Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are Dublin people so insecure about where they live?

123457»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

al28283 wrote: »
    Whats all this ****e I keep hearing about GAA? I lived in Dublin for 27 years and never actually watched a game, never heard about it, never knew anyone who did, it just never came up. It was about as relevant to my life as ice hockey

Are you not aware that the Sam Maguire cup is in Dublin?:pac: tbh i think the Dubs are a grand crowd.It's the people that are so crippled by inferiority complexes that they try and find any excuse not to like Dublin and Cork that annoy me!

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

Are you not aware that the Sam Maguire cup is Dublin?:pac:

I don't know what the sam maguire cup is exactly, I didn't know it is Dublin, and not really sure what that even means

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Are you not aware that the Sam Maguire cup is Dublin?:pac: tbh i think the Dubs are a grand crowd.It's the people that are so crippled by inferiority complexes that they try and find any excuse not to like Dublin and Cork that annoy me!

I'll be honest, I didnt. And I've been in dublin for 31 years. Though I couldnt tell you squat about the FA cup, ryder cup either. But I could show you the ardagh chalice :D

This rivalry crap is nonsense. Im from dublin and absolutely love Cork, beautiful place and the nicest people in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

I don't know what the sam maguire cup is exactly, I didn't know it is Dublin, and not really sure what that even means

I mean't to say that it is in Dublin.Are you not aware that the greatest prize in irish sport(along with the Liam McCarthy cup) is in your native place?:pac:

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

I mean't to say that it is in Dublin.Are you not aware that the greatest prize in irish sport(along with the Liam McCarthy cup) is in your native place?:pac:

Sweet Jesus Christ!! I'm from Cork myself and Sam Maguire is buried about a hundred metres from my house, but I could not give a shiny shìte about stuff like that, and I'm guessing many of the people on here are the same. So....

STOP ON ABOUT IT!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,781 ✭✭✭el diablo

number10a wrote: »
    Sweet Jesus Christ!! I'm from Cork myself and Sam Maguire is buried about a hundred metres from my house, but I could not give a shiny shìte about stuff like that, and I'm guessing many of the people on here are the same. So....

STOP ON ABOUT IT!!!!

I thought all the country people were obsessed with the GAA. :confused:
    God bless them.

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

el diablo wrote: »
    I thought all the country people were obsessed with the GAA. :confused:
    God bless them.

Not all. Though I am a bit of a freak round this parts as a result.

Nope, that's what I mean. There are a hell of a lot of people who just don't encounter that stuff at all in their lives, it's just never come up. The only time I've ever noticed anything to do with GAA is when there is a final in Croke park and the place is full of drunks from the country. Apart from that it might as well not exist. I've never heard of Liam McCarthy either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

So far this thread seems to be proving the op correct. Get your head out of your arses lads. Ive lived in both the city and the countryside and the ****e I hear coming from Dubliners is just ridiculous and you would never hear the same stuff from anybody in the countryside about the city.
    The only thing you hear is "Dublin is full of scum", which it does have a prevalent knack population but we're not referring to the normal majority population, where as a lot of the time Dubliners can't tell the difference between a dirty culchie dope and a normal person who lives in the countryside.
    Honestly, when I visit dublin you all seems the exact same to me as the people in the countryside.
    and quit your complaining about country people coming to Dublin and getting drunk and making a fool of themselves. The same thing happens here, Kilkenny & Waterford gets flooded with Dubliners for hen nights and they make huge twats of themselves. Big woop.

You should all leave Dublin sometime and see what its like in the country, its not a whole lot different aside from the travel times to avail of services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 benmad

kildare9 wrote: »
    I'd agree with pragmatic1, most dubs are bang on, but SOME are very sheltered. They dont see beyond the Dublin border. For example in college the other day, I overheard two girls asking one of their friends was there night clubs in Galway
    are there:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭greenpilot

cocoshovel wrote: »
    So far this thread seems to be proving the op correct. Get your head out of your arses lads. Ive lived in both the city and the countryside and the ****e I hear coming from Dubliners is just ridiculous and you would never hear the same stuff from anybody in the countryside about the city.
    The only thing you hear is "Dublin is full of scum", which it does have a prevalent knack population but we're not referring to the normal majority population, where as a lot of the time Dubliners can't tell the difference between a dirty culchie dope and a normal person who lives in the countryside.
    Honestly, when I visit dublin you all seems the exact same to me as the people in the countryside.
    and quit your complaining about country people coming to Dublin and getting drunk and making a fool of themselves. The same thing happens here, Kilkenny & Waterford gets flooded with Dubliners for hen nights and they make huge twats of themselves. Big woop.

You should all leave Dublin sometime and see what its like in the country, its not a whole lot different aside from the travel times to avail of services.

I agree. I moved from Kildare 12 years ago to the arsehole of nowhere in Mayo, and I love it. The dark starlit nights. Room around the house to actually DO something. Castlebar and Westport are only half hour away. In fact, I can get to Castlebar Hospital quicker than if I was living in Clane and needed to get to Naas. No "Howyez" every where you go. The beach is 10 min away, the Nephin Mountains is at my doorstep etc, and its funny during the Summer to see the Dubs and indeed Kildare folk driving around aimlessly enjoying their weeks holiday before they return to their boxes in their Urban Bliss, while I can enjoy it every day!!

Its only when you leave Urbanality and live in Rural Ireland, that you begin to appreciate how lucky these people are to live in their one off houses and rear thei families in a peacefull, country way of living which has a kind of safeness and innocence which can never be emulated in an urban society.

I remember a friend of mine wondering what people in the Countryside DO for a living, and my answer was simple....We Live!!

We may not be on the highest of wages, but we sure enjoy Life. A sure indicator of this is the fact that so many of us dont bother going on Holidays elsewhere, because we love where we are right now. You dont hear of many of us booking two weeks Holidays in Dublin, now do yousmile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Yahew

kthnxbai wrote: »
    EDIT:
    lolololol

Only just saw the Dundalk bit now...

For realsies? You think a Dundalk accent is the same as a Dublin accent?! If anything it's closer to a North/Cavan type accent than it is to a Dublin accent...

I think he meant Drogheda. There is no greater accent change in one county than from Drogheda to Dundalk - Leinster to Ulster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

I have met the best and worst people from Dublin city.
    I don't think you can stereotype everyone from Dublin city as insecure about where they live.
    One thing that I find curious though is that Dublin people always seem keen to emphasise whether they live North or South of the River Liffey.
    There seems to be a real divide between North side and South Side Dubliner's.
    I get the impression that there is some snobbery in South Dublin with regard to them being better than North Dublin people.
    The thing I find funny about Dublin city people is that they consider themselves to be cosmopolitan, yet many have not travelled to other parts of the country, let alone abroad.
    I met one D4 girl who was very proud of being from there. She was keen to point this out to me early on in our conversation. When I asked which countries she had been to, she told me she didn't have a passport and so had never left the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Seanchai

Whats all this ****e I keep hearing about GAA? I lived in Dublin for 27 years and never actually watched a game, never heard about it, never knew anyone who did, it just never came up. It was about as relevant to my life as ice hockey

One of these, at least, is a lie.

Ah nothing, it just happens to be far and away the biggest, best organised and most popular sporting organisation in Dublin. In the context of sport and creating and maintaining a "Dublin" identity, its importance is obvious to anybody who has a clue about what's going on in the city or county.

greenpilot wrote: »
    I agree. I moved from Kildare 12 years ago to the arsehole of nowhere in Mayo, and I love it. The dark starlit nights. Room around the house to actually DO something. Castlebar and Westport are only half hour away. In fact, I can get to Castlebar Hospital quicker than if I was living in Clane and needed to get to Naas. No "Howyez" every where you go. The beach is 10 min away, the Nephin Mountains is at my doorstep etc, and its funny during the Summer to see the Dubs and indeed Kildare folk driving around aimlessly enjoying their weeks holiday before they return to their boxes in their Urban Bliss, while I can enjoy it every day!!

Its only when you leave Urbanality and live in Rural Ireland, that you begin to appreciate how lucky these people are to live in their one off houses and rear thei families in a peacefull, country way of living which has a kind of safeness and innocence which can never be emulated in an urban society.

I remember a friend of mine wondering what people in the Countryside DO for a living, and my answer was simple....We Live!!

We may not be on the highest of wages, but we sure enjoy Life. A sure indicator of this is the fact that so many of us dont bother going on Holidays elsewhere, because we love where we are right now. You dont hear of many of us booking two weeks Holidays in Dublin, now do yousmile.gif

Ok, but that's not really what this thread is about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

The Dublin accent is like nails across a blackboard. I cannot see how anyone could consider it in any way attractive, it is the aural equivalent of a fat guy in Speedos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Sarky wrote: »
    The Dublin accent is like nails across a blackboard. I cannot see how anyone could consider it in any way attractive, it is the aural equivalent of a fat guy in Speedos.

I love the *real* Dublin accent. It's up there with a good culchie accent any day in terms of its potential to have the piss taken out of it.

Scratch all that: I love local accents! In a world where "like" and "you know" and all that bland TV-induced language is everywhere, local accents are kings of diversity, of rhythm, of melody, of mellifluousness - and sources of fun, colour and entertainment in the best possible senses.