Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen Bikes Thread - Mod Note please read post #1 before posting

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭butterworth

Found a Raleigh bike lying in the road in The Coombe / Dublin 8 area tonight. Probably going to bring it to the garda station on Kevin street in the next couple of days, but if anyone's had it stolen and can give me an adequate description I'll get it back to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭sled driver

Posting this on behalf of a good friend of mine. Had his beloved Condor stolen today from Ben Edair road, Stoneybatter, Dublin 7.

IMG_0754.JPG

20120117_0271.JPG

20120117_0270.JPG

Spec as follows:

Condor Heritage Frame - Deda 14.5 steel frame, 64cm
    Shimano 105 Full Groupset (Black)
    Condor Carbon Black Seatpost
    TRP Cantilever Brakes Black
    Deda Zero 100 Drop Bars
    Brooks B17 Special Honey
    Brooks Honey Bar Tape
    MKS Pedals + Brown Leather toe straps
    Tubus Cargo Rack on rear
    Carradice Barley Saddle Bag - Green Canvas
    SKS Black Mudguards

Wheels (Very Unusual):
    Mavic A719 36 spoke touring rims
    Shimano Ultegra Hubs
    DT Swiss Spokes
    Continental Top Contact Vectran Tyres x 2

I'd really appreciate it if you'd drop me a pm if you see it for sale anywhere or see it around Dublin.

Thanks,

Sled driver

• Registered Users Posts: 932 ✭✭✭darconio

This is now seriously getting out of hand, from the picture posted it looks like he used to lock his bike properly: did they cut through the Ulock or how did it happen?
    Not that I was expecting any sort of reply or anything but I wrote to Crimecall hoping to raise the awareness of this serious crime, and also posted the cctv footage of my bike theft on youtube: I suggest you all to do the same, hopefully we will go somewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Crow92

Have to say fair play the gardai today,I was outside Heuston station and saw some nacker trying to steal a bike. I called the guards and gave them a quick description, after the call some other lad came over to him and told him to get lost. But within 6 minutes the gardai came by in an unmarked car with the nacker in the back and confirmed the bike he tried to steal.

Don't know if anything substantial will come of it but hopefully something will.

• Registered Users Posts: 375 ✭✭KingIsabella

They can be quite good when youre lucky! Had my motorbike back 40 minutes after i reported it stolen a few weeks back!

• Registered Users Posts: 5 marlogue

Bike Stolen: Dawes Diploma, Ladies Frame, Black, 3 speed (internal gears)
    Taken from: Outside Yoga Dublin Studios
    Time: March 19, approx 20:00
    Condition: Good condition, but for some scratches on bars and rust on spokes.
    Theft: Dawes Diploma (ladies bike, basket, internal gears) was stolen last night from Dartmouth Street, Ranelagh. The bike was locked to the street lamp opposite the entrance to Yoga Dublin Studios between 19:30-20:30, at which time I found only the sawed/snapped lock on the ground at the street-lamp.

• Registered Users Posts: 188 ✭✭patrick151

ESzRePgl.jpg

Had my bike Stolen from Trinity College Today, between 9 and 3. It's pretty much as in the photo but with black bar tape and a new front wheel. Any help would be massively appreciated

Paddy

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭sillybilly

Bike Stolen: From Harcourt Road, behind Regus Building
    Time: March 25, between 9.30am and midday
    Condition: Like new Black Trek 7.2 Its a ladies bike, comfy saddle. Black Carrier
    Theft: Lock sawed off it.

• Registered Users Posts: 403 ✭✭amjon.

Mods, not sure if this is allowed or not.

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151290011640870.1073741825.608350869&type=1

Bike was stolen from the back of Pelly's pharmacy on Fassaugh Avenue.

Look 595, Sram Force, Wired Dura ace SRM, Dura Ace c24 Clinchers.

Any knackers trying to shift it, let me know.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

****, terrible luck, that's a beautiful bike.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Now Walking

Bike: Enigma Etape with Wound up forks, Ultegra and Deore XT groupset
    Bike: Dawes Giro 300

Both locked together in bin bay

Lucan Tuesday night 9.30

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭ChainWhip

Specialized Langster stolen today (Wednesday 27th April) between 1pm and 2pm from outside 53 South William Street.

Only changes from the pics are it has a rear mudguard and silver flat pedals now.

Please keep an eye out, thank you.

?ui=2&ik=89679fc129&view=att&th=13dac4decc6119eb&attid=0.1&disp=thd&realattid=f22a2195e7b3edf_0.1&zw?ui=2&ik=89679fc129&view=att&th=13dac4decc6119eb&attid=0.2&disp=thd&realattid=f22a2195e7b3edf_0.2&zw

• Registered Users Posts: 573 ✭✭✭noc231073

amjon. wrote: »
    Mods, not sure if this is allowed or not.

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151290011640870.1073741825.608350869&type=1

Bike was stolen from the back of Pelly's pharmacy on Fassaugh Avenue.

Look 595, Sram Force, Wired Dura ace SRM, Dura Ace c24 Clinchers.

Any knackers trying to shift it, let me know.

That's a nightmare ..
    Just wondering if you have taken note if the serial number?? as I have seen a new way to tag your bike with a label that if removed the number stays visable under a uv light so if you track it down you can't prove it's yours and stolen ... I know I have 3 bikes that I haven't taken note if the numbers. Well one doesn't have a number as it a Chinese carbon bike and was thinking about getting it tag with that uv label

Again sorry to here about your bike ...

• Registered Users Posts: 12 katsy8

Hi guys,

I just had my bike stolen today at Wilton Plaza in D2, it has been reported to the Gardai, but doesn't seem like I'm their number one priority to put it nicely.

If anyone could please keep an eye out or at least not buy the following bike:

• Giant Escape Medium (female)
    • Silver with pink details (see photo)
    • Black basket in front of bike
    • Rear brake doesn't work (so I hope you die, scumbag thief)

Please see picture, and let me know if you have any info about this bike. Would be so appreciated, my heart is broken! :-( A little reward awaits whoever can help me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

katsy8 wrote: »
    Hi guys,

I just had my bike stolen today at Wilton Plaza in D2, it has been reported to the Gardai, but doesn't seem like I'm their number one priority to put it nicely.

If anyone could please keep an eye out or at least not buy the following bike:

• Giant Escape Medium (female)
    • Silver with pink details (see photo)
    • Black basket in front of bike
    • Rear brake doesn't work (so I hope you die, scumbag thief)

Please see picture, and let me know if you have any info about this bike. Would be so appreciated, my heart is broken! :-( A little reward awaits whoever can help me.

Broadsheet.ie has a short video of a couple of guys getting arrested which seems to involve a silver bike.

Thanks, I've checked it out. Doesn't seem to be mine, sadly. Glad they're taken, though (if this is not April fools). Two less lowlifes!

Thanks for sharing :) fingers crossed for all of us who are missing our bikies!

I have confirmed that there is a red Toyota Hiace driving around the D2 area which has stolen at least one bike (mine yesterday at 1:11PM).

If you think you know anything about this red van, please PM me. As i have details to confirm if it is the same van as the one that stole my bike and all help would be appreciated, so I can pass it onto the AGS in the hope of pushing them to action quicker.

MOD VOICE: Post edited slightly

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,477 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

katsy8 wrote: »
    I have the registration number.

If you have the reg, go to the Gardai immediately, they will be able to help you, having a reg number and someone who can confirm that it was involved, makes their job a whole lot easier.

CramCycle wrote: »
    If you have the reg, go to the Gardai immediately, they will be able to help you immediately

The Gardai has already the surveillance video with their faces and the car registration number, but they seem so slow even though they have the information. Provoking!

Also, I wanted to share this with you just so everyone's careful and watch out for these a*holes. It's probably already too late when you're on this thread, but still :)

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Raving

Hi everyone,

My bicycle was stolen from outside my house in Kilmainham, Dublin 8 last night. It is a cream and orange Dawes Duchess (see link: http://www.evanscycles.com/products/...-bike-ec035297). It has a u-lock on it but I honestly most likely forgot to lock it last night. It was stolen from outside my house so I would guess it was stolen around 2am. The chain was a little rusted and there was some chips on the paintwork on the frame but it was in otherwise great condition. I've submitted a police report this morning but I don't have the reg of the bike. If I go to the place I originally bought it from do you think they'd be able to help me? I am offering a reward for anyone who finds the bike.

Thank you,

Sophie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

Frame numbers used to be a standard thing for shops to know, but this seems to have fallen into disuse in the last 40 years or so, unfortunately. It may come back now that there are places to register your bike.

• Registered Users Posts: 573 ✭✭✭noc231073

Do bike shops not keep the numbers of the bike they sell???
    How long they keep them for is a different question

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 75,381 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

noc231073 wrote: »
    Do bike shops not keep the numbers of the bike they sell???
    Why should they? The onus really is on the owner to keep a record - it's not that difficult to note it down.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Raving

Yeah they don't keep a record anymore. I asked the people who sold me the bike.

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭mmclo

Specialised Sirrus Sport, White, about a year ago in Carpenterstown. Just came across this now and just got cheaper replacement!

Has toe clips but not straps

• Registered Users Posts: 19 ejbenz

my bike (Town Cube) was stolen in front of Aldi Store, along Parnell Street, in the city center of Dublin, Ireland on 9 April 2013 between 12:00 - 1:00 pm. been on the shop for about 10-15 minutes and zap! bike was gone, locks cut, destroyed. reported the incident to the Garda, still waiting for response if they have checked the cctv w/ Aldi store for any clue, etc.

i surmise the thieves are there all the time waiting for their victim. i wonder if the city could post notices on bike stands, rails like this:

"BEWARE OF BIKE THIEVES! LOCK YOUR BIKES AS SECURELY AS POSSIBLE."

it sounds embarrassing to the city but i gather bike theft is rampant in the city these days; i surf the web after this incident and noticed a lot of reports on bicycle theft, seems to happen everyday. the Garda told me they simply don't have the resources to prevent this, thus we should raise an awareness campaign for cyclists.

if the city can post notices on the streets about dog owners to bag the pooh of their dogs, why not about bicycle theft? we have a cycle to work campaign, now we have to protect the bikes, too.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 ejbenz

my bike (Town Cube) was stolen in front of Aldi Store, along Parnell Street, in the city center of Dublin, Ireland on 9 April 2013 between 12:00 - 1:00 pm. been on the shop for about 10-15 minutes and zap! bike was gone, locks cut, destroyed.

reported the incident to the Garda, still waiting for response if they have checked the cctv w/ Aldi store for any clue, etc.

i surmise the thieves are there all the time waiting for their victim. i wonder if the city could post notices on bike stands, rails like this:

"BEWARE OF BIKE THEFT. LOCK YOUR BIKES AS SECURELY AS POSSIBLE."

it sounds embarrassing to the city, but i gather bike theft is rampant in the city these days; i surf the web after this incident and noticed a lot of reports on bicycle theft, seems to happen everyday. the Garda told me they simply don't have the resources to prevent this, thus we should raise an awareness campaign for cyclists.

if the city can post notices on the streets about bagging the pooh of dogs on the streets, why not about bicycle theft? we have a cycle to work campaign, now we have to protect the bikes, too.

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭Medme

My bike was stolen from Essex street in temple bar yesterday between 1-2pm. It was chained to the bike racks along with about 10others. Reported to Gardai but sure not much they can do. No CCTV in that spot :(

On the off chance anyone gets offered ...black roadie Trek, size 54, white handlebars, look clip pedals, ladies racing saddle (hole in saddle). Ill pop a pic up if I can find one.

I really hope the scumbag broke their neck trying to pedal away over the cobbles in runners, its hard enough with cleats!

• Registered Users Posts: 22,233 ✭✭✭✭endacl

ejbenz wrote: »
    i wonder if the city could post notices on bike stands, rails like this:

"BEWARE OF BIKE THIEVES! LOCK YOUR BIKES AS SECURELY AS POSSIBLE."
    I'm not sure it's the city's job to recommend common sense. Surely that would be down to the individual?

• Registered Users Posts: 39 Al Katraz

Blue Specialized Sirrus medium men's bike with silver stripes on crossbar, black handlebars and footstraps, plastic clip-on mudguards, stolen from outside my gaff in Cabra between last night and this afternoon (April 11, 2013)

Same as this: http://www.specialized.com/media/2009/bikes/8295-60_Sirrus_blue_l.jpg

Any info would be much appreciated.