If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Loungers on the run: Couch to 5k to marathon and beyond

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭MrsMcSteamy

Completed w5d3 on Saturday. Felt great to do the 20 min run without stopping although my speed did slow towards the end. But it gives me something more to work towards ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

Going for a run in a few to try and get back on track after W4 D2. I've been back about getting out as I've been really busy this week. :O I hope it goes well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Completed W1D1 and W1D2 over the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

W4D2 try 2. Fail before the halfway mark.

I've not been out since the 16th so that's probably why. Really bad burny lungs, I was mad enough until the man said "you are halfway done" and I put my head down and I could feel my eyes prickling. I think I'm getting too competitive for my own good. :mad::mad::(

I drank about a bit of water before I went out(20-30 mins), does anyone eat before they go out? I want to try and burn off some of my fat stores (if that can be done through 30-40mins running?)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,311 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

W4D2 completed yesterday. On the first 5 min run my legs felt a little iffy, but they didn't want to give up. Felt really good after the whole thing was done, felt stronger. Threw on some Nina Simone and ran a little bit more. :cool: I think in general it's having some effect - had to run up Dawson St. in the pissings of rain the other week and wasn't knackered after 30 seconds as I would have been in the past.

Can ye imagine if C25K was a Michael Bay film? Wouldn't be the first time boardsies wanted to massacre Shia LaBeouf. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭pampootie

W5D2 today. rubbish! could not get in the proper frame of mind at all to keep running-normally i kind of tune out and just plod along listening to the music, but today i just kept thinking oh why bother/sure have a rest there/go on, slow down and i couldnt keep running. did about 7 mins out of the first 8 min run and then i reckon about 3 mins out of the second! hoping its just because i only did W5D1 last night. still going to make an attempt at day 3 on wednesday, really want to do the 20 min run before i head over to see my sister for the few days. oh well, its was a lovely sunny day for a walk at least!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭MrsMcSteamy

Shattered the screen of my iPhone before I started my run. Was so annoyed I actually ran faster than before, so w6d1 completed thank god. Now just to get the phone fixed !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

W4D2 try 2. Fail before the halfway mark.

I've not been out since the 16th so that's probably why. Really bad burny lungs, I was mad enough until the man said "you are halfway done" and I put my head down and I could feel my eyes prickling. I think I'm getting too competitive for my own good. :mad::mad::(

I drank about a bit of water before I went out(20-30 mins), does anyone eat before they go out? I want to try and burn off some of my fat stores (if that can be done through 30-40mins running?)
    Don't worry about it! Try and relax as much as you can while you're out, sometimes if you get too wound up about it then that can make the run go badly. Go on to day 3 on Wednesday and see how you get on.
    pampootie wrote: »
    W5D2 today. rubbish! could not get in the proper frame of mind at all to keep running-normally i kind of tune out and just plod along listening to the music, but today i just kept thinking oh why bother/sure have a rest there/go on, slow down and i couldnt keep running. did about 7 mins out of the first 8 min run and then i reckon about 3 mins out of the second! hoping its just because i only did W5D1 last night. still going to make an attempt at day 3 on wednesday, really want to do the 20 min run before i head over to see my sister for the few days. oh well, its was a lovely sunny day for a walk at least!
    The fact that you ran last night could be a factor alright, but sometimes we just have crappy days with no apparent reason. Give W5D3 a go next time, take it slow and easy and you'll be golden. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭clicli

Right so I did Wk1D1 about two weeks ago and then got sick, so I'm about to head out the park and start Wk1D1 take 2! I still have a bit of a cough left over from the cold but was advised to just see how I get on and take it easy, I am determined to finish this programme! My brothers wedding is in May and I would like to lose a little bit more weight before it, I'm half a stone down so far! You Ladies are an inspiration by the way! :) Hope everyone else is getting on ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Ran 4.5k today, so not too bad at all. Hopefully tomorrow I'll do 5. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

w4d1 was great!I can't believe I ran for 5 mins pretty easily, was beaming at the end of it. On a funnier note, I live near an army barracks and one of the best gaa clubs around so all the joggers are these really fit army guys and sports people. I was trying to avoid them so turned into a carpark and ran straight into the local running group who had just finished their run!Like, I literally ran into their post-run circle! They must have thought I was mad!

Quick heads-up: Lidl has some running gear next Monday (scroll to the end of the page). Good opportunity to pick up a few basics cheaply.

Restarted Week6 tonight because I was fairly lazy last week was pretty awesome. Found my pace going a lot quicker this time, finishing about 3 minutes than I usually would have.

Quick heads-up: Lidl has some running gear next Monday (scroll to the end of the page). Good opportunity to pick up a few basics cheaply.

What do people think of the runners? Do they seem like a good deal or a waste fo twenty quid? I'll defo being heading there to gets the capris and socks etc but not sure about the runners

Your shoes are pretty much the most important piece of kit you have, better off to make sure to get the right ones for you than to get a €20 pair in Lidl just because they're cheap. I personally wouldn't recommend them.

What I *do* recommend in particular are their capris and socks - I did my first marathon in a pair of Lidl capris and I must have about 15 pairs of Aldi and Lidl socks at this stage.

Your shoes are pretty much the most important piece of kit you have, better off to make sure to get the right ones for you than to get a €20 pair in Lidl just because they're cheap. I personally wouldn't recommend them.

Thanks, I have a pair of asics that were recommended for me in a running shop, I'll stick with them so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

What I *do* recommend in particular are their capris and socks - I did my first marathon in a pair of Lidl capris and I must have about 15 pairs of Aldi and Lidl socks at this stage.
    Have you tried the jacket? I'm looking for one but I'm not sure about the lidl ones. Going to try to run in and get some socks and capris alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 noddyname

W5D1 finished tonight, had to push hard at the end of the programme to keep running until I reached 5km - think I was just shattered after a late night at the weekend, roll on Wednesday and D2!

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »
    Have you tried the jacket? I'm looking for one but I'm not sure about the lidl ones. Going to try to run in and get some socks and capris alright.

Had one a couple of years ago - they're pretty decent for the price. If you don't already have one and they actually have your size (if you're a size Medium, this is often easier said than done) then I'd grab one.

do you think they will still be there on tuesday ?

jaysus I'm dying to get running again even if I am still hobbling !

bluewolf wrote: »
    jaysus I'm dying to get running again even if I am still hobbling !

Welcome to my world! :pac:

disclaimer: not hobbling anymore

Welcome to my world! :pac:

disclaimer: not hobbling anymore

hhehee I never thought i'd be this addicted

is your leg feeling better then? when is the ban on running over??

It's improved a lot - but it's the kind of injury that mostly manifests itself when running. Next physio appointment is Monday 28th and she'll either give me a yay or nay then. A nay most likely means 2nd opinion time :pac:

lol, where the 2nd opinion is yours? :pac:

hopefully it'll be a "yea" then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭simply_dee

Finished week 8 yesterday, exact same pattern as week 7:
    Run 1 - complete, no stops
    Run 2 - stop to walk once, at halfway
    Run 3 - terrible, loads of stops
    I don't know what's going on with me. It's like I know I can do the run, so I just don't bother or something. Will have to get over that pretty quickly! On to week 9 so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭intouch44

w2d3 done- delighted! really enjoyed the last few runs :) looking forward to w3. great motivation on this thread, thanks ladies!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Wantobe

W9D3 finished this morning. Think I'll keep at the 30 mins run for a week or two until it feels more comfortable before deciding on any more goals. Delighted I finished the programme as it feels like a minor accomplishment but, naturally, I'm not stopping here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭Victoria.

Was meant to start week 3 this week and have come down with really bad tonsillitis :( So annoying when I was doing so well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Finished week 1 yesterday.

Bring on week 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

I posted here ages ago about wanting to get back into this program and I think I'll start from scratch this week! I have a few questions, though...

I got about halfway through the program last year when I had to stop for a few medical reasons. Everything's cleared up now, except I now have asthma! Sometimes it's really difficult to walk and talk at the same time, I get all out of breath :( I'm wondering if I'll be able to get past the first few weeks without much hassle, like I did before? Or am I setting myself up for failure?

If any asthmatics are doing this program too and can fill me in on their perspective, I'd love to hear it :)

*digs out running shoes*