Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Euro Lotto Ticket Conundrum

• 06-04-2011 7:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭

So a €500,000 Euromillions Tickets turns up in Tesco. They say a punter asked for a €4 quickpick, a €9 quickpick was issued by mistake and the punter didn't want it so the issued correct ticket and held on to the "mistake" which subsequently won half a mill.

Todays paper carries story of checkout girl who said ticket was hers as she
    (a) Pressed the €9 button by mistake
    (b) Did not issue it to customer but gave out the €4 instead
    (c) Was going to pay for it the next day but then wasn't allowed.

She is now suing Tesco.

WTF? Am I not right in saying you don't own a lotto ticket unless you pay for it?

Is it a case of an ordinary worker being done out of €500,000 by corporate giant Tesco? OR Take a run and jump ya chancer?

Could have put this in Legal Discussions but wanted a chance for people to finger point, sympathise, enjoy the schadenfraude etc etc

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Chancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭gaz wac

" its mine, i put a sad smiley face on it :( "..........:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Fogra

Agreed. It should just be treated as null & void and be considered as unclaimed. End of.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

That suuuuucckkksss!!!!!

lol

So a ticket was issued but was never paid for.... That's a toughie.

But if there's proof or witness that she tried to buy it, give her the money I say. The poor girl will never forget that she tried to buy the winning ticket and wasn't allowed.

And it's a ridiculous notion that a ticket wasn't allowed to be purchased.. Tesco should be sued by the Lotto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

"Was going to pay for it next day"!!!!!

Had all day to pay for it!!!!

Total chancer in my opinion.

Honestly would love for this to happen to everyone who calls her a chancer etc.. See how you deal with trying to buy a ticket, being told you're not allowed and then it wins.

Nice depression for a few years I'd say but then it's easy to judge when it's not you it's happened to.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Did she try and buy it before or after it won?

Honestly would love for this to happen to everyone who calls her a chancer etc.. See how you deal with trying to buy a ticket, being told you're not allowed and then it wins.

Nice depression for a few years I'd say but then it's easy to judge when it's not you it's happened to.

How do you that this was the case here?

"Was going to pay for it next day"!!!!!

Had all day to pay for it!!!!

Total chancer in my opinion.
    How do you that this was the case here?

People going either blind or stupid in here. Someone told her she wasn't allowed and that's what will make or break the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Faolchu

Plazaman wrote: »

The question should be asked would she have paid for it if it hadn't won?
    If I wa steh person that handed it back i'd be sick as a dog right about now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

Of course she is a chancer. Fair play to her though, I salute her!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,721 ✭✭✭✭Penn

It's not that she was refused the ticket, and then it won. The ticket won and then she tried to buy it. I seriously doubt she would have paid the €9 if the ticket had lost.

Chancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

So a ticket was issued but was never paid for.... That's a toughie.

But if there's proof or witness that she tried to buy it, give her the money I say. The poor girl will never forget that she tried to buy the winning ticket and wasn't allowed.

And it's a ridiculous notion that a ticket wasn't allowed to be purchased.. Tesco should be sued by the Lotto.

i was gonna go to tesco in navan and buy it myself. the fact that it's an 80 mile journey doesn't come into it. maybe i should sue them too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Well Tesco is donating the money to charity and that's the right call in this kind of situation. You can't just rebuy a lottery ticket that was already sold to someone, mistake or no mistake.

Faolchu wrote: »
    The question should be asked would she have paid for it if it hadn't won?
    If I wa steh person that handed it back i'd be sick as a dog right about now
    Barrington wrote: »
    It's not that she was refused the ticket, and then it won. The ticket won and then she tried to buy it. I seriously doubt she would have paid the €9 if the ticket had lost.

Chancer.

Right well send me a link to an article that says the draw was that night because it's not mentioned in the OP. I'm going on what OP posted and you're going on a presumption that the draw was that night.

None of us are wrong until we know when the draw was.

People going either blind or stupid in here. Someone told her she wasn't allowed and that's what will make or break the case.

This was when it was a winning ticket right.?

I cannot see how she could have any claim on the ticket.

if she wanted the ticket she should have paid for it on the spot.

Putting smileys on a ticket doesn't constitute ownership or intent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Has anyone ever heard of the "just in case rule"?!!!!!

I could not have left that €9 ticket go.

Of course she is a chancer. Fair play to her though, I salute her!!!

You are not in Tipp. North by any chance?:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Right well send me a link to an article that says the draw was that night because it's not mentioned in the OP. I'm going on what OP posted and you're going on a presumption that the draw was that night.

The draw was on April's fool day of all days.:D

This was when it was a winning ticket right.?

I cannot see how she could have any claim on the ticket.
    I read it as if the draw still hadn't taken place because only an idiot what try and buy it the next day.... I didn't even consider that the draw had taken place.

So yea, if the draw had taken place, I have the exact same sentiment as the rest of ye.

I understood the draw had taken place. when she tried to buy.

Another question how would Tesco become the 'owners' of the ticket when it would appear it wasn't paid for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭bigneacy

What an awful situation... The part of me that is going to wants to win the lotto feels sorry for the girl and say's "GIVE HER THE F*CKING MONEY!!!!". The part of me that hates the whole 'sue anything that moves' contingent wants Tesco to string her up.

The fact is, we can't trust a corporate machine like Tesco on their word, and with €500k at stake, we can't trust this girl either!

I imagine there'll be a lot of anti-Tesco feelings around while this case is in the papers. The fact that they promise to donate it to charity will be swept under the rug.

Another question how would Tesco become the 'owners' of the ticket when it would appear it wasn't paid for?

Tesco Ireland, as part of their contract to sell on behalf of the National Lottery would be responsible for all sales and money taken for the Lotto draws, and would pay the balance due to the National Lottery (minus their commission) weekly or monthly.

I.e. If the lotto till is robbed - its Tesco's insurance company that is liable, not the Lotto's insurance company, and if a Ticket is printed it is Tesco's property until paid for, not the National Lottery's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

seriously, as far as i know she would have been permitted to buy it during lunch/break/after her shift, so when they say "she wasn't allowed" i take that to mean the ticket had already won.

and this
    The bizarre twist of fate was discovered when the National Lottery contacted the Navan store to tell them they had sold a winning ticket. And the valuable ticket was found safely locked in the till.

would tell me she didn't try to buy it until after she knew it was a winner...

Chancer! :pac:

I used to work for SuperValu and although I was too young to issue lotto, I know that if you made a mistake, you had to buy the ticket... I mean, someone has to pay the Lotto for the ticket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

I used to work for SuperValu and although I was too young to issue lotto, I know that if you made a mistake, you had to buy the ticket... I mean, someone has to pay the Lotto for the ticket.

by that reasoning the lotto should claim the funds as they own the ticket!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Total Chancer but I don't blame her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

So a €500,000 Euromillions Tickets turns up in Tesco. They say a punter asked for a €4 quickpick, a €9 quickpick was issued by mistake and the punter didn't want it so the issued correct ticket and held on to the "mistake" which subsequently won half a mill.

Todays paper carries story of checkout girl who said ticket was hers as she
    (a) Pressed the €9 button by mistake
    (b) Did not issue it to customer but gave out the €4 instead

She is now suing Tesco.

WTF? Am I not right in saying you don't own a lotto ticket unless you pay for it?

Is it a case of an ordinary worker being done out of €500,000 by corporate giant Tesco? OR Take a run and jump ya chancer?

Could have put this in Legal Discussions but wanted a chance for people to finger point, sympathise, enjoy the schadenfraude etc etc

Well it's the Lotto that have to pay out winnings, not Tesco. Tesco have nothing to gain or lose not matter what happens as the cash doesn't come from their coffers. Why couldn't she have just laid low for a few days paid for the ticket and said nothing and then a week or two later take the ticket along with one or two other ones bought for subsequent drawings and have them checked at any Lotto dealer and get her winnings then? Why the fcuk did she not just pay for the ticket and pretend she had no clue it was a winner? She didn't think this through very well.

bigneacy wrote: »

Tesco Ireland, as part of their contract to sell on behalf of the National Lottery would be responsible for all sales and money taken for the Lotto draws, and would pay the balance due to the National Lottery (minus their commission) weekly or monthly.

I.e. If the lotto till is robbed - its Tesco's insurance company that is liable, not the Lotto's insurance company, and if a Ticket is printed it is Tesco's property until paid for, not the National Lottery's.

Tks for that info.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

I've a bit of background info on this story from a mate.

In those situations, where they print out tickets they don't sell, the staff can buy them if they wish. And have done in the past.
    But I imagine they can only buy them before the draw.

This girl in question, as a matter of routine, checked the ticket in the machine.
    But instead of checking it, she validated it, so it went through the system.
    If she just checked it, she could've said nothing and presented the ticket later.

Since the ticket wasn't paid for, Tesco owns it.

I gather they're going to give the money to charity.

RichieC wrote: »
    Total Chancer but I don't blame her.

Why am I not surprised:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭bohsfan

It's hard to judge this one as none of us know all the facts...

However, if she had really wanted to buy the ticket once she had issued it I don't see why she couldn't have set it to one side and bought it on her lunch, after her shift or even on the spot.

It would seem that the ticket was left in the till as a mistake to cancel out the €9 that the till would have been down. It was only the next day then once the Lottery called that they realised it was a winner.

I would be kicking myself for not just saying nothing to anyone and buying the ticket. Although, at the time €9 would have seemed a lot to shell out for a mistaken ticket so I would probably have just left it in the till aswell...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭mkdon05

What about the person that tried to buy the lotto ticket originally? If the winning line was on one of the first 2 lines of the 9euro ticket, she basically cheated them out of the winnings through her mistake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭s_carnage

mkdon05 wrote: »
    What about the person that tried to buy the lotto ticket originally? If the winning line was on one of the first 2 lines of the 9euro ticket, she basically cheated them out of the winnings through her mistake!

Not true because they were going to get a €4 ticket and that would not include the plus draw which this prize was won on.

I think this lady was a chancer because she if she checked the ticket before paying there is no way she would have shelled out €9 for a dud ticket. Suppose it was worth a go!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

The article in The Star doesn't actually say if the draw was that night but does quote the gorl as saying "I didn't even watch the Euromillions Draw" so I'm assuming she tried to buy the ticket after the fact.

I think now that Tesco have said they are giving the money to charity, how bad would she look if she did win her case and deny charities (and get the boot?). My advice to her : "Run Forrest, Run...."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...WTF? Am I not right in saying you don't own a lotto ticket unless you pay for it?

Yes. In terms of business and company law there is a thing called "consideration".
    In order for her to be 100% legally entitled to the claim ownership of the ticket, she would have to show that she gave some form of monetary consideration for desiring the ticket, for a transaction to be show as legal - that both a buyer and a seller have gained to some extent by a business transaction.
    Now, IF the shop had said "yes, you can have the ticket", then the shop would have been extending a form of credit and that could be taken into account as a form of forthcoming consideration which would strengthen her case - BUT - as the ticket was supposedly refused to her, such even such circumstances of subsequent forthcoming credit then was not allowed/applied.

Long story short - she's (a) chancing her arm and/or (b) has a genuine case but has a hell of an uphill legal battle to win.
    ...And although €500,000 is a lot of money, in the long run over a lifetime for what I assume might lead to her claim having an effect on any future career and reputation should crap come out in court about her too as the press might descend looking for a story angle (and they do!), her trying this claim might not be worth it in the long run...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭zac8

Poor sap who bought the original ticket will probably now know how close they came to winning 500k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

Even a winning lotto ticket is worthless until it is signed by the winner or winners. Is her signature on the ticket? I wouldn't give much of a chance in court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

What a gob****e!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭optogirl

She wasn't told she wasnt allowed buy it FFS! She asked for a €4 ticket and got issued a €9 ticket - mistake was realised and she was reissued with a €4 ticket. The €9 ticket was never hers because she didn't pay for it. Tough.

optogirl wrote: »
    She wasn't told she wasnt allowed buy it FFS! She asked for a €4 ticket and got issued a €9 ticket - mistake was realised and she was reissued with a €4 ticket. The €9 ticket was never hers because she didn't pay for it. Tough.
    I think you might be confusing the €9 ticket receiver here with the Tesco staff seller who wants to claim she wanted it after it was handed back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,721 ✭✭✭✭Penn

optogirl wrote: »

It is the Tesco employee who was told she wasn't allowed to buy it. She printed off the wrong ticket, and after giving the customer the right one, claims to have intended to buy the €9 ticket herself. But she didn't pay for it and didn't sign her name on the back. Then Tesco refused to allow her to buy the ticket, most likely after the ticket had already won (otherwise why would they refuse to let her pay for the ticket?).

The customer who the ticket was originally printed out for has nothing to do with it at this stage. I doubt she could even claim that those numbers would have been on her €4 ticket if it was done right because aren't the quick picks random? No guarantee those numbers would have been on her ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

I worked in a newsagent for a couple of years... Lotto tickets can't be cancelled once they're printed, unless you ring up Lotto HQ and try to explain etc. - and that's really only for huge mistakes, like if you'd accidentaly ticked the "8 draw" box and it came out at €100 or something. For a mistaken ticket under €10, we'd just leave it on the shelf or in the till and next time someone asked for a €4/€9 quick pick, we'd sell them that one. I assume that's why it was left in the till and it just happened that no-one else asked for a €9 ticket that day.

If she was really going to buy it, she wouldn't have put it in the till, she'd have put it aside somewhere. And why would she have been planning to buy a ticket after the draw anyway?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

just to add my two cents, i used to work in a shop where lotto tickets were sold. on a saturday the evening staff would "accidentally" print out several extra tickets and if the numbers came up then the ticket would be bought.

it was a common scam at the time and it ended when the manager ordered that any unsold tickets would be paid for by whoever printed them. there was a sudden drop in the amount of wrong tickets printed :D

i'm not saying this is what happened in this case but as other have said she had plently of time to but the ticket but only wanted it after the draw when she knew it was a winner.

on a side note i currently work in a different shop which only has quick picks. our machine does not allow you to choose your own numbers. two years ago we had a customer who tried to sue us for not allowing him to play his numbers for the euromillions at 8.30 on a friday.

we pointed out that a) we only do quick picks and b) the euromilloins draw closes at 7.30. he still tried to sue but got nowhere lol. he claimed we ruined his life cos his numbers came up that night. funny enough he still shops there. idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I think now that Tesco have said they are giving the money to charity, how bad would she look if she did win her case and deny charities (and get the boot?). My advice to her : "Run Forrest, Run...."

I think the half million would help her get over the negative press fairly quickly!
    Biggins wrote: »
    Long story short - she's (a) chancing her arm and/or (b) has a genuine case but has a hell of an uphill legal battle to win.
    ...And although €500,000 is a lot of money, in the long run over a lifetime for what I assume might lead to her claim having an effect on any future career and reputation should crap come out in court about her too as the press might descend looking for a story angle (and they do!), her trying this claim might not be worth it in the long run...

A: Chancing her arm - final answer Chris:D

But - what in the name of god could come out in court, that a half a million, (ie 15 years average industrial wage - tax free mind, so might as well be 20 years at least) wouldn't compensate her for? What the fúck skeletons have you got in your closet?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

To sum up, correct me if I'm wrong.
    Girl issued a wrong ticket to a customer and put it in the till. Validated it after the draw was made and realised it was a winner. Then tried to buy the ticket the following day but was refused, presumably because you have to buy tickets before the draw is made. Then tries to claim the prize?, what a chancer!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I think giving the money to charity is the best solution and its good to see tesco are going to do this. Maybe as a gesture to the woman they could donate the money in her name though i doubt that would matter to her.

...What the fúck skeletons have you got in your closet?:eek:

I'm taking the 'fifth' (pretending we have one that applies! :D )
    Me not want to be hauled up in front of an international war tribunal. I was only following orders! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭BettePorter

Exactly. I imagine she has a case if this is the procedure in her store. I mean if she has previously always been made pay for tickets issued by mistake both before or after the draw being made, then maybe this could explain her comment of 'not being allowed to pay for it'.

In which case i'd feel for her if it was just her manager saying 'now hang on a minute you're not having it' when if had it been a dud ticket they would have come looking for her monday morning for their nine euro !

But if its the case that mistaken tickets are just 'written off' as over rangs or the like then i think she is a chancer ! (i 'd still feel for how sick she'd feel knowing how close she came lol)

I guess the whole case could hinge on what the procedure in the past had been up until now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I know it's been touched on but the guy who didn't just take the €9 ticket must not be pleased. If I were him and I was doin the lotto with a jackpot that was like 130m (it was right?) for the sake of €5 I'd definately just say no problem and buy it.