Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why is Enda the man to take us forward?

• 23-02-2011 3:09pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 525 ✭✭✭

So yeah, another election thread...

All reports are pointing at Enda Kenny being the main man around here from next week. So I'm asking. If you are voting for him or Fine Gael. What is it that makes you think he's the man?

To be honest I'm undecided. I'm not saying he is good or bad here, I'm asking those who support him to swing me one way or the other and explain what I might be missing. I'm not totally convinced by him. Watching the live debates the only thing he seemed to have a few quotes he reels off "14 year..." "5-point plan", etc... he doesn't give much specifics or detail making me think he doesn't really know what he's doing.

Maybe there is more to it than I've seen. I don't follow 24/7 coverage of the election. But what are the opinions here? If he is going to be the man... WHY? What about him or his plans makes you think he's the right guy or is a vote for FG strictly just a stance against FF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

Do you see anyone better stepping forward?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭sagat2

Enda will not be installed as a dictator with complete power, you are voting for a whole party not just the one man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Brenireland

Copper23 wrote: »

All reports are pointing at Enda Kenny being the main man around here from next week. So I'm asking. If you are voting for him or Fine Gael. What is it that makes you think he's the man?

To be honest I'm undecided. I'm not saying he is good or bad here, I'm asking those who support him to swing me one way or the other and explain what I might be missing. I'm not totally convinced by him. Watching the live debates the only thing he seemed to have a few quotes he reels off "14 year..." "5-point plan", etc... he doesn't give much specifics or detail making me think he doesn't really know what he's doing.

Maybe there is more to it than I've seen. I don't follow 24/7 coverage of the election. But what are the opinions here? If he is going to be the man... WHY? What about him or his plans makes you think he's the right guy or is a vote for FG strictly just a stance against FF?

he's not,he's ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,120 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Alessandra wrote: »
    Do you see anyone better stepping forward?

Richard Bruton should be standing in his place.. simple as.

I still wouldn't vote for them mind.. they're a pro-Catholic Ireland, anti-civil rights party.

Kenny is obnoxiously arrogant in any case.. fully sure that nothing he says can be challenged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

He is the man to take us forward because he is in charge of the party that are going to be in the majority after Friday. So yeah, by default. The 2 greatest words in the English language.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Cosimo Salvatore

You Irish, Very Good at Software.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

A fair point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭alexa5x5

I'd like to hear other people’s opinion on this too. I knew who I was voting for all along, but after watching the last few debates I’m now unsure of my choice. I don’t believe that any of them are suitable to lead Ireland so I’m trying to pick the best of the bad bunch at the moment. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

neither did the last leader !

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

This. Quite simply. How he isn't head of FG I'll never know. He'd be a good Taoiseach methinks.

Kenny will do for now. If Labour could be majority in a coalition with Fine Gael we might do alright, but I don't think they'll get the numbers somehow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

www. finegael . ie.

5...point...plan...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I hear he sleeps in a tent which he believes gives him sexual powers and that's good enough for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Yeah Richard Burton seems a better statesman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I think FG will try to oust Enda again after the election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

They haven't gone away you know.

I'm voting FG in the hope that 10 months or so in, Enda is ousted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Martin is easily the better leader, but he is in Fianna Fail, so...ya know...

Gilmore v Kenny, Kenny wins though.

Basically, Kenny is the best choice.

Even if he is somewhat plankish at times, and he had a big, smug grin on him at the debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

'Cause People are blinded by the Waffle and Spin and will vote in another right wing party which will screw us over again, a real leader will hold a referendum on the bailout, therefore having a real mandate for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

He's not. Him any everyone standing behind him are the worst options. Their 5 point plan is a load of waffle.

80,000 jobs from water and telecoms? get real

Sell off bord gais and esb when they are profitable. Thats great, get rid of state agencies that are actually making money and lets have another eircom debacle

bring back stag hunting?

their thatcherite policies are going to make this place even more difficult for the less well off of us to live in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Kaizer Sosa

hondasam wrote: »
    I think FG will try to oust Enda again after the election.

Why?? He'll be in at that stage and then they won't care what people think of the FG leader. Fine Gael had their chance to remove an unpopular leader and showed that they are as guilty as any party of having their members look out for their own interests before those of the electorate by sticking with the status quo.:(

Sad indictment of Ireland that we can't vote someone that we want and have to resort to voting for the least-worst candidate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

We don't want to go forward, we want to turn the fucking corner.

FG shouldn't assume that we all love them when they get voted in, and should remember that they are only the best of a bad bunch of ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

Fine Gael, in terms of policies are probably the best option, though far from perfect they're the only ones talking properly about cuts in spending in the public service.
    That said if they dropped enda in the morning and threw Leo in the driver seat itd be a landslide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Sell off bord gais and esb when they are profitable. Thats great, get rid of state agencies that are actually making money and lets have another eircom debacle

A few points:

1. They are only selling off the power generation part of ESB - Eirgrid will be state owned.

2. It's easy to make a profit when you are effectively a State monopoly (or close enough). ESB workers are the highest paid in the world in their field, not counting the subsidies they get.

3. We have some of the highest energy prices in Europe, mostly because we are an island, but a large amount of that is the inefficient and protected way in which the ESB operates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 635 ✭✭✭grrrrrrrrrr

Cause everyone else in Fine Gael is afraid of his wife!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 635 ✭✭✭grrrrrrrrrr

This came up as a advertisement for me on top of the page, "Sick of Enda Kenny, this man should be in charge", or something. I'm nearly getting more sick of Pearse than Enda. Well, sort of...

I'll never get this embedding thing right

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lyYVfuedy0g

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Kaizer Sosa

DanGerMus wrote: »
    Fine Gael, in terms of policies are probably the best option, though far from perfect they're the only ones talking properly about cuts in spending in the public service.
    That said if they dropped enda in the morning and threw Leo in the driver seat itd be a landslide.

I can't understand how anyone can admire that ball of slime, yet many seem to. Think he is smugness personified. Think Bruton would be a far more credible leader.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 506 ✭✭✭common sense brigade

He has a lovely head of hair, and a smashing attitude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I can't understand how anyone can admire that ball of slime, yet many seem to. Think he is smugness personified. Think Bruton would be a far more credible leader.

Leo Verruca.

But I will vote FG,I love their policies so I will give No.1 & preferences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭jonnysimples

sagat2 wrote: »
    Enda will not be installed as a dictator with complete power, you are voting for a whole party not just the one man.

I'm voting Fine Gael, not because I want Enda as leader but because I believe they are the strongest party to take us through the next 5 years. IMO, this country can expect a minimum of three more years of strife and I want a party that will have the balls to make the tough and unpopular decisions and I believe FG will do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

www. finegael . ie.

5...point...plan...

14 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

I'm voting Fine Gael, not because I want Enda as leader but because I believe they are the strongest party to take us through the next 5 years. IMO, this country can expect a minimum of three more years of strife and I want a party that will have the balls to make the tough and unpopular decisions and I believe FG will do that.
    I find it hard to believe that any of the parties in this country will make the decisions needed to get us through the next five years. I think Fianna Fáil made similar promises before and we all know that never happened.
    That said I'd vote for Fine Gael long before I'd give a Fianna Fáiler my vote, or even a preference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭dolphin city

Irish politics is like a long running soap opera - same oul faces wheeled out time and time again with different agendas.

will there ever come a time when we don't have to decide between Tweedledum, Tweedldummer and Tweeldedummest and get some new blood in.

The three biggest parties in Ireland are all the same - a right wing self interested shower of ugliness - and I am including Labour in that. There is no trace of ethics about the Labour party today - they are all out for themselves also and will blend nicely into FG if they get both get in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭sanbrafyffe

richard bruton would be a disaster.god all ye fianna fail turn coats will you please leave enda kenny alone.just cuase yere own party failed and cost ye your jobs dont be putting pressure on enda.hes being in polotics since hes 24 and is well respected by other party members especially seen when bruton challenged him.he is well liked in europe and getting more liked.

he is honest and i met him myself and he is a gentleman with no corruption tendencies like the past fianna failers

he will work hard to get this country back to power and will ave the right people to help him and hopefully he will be remembered for it

as he stated last nite that the anniversary of the 1916 proclomation is in 5 years time and by then he wants the imf to be gone out of this country by then

that is the best line ive heard from any plotician yet as he is patriotic to men and women who fought hard for this state

they didnt fight hard for these shower to come into our country but they will continue while we have a shower like the fianna failers ruling it

vote fg
    vote for ireland

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Copper23

Thats fair enough. But my real question was WHY do you believe they are the strongest and best to lead us?

I'm not saying they are or are not but other than being a big party and basically being perceived as the opposite of FF (which they aren't really), I haven't seen what else they have got to really convince me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭mikehunts

I think that not one of those useless sons of bitc... is fit to run tap water. They come out week after week with the same crap, we are for the people we will get this country up and running, all they want is to line their own pockets so they can retire happily.

richard bruton would be a disaster.god all ye fianna fail turn coats will you please leave enda kenny alone.just cuase yere own party failed and cost ye your jobs dont be putting pressure on enda.hes being in polotics since hes 24 and is well respected by other party members especially seen when bruton challenged him.he is well liked in europe and getting more liked.

he is honest and i met him myself and he is a gentleman with no corruption tendencies like the past fianna failers

he will work hard to get this country back to power and will ave the right people to help him and hopefully he will be remembered for it

as he stated last nite that the anniversary of the 1916 proclomation is in 5 years time and by then he wants the imf to be gone out of this country by then

that is the best line ive heard from any plotician yet as he is patriotic to men and women who fought hard for this state

they didnt fight hard for these shower to come into our country but they will continue while we have a shower like the fianna failers ruling it

vote fg
    vote for ireland

Here,Here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I'm voting FG because of Richard Bruton, no other reason.

Enda Kenny is an awful gobsheen, no doubt he'll ruin it for himself.

Reminds me of Lloyd Bridges in Hot Shots: Part Deux, people know the man is an idiot, but he seems totally oblivious himself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

imagine havin a prime minister/taoisach with a name like Enda:rolleyes:

every Enda i ever knew was always a mammy's boy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Crosáidí wrote: »
    'Cause People are blinded by the Waffle and Spin and will vote in another right wing party which will screw us over again

Or, perhaps they subscribe to a different political ideology than you.

Just a thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

It galls me to vote FG considering;

A) the contempt Enda has shown for the public with his lack of "availability" for radio and TV interviews,

B) Lucinda Creighton junior spokesperson on equality's anti gay marriage stance, and outdated opinion that marriage is for having babies (so people who cant have kids shouldnt be allowed marry either?)

C) Their obvious in party bickering.

but.. and this is the clincher, I have to vote for them. The economy is the most urgent problem we have, and voting in a left party with far too many ties to the unions is not going to fix our expenditure. So thats Labour out.
    Sin Féin, gtfo, bunch of murderous scum. I could not let them be in charge of our Gardaí after Jerry mcCabe, and the political circus that came after.
    Greens, not a chance.
    independents, lol. Not going to be able to do anything up there, except maybe push for an occasional local issue.

The gay marriage thing almost swayed me away, but I believe we need to get the economy on track as quick as possible or there will be no country to get married in anyway. FG can always be lobbied on the gay marriage thing after, and they will almost certainly not be serving a full term anyway, so even if they dont budge on it, someone else will.

zuroph wrote: »
    It galls me to vote FG considering;

A) the contempt Enda has shown for the public with his lack of "availability" for radio and TV interviews,

B) Lucinda Creighton junior spokesperson on equality's anti gay marriage stance, and outdated opinion that marriage is for having babies (so people who cant have kids shouldnt be allowed marry either?)

C) Their obvious in party bickering.

but.. and this is the clincher, I have to vote for them. The economy is the most urgent problem we have, and voting in a left party with far too many ties to the unions is not going to fix our expenditure. So thats Labour out.
    Sin Féin, gtfo, bunch of murderous scum. I could not let them be in charge of our Gardaí after Jerry mcCabe, and the political circus that came after.
    Greens, not a chance.
    independents, lol. Not going to be able to do anything up there, except maybe push for an occasional local issue.

The gay marriage thing almost swayed me away, but I believe we need to get the economy on track as quick as possible or there will be no country to get married in anyway. FG can always be lobbied on the gay marriage thing after, and they will almost certainly not be serving a full term anyway, so even if they dont budge on it, someone else will.

:rolleyes: here we go another misguided attack on Lucinda creighton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

I still wouldn't vote for them mind.. they're a pro-Catholic Ireland, anti-civil rights party.

Kenny is obnoxiously arrogant in any case.. fully sure that nothing he says can be challenged.
    This. Quite simply. How he isn't head of FG I'll never know. He'd be a good Taoiseach methinks.

Kenny will do for now. If Labour could be majority in a coalition with Fine Gael we might do alright, but I don't think they'll get the numbers somehow.

What's with all this love for Bruton?

This is a genuine question. Everyone seems to harp on about him, but never give any reason why they think he would be better.

So, go on, give me your reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

he is slim

he is kindof good looking

he is an approvement from the last hippo biffo fella

vote fg
    vote for ireland

You do realise that Fine Gael were in favour of the bail-out/IMF arse-rape of Ireland, don't you?

its no attack, its based on what i've read from her. it is a FG wide policy according to this evenings last word. She's not in my constituency, so I've no urgent need to worry about her, but I would be in favour of FG changing their policy on this, and would support a lobby on this when they are in power.

UglyBolloxFace Bruton is the man for the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,120 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

How is it misguided? Does FG or indeed Creighton support same sex marriages?
    What's with all this love for Bruton?

This is a genuine question. Everyone seems to harp on about him, but never give any reason why they think he would be better.

So, go on, give me your reasons.

I can't speak for anyone else, or even as a FG supporter.. but I'd simply prefer to see him as leader of the country than I would Kenny. He seems more honest, willing to engage and refined than Enda does. Overall, a more suitable leader in my view.

Kenny simply ignores what he doesn't want to or know how to answer.

UglyBolloxFace Bruton is the man for the job.

Ah now come on, there's no need to be calling Bruton that:pac:

But yeah, anyway, you still haven't given me reasons why he is the man for the job.

zuroph wrote: »
    its no attack, its based on what i've read. it is a FG wide policy according to this evenings last word. She's not in my constituency, so I've no urgent need to worry about her, but I would be in favour of FG changing their policy on this, and would support a lobby on this when they are in power.

Look I'm sure the people will have their say on the matter in a referendum and when they do it'll be put to bed,Thankfully with referendums and elections the majority wins.

so how was I misguided?