Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clonmel Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

And given what we’ve elected since I’d say he could be classed as a great man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,708 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Petmania is opening December 16th next to JSYK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,667 ✭✭✭touts

I was hoping someone like Curry's might open there. We seriously need some competition to DID.

I think ye need a HomeStore and More. I'd say it would do very well in Clonmel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭bmc58

As far as I'm aware Homestore and More is more of an Irish thing.

They did open in Scotland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭Nollog

Homebase make a house a home is, different company. They sold off some of their shops to the o-range i think.

anyone at the meeting in the Talbot last night about the town centre and rates increases. It was advertised on a few businesses in town and was being pushed on that atrocious Clonmel Stories page on Facebook.

Saw this!

img_1_1735659062994.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭cml387

Not altogether surprising about Hewitt's. They were closing shortly after lunch ever since Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭julyjane

It's a pity but lately I've found every time I attempted to go there it was closed.

Wonder will we be treated to another empty unit, a phone shop or a vape shop now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭Lightscribe

They've said they'll still be supplying their sausage rolls to No Filter and the flat coffee cakes to Hickeys. Don't they do all their baking in the shop so maybe it'll still be used for that as opposed to closing it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,175 ✭✭✭✭klose

I’ve heard no filter is moving to where hewitts is located now, maybe they’ll continue to use the bakery to supply those few bits and the lads serve coffee at the front of house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭Ceepo

Oh are they. I hadn't heard that.

Id question that move from a business perspective. They get a huge volume of vehicular passing trade. Will people park and walk ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭cml387

What did you do in the snow, Daddy?

Precious little mention of Clonmel in the media this morning. Are the buses running? How are the roads?

Nobody moved out of estate so far this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

Footpaths are treacherous in the middle of town, businesses closed - get in provisions cos its going to get worse before it gets better.

Footpaths are lethal, main roads seem ok once you’re sensible, lot of chat that the cashel road hill is being described as a no go but Abbott and Boston are insisting people go in which will only cause more issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭tommiet

The footpaths are a disgrace, roads in around estates are very bad. the council need to do more than just clear the streets.

People are walking on the road, there will be an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Darksoul

Worst thing clonmel did was get rid of the army barracks. Agree the paths are lethal but they knew about this weather prior to this hitting Ireland and they won't say red alert because of claims and liability reasons.

Not true.Brother hasn't gone to work in Abbot Mon and Tue this week so far and was not told to report for work either.Safety is paramount.

housing estates are in an awful state especially on the higher parts of town. With 3 TDs locally you’d have thought they might have been more active in getting the roads better so people can get to work. Wouldn’t matter if the barracks was still in town as they would have to get a request from civil authorities to get involved. But agree with the broader point that the army could have been brought in to help clear the ice. Even the snow bunny idiots seem fed up with this now it’s really a pain in the ass at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Woodcutting

How would saying red alert make them more liable for claims ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,653 ✭✭✭decies

am seeing idiots saying will miss the snow and hope come back again . Thats the selfish society we live in.

I’d expect them to put a little pressure on central govt to have a more adequate response put in place on areas badly affected. I’m sure there are local authority areas nationally where snow ploughs and gritters could have been sent to assist the situation here.

The other side of that of course is the it’s someone else’s responsibility to clear snow and ice from the front of my house mentality. It was great to see most of the neighbours where I live coming together to help clear ice from directly in front of houses. I saw similar scenes outside some businesses yesterday. A lot of the new Irish prominent in this whilst some of the Facebook warriors are giving out!

It is possible that they have made representation to central government and just didn't get a positive response. As we know all the neighbouring counties needed there own machinery and there was a lot of other counties that didn't get snow but had frost so they were preparing for the conditions in their location.

Also to add, but I'm sure you already know anyway, that salting roads or path when it's snowing or there is snow on them is a waste of time.

It's great to see "some" some of the local community coming out to clear footpaths and roads.

I think the simple fact is , we don't get enough of this type of weather and there for we as a country are totally unprepared to deal with it.

Even in my own situation, I was away on Sunday night and couldn't get home on Monday and had no electricity until last evening. Lucky for me my daughter lives close by and we were able to stay there for a night. But I questioned getting a standby generator and was even looking up some 4x4 jeeps. But the reality is I would have only needed these for maybe less than 10 days in total over the past 15 years or so.

If I’ve taken away anything from this is that a somewhat decent pair of hiking boots or the likes with good grip and a good snow shovel will go a long way as far as most people concerns are, next time it’s snows bad I’ll be first out clearing the roads in the estate when it’s soft and easily movable before it starts to freeze over, once cars drive over it, compacts and freezes over it becomes exponentially worse to remove. A bit more proactivity from housing estates would go a long way.

That being said, probably be another 4-5 years before we see the likes again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,293 ✭✭✭chooseusername

who or where are these idiots? I’m guessing Facebook?