Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So,is there anybody not voting this Friday?

• 22-02-2011 3:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Looks like i won't get a vote this election despite trying to register twice.

I sent in a registration card/form my mam had gotten in the library but i wasn't put on the register. I printed off the RFA2 form from the internet and sent that off the day before the deadline but alas i still amen't registered.

I'm kind of dissappointed because i really wanted to vote in this election.

Anyone else here not registered or just not going to bother voting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

I am registered and will be voting :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

For all the elderly FF/FG voters.....

I hope it rains.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Wasnt there a thread asking this same question last week :confused:

Edit : at least this one had a poll :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭whiteboy

couldn't be bothered, they are one and the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

i wont be voting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

squod wrote: »

I hope it rains.
    Why?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Copper23

Unfortunately I won't. I'm still in the States and won't be at home for a few weeks. Was hoping the election might not be until into March so i could vote.

Despite being born Irish, an Irish citizen, and Irish passport holder, an Irish resident, irish tax payer and because I travel with my job I will not be allowed vote. (And no, if I "really" want to vote I can not return on Friday. Despite this election being very important, so is keeping the job I am currently lucky to have)

I think we've covered that topic to death in other threads though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

I can't remember the process for registering to vote, but if you followed the correct guidelines OP and someone else's idiocy resulted in you not getting put on the register, I wouldn't take it lying down. This is your constitutional right to vote, and it's one of the biggest elections in the history of the State.

If it was me, I would see what legal action I could take. Failing that, there is always violence. It is always the final means of exacting justice :) by the way, I'm aware of the irony of advocating democracy, and then violence, but the latter is only justified when the former is denied.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Wasnt there a thread asking this same question last week :confused:

Edit : at least this one had a poll :)

Never thought to add a poll tbh. I tried to edit my first post to add one but there's no option to do it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

Can't vote as overseas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    Why?

Because old people are rubbish, without exception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭ZzubZzub

Can't, in England and I've an exam on Friday! :(

I'd much rather be voting...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

This was the first year I became informed enough to vote, but unfortuneatly never registered on time.
    So I won't be voting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

Looks like i won't get a vote this election despite trying to register twice.

I sent in a registration card/form my mam had gotten in the library but i wasn't put on the register. I printed off the RFA2 form from the internet and sent that off the day before the deadline but alas i still amen't registered.

I'm kind of dissappointed because i really wanted to vote in this election.

Anyone else here not registered or just not going to bother voting?

i was doing canvassing work in an area i grew up in last Saturday and i had a copy of the local register, there were so many of my cousins friends (aged around 21yrs )who filled out registration forms in college..etc who weren't on the list. they didn't know that until it was too late too.

luckily my change of address went through perfect so at least myself and my partner will be voting. but i find it strange alot of voters weren't added despite filling in forms on time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

my form got there a day late as well so no registered, bah. although given the options you're just voting one shower of gobsh1tes out for another. check back in a few years when whoever is voted into power are being lambasted and whoever voted them in are being ridiculed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

If anyone who can vote but doesn't and then complains about the shower of whatever that’s in power, they should STFU. You aren't happy with the system, run yourself, you don't like any of the parties, go independent, worst case scenario and you'd rather see a roll of sellotape than any of them spoil your vote.

Don't just sit there and complain, and if you feel one vote won't make a difference there have been several where it has and if you still are thinking why bother FF/FG/LAB are gonna get in and my fave independent is gonna get hardly any votes, canvass for them.

Be it amongst friends, families or co-workers, it could swing it you'd never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

I'm registered and will be voting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

I got my polling card this morning,and i will vote on Friday.

Mickey Rourke is getting my number 1 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Not voting. I'd like to say it's because we've no good candidates, the parties are all the same, the independants will never win, etc., but really I'm just too goddamn lazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

TPD wrote: »
    Not voting. I'd like to say it's because we've no good candidates, the parties are all the same, the independants will never win, etc., but really I'm just too goddamn lazy.

good man yourself :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I expect by next Monday I will be on 92K a year plus expenses. :D

Maybe a minister's job, who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

danniemcq wrote: »
    If anyone who can vote but doesn't and then complains about the shower of whatever that’s in power, they should STFU. You aren't happy with the system, run yourself, you don't like any of the parties, go independent, worst case scenario and you'd rather see a roll of sellotape than any of them spoil your vote.

Don't just sit there and complain, and if you feel one vote won't make a difference there have been several where it has and if you still are thinking why bother FF/FG/LAB are gonna get in and my fave independent is gonna get hardly any votes, canvass for them.

Be it amongst friends, families or co-workers, it could swing it you'd never know.

True dat. If you don't vote, you lose the right to complain about the state of the nation 12\24\36 months from now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

*raises Hand

I've lived here for near enough a decade now, bought a house and married, but I still simply can't afford the horrendous fees to obtain Irish citizenship. So unfortunately, I shan't be able to vote this time round.
    Maybe I'll win the lotto before the next election, that should just about be enough to cover the cost of the certificate and stamp... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

won't be voting - cause I don't wanna pay the fine...

Someone, a long time ago, made a mistake and put me on the register despite quite clearly saying I was a German citizen, not Irish. Have been getting polling cards ever since (for the referendum, and all elections, not just the local ones I am entitled to vote in).

I got married, changed my name, and moved house - asked them by email to update the register just for the record, they said they can't do that by email.

Weeks later, I get a letter from the council to the new address, asking me to fill in forms, go to the guards, get a stamp, etc etc. I never bothered, too much hassle.

Couple of days ago, I get my polling card for Friday's election. With my new name AND sent to my new address...:eek:

Moved to a small village though, and everyone knows I'm 'ze german' - so I cannot vote. Would probably have gotten away with it in the city...

And I will still complain about the government, whoever gets in. And heartily so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Was there not something before about registering on the day by bring down your IDs to the polling station?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

got the polling card this morning and i'll be voting :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭ronkmonster

mawk wrote: »
    True dat. If you don't vote, you lose the right to complain about the state of the nation 12\24\36 months from now

No they don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭thefishone

No changing my mind now,posted the voting papers back yesterday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

I filled out the wrong form through blatant idiocy, the Garda stamped it anyway. Mam went into council offices and the assistant wouldn't accept it. She went back a couple of hours later and another Garda was walking in at the same time. Mam said to him that she was in a rush and handed in the forms for me!

I hope it rains.

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    Why?

Here's the why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

missed the last election due to work commitments but will be voting this time.

To all the people saying they wont vote cause they are all the same...cop on you have a vote for a reason use it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

oh look, another politic's thread... Wow. Never seen this in AFTER HOURS before... There is a POLITIC'S forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Balfie wrote: »
    oh look, another politic's thread... Wow. Never seen this in AFTER HOURS before... There is a POLITIC'S forum.

oh look i wanna be a mod so bad:rolleyes: its the week of the election, after hours is bound to have a few political threads...if you dont like it dont read it SIMPLES!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

whiteboy wrote: »
    GrizzlyMan wrote: »
    i wont be voting!
    And continue moaning about them no doubt...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I got two polling cards for two different stations. Does this mean I can vote twice?

Ain't democracy grand :P

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Ill be voting, though I'm not particularly educated on the parties issues and don't believe them anyway...

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

No they don't
    Yes they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

major bill wrote: »
    oh look i wanna be a mod so bad:rolleyes: its the week of the election, after hours is bound to have a few political threads...if you dont like it dont read it SIMPLES!!!

Eh no. There has been more politics in here than possibly on the politics forum in the past few months.. I wouldn't want to be a mod on here, I haven't got the patience to deal with some of the shit that the lads on here put up with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Balfie wrote: »

there is also a thunderdome and rant and raving forum

so either go there and complain or GTFO the internet. Your post added nothing to the topic or debate. well done

On topic: There will be quite a number not voting on Friday but still voting. all islands around the country are a few days earlier which i think is stupid in this day and age.

How many people could change their minds in last 48 hours but can't take it back. Some candidates even quit the race after the votes are cast (donegal sw few weeks ago) and going out with a girl from Tory Island i know a lot of people out there are really pissed off but nothing is ever done to fix it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Back on topic Please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

whiteboy wrote: »

They have such refined and delicate palates,
    They can find none worthy of their ballots.
    and when someone terrible gets elected ,
    they say "There -Just as I expected".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I got two polling cards for two different stations. Does this mean I can vote twice?

Ain't democracy grand :P

nothing stopping you if you want to. would you be bothered to vote twice ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Yet again, I have 3 polling cards. One to my own address, and two to my parents, one with my middle name, one with out. I'll just be voting once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

hondasam wrote: »
    nothing stopping you if you want to. would you be bothered to vote twice ?

If not you could always sell the second one to the poster who was complaining they didnt get one :pac:

(:pac: added in lieu of "Im not condoning illegal activity" disclaimer)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

Ill be voting, though I'm not particularly educated on the parties issues and don't believe them anyway...

This. I don't believe any of them will do what they say will.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

Why bother vote for a puppet government?

We are ruled by our financial masters. No matter who is elected, their actions and policies will not be dictated by the Irish people who elected them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    If not you could always sell the second one to the poster who was complaining they didnt get one :pac:

(:pac: added in lieu of "Im not condoning illegal activity" disclaimer)

I'm not condoning it either :pac:

I'm sure someone will tell us how wrong it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Never registered and was surprised to find my name on the register this year, Id love to know who put it there. Meh, didn't matter, rang up the council and told them to take my name off and they did. So, no i wont be voting.

Why bother vote for a puppet government?

We are ruled by our financial masters. No matter who is elected, their actions and policies will not be dictated by the Irish people who elected them.

It's a shame you feel that way. There's more options for you than what you hear on TV. Newvision.ie have a list of independent candidates on the right hand side of this webpage. The election isn't over yet and it is up to you if you want your government to take charge of the debt situation or hand it over to Brussels.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

It's a shame you feel that way. There's more options for you than what you hear on TV. Newvision.ie have a list of independent candidates on the right hand side of this webpage. The election isn't over yet and it is up to you if you want your government to take charge of the debt situation or hand it over to Brussels.

Yeah, more independents to hold the country to ransom for a ****ing casino is just what we need.

The government haven't been "in charge" of the debt situation for a long time now.