Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever been a prick?

• 22-03-2011 9:26am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭

I have. I'm noticing it more and more when I drink in certain company. I try to be unbearably witty and amusing and just end up insulting people.

Needless to say, I have to stop. Now.

So have you ever done the same? Ever annoyed the hell out of people who were too polite to tell you to fuck off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

My OH has a drunk alter ego. He's been coming out to play a lot recently. His name is Captain Belligerent, and yes, he's a prick.

My OH is lovely, it's just the captain who comes out and annoys everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

watna wrote: »
    My OH has a drunk alter ego. He's been coming out to play a lot recently. His name is Captain Belligerent, and yes, he's a prick.

Ah, Captain Belligerent, I know him well! Quite the prick, he has at times ended up going home in seperate taxis and at different times to his loving wife, as she ended up going home early!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭mp3kid

I didn't know my OH was on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Once a prick always a prick I'm afraid OP, you may try to hide who you are but people will always find the real you inside there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭this is arse

Confab wrote: »
    I have. I'm noticing it more and more when I drink in certain company. I try to be unbearably witty and amusing and just end up insulting people.

So have you ever done the same? Ever annoyed the hell out of people who were too polite to tell you to fuck off?

you mean, are we all pricks like you?

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Ah, Captain Belligerent, I know him well! Quite the prick, he has at times ended up going home in seperate taxis and at different times to his loving wife, as she ended up going home early!

Sounds very familiar! The worst is when he has the house keys and I don't have mine. Trying to get the keys off Captain Belligerent to go home without him is not fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

you mean, are we all pricks like you?

No.

Good to hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

No, I'm not a prick when I'm drunk, I know a couple of people who turn into the quintessential prick when they are drunk, I no longer frequent their company because of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Sounds very familiar! The worst is when he has the house keys and I don't have mine. Trying to get the keys off Captain Belligerent to go home without him is not fun.

Thankfully I usually have everything in my bag, sometimes including his wallet (which can be fun).

At least he never has car keys with him. I'd dread to think what'd happen otherwise

Ok, I'm not nearly that bad, but I'd like to avoid getting to that stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Used to be. Stopped drinking so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

I've had my fair share of being a prick, I know not to drink vodka and redbull, seems to be a bit of a trigger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

blaze1 wrote: »
    I've had my fair share of being a prick, I know not to drink vodka and redbull, seems to be a bit of a trigger

I know exactly what you mean!
    Vodka (in fact spirits in general) + sbsquarepants = :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

My drunken state is tied inextricably to my mood beforehand. So if I'm feeling out of sorts, I stay the hell away from alcohol.

And, I am foul-tempered drunk if I drink whilst hungover, which I have always considered to be my body's way of telling me "Enough is enough!" So no drinking two nights in a row either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

In the main im ok, but there is 10% of occasions where I am a prick, and i find myself telling myself to shut up but he aint listening. :(

These days, I'm a great drunk.. Can't remember the last time I've done anythin cúntish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Honestly, yes.

Ive been told by exes, my current OH, mates etc that when im very drunk I am a total prick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

yes many times, when i was a manager in roches stores i wasnt very popular with the staff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭Lukekul

If I drink Stella I magically become a prick, otherwise I'm a sound drunk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Not at all. Usually when I am full to the gills with the alcoholic imbibements, I am quite delightful to talk to and always entertain the masses with amusing anecdotes and humouours japes. Why all my friends even have a little nickname for me and regularly chide "Shut up ya stupid prick"........ oh wait :( .... Shít.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

i have been told i am the best drunk ever and i have to say i believe it. i am pretty deadly sober and beer makes everything better.
    its simple maths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pighead's an awful bollox. Especially when arguing with people. When he's wrong he'll never admit it and when he's right he's unbearably smug. The words good and grace aren't in this posters vocabularly.

Last time Pighead acted the prick was this morning when he called his dog Jacko a fat waste of space. Totally out of order as Jacko's actually quite lean and he doesn't take up much room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,386 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Nope, not a prick, although maybe I am when I drink, I don't know though...
    This is down to me not drinking, not because I can't remember what happens when I drink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

OP is seeking reassurance that he didn't really make a show of himself at the weekend.

In general I'm OK but I can ramble a bit and get outspoken. Sometimes I've been belligerent and a bit of a bollix but I'm sure most people have if they're being honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

2 things happen when i drink nothing only cider on a night out.

a - i will be mr funny and then use that to try and ride you.

or

b - become an abnoxious wankface and get pissy over anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Ledger

No not really, I only ever remember being a bit of a prick the once when pissed and it was a long time ago, when i pulled my mate onto the ground from his chair, because he was talking to my date.

Yea I know, Prick, but in fairness we laugh about it now, cuz he was pissed too, and admitted to hitting on her after, so we were all square! :D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

everyone's a prick at some point or other...........I can't think of any but maybe other people can :P I'm definitely not a drunk prick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

the worst are the ones where there is no drink involved. Theres banter and theres being a mean prick with issues wanting to put everyone down,
    they are the worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Irishpimpdude

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Thankfully I usually have everything in my bag, sometimes including his wallet (which can be fun).

At least he never has car keys with him. I'd dread to think what'd happen otherwise

God most women are evil when the captain comes out :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Generally Im a decent guy, but when I want to get some sex I act like an arrogant bastard- the women love it

(they say they dont but they really do)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

snyper wrote: »
    2 things happen when i drink nothing only cider on a night out.

a - i will be mr funny and then use that to try and ride you.

or

b - become an abnoxious wankface and get pissy over anything.

Golden showers while giving head ftw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

blaze1 wrote: »

when i get drunk on vodka i am more likely to act mean/obnoxious than when i'm drinking anything else. what is it about that stuff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Frequently.

Don't even need to be drunk, but I'm not necessarily a bad kind of prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I can definitely be a prick, most of my mates will tell you that and if I don't like you I'll be an ignorant prick. But I am not a drunk prick, when I'm drunk I will give you a lap dance. Especially if you're an asian brother and sister.... I wish I remembered that one :o.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Tilt Gone

I'm only a prick to people who have been prickish with me. Actually when I'm drunk I'll tell them they're pricks thus proving that I also am a prick??

It's said if you don't like someone even though you don't relly know them it's because you see something in them similar to your own personality that you dont like. i hope that isn't true though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

No, Im too polite.

I might have told someone they were a big meanie once when I was drunk..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

who needs drink to be a prick???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Ever been a prick?

All the time

In fact If I wasnt being a prick constantly I would consider myself a failure :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Yes, there's a very big prick inside me just trying to get out, I try to keep it in but sometimes it gets the better of me and I'm a prick in front of everybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

ScumLord wrote: »
    Yes, there's a very big prick inside me

QFT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Fozzydog3

oh hello me is that you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,494 ✭✭✭harr

yes i can be a prick with drink inside that's why I don't drink anyway near what i used to when i was younger.I don't remember a thing when i drink which scares me a bit,i tend to try and fight with anybody who looks my way at all and the shame i feel the next morning when the oh tells me what i got up to.The last time it happened was last year on a lads night out some young lad made a smart comment and i laid him out in the middle of my local pub.i am going to start on the wrong person some night and that will be the end of me and i know i would deserve it.Without drink i am the quietest lad you could meet :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Almost always good natured on drink, with the exception of whiskey or JD. That stuff makes me have temper tantrums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Loads of times. I don't drink as much now. I went snowboarding and was given port in the boardrenting place, then went to meet the others on the holiday for the first time. I told one guy he had a face like the business end of a whore, another couple that they would have freakish misshapen children given the size disparity between them, a woman she was abandoning her child to throw herself down a mountain. Then I started firing darts around the pub, not deliberately, but I was so drunk I couldn't aim.

I felt awful about it. On the other hand, people still quote some of what I said and high five me about it now.

Snakeblood wrote: »
    Loads of times. I don't drink as much now. I went snowboarding and was given port in the boardrenting place, then went to meet the others on the holiday for the first time. I told one guy he had a face like the business end of a whore, another couple that they would have freakish misshapen children given the size disparity between them

Port is lovely. I don't buy into the idea that different types of alcoholic beverage affect on emotions and thought process in a different manner. Ethanol is ethanol, full stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Fozzydog3

Port is lovely. I don't buy into the idea that different types of alcoholic beverage affect on emotions and thought process in a different manner. Ethanol is ethanol, full stop.

not a gin man i take it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 DubK

No!!! I am fine as long as I stay far far away from Dark Red wines. I have no idea what it is about the stuff but trust me I stay well clear. The worst thing is I like the stuff:mad:

Like everyone else I have the odd off night but normal I am fine:)

Prick. . Bitch.

Tis all the same.

So yes.
    I can be an incredible bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

The exact reason I don't drink any more.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

i get happy and talkative when drunk.
    My image of a prick is a guy in a suit and a briefcase ,talking uber loudly ,showing off ,laughing insanely at his own feeble jokes .While all around him wince and look away ,while the guy is oblivious to the plain and utter joke he himself has become.