Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Undressing the Irish Male - Article - What do you think?

• 21-02-2011 11:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/features/2011/0221/1224290418887.html?via=mr
    Tracksuits, backpacks with suits, obscene jeans: when did Irish men stop dressing like grown-ups? ALAN O’RIORDAN advises on what not to wear

YOU STILL see them: auld fellas who know how to dress despite not having given their outfits a moment’s thought for their entire lives. Their shirts are white, their suits dark. They have a flat cap on, a dark or possibly club tie, and an overcoat. They dress like this because, in their prime, all men dressed like this. You didn’t have to think about clothes. They never changed. You never decided what they would be – the culture did. You bought them in gentlemen’s outfitters, like everyone else, and you looked pretty good, like everyone else. You could look smart, in other words, without actually caring how you looked.

Not so now. The male uniform is long gone. Every man has to choose how he looks. It’s an existentialist crisis for those who don’t really care about clothes. The 21st-century Irish male shopper is condemned to be sartorially free and entirely responsible for how he looks. Faced with a bewildering choice of mostly ill-suited juvenile clothing, you cannot look good unless you care about clothes, something the Irish male hasn’t twigged and which leads to all manner of fashion faux pas, some of which we’ve listed below.

THE TRACKSUIT

The infiltration of sport into fashion, as in most areas of life itself, has gone far too far. The ubiquity of the tracksuit is the worst manifestation of this. The most jaw-dropping site on the Eurostar from Gare du Nord after France beat Ireland was not William Gallas sauntering by as I queued up. The villain of the piece (well, one of them) within touching distance. No. What really had me gobsmacked was seeing a carriage full of my compatriots: dozing, swigging from cans held in plastic bags and, almost universally, in tracksuits. The contrast with the stylish French and dapper Londoner fellow travellers was stark. And, despite the fact that I have red hair, I was assumed first French and then English, because, I can only assume, I was dressed like a grown-up. Has dressing badly become more of an Irish trademark than my hair colour? Sad but true, it seems.

GIRLS' JEANS

Buying jeans is a minefield. It demands hours, which men never want to give, and possibly the help of a girlfriend, of which men are suspicious. But even amid a dizzying array of cuts, you can be sure of this: if they look like girls’ jeans, they are. It doesn’t matter that they say “skinny” and you got them in the men’s section: only girls should wear jeans that make you waddle like you’ve just finished a rodeo. Slim? Maybe. Straight cut? Yes. But anything figure hugging? Not on your nelly.

LONG SERVICE SOCKS

A man can lead a perfectly fulfilling life while owning only black socks. But they have to be the right black socks, not faded to grey or with busted elastic so that you show flesh between sock and trouser leg. Be kind to your socks: give them early retirement.

SHY CUFFS

So often, what could be a really smart jacket is ruined below the wrist, where an apologetic few fingertips emerge beyond the cloth. The man with hidden cuffs and largely hidden hands looks brow-beaten, struggling to get ahead in a game he knows he’ll lose. But the guy whose sleeves are well trained, kept at bay by a sharp show of cuff? He looks like a world-beater. People don’t say, “hey, nice cuffs” or “nice suit”. They say, “you’re looking really well” – and you are, because of the cuffs and your tailored suit.

SHOE HATE

The fashion-oblivious Irish male treats his work shoes as he did his school shoes: with contempt. These are the shoes he “has to wear” and as such suffer from neglect that is almost spiteful. And of course, the shoes are ill-advised from the word go: square-toed, rubber-soled yokes, perhaps with a buckle or even velcro. After all, tying laces would be time wasted on these 9-5 punishments. If the Irish male only allowed himself to love his shoes, or even just like them, he would see a world of opportunity for style and comfort in the category he has dismissed as boring black leather. A pair of handmade, elegant Oxfords can be yours for a couple of hundred euro. Kept in good nick these will last for years, and you can console yourself with the fact that you are supporting proper craftsmanship in Italy or some place, and not buying shoes made in a sweatshop.

THE SPORTY BACKPACK

You sometimes see the fella who seems to have got it right: the suit actually fits, the shoes aren’t weary-looking. But then you spy the tell-tale shoulder straps. Oh no – he’s only gone and slung a backpack over his jacket. Worsted wool meets nylon? Yikes. Get a briefcase or satchel.

UMBRELLAPHOBIA

The only thing that looks worse than our friend in the hoodie is our friend in the hoodie after a downpour. This is Ireland, and yet Irish men persist in defying the elements. It will rain. You will get caught out in it. So at least get an umbrella. And no, not a huge golf umbrella that’s a mortal danger to fellow pedestrians, but a sleek, simple black wooden-handled one. The men’s umbrella says it all about men’s fashion for those who don’t really care – you never have to change your look if you get the basics right.

POLITICIAN'S TROUSER

An Oireachtas epidemic this. The suit looks okay at the shoulder, but it all starts to go wrong below the knee. There, folds of material pile up and spill over the shoes, perhaps even touching the ground at the heel. Our ex-taoiseach is an inveterate offender, proving that your trousers needn’t be canary yellow to be all wrong.

THE HOODIE OVER SUIT TROUSERS

A common sight on the capital’s early morning streets. Young bank clerks and civil servants on their way to their desks will be sporting this look because, sure, in the office the shirt and trousers will look grand. Well, maybe. But what about the commute? Lunchtime? Post-work drinks? Impressing superiors? Keep this outfit up and eventually you’ll be as badly paid as you look. If you really must eschew the suit jacket, at least buy a trench coat.

Short article (above) in Today's Irish Times regarding the modern male dress sense (or lack of as the author pens).

What do you think of the modern male dress (code) sense, as is referred to in this article.

Personally, there are definitely times where I would love a society to delve back a couple of decades and present are more Gentlemanly appearance. I do love occasions where I can gear up in full suits with a long overcoat etc... mostly funerals and business meetings these days. I am 27 btw. I think there is nothing like seeing a room full of guys in proper formal attire, it's a great sight and one I would love to see a lot more of. There is a certain air of class about it I feel (not snobbery just a sort of nostalgic, I want to look good and I want to be a gentleman kind of appearance).

However, I think the article is also very scathing of uniqueness and standing out from the crowd (not in an Elton John fashion sense). I suppose it would get pretty boring if every man wandered around in a fully suited up manner all the time. It's nice to see some individuality in a clothes/fashion sense from the modern male.

I can see where the author is coming from in the track suit addicted society we have (are) become(ing). It is becoming almost like a uniform and hence, individuality is becoming diluted and becoming more of an everyday lazy attitude to dressing. Of course, not everyone wears tracksuits all of the time, and hey I even wear them plenty around the house or to nip down to the supermarket (albeit never a "full" track "suit")

I definitely agree with the Politicians trouser aspect of the article. It looks horrible (Imo) to see that on people (man or woman). I particularly hate shopping for jeans in Ireland (buy most of mine whenever I travel to the US). They are either too short or too long in the leg and both equally annoy the hell out of me. I guess with trousers you can have them professionally made or even professionally altered if you cannot get the right leg off the rail.

I rarely will use an umbrella myself admittedly, I hate having to carry them around with more than anything and if I am taking public transport to work or something I would generally bring a pair of rain bottoms in my bag if needs be - and most of my coats/jackets are water proof anyway.

What do the "gentlemen" :D of TGC think of the views put forth in this article and more so, how do you feel about the modern male dress sense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭psycjay

The article is a little narrow and obviously written after his daily commute through Dublin city center. He would have encountered two types of people; the young office worker going to work, and the people who (ahem) don't go to work but hang around luas stops. The article should be called "what to wear if you work in an office". So maybe the next time a journalist want's to write an article of the "Irish" males' dress sense then they should broaden their sample size beyond a few streets in Dublin.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Snobbery, pure and simple. And I say that as a closet-snob!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Thought it a good observation.

What I think he's overlooking is that most places you have to wear a shirt and tie there is no reason to wear a shirt and tie. Like banking call centres for example. These places often have 'casual friday' - well if its fine on friday why wear a penneys shirt and slacks monday-thursday.

People don't see the point in getting dressed up for work so completely don't see the point in getting an overcoat and immaculate shoes, rather put crappy shoes in a bag and wear their runners on the way there.

When I worked in the office I did have an overcoat but that's because they look awesome and I didn't just wear it for work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

Plus dry cleaning is so expensive.

But I do agree on one thing, you see these guys who try to be snazzy in suits and you find that the cuffs are not the right length, or the fall is all wrong or they are wearing a black belt with brown shoes or there is a 'tell' that they really dont know what they are doing.

Is he any relation to Alison?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

bluewolf wrote: »
    Is he any relation to Alison?

TBH, I read Alan as Alison...

:o

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Are men really that fussy about what other men wear :S. The good old tracksuit stereotype alive and well it seems, yes I wear them all the time, no I'm not a junkie/scumbag or whatever. Also good point raised here, why do you have to "dress up" for certain jobs, don't understand it tbh, I will work better if I'm more comfortable (wearing comfortable clothing) and I'm sure most people will say the same thing,

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

We're very casual in our office. Every day is like casual Friday!

I have an extensive collection of grey hoodies :D I'm surprised I'm not on that list!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭SamSamSammy

I wear what I feel comfortable in. If people don't like it, fcuk em. Simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

It would be classy if we all had more boardwalk empire attire though.

Fedora hats for all :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

i like my individuality and dress sense so i really wouldnt listen to a fashion nazi about the "state" of irishmen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

I am guilty of wearing a nice sophisticated looking woolen coat, then throwing a backpack over my shoulder. Probably looks ****e to fashion police but they can **** off. :P

Also, and slightly off topic:

A note to any managers of clothes shops: if you haven't made it clear where the men's section begins and the women's section ends, I will not be purchasing from your establishment as I can't tell the difference just by looking at the clothes anymore.
    Regards,
    D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

I'm counting down the days to when I can ditch the sweatshirts, shirts and hoodies and crack open my stash of ironic and pop culture t-shirts. I wonder what Alan would say to that the big snob. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

I'd have to agree quite strongly with the article.

The lack of style sense is shocking. Yeah guys can at times follow "fashion" but they seem to have an unerring tendency to cock it up by misunderstanding the underlying style which leads all fashions. Even the simple things he can't seem to do any more.

My pet hate though are the school shoes. MY sweet lord, the ugly shoes some men wear is shocking. The pride in having only two pairs of shoes, a pair of everyday runners and the work/club black shoe. Maybe he'll branch out for a third, in this case tan leather slip-on base london / firetrap / hillfiger / etc.

Also when did everyone forget how to tie a tie? :confused:

And lastly, gaudy belt buckles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Technoi

Arghhhh! the ubiquitous "rucksack" and why do they seem so full all the time. I thought blokes only carried phone, wallet and keys. And they are a sartorial crime on anything above sports clothes. Also shoes that aren't polished whether expensive or not? I mean do you like looking like that? And its not an anti establishment look its just lazy and scruffy.

Or the nice suit, good shoes but the inability to have the top button of the shirt closed and the tie properly tied, epic fail.

The hoodie and jeans thing is a style in fairness, which will change and its true that people value comfort but I have to say looking the same as the five year old passing you in the street kinda puts me off.

Personally I like smart clothes that fit well, they make me feel good and people respond to you differently. Yes the defensive reaction is stuff them I'll look how I like but in reality we are a social animal and want acceptance and respect and when suited and booted it has a positive effect on you and the people you meet.

I would agree with the Op, few men have any style or individualism here. I mean you only have to go on holiday to Europe and see what the natives wear in the evening, always well turned out and stylish even the old lads. And then look at the tourists, shorts and tee shirts!

Frankly its a real shame, we let ourselves down badly in the fashion stakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭SamSamSammy

I would agree with the Op, few men have any style or individualism here. I mean you only have to go on holiday to Europe and see what the natives wear in the evening, always well turned out and stylish even the old lads. And then look at the tourists, shorts and tee shirts!

You'd be called gay if you did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

I can't stand this sort of journalism. Just like property journalism that convinced people to spend stupid money on houses they also try to make us spend stupid money on clothes.

They are basically trying to increase the market for their advertisers. It worked with women so why wouldn't it work with men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Technoi wrote: »
    Arghhhh! the ubiquitous "rucksack" and why do they seem so full all the time. I thought blokes only carried phone, wallet and keys. And they are a sartorial crime on anything above sports clothes.

Blokes such as me carry a book or two, a laptop, a sketchpad, perhaps a camera or a sound recorder, and a few other bits and bobs with me, hence the backpack. For me, convenience and the safety of my belongings wins out over my bag clashing with my coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

I have to agree on the shoes. I know a lot of people hate pointy-toe shoes, but they are a better alternative than seeing a grown man wearing 'clodhopper" type school shoes with a suit.

I think the rest of the article is a bit distorted; I don't think the sartorial inclinations of the tracksuit-wearing folk of our inner cities are in any way representative of the majority of men in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

I find it a bit sad that a man is so focused on what other men are wearing. From reading some magazines and even articles over the past few months, it appears the "fashionable" male looks like he just stepped off a boat from France in the worst clothes he could find. Long jackets and scarves, suit jackets over pinstriped shirts - all the images I saw were enough to make me gag. Absolutely shocking "prententious" clothing that I wouldn't wear if I was blind and getting dressed in the dark

As for tracksuits, if they offend anyone enough to make huge assumptions of how cultured or uncultured I am just because I wear them, then I really don't give a **** what opinions people like that have and I don't want to know about them or their sad clothing obssesed lives. I wear tracksuits mainly on weekends because they are very comfortable and its my down time after a working week. If some people want to dress up in skinny jeans and business jackets on their weekends thats fine by me, but my choices revolve around what is comfortable to me, not whats fashionable to other people.

Overall a pretty pointless article that says a lot more about the author than any of his intended targets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,912 ✭✭✭✭28064212

Technoi wrote: »
    All I can say to that is: "meh".

I'll freely admit I'm not a particularly fashion-conscious dresser. I'm pretty conservative even when I'm going out. I don't dress in bright colours or wear unusual accessories. I look good in a suit when necessary. I don't use fashion to make statements, it's functionality -> comfort -> style almost everytime. I'm not going to a fashion show.

This whole argument is exactly the same one that many 'snob' beer-drinkers use. Yes, the likes of Heineken are bland, and from an objective viewpoint, the hand-brewed ale might be "better". So what? I don't go out for a beer-tasting session, it's not in my top 10 reasons for going on a night out

The article itself is disingenuous at best. Right in the very first sub-section, he decides to draw a comparison between a group of Irish people on the way back from a football match to the usual patrons on a Paris-London commute. It's hardly surprising they don't fare particularly well.

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

The way I see it, it's a case of Horses for courses. If you're going to work or a job interview, business attire unless stated otherwise by the company. If you're going out dress for the occasion, and venue. At the weekend or in your down time....wear whatever you bloody want.

I am a fan of the classic style of suits and hats, and believe every man should have at least 1 nice suit, and a few nice shirts and at least 1 pair of nice shoes. If I could afford it I would buy many nice suits and shirts. But alas the coffers don't allow it.

In short dress for the occasion, and venue. (don't turn up to the opera in a tracksuit and conversely don't show up at at festival in a suit)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭petebricquette

Parts of the article I agree with as an awful lot of people around now (men and women) have a pretty poor sense of style. It's important to look good. Gives the ol' self esteem a boost if you know you're looking well plus it garners much positive attention if it's done right.

Don't get me wrong: I'm perfectly comfortable with wearing the tracksuit running to the shop or cycling or whatever but for the love of god dress for the occasion. A very good mate of mine had to be persuaded for about an hour that wearing white sports socks with his debs tux was a bad idea. I mean, each to their own but he would've looked a fool as the only eejit there with black pants, white socks and black formal shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Riveting stuff, I could write an article of that standard in five minutes. It must be great to be paid by the word.
    Also wondered if it was a relation of our Alison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

First let me say that as a Yank, I loved me some Irish men when I lived in Dublin. Between the cracking personalities, the gorgeous eyes, and the laid-back manner, y'all got it going on! (well not all of you, but a lot ;)). And you smell nice.

That said, sorry fellas but I absolutely agreed with this article. And having lived in Spain for a while before Ireland, the differences were really startling.

I would agree that men don't have a "uniform" today the way that they used to, and maybe the choices are overwhelming, but there are so many options for "nice" casual clothes. And although the article was a bit snarky, he made some good points, the most important of which was essentially a call for men to invest in decent bags, coats and shoes - and to take care of them once you have them.

Jeans and a jumper can be casual and look nice. Canvas jackets can look nice. Having a few classic, well-made pieces should make dressing easier, not harder. There is a happy medium between a navy suit and a GAA jersey!

Finally, there is nothing sexier than a man in a beautifully tailored suit...or at least one that has been properly cuffed and hemmed. Rowr!

Come on, guys. You can do better!

^ Totally agree with the above.

Ironing helps too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

I was actually doing ok before the 'golf umbrella' attack :p The only reason I use 'em is because, unlike a little, slippy, black brolly, golf umbrellas actually keep the rain off.

That said, I would agree with quire a lot of this article. It has been my opinion for quite some time that unless you're training or somesuch, you shouldn't be let out of the house in a tracksuit. Lazy, not comfortable. Some people also tend to forget having left their bottoms tucked into their socks, a ridiculous look that I'll never understand.

I don't have to wear a suit for my job. I think I'd get very bored of it very quickly. The result is I quite enjoy getting dressed up for an occassion, even if it is only a wedding. Spent a good sum of cash on a nice suit a while ago and I enjoy wearing it.

Outside of that, a well fitted polo/teeshirt and jumper combination alongside a good pair of jeans and nice trainers/shoes ought to get you into most nightclubs, which I suppose is the closest thing we have to a measure in this country!
    And nice shoes. I've always observered shoes, ever since Red didn't in he Shawshank Redemption. You never know when it might come in handy..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

I'm fat, lazy and like comfort, I'll stick to tracksuit bottoms and runners thanks.

Parts of the article I agree with as an awful lot of people around now (men and women) have a pretty poor sense of style.
    This is dictated by the fashion industry that likes to change it every year to make you buy new crap.

It's actually disappointing that men are now falling for this as much as women.

I preferred when all men dressed the same as I really don't view fashion as a way of expressing your personalty and it's only been given this role recently. It only expresses whatever obnoxious fad you decided was worth following. I can't stand when you see some bogger who moves up to the city so decides to buy thick rimmed non-prescription glasses to look like an intellectual but will also buy purposefully scruffy jeans to give them an "edge".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭petebricquette

SugarHigh wrote: »
    This is dictated by the fashion industry that likes to change it every year to make you buy new crap.

It's actually disappointing that men are now falling for this as much as women.

I preferred when all men dressed the same as I really don't view fashion as a way of expressing your personalty and it's only been given this role recently. It only expresses whatever obnoxious fad you decided was worth following. I can't stand when you see some bogger who moves up to the city so decides to buy thick rimmed non-prescription glasses to look like an intellectual but will also buy purposefully scruffy jeans to give them an "edge".

No, for me it's dictated by choosing clothes that suit the individual. NOT following some fad set by an arbitrary 'fashionista'. Come on, give me some credit here before you jump down my throat assuming I'm a little bitch for the clothing industry.

snip

Style is not equal to fashion.

Style never goes out of fashion.

No, for me it's dictated by choosing clothes that suit the individual. NOT following some fad set by an arbitrary 'fashionista'. Come on, give me some credit here before you jump down my throat assuming I'm a little bitch for the clothing industry.
    If you were just a blind follower of fashion how would you be aware of it?
    Everyone is just picking out what they like and thinks looks good it's the reasons they decide what looks good is what I'm talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

If you were just a blind follower of fashion how would you be aware of it?
    Everyone is just picking out what they like and thinks looks good it's the reasons they decide what looks good is what I'm talking about.

There are definitely a lot of "fashion victims" out there: people why buy clothes because they saw them in GQ or some celebrity dresses a certain way, not because they actually suit their body type - or even because they like them. Not everyone should dress like Ronaldo (who looks pretty silly most of the time anyway) or a boy band member.

But I totally agree with the earlier poster that fashion is a different issue than style. It is possible to be stylish and look well put together regardless of trends - even if you are on a limited budget.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

What i dont get more than anything about how guys dress in Ireland is why all men wear jeans that are waaaay too long and are usually in tatters in the end?

It doesnt matter wether they are everyday jeans or a pair for a night out, they are tattered at the end or soaking wet from being out in the rain and dragging off the ground. It looks disgusting, how do you fold up your jeans and put them in the closet if they are dirty and soaking wet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Hazys wrote: »
    What i dont get more than anything about how guys dress in Ireland is why all men wear jeans that are waaaay too long and are usually in tatters in the end?

It doesnt matter wether they are everyday jeans or a pair for a night out, they are tattered at the end or soaking wet from being out in the rain and dragging off the ground. It looks disgusting, how do you fold up your jeans and put them in the closet if they are dirty and soaking wet?

Well....if you've been out wearing a pair of jeans and they are dirty, you generally put them in the washing machine and not back in the closet??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Meh, **** of Alan, i'll wear what i like.

The day i am dressed in a manner that would appease a journo for the Times is the day i am buried.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

DarkJager wrote: »
    Well....if you've been out wearing a pair of jeans and they are dirty, you generally put them in the washing machine and not back in the closet??

Then you'd have to wash your jeans everyday, which i presume they don't.

Also jeans aren't supposed to be washed.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Then you'd have to wash your jeans everyday, which i presume they don't.

I get the same problem with jeans, usually as I am wearing jeans around the house that I have to wear with heels and they drag under my feet.

So the answer to your problem is that they need to be taken up :)

Anyway I'm curious, why aren't jeans meant to be washed?

On another note, I've recently started working in the city centre after being based down the country for years, and I am amazed at the "black uniform" that seems to pervade for women working in town, it's everywhere! Perhaps it's an Irish thing as opposed to a bloke thing?
    And although I'm female, I've the same answer to the knapsack thing.

Try hauling around a handbag, and a laptop bag filled with (in my case, laptop, power supply, usb keys, pens, books, exam papers, tutor notes, exam answers and rationales) in a regular laptop bag, and you will a. end up walking leaning to one side, and b. suffer horrible pain doing so for any length of time.

A knapsack balances out the weight of all the laptop bag stuff, and if it's a smart leather one, or one embossed with a company name, imo looks no less smart than a satchel/briefcase but is more ergonomically sound.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭Topper Harley01

Although the article is written in a prissy bitch tone, the overall points are fairly accurate I would have to say.

The fact is, a lot of Irish people have no clue whatsoever about dressing even half decently, never mind being stylish. I think it was Paul Costello who said a few years ago that Irish women know nothing about fashion. He was crucified at the time, but he was right too. I'm not saying we should all become slaves to fashion or try our best to be trendy, non conformist (but conformist) hipsters, but we should put a bit of thought into our appearance.

He's bang on the money about the socks and shoes. The amount of people who wear skanky, old, weathered socks is just weird. And that includes the women. Seriously, just buy some cheap socks regularly at pennys or some place-they don't have to be expensive, just clean.

Same with the shoes-It's usually the first article of clothing I check on anyone. It's true what they say-you can tell a lot about a person from their shoes.

I won't even waste time writing about tracksuits-if you still wear them, you are probably lacking in social and emotional intelligence, thus my efforts would be worthless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

enda1 wrote: »
    Style is not equal to fashion.

Style never goes out of fashion.

Very true, this is "fashionable" today:

hipster2.jpg

Horrid, hipster clothes, wouldnt be caught dead.

This however, is stylish:

mad-men-2.jpg

cool.
    as.
    fcuk.

I know how I'd rather dress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

krudler wrote: »
    Very true, this is "fashionable" today:

hipster2.jpg

Horrid, hipster clothes, wouldnt be caught dead.

This however, is stylish:

mad-men-2.jpg

cool.
    as.
    fcuk.

I know how I'd rather dress.

0.001% of the population, Irish or abroad, can pull off skinny jeans. And 0% of that figure is contributed by males.

Except when it comes to physically pulling them off :)

A nice suit is timeless, I don't think thats up for debate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

Daddio wrote: »
    Blokes such as me carry a book or two, a laptop, a sketchpad, perhaps a camera or a sound recorder, and a few other bits and bobs with me, hence the backpack. For me, convenience and the safety of my belongings wins out over my bag clashing with my coat.

Laptop, camera, books all check

Or gym gear for after/before work. Prefer a backpack that is easy to carry, over a square gym bag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I won't even waste time writing about tracksuits-if you still wear them, you are probably lacking in social and emotional intelligence, thus my efforts would be worthless.

If that makes you feel better then wrap your fragile ego around it and hold on tight.

Personally i have to laugh whenever i am in town and see the gaggles of young achievers running around in their Penny's/Dunne's suits specials as if they really believe they are the ****.

Makes one laugh, nah, chortle even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭kiddums

Personally I love the stlye of 30's america. All those tailored suits, good shoes and long coats.

But I live in the 21st century where jeans and a tshirt is the "uniform".
    I do like wearing a suit when it is called for, but I couldn't afford to wear one everyday. I'm tall, ling armed and legged, and big in the waist. I got a suit a few years ago and it set me back 300 big ones and that was the cheap suit on sale. Shoes are another story, I'm size 13 and they just don't make good shoes in that size without ordering them in special, which jacke up the price. Good shoes for a suit cost me damn near 150.

I can't afford all of that once, never mind enough to have more than one suit so I can wear one all the time.

Tho I do agree with the casual friday thing. Why do I have to wear my bad fitting yet cheap shirt and some cheapo trousers that last a month at best for 4 days in the week? I don't deal with customers directly, let me wear casual friday gear all week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

kiddums wrote: »
    Personally I love the stlye of 30's america. All those tailored suits, good shoes and long coats.

But I live in the 21st century where jeans and a tshirt is the "uniform".
    I do like wearing a suit when it is called for, but I couldn't afford to wear one everyday. I'm tall, ling armed and legged, and big in the waist. I got a suit a few years ago and it set me back 300 big ones and that was the cheap suit on sale. Shoes are another story, I'm size 13 and they just don't make good shoes in that size without ordering them in special, which jacke up the price. Good shoes for a suit cost me damn near 150.

I can't afford all of that once, never mind enough to have more than one suit so I can wear one all the time.

Tho I do agree with the casual friday thing. Why do I have to wear my bad fitting yet cheap shirt and some cheapo trousers that last a month at best for 4 days in the week? I don't deal with customers directly, let me wear casual friday gear all week.

This is an argument I've had with my job since day one, Friday is a business day, yet its ok for me to come in and wear jeans and a tshirt, yet the day before, in the same working week, I'm expected to wear "smart casual" whtever the fcuk that even is. I work in a call centre, our customers cant see us! I'd spend the money on smart clothes I'd wear going out, but for a few days a week at work then standard shirt and slacks are grand by me, itd take away from wearing my good clothes if I wore them every day at work. I love having suiting up nights, if I wore that same suit going to work every day itd just feel like I was in work clothes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭pancakes rule

:eek: :eek: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

Anyone else ever decide to head into town and buy some "fashionable" clothes? It's feckin hard!

I've always wanted to dress more... i don't think sophisticated is the world, maybe dapper... gah i don't know :P However actually trying to buy the stuff is so time consuming and confusing. I could spend half an hour just staring at jeans and still walk out jeanless and with a confused expression on my face, don't have a clue. Jackets and coats are even worse!

It's weird because i have a decent idea of what i want before i go into a shop, but it's almost as if there's too much choice in shops these days. As soon as you walk into, say Topman, your bombarded with all these "cool" and "retro" clothes and it's entirely off putting. Why can't things be more simple!! :mad:

I hate shopping :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

See more and more lads walking round in Skinny jeans looks stupid if you ask me its the way mens fashion is going more femmine if you ask me just a sign of the times

personally for everyday I like the hoodie or a nice top a pair of jeans or anything generally causal usually with runners

anything formal however slacks and a shirt with the shoes polished

Anyone else ever decide to head into town and buy some "fashionable" clothes? It's feckin hard!

I've always wanted to dress more... i don't think sophisticated is the world, maybe dapper... gah i don't know :P However actually trying to buy the stuff is so time consuming and confusing. I could spend half an hour just staring at jeans and still walk out jeanless and with a confused expression on my face, don't have a clue. Jackets and coats are even worse!

It's weird because i have a decent idea of what i want before i go into a shop, but it's almost as if there's too much choice in shops these days. As soon as you walk into, say Topman, you're bombarded with all these "cool" and "retro" clothes and it's entirely off putting. Why can't things be more simple!! :mad:

I hate shopping :(

I think I found your problem.

For dapper, try going somewhere like Michael Barrie's during a sale. They always have great offers and select some nice items. Especially good for jackets - the cool and formal types. Coats too.

Or else combine shopping with holidays. London, Paris, Milan - all great for shopping.

See more and more lads walking round in Skinny jeans looks stupid if you ask me its the way mens fashion is going more femmine if you ask me just a sign of the times

personally for everyday I like the hoodie or a nice top a pair of jeans or anything generally causal usually with runners

anything formal however slacks and a shirt with the shoes polished

In my facist fantasy I would ban skinny jeans for EVERYBODY.