Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scope recommendations for a .22

• 21-02-2011 04:29PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭

I bought a Ruger 10/22 a couple of weeks ago as I want something a bit smaller/ lighter/ cheaper to use on the bunnies rather than using the .223 all the time.
    Anyway I need to get a scope for it and just wondering what ye lads recommend for .22 in terms of magnification and quality, I’m budgeting around 250 - 300 euro.

Suggestions please?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,746 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

The beauty about the .22 is no recoil so most scopes that would never work or hold zero on a centrefire will work perfectly well on a .22lr, and for the money you are talking about you could literally have your choice.

Bushnell Banner
    Weaver
    Tasco
    Swift
    Burris
    Hawke
    AGS.

All these makes decent quality scopes suitable for a .22lr. As to magnification i cannot see the need for anything higher than 4-16 as the rnage of the .22 is limited so long range shots (exceeding 100mtrs) are uncommon. Something along the lines of 3-12 or even a lower power fixed mag like 8x44/50.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭session savage

I bought a Hawke scope with a MAP8 reticle on it for 85 yoyo. Its an excellent scope for a .22, even though it was dirt cheap.
    The reticle has dots set so if you zero at 75 each dot is a new zero at 25 yard intervals right out to 200 yards.
    Got a bunny head shot at 150 yards last week with the .22. thanks to the map8 reticle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 the lough

3-9x40 works well on .22 keeps everything compact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Comeraghshooter

I think I’m going to buy a Zeiss Conquest 3x9x40 from eurooptics.com, its 379 dollars which works out at 275 euro.
    I e-mailed them and they told me that I would have to pay VAT when it gets to Ireland which brings the cost up to 333 euro.
    Also it will take 3-4 weeks before its shipped as they have to get an export licence first to ship to Ireland but I don’t mind as will be waiting for the rifle for another 3 -4 weeks anyway.

Has anyone here bought anything form eurooptics.com and how did they find the process also does anyone have any experience with a Zeiss Conquest ?

Link to the Scope here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Great price. It's a hell of a lot of scope for that little money. Hard to go wrong with a Conquest.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,746 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

I think I’m going to buy a Zeiss Conquest 3x9x40 from eurooptics.com, .............

I've said before that the US and UK are tightening up on international sipping of scopes, etc. Then Longrangelad posted the following on another thread, and its a point worth remembering:
    ........ Uk is now probihited from shipping gun accessories, especially scopes and the US is now even worse. I ordered and paid for a Nikon scope from the US last month - was contacted by 'Homeland Security' from their Customs Base in New York - my scope has now been seized - $580 later. Just thought that I would pass the message on so be careful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ..........

I'm not trying to discourage you from buying abroad, just be careful. The companies will still ship it, but whether you get it or not is another matter, and it would be a kick in the nuts if you tried to save money by buying from the states only to end up costing you the price of two scopes because the first got seized and you havd to buy at home anyway.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Thanks for the warning Ezridax, the guy in eurooptics did say did he would be getting an export lisence for this so i persume this will cover it with homeland security/ customs ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

I'm using a Simmons whitetail scope on my .22 wmr.

This guy I know from Tipp gave it to me, I'll bet he's kicking himself now.

I'll sell it back to you if you want!

I'm using a Simmons whitetail scope on my .22 wmr.

This guy I know from Tipp gave it to me, I'll bet he's kicking himself now.

I'll sell it back to you if you want!

I could of given you my Nightforce for that 22 WMR and you still wouldnt hit a barndoor with it ;)
    You hold on to it deeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

I have a Nikko Stirling mount master on my ruger 10/22 mildot, 4 x32.

rabbits/vermin to 100 yards no bother.

Nice neat scope cost me €45:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

I could of given you my Nightforce for that 22 WMR and you still wouldnt hit a barndoor with it ;)
    You hold on to it deeks!

Its pity you didn't put the nightforce on that shotgun you had the day I brought you pigeon shooting.... Captain Zero!:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

I bought a Ruger 10/22 a couple of weeks ago as I want something a bit smaller/ lighter/ cheaper to use on the bunnies rather than using the .223 all the time.
    Anyway I need to get a scope for it and just wondering what ye lads recommend for .22 in terms of magnification and quality, I’m budgeting around 250 - 300 euro.

Suggestions please?

http://www.irishguntrader.ie/bushnell-banner-scope/

Seems to be cheap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭patsat

First rifle I owned was a marlin 982Vs in .22wmr.

I bought a Nikon Prostaff 3-9x40 off ebay for 140 euro delivered from Uk.

Great scope for the money and perfect mag for a rimfire!