Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fox's 0, Trueflite .223 1

• 21-03-2011 11:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭

I was a busy boy today, I had limited time to shoot so I spent it wisely.
    I had rebarreled my .223 Remington from a 1 in 12 .223 to a 1 in 8 twist .223.
    I also had shortened the barrel 2".

Over the christmas and recent past I had used my P7 exlusively on my .308 as I had tried the P7 on the .308 and it had worked well.

The Former VSSF II 26" barrel was "I thought" too long and awkward at lamping.

So I purchased a Trueflite 1 in 8 Twist barrel of www.irelandcustomrifle.com recently.
    I had shot some nice groups with it; However I had seen very little bunnies in the past 2 weeks.

Around 7pm this evening I called to my Neighbour Peter's farm.
    It was just dark when I arrived and I spied Peter dowm the yard.
    I said Howya P!
    So we stopped and talked about sheep,Cattle,Neighbours the price of Diesel :eek: etc.

I was glad of this chat for several reasons, my primary reason was Farmer/Hunter PR and the light to fade further.

~7:30 I headd off down P's yard.
    It was pitch black and overcast at this stage.
    I dare not switch on my P4 hand torch to shine my road down the farm yard.
    I relied on my natural night vision.
    I reached the end of teh yard and was hopping across teh electric fence and I was hit with a rab of MAINS Fence in the crown jewels and again and again.
    In my haste to get free of this Green Mile Moment I jumped/slimped/and in an effrt to save my rifle and scope landed n my ars* in ~5" of farmyard slurry/Silagepit run off.

I said to myself, "Great start to an evening's lamping"
    I walked up a small hill to a viewing spot out onto 15 acres of pasture.
    I took out the Acme caller (Never been useful to date, But I'd try it one more time)

I'm blowing like Chasey Lane and then I give the field a flash; Nothing.
    I give it a few mins. I blow for 1-2 mins again.
    I give a flash and spy a pair of eyes ~200yards

The eyes disappear before I could assertain what exactly I was loking at.
    I noticed that the wind had changed and now was on my back so I headed off in another direction.

I reach a sheep fence and say to myself "I'll give another flash"
    Bingo a pair of eyes parralel with a land drain ~170yards away.

The eyes move and disappear,reappear disappear and finally reappear 153 paces from my position.

I rest the rifle on the broadest Fence post avaolable.
    I use the eyes as my reference and I aim a shade low of teh eye so not to pierce ears :D

I squeeze of a round and hear
    WhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaThuuuuump.
    I scan again.
    Did I hit it?

I walk as best as I can to the spot I think where it is.
    I find nothing.
    I was just about to turn and go back to base when I cop behind a clump of rushes a leg jutting out.
    And low and behold
    Madra Rua Marábh ;)
    152476.jpg
    In the ear, the head rattles when shakes.

Job done.
    I head back fox in the lámh and criss cross the field and farm yard.
    I lose my boot in muck and end up dropping foot into the crud to save dropping Fox, and Rifle AGAIN I find muck.

But I culd not give a hoot.
    Best Shot @ night on a fox in years.
    I'm a happy Camper!
    152477.jpg

The P7 works well on the .223
    152500.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Electrocution or slurry quick muck, don't know who's in more danger, yourself or the fox :D

Well done on the red fella, first for the new barrel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭mayfly36

Good shooting, looks like you shat ureself. LOL. What ammo u using now with the 1:8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

@John Galway
    First Fox on New Barrel, I is Chuffed. I saved the rifle so I had to land on my ass & elbow deep in god awful smelly crud.

@Mayfly, Shot with a 55grain Moly Hornady as I had zero'd for that. I have 27 rounds of Moly left and I hope to use them up before Sunday and then re-zero for 75grain Tap for a few months

I was so glad I got him.
    A month ago I missed a fox in the same field with the farmer watching.
    I had serious confidence issues after that.

After firing 70 .223 rounds in the past 10 days had sharpened me up.

152484.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Remmie 223

Well done Tack, worth the wet a*se I'd say:)

Remmie 223 wrote: »
    Well done Tack, worth the wet a*se I'd say:)

It was in deed, A smelly Wet ars* :D:D

Feckin mains fence scalded the balls off me.

I had taken Landkeepers idea and used the P7 without the pressure switch, as a result easier to make a precision shot without considering grip.

Fox was shot on 8x as that was the Lowest mag on the Nightforce 8-32x56NXS

Mod was an ASE Ultra S5
    Ammo Hornady 55grain Vmax Moly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

Nice solo run,
    Did the p7 not give u an outline of the fox @ 150y?
    Was it a dog or bitch?
    Have this whole 'give em a break' thing rolling around in my head so i'm waiting for the first silage cut (ceasefire) before i hit them again...
    no sheep round here......

cc30

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Feckin mains fence scalded the balls off me.

Dan Aykroyd in Caddyshack 2 springs to mind. Youtube it.:D
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Nice solo run,
    Did the p7 not give u an outline of the fox @ 150y?
    Was it a dog or bitch?
    Have this whole 'give em a break' thing rolling around in my head so i'm waiting for the first silage cut (ceasefire) before i hit them again...
    no sheep round here......

cc30

I only had a view of the head, Heavy rushes.
    Field drops off to a soggy bottoms.

Did the foxes give the new born lambs a break ?
    P has 35 little lamb'íns in the same field.

The Sheep are on the same land as deer, I shoot for the farmer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

I'm raging I didn't go for that shot with ya now :mad:

But I'm pretty sure the fox would have heard me trying to cough up a lung and blowing my nose every 2 mins.

Great shooting and lovely looking vixen.

dev110 wrote: »
    I'm raging I didn't go for that shot with ya now :mad:

But I'm pretty sure the fox would have heard me trying to cough up a lung and blowing my nose every 2 mins.

Great shooting and lovely looking vixen.

I've the tail off, I opened it up and poured salt in.

Considering making a Davy Crockett hat !

I've the tail off, I opened it up and poured salt in.

Considering making a Davy Crockett hat !

Would you not have tried the way poulo showed us?

dev110 wrote: »
    Would you not have tried the way poulo showed us?

I did, beats regular skinning by a mile, I'll still need 2 more tails to make a Hat.

Not sure will the pelt be furry enough

I did, beats regular skinning by a mile, I'll still need 2 more tails to make a Hat.

Not sure will the pelt be furry enough

That will just give you more incentive to get out and get two more foxes ;)

Can't imagine the smell of that hat when its made, well I can but I just don't want to think about it :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

if you want a quick way of skinning them and there is only one hole in the skin use an airline /compressor works great
    pour a bit of white spirit down the tail will cure it either if you just want the tail
    salt dries it out
    oh tack you have a synthetic stock use that on the elecy fence next time it's better than test ing it with your ickles

landkeeper wrote: »
    if you want a quick way of skinning them and there is only one hole in the skin use an airline /compressor works great
    pour a bit of white spirit down the tail will cure it either if you just want the tail
    salt dries it out
    oh tack you have a synthetic stock use that on the elecy fence next time it's better than test ing it with your ickles

I'll use the white spirit later maybe.
    We use paulo's stick trick.

Break off a stick and use it as a clamp around the root of the tail that you have scraped the skin back with a knife.

Then whilst holding the stick place foot on leg an d one quick pull and skin off.

I knew the fence was on, I forgot how stiff I am since not running or training in over a year.:o
    I need to lose Stone and a half and get more limber.

I did use your technique of abandoning the pressure switch and I believe that is the reason I got a better shot off than I normally would at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

a clothers peg is the easiest way of peeling the tail ;)skin round the root of the tail clip on the clothes peg grip in the hand foot on olred and pull leaving old red looking like elrat :D

landkeeper wrote: »
    a clothers peg is the easiest way of peeling the tail ;)skin round the root of the tail clip on the clothes peg grip in the hand foot on olred and pull leaving old red looking like elrat :D

Clothes Peg sounds just the job.
    Can sometimes be hard to find a twig in a boggy place.

Might try for another tonight, on a roll now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

Nice1 Tack decent looking fox, Id agree re the pressure switch its better to have one less thing to worry about when concentrating on a shot! I wonder would it be possible to rip the pressure switch off and fit some kind of on/off switch onto the wire so that you could keep the control near the trigger? Id dread having to take a shot in front of a farmer because i could nearly guarantee i'd miss! :cool:

pugw wrote: »
    Nice1 Tack decent looking fox, Id agree re the pressure switch its better to have one less thing to worry about when concentrating on a shot! I wonder would it be possible to rip the pressure switch off and fit some kind of on/off switch onto the wire so that you could keep the control near the trigger? Id dread having to take a shot in front of a farmer because i could nearly guarantee i'd miss! :cool:

No reason why a toggle switch could not be fitted

http://ie.farnell.com/arcolectric-switches/c3900baaaa/toggle-switch/dp/7674244

Just as handy to leave light switch on lamp though.
    I shot a bunny in the head @250 in front of a farmer before and he told the whole Parish that I was a crack shot, and as a result got me several permissions.

Missing could ruin one's reputation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Nice write up Tack and am glad you are having a bit of success with the foxes.

Hope your balls will be okay.:D

Nice write up Tack and am glad you are having a bit of success with the foxes.

Hope your balls will be okay.:D

Balls are fine :D

I could not make a story up like that:eek:
    Wish I had more time, sun out all day and I doing college research on my day off from work :(

Oh roll on the Summer and long evenings!

I hope to push the .223 round to the limits with these 75grain stuff.

I'm glad I did not give up on the Acme caller, I think I needed to blow it more like a harmonica than a whistle to get the desired sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

I'm glad I did not give up on the Acme caller, I think I needed to blow it more like a harmonica than a whistle to get the desired sound.

Yeah you have to blow accross the top of it and cup it in your hands to muffle the sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭virminhunter

tell the truth tack, when you slipped you shat yourself thinkin you were going to smash the NXS:p:D ah no fair play nice write up.

If I shat myself I'd be keeping that to myself :D

I walked the same permission tonight, not a stir :(

I'd like to get another before it gets too late into the breeding season