up on here.

I'm sure the "wasted his talent" comment will make some people say "What about being PFA Player of the year? What about the performance against Italy?". I could list many other examples. But all I'm saying is that we should remember both sides of the man. Or at least be a little more tempered when slaughtering English footballers who are being far more professional. Alcoholism is a terrible disease and the man has my sympathies, but we can be hypocritical at times.

It also seems strange that Robbie Keane gets slaughtered far more than McGrath, so it is not a pro-Irish/anti-English agenda. It just seems to me that Irish people have far greater sympathy for the rogue, boozehound type character than many other countries.

McGrath is a national hero and I'm not trying to be iconoclastic. But hypocrisy is hypocrisy.

When it comes to Paul McGrath the bolded part is the bottom line for me. He's a sick man. I don't like to see people laugh at him, or jeer him, not because he played well against Italy once, or is a nice man, or anything like that, but because he's completely and uterly at the mercy of alcohol. I have personal experience of alcoholism and the damage it does and its not to be made light of.

The real hypocrisy in Ireland isn't so much the fact that Paul McGrath gets a free pass because he's likeable. The hypocrisy is in the fact that we turn a blind eye to drink and the damage it does and treat this illness like its a bit of a laugh because we all enjoy a few pints every now and then. The Irish public have facilitated his drinking and alomost revelled in it and even encouraged it at times, which is my major problem with the OP tbh. The rest of it is just a side issue.

I'd agree with all that, my point was more at the abuse given to other players who may have their own issues. We can be hypocritical.

And Flah, I'm not sure everybody will think that way because of his alcoholism. I wish people just said "He's ill" but they don't. It's a joke to them or else it's the "Oh that Big Mc, up to no good again" type stuff. Then there will be plenty who'll go "you can't say that, he's an Irish legend" purely based on the romanticised version of him from Italia 90 and USA 94.

Ireland and drink is a pretty complex thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

googleprivacy13.jpg

=

guiness.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Quality again:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Ireland and drink is a pretty complex thing.

I disagree.

It's a simple addiction in a lot of cases.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    I disagree.

It's a simple addiction in a lot of cases.

I thought it was fairly clear I was talking about the reactions of Irish people to alcoholics and drink in general, not the actual addiction.

Anyone who hasn't read Back from the Brink should do so. It details his struggles with alcoholism along with his life in football etc.

Fantastic book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I have been in Paul McGraths company when he's been on the drink-it's sad to see.He goes from an easy going guy into someone completely different who's only thought is getting another drink.
    When he's not on the drink you couldn't meet a nicer guy and he does a lot in the community around here for charity.
    Sad to think the op finds it funny to joke at a mans alchoholism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

NukaCola wrote: »
    googleprivacy13.jpg

Why were you on Google Osterreich?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Haven't read the whole thread but it wasn't Sky Sports (which didn't exist at the time). It was an interview on some other programme.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭jordainius

nullzero wrote: »

I'm going out on a limb here but I'm pretty sure that he's not planning on pulling his mickey out and **** himself silly over the soul destroying addiction of a much cherished national icon.
    In fact it was probably just idle curiosity as oppossed to a sinister attempt to mock an unfortunate person.

The original post;
    Years ago Paul Mcgrath and Norman Whiteside appeared on skysports as guests for a premierleague game,The thing is they went for a few pints before had and were pissed drunk, I saw clips of it before and whilst enbarressing for them it was quite funny, does anyone know if this is online somewhere?

The intent here wasn't to satisfy idle curiosity, it was to have a laugh at McGrath's expense. Nothing funny about alcoholism.

Funny how many people call what was the Football League the Premier League. Sky's marketing men did an excellent job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,735 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Did you not make a joke about Carragher being concussed in the Arsenal-Liverpool match thread?

Will be interesting to see how long you stay on your high Horse..

I've a lot of compassion for Big Paul and alcoholics in general (being extremely close to two of them) but people are being sanctimonious here. Possibly far more offended than Paul himself would probably be about people laughing at the incident which was pretty funny.

stovelid wrote: »
    I've a lot of compassion for Big Paul and alcoholics in general (being extremely close to two of them) but people are being sanctimonious here. Possibly far more offended than Paul himself would probably be about people laughing at the incident which was pretty funny.

Yeah it was hilarious alright :rolleyes:

jordainius wrote: »
    Yeah it was hilarious alright :rolleyes:

By that token, any amusing drunken escapade from 21-22 years ago is tasteless if you end up as an alcoholic in later life.

I've loads of time for Paul who is an absolute gent and his book was heartbreaking but this is all ridiculous sanctimonious shite.

It wouldn't even be an issue if Paul was English.

stovelid wrote: »
    By that token, any amusing drunken escapade from 21-22 years ago is tasteless if you end up as an alcoholic in later life.

I've loads of time for Paul who is an absolute gent and his book was heartbreaking but this is all ridiculous sanctimonious shite.

It wouldn't even be an issue if Paul was English.

Yeah, people who want to justify wrong on their own part usually go down the road of tarring those who oppose them with the whole "sanctimony" thing. I ain't buying it.

It wasn't funny then, it isn't funny now.

Also- I'm guessing you think it would be okay to laugh at Paul McGrath's alcoholism if he was English based on your last comment? Your opinion. Don't judge everyone by your standards. (Also, you might want to look up where he was born...)

noodler wrote: »
    Did you not make a joke about Carragher being concussed in the Arsenal-Liverpool match thread?

Will be interesting to see how long you stay on your high Horse..

I did indeed. Feel free to slate my blatant hypocrisy all you like, I couldn't give a sh*t tbh.

jordainius wrote: »
    I ain't buying it.

It wasn't funny then, it isn't funny now.

I'm very proud of you.