Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Haughey family

• 26-02-2011 6:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭

Finally a government without this corrupt family included.

If I had my way all of your families assets would have been seized years ago, and your oul fellow stuck against a wall and butchered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

dcmraad wrote: »
    and your oul fellow stuck against a wall and butchered.

Not much point in doing that.

He's already dead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

He's already dead.

....or is he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

You must give CJ some credit.

Free travel for pensioners and Artist tax emption.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Herodotus

Nodin wrote: »
    ....or is he?

Funnily enough, I was reading an article in this week's FT and they cited a old quote by Haughy's opponents...

'If he were killed by driving a dagger through the middle of his heart, and buried at the centre of some rural crossroads in the middle of the night, you'd still have a clove of garlic around your neck just in case.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I think Bertie was very thankful for that one...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Nodin wrote: »
    ....or is he?

He's done a Keyser Soze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Free Island for himself too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Somebody with the surname Haughey running for election in Ireland is a national insult..might as well have somebody called Hitler running for office in Germany.

Degsy wrote: »
    Somebody with the surname Haughey running for election in Ireland is a national insult..might as well have somebody called Hitler running for office in Germany.

Ah come on now. At least Hitler had his countries best interests at heart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 635 ✭✭✭grrrrrrrrrr

CH did more for this country than everyone in Fine Gael put together. Ya he was corrupt but at least he made this country a better place. He wasn't a career politican like Enda or he wasn't claiming a teachers pension. He set up the IFSC and brought actual jobs to the country. I agree that no one should be elected just cause their father was in government. Was slightly sickened today to hear that theirs been a MacElistrim in the Dail in Tralee North since the Dail begann except for 9 years. That's bull.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

CH did more for this country than everyone in Fine Gael put together. Ya he was corrupt but at least he made this country a better place. He wasn't a career politican like Enda or he wasn't claiming a teachers pension. He set up the IFSC and brought actual jobs to the country. I agree that no one should be elected just cause their father was in government. Was slightly sickened today to hear that theirs been a MacElistrim in the Dail in Tralee North since the Dail begann except for 9 years. That's bull.

http://missionmission.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/invasion-of-the-body-snatchers.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Ya he was corrupt but at least he made this country a better place.

What a ludicrous thing to say.

Its true though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 ptdireland

I am glad to hear that that piece of S..T is finally out of a job.
    Whatever about Fianna Fail, Mac Ellistrim was totally useless, totally incompetent and just a mammy's boy who in his own words "dont like speaking in public" Did you ever hear such s..t from a politician.
    A total retard.

Its true though

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Herodotus wrote: »
    Funnily enough, I was reading an article in this week's FT and they cited a old quote by Haughy's opponents...

'If he were killed by driving a dagger through the middle of his heart, and buried at the centre of some rural crossroads in the middle of the night, you'd still have a clove of garlic around your neck just in case.'

This guy was chancing it so........

ptdireland wrote: »
    I am glad to hear that that piece of S..T is finally out of a job.
    Whatever about Fianna Fail, Mac Ellistrim was totally useless, totally incompetent and just a mammy's boy who in his own words "dont like speaking in public" Did you ever hear such s..t from a politician.
    A total retard.

Never heard of him but he seems like a fool. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yAaHuNo3vyo

I must admit his sister is rather cute (google results). I'd give her one (tho not on the ballot of course).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Likening Charlie Haughey to the greatest tyrant of the 20th Century is a bit ridiculous, in fairness. Kind of an overreaction there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭papermaker

does that include piss artists ?:D

Likening Charlie Haughey to the greatest tyrant of the 20th Century is a bit ridiculous, in fairness. Kind of an overreaction there.

Stalin was the greatest tyrant of the 20th Century. Check their finals scores.

mikom wrote: »
    This guy was chancing it so........

CH was far less corrupt than Bertie Ahern and CH did far more for this country. That chap should go dance on Berties face if he wants to protest about something.

Actually come to think of it Mao probably outscored the two of them.

bonerm wrote: »
    Stalin was the greatest tyrant of the 20th Century. Check their finals scores.

Whatever. The point still stands. Comparing Haughey to Hitler is ludicrous.

Yeah, Haughey's gun importing business never matched Hitler's arsenal .

galwayrush wrote: »
    Yeah, Haughey's gun importing business never matched Hitler's arsenal .

I'm not sure if this is meant to be sarcastic or something. Haughey might have had guns imported, but the situation in Northern Ireland is not really comparable to genocide committed by a dictator.

Of course it was being sarcastic...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

McEllistrim was the most useless politician that North Kerry ever had. He wasn't even cut out to be a councillor. The end of another FF dynasty, thank God.

The sad thing is that he's apparently thinking that he's going to make it as a senator, so the sooner they abolish the Seanad, the better off we'll be, keeping his lazy-arsed ilk out of politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭mysons

Only because the other Prick Bertie told him he was going to write a book in the future and could he help him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭cc4life

lads im not exactly the brightest at politics but why do people hate haughey so much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

CJH was a great Irish patriot.

Sure didn't Bertie say so? :rolleyes:

cc4life wrote: »
    lads im not exactly the brightest at politics but why do people hate haughey so much?
    Haughey was paid more than IR£8 million between 1979 and 1986 from various benefactors and businessmen, including £1.3 million from the Dunnes Stores supermarket tycoon Ben Dunne alone.[34] The tribunal described these payments as "unethical".[40]
    In May 1989 one of Haughey's lifelong friends Brian Lenihan, a former government minister, underwent a liver transplant which was partly paid for through fundraising by Haughey. The Moriarty tribunal found that, of the £270,000 collected in donations for Brian Lenihan, no more than £70,000 ended up being spent on Lenihan's medical care. The tribunal identified one specific donation of £20,000 for Lenihan that was surreptitiously appropriated by Haughey,[41] who took steps to conceal this transaction.[42][43]
    The tribunal found evidence of favours performed in return for money — Saudi businessman Mahmoud Fustok paid Haughey £50,000 to support applications for Irish citizenship.[40]
    In other evidence of favours performed, the tribunal reported that Haughey arranged meetings between Ben Dunne and civil servant Seamus Pairceir of the Revenue Commissioners. These discussions resulted in an outstanding capital gains tax bill for Dunne being reduced by £22.8 million. Moriarty found that this was "not coincidental", and that it was a substantial benefit conferred on Dunne by Haughey's actions.[44]
    Allied Irish Banks settled a million-pound overdraft with Haughey soon after he became Taoiseach in 1979; the tribunal found that the lenience shown by the bank in this case amounted to an indirect payment by the bank to Haughey.[40]
    The tribunal rejected Haughey's claims of ignorance of his own financial affairs[35] and Haughey was accused by the tribunal of "devaluing democracy".[40]

That'll get you started. He was contemptible scum who got a state funeral when he should have got the nation pissing on his grave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Charlie might have been corrupt, but I can guarantee you he wouldn't have bankrupt the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

How many times does it need to be said.

The corrupt Haughey did not come up with the IFSC concept - Dermot Desmond did.

The corrupt Haughey led us to the brink of the IMF taking over...if it weren't for Ray McSharry, the only Soldier of Bankruptcy I have any time for since Lemass, they would have been running the country in the 1980's.

The corrupt Haughey didn't have the interests of the country at heart...he had his own best interests at heart. A power-hungry, egomaniac with limited talent who thought of himself as a 'World' leader like Mitterand or Reagan.

The fact that people hark back to the Ireland of the corrupt Haughey and think that he was a 'great' leader is quite frightening.

Will people be saying the same things about 'Won it on the Horses' Ahern in ten years time despite the fact that he led Ireland into the clusterfck it is today?
    Charlie might have been corrupt, but I can guarantee you he wouldn't have bankrupt the country.

No...but he came bloody close to it in the 1980's

<Ollie> wrote: »

Charlie *was* corrupt. He was thieving scum, stealing from his friends liver transplant fund. Might doesn't come into it. He'd have bankrupted the country stealing and rezoning anything he could.

Snakeblood wrote: »
    Haughey was paid more than IR£8 million between 1979 and 1986 from various benefactors and businessmen, including £1.3 million from the Dunnes Stores supermarket tycoon Ben Dunne alone.[34] The tribunal described these payments as "unethical".[40]
    In May 1989 one of Haughey's lifelong friends Brian Lenihan, a former government minister, underwent a liver transplant which was partly paid for through fundraising by Haughey. The Moriarty tribunal found that, of the £270,000 collected in donations for Brian Lenihan, no more than £70,000 ended up being spent on Lenihan's medical care. The tribunal identified one specific donation of £20,000 for Lenihan that was surreptitiously appropriated by Haughey,[41] who took steps to conceal this transaction.[42][43]
    The tribunal found evidence of favours performed in return for money — Saudi businessman Mahmoud Fustok paid Haughey £50,000 to support applications for Irish citizenship.[40]
    In other evidence of favours performed, the tribunal reported that Haughey arranged meetings between Ben Dunne and civil servant Seamus Pairceir of the Revenue Commissioners. These discussions resulted in an outstanding capital gains tax bill for Dunne being reduced by £22.8 million. Moriarty found that this was "not coincidental", and that it was a substantial benefit conferred on Dunne by Haughey's actions.[44]
    Allied Irish Banks settled a million-pound overdraft with Haughey soon after he became Taoiseach in 1979; the tribunal found that the lenience shown by the bank in this case amounted to an indirect payment by the bank to Haughey.[40]
    The tribunal rejected Haughey's claims of ignorance of his own financial affairs[35] and Haughey was accused by the tribunal of "devaluing democracy".[40]

That'll get you started. He was contemptible scum who got a state funeral when he should have got the nation pissing on his grave.

but none of these things damaged the country..i mean they were bad from a personal perspective and i could understand how hed be hated by lots of people who knew him or were related through business and politics but why do so many normal people hate him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

He wasn't a career politican like Enda
    Oh yeah? What was his real job? Possibly a postman - I believe he used to collect a lot of brown envelopes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

And remember that Charlie's imp was the great Bertie Ahern.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

but none of these things damaged the country..i mean they were bad from a personal perspective and i could understand how hed be hated by lots of people who knew him or were related through business and politics but why do so many normal people hate him?

After he made his famous 'Living way beyond our means speech' he increased public spending, which soon became out of control, and led to increases in borrowing and taxation at an unacceptable level. My father remembers paying 60p in the pound in taxes under the Corrupt Haughey government.

Then in 1982, his policy to gain the 'Overall Majority' was 'All things to all men' i.e spend crazy money on bribing the public to vote for him and to hell with the economic results. We'll deal with them later. This led to the Gang of 22 incident to oust him. Even his own party thought his policies were crazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

The corrupt Haughey did not come up with the IFSC concept - Dermot Desmond did.

Desmond wasn't in power though, and a least Haughey was smart enough to take his advice and implement it. There were many business figures giving the current and past governments advice but did they listen? No.
    Charlie *was* corrupt. He was thieving scum, stealing from his friends liver transplant fund. Might doesn't come into it. He'd have bankrupted the country stealing and rezoning anything he could.

I totally agree he was corrupt, but he was also a very proud Irish man and would never, ever get us into this mess. He was also very smart. Have you listened to the recent Bertire Ahern interviews? The man is totally deluded. He was still going on about his 'Bertie Bowl' and being a President only a few days. I've never come across a guy like him.

After he made his famous 'Living way beyond our means speech' he increased public spending, which soon became out of control, and led to increases in borrowing and taxation at an unacceptable level. My father remembers paying 60p in the pound in taxes under the Corrupt Haughey government.

Then in 1982, his policy to gain the 'Overall Majority' was 'All things to all men' i.e spend crazy money on bribing the public to vote for him and to hell with the economic results. We'll deal with them later. This led to the Gang of 22 incident to oust him. Even his own party thought his policies were crazy.

my last question then is why did he keep getting elected?

He stole from the people, stole from his party, rezoned land to suit himself, sold favours to people, betrayed his friends, employed dirty tricks in campaigns, ran guns. I'm not sure what exactly more he should have done to deserve contempt. He preached Austerity for the people and lived like a king with money he stole from people. He was more concerned with getting reelected than with actually helping the country, abandoning his austerity program in order to promise airports to win byelections. He made the Gregory deal, with Tony Gregory. Just think the financial sucking noise Healy Rae and Lowry made in return for political support, but for Dublin instead.
    There was the bugging of opposition TDs while Haughey was in power.

He rejected the Anglo Irish Agreement, mostly because he couldnt stand Garret Fitzgerald and also because he (Haughey) was a total ****.

There's more, but it boils down to the world would have been a better place if he'd never been born.

my last question then is why did he keep getting elected?

He was in Fianna Fail, and Fianna Fail members have shown they can be really incredibly stupid where party loyalty is concerned. Also, he promised people things.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

Best thread title ever.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 duque

........or named ceaucescu in romania,Doc in Haiti,mussolini in italy and where are they now?

How on earth can you guarentee that?....lol:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

dcmraad wrote: »
    Finally a government without this corrupt family included.

If I had my way all of your families assets would have been seized years ago, and your oul fellow stuck against a wall and butchered.

He's already dead.

We could sell bits of them as souvenirs to American tourists.

duque wrote: »
    ........or named ceaucescu in romania,Doc in Haiti,mussolini in italy and where are they now?
    Actually, 2 of those 3 are in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 duque

pity hardly any one attended it

I totally agree he was corrupt, but he was also a very proud Irish man and would never, ever get us into this mess. He was also very smart. Have you listened to the recent Bertire Ahern interviews? The man is totally deluded. He was still going on about his 'Bertie Bowl' and being a President only a few days. I've never come across a guy like him.

I don't know that he was a proud Irishman. I do know he stole from his country, I'm not sure how much pride that takes. I also know that he was making extravagant election promises in order to be elected wthout apparently paying attention to how much they were going to cost, much like Bertie's brilliant social partnership ideas.

I'm not sure whether Bertie is worse or not. I think Bertie had more money floating around to be given, he didn't have to steal it from a sick friend. he had anonymous friends to give it to him.

duque wrote: »
    pity hardly any one attended it

There's a lot of stupid people out there. It doesn't make him a good person, it just means people are dumb or they wanted to make sure they had the stakes out if he got up again.