Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are Dublin people so insecure about where they live?

• 01-03-2011 2:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭

It's a bizarre thing and only something thats maybe become really apparent in the last 10 years with so much social media and forums like this.

But my impression is Dubliners seem to really have a chip on their shoulder when it comes to anyone from any of the other 31 counties.

- They seem to dislike the national games because they're played more successfully elsewhere.

- Seem to have a genuine dislike of customs, accents and locations everywhere else in the country. I remember one Dublin guy on that TV3 show take me out saying he was hoping for a Dublin girl as he "dislikes the culchie accent". I was unaware all 31 counties and 5 million people shared the same dialect. :D

- Seem to dislike Irish made programs that aren't made in Dublin or programs in the Irish language, generally it seems to be more acceptable to watch British programming there than say something rural based like Kilnaskully.

I find it quite sad that a lot of people there don't seem to be able to have pride in their city or county and have to snipe through arrogance and igorance at everyone else hiding their own insecurities about where they live, not even at particular areas. Dublin people tend to regard the country as two zones "Dublin" and "the country" which is quite funny, I don't know anywhere else or any other country which would have people so narrow minded as that.
    The fact that dublin has the highest emmigration rate in the country is probably testament to how much love its people has for it.

There's a lot of awesome things about Dublin IMO, it isn't warranted.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I think the chip is on your shoulder...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Downlinz wrote: »
    The fact that dublin has the highest emmigration rate in the country is probably testament to how much love its people has for it.

It's because we have the major airport...are all your other posts as insightful as this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Hmmm....chips....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

It's a bizarre thing and only something thats maybe become really apparent in the last 10 years with so much social media and forums like this.

But my impression is Dubliners seem to really have a chip on their shoulder when it comes to anyone from any of the other 31 counties.

- They seem to dislike the national games because they're played more successfully elsewhere.

- Seem to have a genuine dislike of customs, accents and locations everywhere else in the country. I remember one Dublin guy on that TV3 show take me out saying he was hoping for a Dublin girl as he "dislikes the culchie accent". I was unaware all 31 counties and 5 million people shared the same dialect. :D

- Seem to dislike Irish made programs that aren't made in Dublin or programs in the Irish language, generally it seems to be more acceptable to watch British programming there than say something rural based like Kilnaskully.

I find it quite sad that a lot of people there don't seem to be able to have pride in their city or county and have to snipe through arrogance and igorance at everyone else hiding their own insecurities about where they live, not even at particular areas. Dublin people tend to regard the country as two zones "Dublin" and "the country" which is quite funny, I don't know anywhere else or any other country which would have people so narrow minded as that.

Huge generalisation, irony and hypocrisy in your post!

Also Take me out is definetly not a fair representation of ANY sensible Irish person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Really, sup bud?....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

The smell of bullshit is wafting from my screen.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

rabble rabble rabble

Stereotype rabble, stereotype , rabble i met a guy who.... rabble.

seen this one person... rabble.

did i get it all??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

listermint wrote: »
    rabble rabble rabble

Stereotype rabble, stereotype , rabble i met a guy who.... rabble.

seen this one person... rabble.

did i get it all??

I think you missed out on both a herp and a derp.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Hugh generalisation, irony and hypocrisy in your post!

Also Take me out is definetly not a fair representation of ANY sensible Irish person.

How did you know his name is Hugh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Which Dublin!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

is this a dublin forum?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Like the heroin junkies by the Quay?

Sounds awesome aite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

How did you know his name is Hugh?

I got talking to him under a bridge once :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I'm only speaking for myself here, but I love this incredible country we live in - ALL of it. I'm from Dun Laoghaire and I'm very proud and happy to live in such a beautiful town (TBH, having lived here my entire live, being able to see the sea from my street is an absolute must for me, I don't think I could hack living more than a 5 minute drive from it at most!) but I've been all over the country and loved it too (obviously, with particular reference to areas near the water - Kerry, Cork, Galway etc)

I genuinely have never noticed this attitude you mention amongst my peers so perhaps there's hope, not all of Dublin disrespects the rest of their nation! :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I like cities. They're where the cool stuff happens. The country is nice but more to look at or pass through. Small town/village syndrome puts me right off.

Irish language? grand in it's place. It only irritates me when some people claim it as my language without my input. Same for GAAAA or Irish music.

Kilnaskully is pure shíte for me. Nothing to do with rural/urban really. I'd rather remove my own testicles with a corkscrew than watch fair city and it's urban.

If you think the urban rural divide isn't elsewhere on the planet you're being a good example of a locally minded "culshie".

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

They're just defensive owing to the negative portrayal of the city in the media.

Fair City, Fade Street, Mrs. Browne's Boys... I can't blame them really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

+1.

Plus, he doesn't know the difference between an accent and a dialect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

generally it seems to be more acceptable to watch British programming there than say something rural based like Kilnaskully.
    Thank fuk for that.
    I find it quite sad that a lot of people there don't seem to be able to have pride in their city or county
    Thought your issue was with Dubliners having pride in Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

I didn't read the rest of your post but i'll just stop you there. Most dublinners couldnt give a shite about GAA or Hurling. I find it cringe worthy when culchies brag about winning these titles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,057 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

But my impression is Dubliners seem to really have a chip on their shoulder

Here you are with ANOTHER Dublin thread, what is it with peoples obsession with it here? Yawn, take the chip off your shoulder, deal with the fact that the city exists and it's inhabitants are proud of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

I am going to guess that the OP is from Cork.

Am I correct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Any credibility your argument might have had is gone I'm afraid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Waterford City people are way worse though.

They're always saying stuff in that Waterford City way about people who aren't from Waterford City and it's just a pure Waterford City truism that you can take a Waterford City Man out of the Waterford City but you can't take the Waterford City out of the Waterford City Man.

Waterford City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

What are ye all doing inside when the sun is beaming outside....shame on ye.

Don't say yer at work thats not something ye should admit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭Downlinz

I didn't read the rest of your post but i'll just stop you there. Most dublinners couldnt give a shite about GAA or Hurling. I find it cringe worthy when culchies brag about winning these titles.

This is exactly what I'm talking about, distancing yourself from sports for fear of having interest in something other counties will beat you in and anticipating "bragging" about it from others. Other counties don't care about Dublin people half as much as Dublin people care about them, thats the very core of insecurity.

But with that regard I also have no interest in local soccer teams... so you suggest my lack of interest in them is a direct result of my inescapable fear of defeat by other regional soccer teams?

Wouldn't be due to my complete lack of interest in soccer, no?

So why can't I as a Dub just have no interest in GAA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

If im not mistaken havent we (DUBLIN) hammered both Cork and kerry in the last two weeks in GAA? How are we crap at it haha :pac:

EDIT - You obviously care about us Dubs otherwise you wouldn tbe wasting your time moaning like a girl on here about Dublin

reprazant wrote: »
    I am going to guess that the OP is from Cork.

Am I correct?
    Meh, you're just doing the very same as the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,057 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Other counties don't care about Dublin people half as much as Dublin people care about them, thats the very core of insecurity.

Then why did you start a thread about Dublin and Dubliners?

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Waterford City people are way worse though.

They're always saying stuff in that Waterford City way about people who aren't from Waterford City and it's just a pure Waterford City truism that you can take a Waterford City Man out of the Waterford City but you can't take the Waterford City out of the Waterford City Man.

Waterford City.

Leave Waterford out of this.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭Downlinz

But with that regard I also have no interest in local soccer teams... so you suggest my lack of interest in them is a direct result of my inescapable fear of defeat by other regional soccer teams?

Wouldn't be due to my complete lack of interest in soccer, no?

So why can't I as a Dub just have no interest in GAA?

Don't you think its odd that Dublin is the only county in the country who'd feel like this in sizable numbers? It was once a city with a proud Football tradition and had fierce rivalries with Kerry, it seems like since the 90's thats gone down the tube and people now almost feel shame to have that sort of connection with their counties sporting ancestry.
    Maybe for a city with so much immigration both internal and external theres a lack of identity going on or something.

You seem to give way more of a sh1t than most Dubliners do OP.

Dudess wrote: »
    You seem to give way more of a sh1t than most Dubliners do OP.

Nice darts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

OP, all I can say is, if you ain't feelin nuttin, hit that button.

Or, no likey, no lighty.

Don't you think its odd that Dublin is the only county in the country who'd feel like this in sizable numbers? It was once a city with a proud Football tradition and had fierce rivalries with Kerry, it seems like since the 90's thats gone down the tube and people now almost feel shame to have that sort of connection with their counties sporting ancestry.
    Maybe for a city with so much immigration both internal and external theres a lack of identity going on or something.

I think it's odd that you think it is the only county...

All you are saying is that it's more noticable because there are more people in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

I always have to laugh when threads like this are started, mainly at the fact that people actually think there is that much of a difference between people from Dublin and people from the rest of the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

kfallon wrote: »
    Leave Waterford out of this.......

Typical Waterford City behaviour there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭JoePie

Everyone's missed the point.
    c_man wrote: »
    Fade Street
    Best show. The real Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Isn't it always a bit like that? People from the Capital feel a bit superior? I went to many countries in the world, and it was always like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Muff_Daddy

You should check out Italy...people from Northern Italy call people from Southern Italy 'Africans'.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Typical Waterford City behaviour there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Lars1916 wrote: »
    Isn't it always a bit like that? People from the Capital feel a bit superior? I went to many countries in the world, and it was always like that.

We're talking about Dublin here. Leave the Corkonians out of it.

¬_¬

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

No 'seem' about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Buceph wrote: »
    We're talking about Dublin here. Leave the Corkonians out of it.

¬_¬

It's like the 'Free State of Bavaria' in Germany, I suppose ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭grungepants

I love country folk i tend to socialise better with them....and they laugh at all my jokes.Oh i miss them country folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

I'm insecure about being from Dublin? Cheers for the analysis, will save me a few bob on a psychiatrist a few years down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭haydar

As a meath man i am supposed to hate dubs. And i do but only for the seventy minutes of a football match. Then i go back to hating everyone equally again.

Especially Kerry fans:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

fail... I see way more dublin bashing on here than the other way around. by a fking long chalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

It seems the only reference you have in your entire analysis is the TV3 show "Take Me Out"

You need to do some more research OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

Its generally the completely opposite in most cases, this thread being another prime example tbh.

Thats a bit nuts, I'm sure theres more people interested in GAA here in dublin then there is in your county. Dublin is a city theres plenty of people in it and we don't have as strong a sense of community as people living in the country. I'm not big into sports, have no interest in GAA but I don't hate it either, I'm kinda proud of it actually. Its has an important place in Irish history and I love how us irish generally behave with each other in our national sports.

I'm just not that interested in watching sports, and others just enjoy watching football more how good the dublin teams are has nothing to do with this.

This is generally because any accent from outside Dublin IS viewed as a country accent, appart from the nordie accents. Theres nothing negitive about this though, I dunno why people from the country get so offended about being considered 'from the country'. Theres no shame in being from the country.

This is all largely BS, but some people would rather watch irish shows more relevant to them. However most people watch tv based on the actually quality of the programme itself and their own taste.

As for the Irish language, I wish I could speak it but I can't so I generally wouldnt watch something if its in Irish, this has nothing to do with my hating the country or even being from dublin. ffs.
    Dublin people tend to regard the country as two zones "Dublin" and "the country" which is quite funny,

This is because this is actually how the country is. We are a small country with really only one proper large city, which is also the capital, this is the natural result. This does not make dublin better or worse then any other county, everyone has their preferences.

People are pricks in a city, but living in a city has its benefits. Out side of dublin people are far more friendly ,strangers are more likely to greet you warmly and so on. Although its unfortunate that some will sneer apon hearing a dublin accent. Living in the country has its own benefits too , each unique depending on it being a town or a more isolated area.

We are all irish, we are brothers and sisters , enough of this anti dublin stuff please. Yes we have scumbags, who give dubliners a bad name but I'm proud to be Irish, and happy to be from the same nation as the people from all the other counties. Dublin is your capital too, you should be as equally proud of it as we are of our beautiful country side

I hate the attitude from some people that those of us who don't live in the country are not proper Irish.