Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Forgotten this girl's name

• 03-04-2011 07:23PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭

Alright, bit of a weird situation. I met a girl in a nightclub last night, and one thing led to another and she came back to my place.

I got her number and I wouldn't mind calling her, because let's face it, it's been a while. The trouble is, I was pretty hammered and I can't remember her name. She's down as "French chick" in my phone.

I could just bite the bullet and tell her I don't know her name. I'd rather not go down that road though. How can I find out her name without owning up to not knowing it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Did she take your underwear?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Put a 5 in after her mobile prefix and go through to her voicemail. Might get her name from that.

eg 08751234567

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

Try putting a "5" after the first three digits of her number. So 0875... or 0865...

Will get you stragiht to to her voicemail.

Edit. Beaten too it by Weldoninhio. I shall like your post out of respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,145 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Ring her phone and ask for some random person. Maybe she'll let slip her name when telling you you have the wrong number

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

text her and asked her to add u on facebook! Worked for me before

(AH reply - tell her you want to blast her with piss)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Send her the link to your facebook and tell her to add you, say you don't know (or how to spell) her surname

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Fremen wrote: »
    Alright, bit of a weird situation. I met a girl in a nightclub last night, and one thing led to another and she came back to my place.

I got her number and I wouldn't mind calling her, because let's face it, it's been a while. The trouble is, I was pretty hammered and I can't remember her name. She's down as "French chick" in my phone.

I could just bite the bullet and tell her I don't know her name. I'd rather not go down that road though. How can I find out her name without owning up to not knowing it?

Tell her you want to check her out on Bookface, then ask her how to spell her name exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

Max Power1 wrote: »
    text her and asked her to add u on facebook! Worked for me before

(AH reply - tell her you want to blast her with piss)

****! Deleted my facebook last month!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Just dial and say '' Allo , Bonjour '' ...it's a great ice breaker with French girls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Put a 5 in after her mobile prefix and go through to her voicemail. Might get her name from that.

eg 08751234567

This doesn't work with o2. It diverts to 1741 for the account balance. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,259 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The number probably belongs to a 24-hour plumber.

Ask her how she spells her name, since she's French, you might have a good chance of that being a legitimate question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Just get a friend to ring her and say "Who's this" then claim they have a wrong number.

A friend that won't purposely drop you in it for the craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

How the **** do you expect to be able to meet women?! Everyone knows you add them on facebook!

Anyway, go to facebook, use your email and old password, it should give you an option to reactivate it. Unless you deleted everything from it, you'll just be back where you left it.

If worse does come to worse, just text her and say "hey it's X from the club, I'm really sorry but I'm not sure how to spell your name". Or well, just get texting and then ask her for the spelling so you can put her name in your phone correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭D-Generate

There is a whole episode of Seinfeld dedicated to this.

Main two options are to check her voicemail or next time you meet her make sure that a friend bumps in to you and he can introduce himself and that way she says her name!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Your Facebook is never truly deleted. You can redeem it, put in your email and old password and that should do the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Sacramento wrote: »
    Ask her how she spells her name, since she's French, you might have a good chance of that being a legitimate question.

Genius

D-Generate wrote: »
    There is a whole episode of Seinfeld dedicated to this.

Main two options are to check her voicemail or next time you meet her make sure that a friend bumps in to you and he can introduce himself and that way she says her name!

How the Hell is he to do that?! Seriously, arrange a date without using her first name once? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

Ring her in your best Corkonian accent and say "Hi, it's me, the man from the bar"

How the Hell is he to do that?! Seriously, arrange a date without using her first name once? :confused:

Ya - just call her cutie or dear or something affectionate until he finds out her real name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

how do you know "French Chick" isnt her name?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,259 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Easy - "Hello Yerself".

Ya - just call her cutie or dear or something affectionate until he finds out her real name.

Ah yeah, great idea! "Hey, it's me you just met at the bar, my lovely sweetheart". Won't come on strong at all. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

If worse does come to worse, just text her and say "hey it's X from the club, I'm really sorry but I'm not sure how to spell your name". Or well, just get texting and then ask her for the spelling so you can put her name in your phone correctly.

Fifty quid says her name's "Ann" or something.

That can be spelt "Ann" or "Anne". So it's a legit question. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,710 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Mezcita wrote: »
    Try putting a "5" after the first three digits of her number. So 0875... or 0865...

Will get you stragiht to to her voicemail.

Edit. Beaten too it by Weldoninhio. I shall like your post out of respect.

Its "thank" not "like". This is boards - you'll address it by its proper title ya little bollocks!

Ah yeah, great idea! "Hey, it's me you just met at the bar, my lovely sweetheart". Won't come on strong at all. :rolleyes:

Who the hell says 'lovely sweetheart', seriously - were not in Shakesperian times, but he could use hun as in honey or something similar until he finds out her real name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

She's probably called Jeanne, or Virginie, or Justine... just try

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Alright, bit of a weird situation. I met a guy in a nightclub last night, and one thing led to another and i went back to his, i had an okay time.

I gave him number and told him to call me, because let's face it, i felt sorry for him. The trouble is, I was pretty hammered and now that i'm sober i realise he was very rude. He kept calling me french chick all night. I'm from Longford!

So now he keeps ringing me and aking me about Facebook and the speling of my name, how hard could it be to spell Mary????

Anywho, how do i get this stalker to leave me alone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Shes probably called Mulva. Never go to a chinese restaurant, they'll have you waiting forever.

Guill wrote: »
    Alright, bit of a weird situation. I met a guy in a nightclub last night, and one thing led to another and i went back to his, i had an okay time.

I gave him number and told him to call me, because let's face it, i felt sorry for him. The trouble is, I was pretty hammered and now that i'm sober i realise he was very rude. He kept calling me french chick all night.

So now he keeps ringing me and aking me about Facebook and the speling of my name, how hard could it be to spell Mary????

Anywho, how do i get this stalker to leave me alone?

It's your own fault. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

As the OP said he was pretty hammered so that does not neccessarily mean this girl is French. We are going to have to go with a new plan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭HoneyRyder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Redlion

zuroph wrote: »
    how do you know "French Chick" isnt her name?!
    Has to be...otherwise it would be Pierre...

Doyler92 wrote: »
    As the OP said he was pretty hammered so that does not neccessarily mean this girl is French. We are going to have to go with a new plan.

Yes, I know.

Men, I suggest we kidnap this woman, use interrorgation to find her name and deliver it to the OP post-haste!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

youre ringing her for sex, you're not gona sugar-coat it by knowing her name!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭PauricTheLodger

Why don't you just ring her and see if she is doing anything on <x>day? No names need be mentioned.
    If she is up for it, result. And you can always ask her how she spells her name then. If she figures out what you are up to, just be flat out about (but not blunt) and claim you were trying to avoid being rude and offending her.
    If she can't meet up, ask her what her full name is so ye can add her on Facebook to keep in touch if she is ever about again.

Or maybe she might want to avoid seeing you again because you were hammered and generally useless the night before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭ArtyM

If 'her' name turns out to be frank you will tell us, wont you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Text her saying the sex was amazing, so much that you want to get her name tattooed on your bag but you need the correct spelling of it.

works every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,253 ✭✭✭amacca

--LOS-- wrote: »
    youre ringing her for sex, you're not gona sugar-coat it by knowing her name!

precisely because hes ringing her for sex he will probably have to know her name and do some selective sugar coating

the ladies be lovin the sugar so they does be

....I cant see the alternative I think you may be suggesting playing out well

OP: Hello, I met you last light and I'm looking for a ride.

French Chick: I get many of these calls...the first test I set any potential suitor is a simple one.......Do you remember my full name which I took special care to mention in its full unabridged form including all of my family names going back three generations

OP: Well I am desperate so I'm going to give this a shot.....eh Nicole Renault Dupont Monmarte?

French Chick: Nice try but sadly not.....I am afraid you have failed.

OP: Whatever you cold hearted bitch.

French Chick: Dont feel too bad...Im actually a post op tranny from Sligo whose original name was Frank......if it makes you feel any better you can stay on the line and do some heavy breathing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭mojesius

Firstly, try texting her whatever it is you want to say and then end the message by signing off with your name and an x or smiley face (depending on your preference). She may text back her name at the end of her message to reciprocate the x or smiley face.

If this doesn't work, try to set up a date at her place (video night) or try to get back to her place at the end of the date. Then, when she's not looking, you'll need to hunt for clues, such as envelopes with her name on it.

Or, if she's not up for this, you could tell her on the next date that her name is beautiful and ask why her parents gave her that name - cue story about her name (Might not work well if her name is 'Gertrude' or 'Phyllis').

If none of these work, it wasn't meant to be. Do not admit that you forgot her name and don't get into a situation where you must call her by name to get her attention., such as 'Here you, want another drink?'

Good luck and god speed.

mojesius wrote: »

Or, if she's not up for this, you could tell her on the next date that her name is beautiful and ask why her parents gave her that name - cue story about her name (Might not work well if her name is 'Gertrude' or 'Phyllis').

Or even syPhyllis

a boy named syPhyllis...the greatest song Johnny Cash never sang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,676 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Ask for her email address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Ring her up and just pretend that you thought you were ringing one of your mates. So you'll be like, is Mick there and then she'll probably say eh no this Maria or some **** like that and there you have it, you got the name without making it obvious you forgot it. Or she'll just think that you think her name is Mick

Or you could just ring up, talk to her and then casually ask how does she prononce her name.

Barna77 wrote: »
    She's probably called Jeanne, or Virginie, or Justine... just try

Not Virginie after last night.

When the child is born, say you want to name it after her. Might take a while to get the name though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

TML91 wrote: »
    This doesn't work with o2. It diverts to 1741 for the account balance. :(

Eh, yeah it does.

Ask for her email address.

and if it turns out to be fannymaster77 at wtfmail.com?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

get a friend (female maybe) to ring her and ask who are they through to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

The French love ignorance OP... just tell her you didn't care to remember but liked her tits.