Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Knock, knock, who's there?

• 16-04-2011 7:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭

I was just ready to start putting up my funneling fence into my pen for tomorrow. Rounding up the flock and putting them all in for a few small jobs. Then the phone rings :rolleyes:

John, "You're not busy, are you?". "I suppose I'm not, what's up?", "We found that ones den couple of gardens over from you". "Sound, what ye need, bar, spade, mattock?....". "Have you the chainsaw?", "WTF? :confused: "

He'd rang me earlier that morning absolutely livid. "I was up the hill earlier checking on a ewe I thought might be ours. Twenty.... :mad: twenty yards in front of me, there's that vixen. No gun... She stood and looked at me, walked on ten yards, had a better look, went another few yards and looked for even longer. Oh my God!"

I grabbed the mattock and bar and headed cross country to where the den was. Then I found out why he'd asked for the chainsaw. Surrounded by tall furze was a massive rock which had been split into three huge pieces and a few not so small pieces. Our vixen had dug in around and other these boulders :o

"She'll be around somewhere barking at us when she spots us". "Ooh, rifle". John threw me the keys to his van and I flew home for the boomstick.

On the way back, through his Dads land I saw a greycrow circling and then it landed on a safe fence stake - just as I was passing a perfect shooting rock. Couldn't pass up the opportunity :D Psssshhht - POP! :D Got up to the den and got told off for shooting something which wasn't a fox :pac: Whatever.

I headed up to a rock with the rifle to watch in case the vixen came sniffing around, while the two lads kept plugging away at the den. Saw nothing after a while so I ventured back down for a look.

Image0315.jpg

Image0317.jpg

Result was three pups. No vixen to be seen so I'm off out now soon to keep a watch on the den.

Image0314.jpg

As for those who reckon foxes don't take lambs, there might be some difficulty explaining away the fine blackface ewe lamb and the leg of another lamb in the den. We also found the back legs and one front foot of a young hare. And some mystery item described as
    • A bit of a whale
    • A piece of a cow
    • Some old rubber
    • A bit of a sheep

Smelled woeful whatever the hell it was :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

Excellent result :D But there soooooooo cute :rolleyes: LOL good looking little terrier you have there as well.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Is the Jack Russell yours? Seems keen.

Was there 3 or just the 2 cubs john? As for the lamb, well that was planted there, as foxes are vegetarians.:rolleyes:
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

Thanks John, good story, good result - hope you're as successful with the vixen if she shows her snout around tonight !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Ezridax wrote: »
    Is the Jack Russell yours? Seems keen.

Was there 3 or just the 2 cubs john? As for the lamb, well that was planted there, as foxes are vegetarians.:rolleyes:

No, the JR belongs to Johns Brother. Reckoned he needed to go on the Slimfast plan to fit in some of the holes. There was three cubs but the third one wasn't exactly photogenic after JR finished with it. All dispatched instantly but the JR had a chew after death.

I've always wanted a terrier, just don't find myself having the time/space at the moment, which isn't fair on the dog. One day! Was discussing it with John on the walk back to his, that we'd be a hell of a lot more effective if we had a dog or two as well as the firearms.

I'm in the other boat. I have a JR, indeed very same markings as the fella in the picture, but no docked tail. He is brilliant for ratting, and i bring him out with me from time to time, but he is gunshy and will not even walk beside me when i have the gun.:rolleyes:

Good result though. As you said yourself how can people say foxes do not take lambs when the vixen and cubs have a "dinner box" in the den with them.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭virminhunter

great read John, nice to see a pic of a dog working, instead of sticking his head out of a handbag:)

I'm in the other boat. I have a JR, indeed very same markings as the fella in the picture, but no docked tail. He is brilliant for ratting, and i bring him out with me from time to time, but he is gunshy and will not even walk beside me when i have the gun.:rolleyes:

Good result though. As you said yourself how can people say foxes do not take lambs when the vixen and cubs have a "dinner box" in the den with them.

Bit of a pain being gun shy, always handy to have a shotgun or rifle handy.

I reckon it's important to photograph the likes of lamb remains in dens. I'm guilty myself of not asking the farmers I shoot for to hold onto fox predation evidence, something I intend to remedy from now on. Photo is worth a thousand words.

johngalway wrote: »
    Photo is worth a thousand words.

Never a truer word spoken. Hard to argue with a picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,074 ✭✭✭clivej

What's the calibre of the back of that shovel. :D;)

Good work John and pal, 3 less for next season to be taking your lambs.

Reckon that's a 12 bore spade Clive :pac: Handy job too, forget the exact name of it, but I think it's for digging holes for fence posts, strong but narrow and longer than normal blade on it. Looking for one now myself online.

Got the momma fox, posted that pic on the other thread.

We figured the ewe lamb belonged to a set of twins out of John's Dad's flock. The other leg belonged to a cheviot cross lamb out of a neighbours flock. I may be missing one, but won't know for sure until I get them all penned up tomorrow. Won't be happy if I am, goal was not to loose any to foxy this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭podge.243
    Paul Murphy

Eh gud man John eh your gettin a head start on them cub's;) your gettin them before they even come to ground ha fair play:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

spade is a 'graft' john,a terrier mans friend
    here this might point you in the reight direction
    http://www.tooled-up.com/ManProduct.asp?PID=170215
    i'm sure you can get them here as your local esb lads ;)

landkeeper wrote: »
    spade is a 'graft' john,a terrier mans friend
    here this might point you in the reight direction
    http://www.tooled-up.com/ManProduct.asp?PID=170215
    i'm sure you can get them here as your local esb lads ;)

Yeah, I looked them up last night. Found <this>, like the look of the "Bertha".

We met some odd type of, um, rock I guess. Closest thing I've seen like it is tarmac, but it definitely wasn't that.

Years ago i used to use the spade below, great for digging small holes but big enough to pull a terrier or Charlie out, didn't destroy the ground either.
    Post-Hole-Digger.jpg

aaahhh the days of terriers,T-Bars,spades,terrier finders LOL

the best grafts are or were made by bulldog they are great for really hard ground you can chisel away at it with the small narrow blade i prefer the one with a flat end rather than a point and the ones with a ash shaft take a bit of the vibration out of the equation on really hard ground
    one of my masochistic mates had a graft head i cut and welded into a lenth of 6ft scaffold pole :eek:he loved it we hated it but it did come in handy several times 8-10ft digs to reluctant foxes and psychotic fell terriers
    as spunk said ahhh the days!!!! we used to relish it we were feckin mad :P:P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=71753446#post71753446

be gentle, and will i have time to put on some popcorn?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

garv123 wrote: »
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=71753446#post71753446

be gentle, and will i have time to put on some popcorn?

The thread was closed before I got a chance to Tell my stories of the Hundreds of baby Animals I have killed and photographed :D
    ( I even Killed Bambi)
    At this Moment the Smell of Fox is still on me and I washed my hands in disinfectant.

See fox, Point Aim Shoot, Photo, Tail and A few Corona's hen i get home to Celebrate
    Love a Curry chips now though and all the Chippers are closed :(:(:(

landkeeper wrote: »
    the best grafts are or were made by bulldog they are great for really hard ground you can chisel away at it with the small narrow blade i prefer the one with a flat end rather than a point and the ones with a ash shaft take a bit of the vibration out of the equation on really hard ground
    one of my masochistic mates had a graft head i cut and welded into a lenth of 6ft scaffold pole :eek:he loved it we hated it but it did come in handy several times 8-10ft digs to reluctant foxes and psychotic fell terriers
    as spunk said ahhh the days!!!! we used to relish it we were feckin mad :P:P:P

I think Bulldog are still making them, the name rings a bell from my search the last night. Why the preference for the flat blade? Scaffolding pole would be harder to use then the bars we have. All rock and bog here so we need not only be able dig but break and prise rocks out of places too :eek: There are places on the front of the hill where only a 360 machine would get at :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

The thread was closed before I got a chance to Tell my stories of the Hundreds of baby Animals I have killed and photographed :D
    ( I even Killed Bambi)

Dont give them any more ammunition Tack - Excuse the pun !

Ignore the trolls lads, they get dealt with :)

johngalway wrote: »
    I think Bulldog are still making them, the name rings a bell from my search the last night. Why the preference for the flat blade? Scaffolding pole would be harder to use then the bars we have. All rock and bog here so we need not only be able dig but break and prise rocks out of places too :eek: There are places on the front of the hill where only a 360 machine would get at :(
    not a flat blade john but a straight edge to the blade mind you they soon end up with rounded corners:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

Never a truer word spoken. Hard to argue with a picture.

A certain disgruntled reader claims the following
    That lambs leg was planted to justify their brutal ignorance.

Not only was he spouting off about it, he said you shot them :D you would think he would get his facts right LOL seriously why do people bother, it says hunting/shooting forum but these people are shocked when they see dead quarry ???? That's like going to Amsterdam and being against drugs and prostitution :mad: I think he just mad cause he couldn't see you face John;)

Why I never show my face?

Did you ever look at your Boards homepage and count the numbers of Anti's that visit it.
    I've had 1205 views, at a guess 15-20% were Anti's.

Last thing I want is some ICABS coming round to lob eggs or worse at my house!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Deerspotter

Or some randomer knowing you own a gun and recognising you from your photo on the web and then knowing who to rob for a firearm!!!

Did you ever look at your Boards homepage and count the numbers of Anti's that visit it.

Tack those 1200 views are from you :D and the other 5 where searching for dogging :PLOL

Spunk84 wrote: »
    Tack those 1200 views are from you :D and the other 5 where searching for dogging :PLOL

It does not register your own views :D

Dogging is on **************** :p

How can you tell that?

homerhop wrote: »
    How can you tell that?

Look at their Posts

how can you tell who looked at your profile?

homerhop wrote: »
    how can you tell who looked at your profile?

Down on teh bottom right of your profile page

last 10 visitors to my page

annmarie mayo bud2000 gaveng homerhop kieran1141 Norwayviking+ ormondprop poulo6.5+ Spunk84 yuko

The + means friends by teh way