Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TD's son gets head trapped in revolving Dáil door

• 23-03-2011 9:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭

A NEWLY-elected TD is to demand the removal of a revolving door at Leinster House after his seven-year-old son’s head became trapped in it
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/tds-son-gets-head-trapped-in-revolving-dail-door-149084.html#ixzz1HSamB600
    "I think they should put in the type of doors that they have in supermarkets that operate by sensor. The door they have is simply dangerous, especially to children*," he said.

Yeah wonderful and put a Tesco sign over it too while they're at it. :rolleyes:

*At least the child was OK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

In fairness i say it was hilarious.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Well that brightened up my day

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

He'll never be the head of State! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Gneez

I'm disappointed there's no photos of it because it was probably hysterical to watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

"I think they should put in the type of doors that they have in supermarkets that operate by sensor. The door they have is simply dangerous, especially to children*," he said.

stupid children,yeah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

Uh... what were his kids doing there in the first place?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

A NEWLY-elected TD is to demand the removal of a revolving door at Leinster House after his seven-year-old son’s head became trapped in it
    I think they should put in the type of doors that they have in supermarkets that operate by sensor. The door they have is simply dangerous, especially to children," he said.

Yeah fuck all the revolving doors in hospitals.
    Get the ones in the Dail removed first.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Trapped in the tunnel of goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

Hopefully said TD won't do a Mary Hanafin and sue the state.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

I voted for this ****er :(

He has let me down badly.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paternoster
    Another great invention that's been sentenced to death by fecking Health 'n' Safety types. Really can't stand to see a brilliant invention like a revolving door being replaced with some dumbed down idiot proof yoke

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Presumably a claim will follow.
    Hanafin's ma pocketed a nice few bob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

TBF if they had the sensor sliding doors poor Michael healy rae would end up doing this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,990 ✭✭✭Trampas

wtf was he bringing his kid to work.

must be a PS thing that you bring your family to work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

I don't know whether to be happy or sad that he hasn't dressed it up as something bigger. Obviously other places have doors like this outside of the Dail. He could address it to some head of Health and Safety in whatever civil service that deals with it and see what their opinion on it is. Then see if it was genuinely unsafe, or just a freak accident. Then go about setting things right.

One the one hand, he's too stupid to turn it into a serious issue. On the other hand he isn't so much of a politician to turn it into a serious issue.

twinQuins wrote: »
    Uh... what were his kids doing there in the first place?

He's a newly elected TD, which is a fairly important job on the scale of things. He probably wants to be able to tell his kid in years to come about the grandeuer and importance of the thing. Of course the kid will probably think his old man is a moron for starting a campaign over something like this. Or else he'll catch the bug and start another political dynasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

He wasn't complaining when those revolving doors were hitting FF on the ass on their way out of government

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

the type of doors that they have in supermarkets that operate by sensor
    Good description.
    And this person is in government? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

What if some mad Loyalist with a bomb tried to kill Adams again? How the **** are you supposed to trap somebody in an automatic door?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Trampas wrote: »
    wtf was he bringing his kid to work.

must be a PS thing that you bring your family to work

First day in the Dail; i believe it's tradition for new TD's to bring family members along.
    Having read it, seems like a genuine problem and could have been serious; he's right to do something about it.
    As Mikom wrote above, though, if there are similar ones in hospitals, surely they should be dealt with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Revolving doors are great to save on the heating bills I really hope this fecker doesn't get his way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

In fairness i say it was hilarious.

More sore then hilarious I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Rega

ascanbe wrote: »
    Trapped in the tunnel of goats.

Hahahahahahahah

You just made a funny story even funnier.

Bravo!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Looks like the tradition of td's sons following in the fathers footsteps seems to be over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭bradlente

Buceph wrote: »
    "He dashed in after her and his head got trapped between the door and the frame. Other people inside were shocked and some of them were screaming, they were in the horrors," Mr Barry said.

Must of been the door to the Dail bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The kid was ok thanks to the quick-thinking of a nearby FG spin-doctor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭bradlente

ejmaztec wrote: »
    The kid was ok thanks to the quick-thinking of a nearby FG spin-doctor.

Liam Twomey does some good for a change:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Thank you OP just LMFAO :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

If these doors passed the Mary Harney test over the last few decades they can't be that bad. LOL :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

ronaneire wrote: »
    TD’s son gets head trapped in revolving Dáil door

He must get his brains from his father.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Dunjohn wrote: »
    What if some mad Loyalist with a bomb tried to kill Adams again? How the **** are you supposed to trap somebody in an automatic door?

Good thinking. I demand revolving doors be banned.

zuroph wrote: »
    TBF if they had the sensor sliding doors poor Michael healy rae would end up doing this

Thats cos they've no souls.

ascanbe wrote: »
    First day in the Dail; i believe it's tradition for new TD's to bring family members along..

How many have got their kids stuck in the door over the years?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I'm still trying to figure out how his son got his head stuck in a revolving door. Did his dad pick him up and hold him under his arm like a ladder? Because this is the only explanation I can think of.

I bet when the kid got home his mother said "Why the long face?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

ronaneire wrote: »
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/tds-son-gets-head-trapped-in-revolving-dail-door-149084.html#ixzz1HSamB600

Yeah wonderful and put a Tesco sign over it too while they're at it. :rolleyes:

*At least the child was OK

A Fine Gael TD named Tom Barry. Wonders never cease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Jaysus, wouldn't it be awful if some of those TD's got their heads caught in this.

Dionysus wrote: »
    A Fine Gael TD named Tom Barry. Wonders never cease.

Than one was better with a revolver.

Jaysus, wouldn't it be awful if some of those TD's got their heads caught in this.

If that's a door, I wouldn't like to be your postman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

Quote:
    "the type of doors that they have in supermarkets that operate by sensor"...

I always thought these 'supermarket doors' were operated by two midgets on either side of an elaborate pulley system... :confused::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

I suppose this could happen during a guillotine motion.

and for all the people asking why he was bringing kid with him. it was first day, family occasion, also, theres a creche there for members and staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Upon coming across revolving doors in the future the kid will freeze and stare blankly into the distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

There isn't enough shame in the world today. Back when I were a kid if you did something like that your parents would beat you for embarrassing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

He dashed in after her and his head got trapped between the door and the frame.

There's the problem. As kids we were taught to treat revolving doors with all due respect. No dashing, crowding, messing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

wow, a TD with a son who could'nt work out the revolving door system in the Dail, even a thick like conor lenihan managed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

I wouldn't mind so much if this was one of those automatic revolving doors (like in one of the buildings on St. Stephen's Green near the shopping centre - you stand in it and it revolves around you - futuristic!). But this is a regular revolving door.

What next? TD's child gets finger stuck in the hinges of a household door? Ban household doors!! Child falls over toy - ban toys. Child falls over other child. BAN CHILDREN!!! ...

Actually... I'd be ok with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

xoxyx wrote: »
    I wouldn't mind so much if this was one of those automatic revolving doors (like in one of the buildings on St. Stephen's Green near the shopping centre - you stand in it and it revolves around you - futuristic!). But this is a regular revolving door.

Where does it say that it's not an automatic one? The main revolving door in Leinster House is automatic, that could be the one that was involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,867 ✭✭✭Demonique

Sounds like his son rides the short bus.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭2011abc

So in their first 24-48 hours in Leinster House FG TDs managed to drive down a flight of stairs and get their kids heads trapped in a revolving doorway !?God help us !!!

Demonique wrote: »
    Sounds like his son rides the short bus.....

he does now anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Mark200 wrote: »
    Where does it say that it's not an automatic one? The main revolving door in Leinster House is automatic, that could be the one that was involved.

No its not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

xoxyx wrote: »

In fairness to the kid, and I know we're just having a bit of craic at the kids expense.. But its a very heavy revolving door, and even for an adult it can be hard to slow down or even stop it if someone rushes through it.

To the right of it (as you enter the building) there's a doorway, however its rarely open.