Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it a sign of strength to walk away from a fight?

• 14-04-2011 11:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭

Is it a sign of strenght to walk away from a fight over something very little?

The other night I was out having a few drinks with a few friends. One of my friends had to go to thr jacks so I said I'd watch his drink. But I got chatting to someone and lost concentration and a group of guys started drinking at the table where my friends drink was. When my friend came back I handed what I thought was his drink, but was not his drink and one of the guys switched it, which is pretty scumy. But when I told him that he mixed up his drink he took bit of a hissy fit and just kept shouting Fcuk off and moved (what was realy his drink) the drink on the counter and kept saying it and turned around and returned to drinking. At the time I was pretty pissed off at being spoken to like that and felt like giving him a wack behind his neck while he was downing the stolen pint, I've never been spoken to like this by anyone. This guy is in my college and when ever I walk by him he looks emmbaressed and looks away.

Anyways how do you think I handled the situation, did I bottle it or did I do the right thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

effluent wrote: »
    Only if your opponent is holding you by the balls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Its the sign of a tiny scrotum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

that story is like trying to keep up with one of those "which cup is the money under" tricks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Depends what you are fighting for.

Simples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Next time you see him, clothesline him! BOOM! :mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

I know that I must be odd because I would have just bought my friend a new drink (since I had failed in my watch duties) and avoided the whole thing entirely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Joekers

NO only pussys walk away !!

kick him in the face

You didn't start a fight rather than walked away from one.

Next time watch the drink like you said you would.

Joekers wrote: »
    NO only pussys walk away !!

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm

Pussy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

A fight over something like that isnt worth it. Its just annoying. If someone is really being disrespectful or being physical thats a different story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Some woman robbed a pint on me a few years back so I went to the Jack's and filled a glass with piss leaving enough beer in it for a head. Left it back on table then went out for a smoke. Came back in and there was a bit missing and me friends father busting himself laughing. He said your one had some face on her after she took a mouthful. It was warm and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

The other night I was out having a few drinks with a few friends. One of my friends had to go to thr jacks so I said I'd watch his drink. But I got chatting to someone and lost concentration and a group of guys started drinking at the table where my friends drink was. When my friend came back I handed what I thought was his drink, but was not his drink and one of the guys switched it, which is pretty scumy. But when I told him that he mixed up his drink he took bit of a hissy fit and just kept shouting Fcuk off and moved (what was realy his drink) the drink on the counter and kept saying it and turned around and returned to drinking. At the time I was pretty pissed off at being spoken to like that and felt like giving him a wack behind his neck while he was downing the stolen pint, I've never been spoken to like this by anyone. This guy is in my college and when ever I walk by him he looks emmbaressed and looks away.

Anyways how do you think I handled the situation, did I bottle it or did I do the right thing?

Never argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you from experience. :)

No reason to be fighting over a drunken load of ****e / drink mixup. You could have hurt the lad, ended up in court, he could have hurt you, or someone else could have gotten hurt. For what? A watered down jar of piss that yer man probably genuinely thought was his anyways? ;)

If your pride is still nagging at you then say it to the guys face when you're both sober. That may not even be worth the effort tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Kernel wrote: »
    Never argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you from experience. :)

No reason to be fighting over a drunken load of ****e / drink mixup. You could have hurt the lad, ended up in court, he could have hurt you, or someone else could have gotten hurt. For what? A watered down jar of piss that yer man probably genuinely thought was his anyways? ;)

If your pride is still nagging at you then say it to the guys face when you're both sober. That may not even be worth the effort tbh.

This man speaks sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 code187.2010

You never walk away from a fight, grow some balls. that's what's wrong with this country nobody is will to stand up for anything.

I bet you were never in one. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

He didn't walk away from a fight, he ignored a falling down drunk that was barking 'fukk' into mid air. What would you advise? Break his eye socket with a punch, have him go crying to the Garda? Get into a screaming match with a childish imbecile in the middle of a pub and waste a good 20 minutes of his night?

Once you have been in a few (what are pretty pointless) fights, you will lose the "grow some balls" attitude, kid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

*Keyboard warrior alert*

strobe wrote: »
    He didn't walk away from a fight, he ignored a falling down drunk that was barking 'fukk' into mid air. What would you advise? Break his eye socket with a punch, have him go crying to the Garda? Get into a screaming match with a childish imbecile in the middle of a pub and waste a good 20 minutes of his night?

Once you have been in a few (what are pretty pointless) fights, you will lose the "grow some balls" attitude, kid.

Yeah, it's a sh1t end to everyone's night alright. And you'll soon find that people (rightly) wouldn't want to associate with someone who goes fighting everytime something minor presents itself. Civility is the way forward gentlemen, unless we think of ourselves as mindless bucks bashing heads to show dominance, or gorillas beating our chests. I'm watching too much animal planet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

Fighting should only be considered when no other option presents itself. It really is a lose/lose game in most situations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

There is nothing wrong with walking away from a fight. Bout 8 chaps decided to try hop on me one night years ago because me father was a cop at the time. I got headbutted in the back of the head and when I went forward I ended up sending one of them flying. Then I legged it like a lunatic. Caught one or two of them on their own and they shat themselves. I didn't even bother hitting them. Just made a point of the fact they where hard men when with their friends and that was enough for me seeing them cower. I did ht one of them though but that's cos he was a bollox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Challenge a bloke much bigger than you to spell strength. When the fight ensues, and he can walk away, still having a better ability than you to pronounce "Strenght" because your teeth are on the floor, and his arern't, you'll have learnt (or is it learned) something.

Knowledge, is knowing not to try to replace a car battery in flip-flops. Wisdom is not telling a bigger bloke "I told you so".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

Used to think it wasn't...until I tried it out one night with a guy causing me and my friends bother one night.

Court + 7hours in a cell + €300 + adult probation = change in perspective

I walk away from everything now. You should too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

(I) felt like giving him a wack behind his neck while he was downing the stolen pint

Considering that was your first tactic, I'd say you done the right thing by not initiating a fight...
    Knowledge, is knowing not to try to replace a car battery in flip-flops. Wisdom is not telling a bigger bloke "I told you so".

Say what! I understand the knowledge/wisdom tomato/fruit salad logic, but tha is just absurd.

Real answer - if an issue can be resolved without a physical fight, then take it. Better a bruise to the ego than a bruise to the body and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭whatsamsn

Its all about common sense.

Varying factors come into play:
    - by hitting them you could get arrested and or sued :rolleyes:
    - would it be you and him going at it? or would it be you, him and his mates.
    - does the situation call for a punch? If some guy accidently spilled my drink i'm not going to go for him ... if a guy slept with my gf - i'd try to punch the head off him. All about context.

And to top it all, here is the f*cked up thing about life. I could have a guy cheat with my girlfriend, laugh and slag me about it, for me to punch him and for me to get arrested :rolleyes: The law is a funny thing.

As someone I know once said, a black hood and a baseball bat in a dark alley can make alot of difference... might be scumbag-ish. But if the situation called for it.

whatsamsn wrote: »
    here is the f*cked up thing about life. I could have a guy cheat with my girlfriend, laugh and slag me about it, for me to punch him and for me to get arrested :rolleyes: The law is a funny thing.

How is the law a funny thing here?

You should be pissed off at your gf, she is the one who cheated not the guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

yea...what is wrong with this country..

if a guy slept with my gf - i'd try to punch the head off him. All about context.

I would be more pissed off at her than him. ;)

Either way, what purpose would it serve to engage in violence in such a scenario? Wouldn't you be reasoning that she was an untrustworthy bint and presumably you'd be better off without her. Better to find out at that stage and all that, move on to the next chapter. Unless you're admitting to being ruled by your baser emotions into making illogical and possibly detrimental decisions?

Not getting at you or anything, many people react in this way - perhaps I would myself (certainly would have when I was younger and more immature) - it's more of a question for people to think about.

Naos wrote: »
    How is the law a funny thing here?

You should be pissed off at your gf, she is the one who cheated not the guy.

Well, that was an example. But since you asked I think cheating generally falls into 2 categories. (1) the cheating done with some random guy or girl (2) Or was it done with a friend. In any case the cheating partner is at fault. (yes, there are grey areas such as a co-worker but again said person wouldnt be a friend)

Lets take you, i dont know if you are a guy or a girl :o i'll just assume you're a guy for a sec. Ok, your gf sleeps with some random guy. Shes at fault no matter what. So is that guy. he is a dickhead. But you dont know him.
    Lets turn to the other side, the guy in question was a so called mate. Thats worse is it not?

but in my example I posted above say it was the guy who was opening his mouth about sleeping with your gf (slagging) ... the deed was bad enough. Would that extra insult / salt on the wounds not incite a fight in your opinion?

Well, that was an example. But since you asked I think cheating generally falls into 2 categories. (1) the cheating done with some random guy or girl (2) Or was it done with a friend. In any case the cheating partner is at fault. (yes, there are grey areas such as a co-worker but again said person wouldnt be a friend)

Lets take you, i dont know if you are a guy or a girl :o i'll just assume you're a guy for a sec. Ok, your gf sleeps with some random guy. Shes at fault no matter what. So is that guy. he is a dickhead. But you dont know him.
    Lets turn to the other side, the guy in question was a so called mate. Thats worse is it not?

but in my example I posted above say it was the guy who was opening his mouth about sleeping with your gf (slagging) ... the deed was bad enough. Would that extra insult / salt on the wounds not incite a fight in your opinion?

I'm a guy and I can understand that you'd be pissedd off, I'd be very pissed of if someone slept with my non existant gf and then insulted me about it.

However, I have the option to either punch him or to let it go. If I punch him, then why shouldn't I be held accountable under the law?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

Do you mean walk away or run away shrieking and ashen faced!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭jimcoolding

*Strength

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭gaz wac

Id walk away. The last fight i was in, it was over a girl we both liked and i had to ask for a break in the middle cos i was knackered :o...i won though !! *

*in my head :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,833 ✭✭✭phill106

Op Walk away from trouble if you can. It won't mean you're weak if you turn the other cheek. I hope you're old enough to understand...

OP, you don't have to fight to be a man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Always best to walk away, even if your opponent keeps coming after you keep telling him to fùck off. If he doesn't and swings then you're left with little choice, even then keep walking away. (Obviously, don't turn your back on him or you'll get a sly dig)

What'll happen is the Gardaì will pay a nice visit, drop you off some lovely summons and you wind up court. All over some dick who wouldn't leave you alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I'd argue with you, but I've no chance of winning due to your experience.

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

In this case yes

But if that person was giving constant hassle and bullying, well some people mistake inaction for weakness.
    Only one thing they understand is a punch to the face if you do it right and you never have to do it again

Naos wrote: »
    I'm a guy and I can understand that you'd be pissedd off, I'd be very pissed of if someone slept with my non existant gf and then insulted me about it.

However, I have the option to either punch him or to let it go. If I punch him, then why shouldn't I be held accountable under the law?

hmmm, sounds like you are baiting me in for a law debate now ;)

but anyways, yeah the law can be funny.
    Like in our example, said guy can be in your face, slagging you, even baiting you. Then you give in and punch him... then suddenly you are the bad guy in the eyes of the law ... and before you say, yeah i know once you lay your hands on someone it all changes. But, the law isnt perfect. Mainly cause even events can be twisted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

In the words of Charlie Sheen...

"Nice guys finish last..
    Winners finish on her face.."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

it's usually the most sensislble thing to do as you can seriously hurt somebody or be hurt by them but sense isn't always the path. I wouldn't criticize anybody for walking away (whether or not they don't want to or can't fight) or choosing to fight. Each situation is different.

I'm not in the slightest bit tough or a fighter so I tend to think you should only do it if you have to. Last time I hit somebody was because it was a crowd of scuts giving me grief outside my own house and I felt I had no choice as they'd be back for more if I backed down. In general though, I think avoiding fighting if possible is the way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

You'd swear being on a night out is some kind of epic battlefield where the normal rules of day to day life don't apply. If someone rudely takes your stapler at work would consider kicking the **** out of him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Always best to walk away, even if your opponent keeps coming after you keep telling him to fùck off. If he doesn't and swings then you're left with little choice, even then keep walking away. (Obviously, don't turn your back on him or you'll get a sly dig)

What'll happen is the Gardaì will pay a nice visit, drop you off some lovely summons and you wind up court. All over some dick who wouldn't leave you alone.

That's all well and good but what if the Gatlin boys came callin' one day when you're out workin' ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Well it depends not backing down from every fight is a bit of a dickish way to behave but at the same time if someone speaks or acts in a way towards you that you dont like you have to let them know what is and isnt acceptable or they'll keep doing it. I was out with a friend of mine the other night he got drunk and in an arguement with a girl, I went over to calm it down and he started argueing with me for no reason I let it go but the next day I called him to let him know I wasnt happy with the way he talked to me. Never backing down from a fight and not standing up for yourself are two different things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

Yeah, it's a sh1t end to everyone's night alright. And you'll soon find that people (rightly) wouldn't want to associate with someone who goes fighting everytime something minor presents itself. Civility is the way forward gentlemen, unless we think of ourselves as mindless bucks bashing heads to show dominance, or gorillas beating our chests. I'm watching too much animal planet.

Very true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Dwellingdweller

I think it's a sign of strength if you're the stronger one there. but I suppose thats a paradox, the only way ya can really find out who's stronger is to rumble. :P

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,160 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

WWBLD?

What would Bruce Lee do? I believe he would lure them onto a small boat, a skiff if you will, and threaten to cut them loose if they try to climb back on the boat. Thus winning the fight.

That plan requires a boat though.

This being AH, I believe a kick in the face is in order.

EDIT: More seriously, don't fight unless you've accepted that someone may die as a result. Skulls are fickle things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,020 ✭✭✭gifted

Well done for walking away. You woke up the next morning feeling a bit sheepish about it, why? Would it not be worse to have woken up covered in bruises, sitting in a cell, or not wake up at all? How many people end up in court because of a stupid fight?

You done the right thing, people now know that they can go for a pint with you and there will be no trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

A €4 pint is not worth going to court or winding up in hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,594 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Oink wrote: »
    WWBLD?

EDIT: More seriously, don't fight unless you've accepted that someone may die as a result. Skulls are fickle things.

This is the thing, if most people were able to keep in mind that just one punch could lead to someone falling backwards and cracking their skulls on the concrete, there would be less fatal fights.
    so yes i would try to leg it, i don't care what anyone thinks of that choice.