Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F1 beers Confirmed 12th June

• 19-04-2011 10:15am
    Registered Users Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭

Right who would be up for this

Any ideas on pubs (im thinking somewhere in or close to Dublin Town)

Also to give plenty of time lets set the date as the 12th June for the Canadian Gp

Time for meet up would be 4.30pm half an hour before bbc's coverage commences

I will approach a few bars and see if we can book a small section with a decent tv

Gp Beers would you go? 18 votes

Hell yes Beer and Gp Heaven
    0%
    Yes but i prefer wine
    88%
    Pepe LeFritsmuckwarriorlord lucan[Deleted User]Charlie-BravoCarroller16Kevskifrostie500LEINSparks43SitecstoneillSheepsJules.Winnfieldlosthorizonfreestyla 16 votes
    No i want to stay under my blanket with steering wheel in hand going Brum Brum!!!!
    0%
    Atari Jaguar F1 1995
    11%
    VegetaIron Hide 2 votes

• Registered Users Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭frostie500

Yes but i prefer wine
    Sounds like a good idea Sparks.

I remember when I was in the states for a summer there used to be a pub that hosted "GP Parties." The venue was a huge warehouse and the place would be absolutely packed at 2 or 3 in the morning for the European races. It was an incredible atmosphere! It was actually so good that celebs would head to it for races and my uncle met Phil Hill at it one night!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭stoneill

Yes but i prefer wine
    Fantastic idea!

I'd have to bring the missus so she can drive me home.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭lord lucan

Yes but i prefer wine
    I'm on leave around then so i'm game.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Atari Jaguar F1 1995
    Not in Dublin so it's a brum brum from me

• Registered Users Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭sham69

just to let yiz know.
    I used to go to the flowing tide on abbey street, they used to show the races downstairs, have raffles, prizes etc.
    Ran for about 10 years, it stopped about 3 or 4 years ago but there is still a strong turnout upstairs in the pub for F1 fans.
    They have a large screen and turn the volume up etc..
    I have no affiliation with the pub but just thought it might interest you.
    Since having kids I am resigned to watching the races at home.
    China was cracking...
    Have a good one wherever yiz end up..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭freestyla

Yes but i prefer wine
    9 people interested?? I got idea we were talking at least 100 lads and gals would be in.. please participate and advertise this great idea.. some pub owners might actually look at these posts and arrange few afternoon races over football and rugby.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Yes but i prefer wine
    sham69 wrote: »
    just to let yiz know.
    I used to go to the flowing tide on abbey street, they used to show the races downstairs, have raffles, prizes etc.
    Ran for about 10 years, it stopped about 3 or 4 years ago but there is still a strong turnout upstairs in the pub for F1 fans.
    They have a large screen and turn the volume up etc..
    I have no affiliation with the pub but just thought it might interest you.
    Since having kids I am resigned to watching the races at home.
    China was cracking...
    Have a good one wherever yiz end up..

Cheers for the heads up

I dropped into the Flowing Tide and we are more then welcome to drop in

So this gets my vote how about all of you

Flowing Tide
    12th June
    4.30 pm

Might even look at doing an F1 quiz on the night if people are interested

• Registered Users Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭freestyla

Yes but i prefer wine
    Nice cheers Sparks! The Flowing Tide it is then.

12th June is in many weeks from now.. hard to say now but if I m in Dublin I'll be there.

Is May too soon? three races:
    Turkey Sunday 8 May: Race - 1300
    Spain Sunday 22 May: Race - 1300
    Monaco Sunday 29 May: Race - 1300

Yes but i prefer wine
    Sparks43 wrote: »
    Flowing Tide
    12th June
    4.30 pm

Might even look at doing an F1 quiz on the night if people are interested

Works for me.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

Yes but i prefer wine
    I'd be well up for this considering none of my mates watch F1 so i'm stuck on my own all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

I'll see if I can make it, will be heading from Dundalk so wouldn't be able to stay too late. :pac:

Yes but i prefer wine
    amacachi wrote: »
    I'll see if I can make it, will be heading from Dundalk so wouldn't be able to stay too late. :pac:

Sure there's a train leaving at 23.20 from Connolly to Dundalk,you'll be grand.;)

lord lucan wrote: »
    Sure there's a train leaving at 23.20 from Connolly to Dundalk,you'll be grand.;)

Train? Think I'm feckin made of money? :pac:

Yes but i prefer wine
    16 interested so far not too bad

Went into the flowing tide for a pint yesterday and all systems are go

You all better study up on your F1 and pay close attention to the race as there will be a Quiz after

Im also going to sort out a small trophy for the winner:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

Yes but i prefer wine
    16 interested so far not too bad

Went into the flowing tide for a pint yesterday and all systems are go

You all better study up on your F1 and pay close attention to the race as there will be a Quiz after

Im also going to sort out a small trophy for the winner:D

sounds great:)

Yes but i prefer wine
    Thanks to Lightning for the title change

Hope we get a good turnout for this as i believe it will be a good session

Roll on Canada:D

Yes but i prefer wine
    *Cough*

I Will probably drop into the pub next week for the Gp to check it out

Hopefully we get a few to go to this:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Grim.

busy as **** weekend for motorsport that the le mans 24 hours, silverstone motogp, canadian gp think the iom tt aswell

• Registered Users Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭frostie500

Yes but i prefer wine
    Im not going to be able to make it lads, got a better offer of going to the Silverstone MotoGP instead!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,630 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

Yes but i prefer wine
    bump!

So from 4.30pm on Saturday 12th June at the Flowing Tide. BBC coverage starts at 5ish.

I'll look to get there before 5. So how do I know who to look out for? There's bound to be someone weaing a '97 Jordan bitten and hisses team shirt as the anchor?!

I might wear my 2006 Toyota F1 polo shirt!

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

Still a good few going?

Yes but i prefer wine
    astrofluff wrote: »
    bump!

So from 4.30pm on Saturday 12th June at the Flowing Tide. BBC coverage starts at 5ish.

I'll look to get there before 5. So how do I know who to look out for? There's bound to be someone weaing a '97 Jordan bitten and hisses team shirt as the anchor?!

I might wear my 2006 Toyota F1 polo shirt!

Nice bumpy lol

It will be very easy to find me as i will be wearing my Sparks43 shirt :D

Can people who will be coming next Sunday give me a shout so i can give numbers in to the pub

With luck we might get something thrown our way

Yes but i prefer wine
    amacachi wrote: »
    Still a good few going?

16 clicked yes on the poll but after the edit the poll auto closed so there could be a few others who could be interested

Really hope we get a good turnout for this

Are you coming down m8?

Once there's a good couple going I'll head yeah!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,630 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

Yes but i prefer wine
    Hang on a sec - are we meeting for Quali (Saturday) or for the race (Sunday)?

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

The Sunday. Better be plenty of yous there to keep me awake after an overnight of Indycar from Texas and Lemons. :pac:

Yes but i prefer wine
    I should still be there all going well.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 835 ✭✭✭miketv

16 clicked yes on the poll but after the edit the poll auto closed so there could be a few others who could be interested

Really hope we get a good turnout for this

Are you coming down m8?
    Count me in also Sparks.

Yes but i prefer wine
    miketv wrote: »
    Count me in also Sparks.

Grand job

Beer Specials in The flowing tide this Sunday

Grolsch swingtop €4
    Blue Moon (Canadian craft beer:D) Absolutely Beautiful beer €4

Vodka/whiskey with mixer €5 (Not Red Bull)

2 Vodka And Red Bull €10

Although anyone caught drinking red bull will be hung from the Spire if Vettel Wins again:eek::D

Yes but i prefer wine
    Ficus wrote: »
    Fixed that for you ;)

Lol cheers

Are you going to drop in on sunday for a few?