Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gerry Adams talks about gross act of terrorism

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

Caught the headline of the Evening Herald on my way past the seller on the road, something about Gerry trying to silence them :D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Must have been said for publicity. Adams is too smart a man to overlook accusations of hypocrisy.

Whats utterly bizarre about the whole Adams/IRA thing is that he was the leader of Sinn Fein and therefore the whole provisional republican movement. Being in Sinn Fein from 1969-1996 was morally the same as being in the IRA, just like being a ruling British MP was morally the same as being in the British army.

Is there anyone who would be less likely to vote for Sinn Fein if Adams admitted to IRA membership? The reality is his supporters know he was in the IRA and either don't care/respect him for it. Everyone attacking him for being in the IRA is never going to vote for him anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

He is attacking a British politician: the Crown Steward and Bailiff of the Manor of Northstead and former Westminster MP, Gerry Adams.

Gerry Adams never held that title. And as witty as you'd like to think you are, Gerry holds an Irish passport and is as Irish as I am.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

dlofnep wrote: »
    Gerry Adams never held that title.

He holds it right now. Ask the UK Prime Minister.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

The media don't need to run a smear campaign, all they need to do is have a microphone around Gery Adams or Pearse doherty when they are asked questions about the economy and that's more then enough to put people off voting for them.

you should ring Fianna fail head office and tell them that , they will be so relived and it might stop them making a further laugh of themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Quite sickening to think what Adams & Sinn Fein/IRA have done over the years in the way of making people dissappear (literally), and yet, there are those within SF & outside who would compare the economic incompetence of Fianna Fail to a ruthless tribe who would stop at nothing to get their hands on the reigns of power in this State. Adams is some hypocrite slinging mud at FF, and even if Martin is incompetent, he is not connected in any way with Terrorists.

Adams 'high & mighty' - hypocritical attitude makes me sick!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,422 ✭✭✭The_Joker

Gerry Adams for Taoiseach

Well, why not?

Nelson Mandela became President of South Africa;
    Yitzhak Shamir became Prime Minister of Israel;
    Yasser Arafat won the Nobel Peace Prize and was welcomed into the White House;
    Colonel Gaddafi was courted and praised by Tony Blair:
    History is replete with those who were once designated ‘terrorists’; incarcerated, reviled and repudiated, yet eventually welcomed to the political top table without repentance.

And why be a self-exiled minnow in Westminster when you could be a fully-communicant carp in the Dáil?

Courtesy of Archbishop Cranmer

.......At least make him minister for defence and Martin McGuinness minister for justice!
    Oh I can see it now Ireland at war with itself and all prisoners released with kneecaps in a bag.

gerry%2Badams%2Bpraying.jpg22200727raymondgilmourpv8.jpg
    Most active member of SF
    Gerry_Adams.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Gerry is a smart man dragging and calling all the mudslingers out with a comment like that, making them look a wee bit daft in the process.

Sure he isn't, nor has he ever been, a terrorist anyway ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 27,645 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    But your not Mike, your an anti-Irish Unionist who is constantly banging the drum against Irish Patriots

Please don't throw around labels like Unionist merely because someone doesn't like Sinn Fein.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    Except terrorism is not only in SFs past, it is in their present. IMO it is absolutely repulsive that they have people like Martin Ferris in their party. This is a man who has been imprisoned for terrorist activities and greeted the killers of Garda Gerry McCabe upon their release from prison. Until they get rid of people like that, SF will be associated with terrorism. I would be ashamed if a party who accepts people like this was to form part of our government.

Nelson Mandela was imprisoned too for what you could consider terrorism :rolleyes: I'm going to continue to uphold this belief and call Nelson Mandela a terrorist and along with Martin Ferris I'm never gong to accept him as a legitimate politician who can be accepted into any form of government without bringing shame to a country...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

He holds it right now. Ask the UK Prime Minister.

He never accepted the title, and therefore does not hold it. You're not a fascist are you?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

dlofnep wrote: »
    He never accepted the title, and therefore does not hold it.

The rules of Westminster (for which he ran, and to which he was elected) do not allow him to resign without being appointed to the position.

He resigned, and was appointed to the position. His acceptance is neither here not there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Bubblegums

IMHO M Martin made the remark about G Adams because M Martin had no decent intelligent remark to make and wanted/needed to deflect the attention away from FFs handiwork at ruining Ireland. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

Bubblegums wrote: »
    IMHO M Martin made the remark about G Adams because M Martin had no decent intelligent remark to make and wanted/needed to deflect the attention away from FFs handiwork at ruining Ireland. :p

so thats sf way too look,specialy when gerry ads was asked where he get 16 billion from , and even worse,jerry adams didnt know the vat rate in ireland :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭joesoap007

Aidan1 wrote: »
    The reason the media keep going on about his denials of membership of the IRA, of a place on the 'Army Council', and of involvement in crimes like La Mon, or the abduction, torture and murder of Jean McConville, is because for decades Gerry Adams spoke to journalists as a member of the Provisional IRA, on condition that this would not be reported. So he was introducing himself to people as a Provo, in person, and now he's denying that, in person. In some cases to the same people.

As for 'moving on', well, the victims of the IRA terror campaign can hardly move on, can they? Why should he be allowed?

bla bla bla bla .all the partys had their hand on the gun at one time or another,as for McConville it was a war people get killed.if your warned to stay away from the enemy well stay away.you cant blame adams for every murder.as for moving on we did a great job moving on without our brothers and sisters in the north.they carried on the fight our fight and now your all calling them terrorists.did yous forget how we won our freedom in the south ?.if you dont trust sinn fein ask the psni they raided their offices a few years back did they find anything?no not even a bad spelling (unlike me) lol..oh still dont trust SF ask the loyalists on the shankill road why they vote for them

come think of it the barefaced cheek of you ,victims of the IRA terror campaign can hardly move on, can they you said..rrrr god love them.tell that to the millons killed over 800 years of english rule.tell that to the bloody sunday marchers after the queen pinned medels on the parras chests for Bravery,

.http://ograshinnfein.blogspot.com/2011/01/shankill-road-residents-vote-for-sinn.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭joesoap007

The_Joker wrote: »
    .......At least make him minister for defence and Martin McGuinness minister for justice!
    Oh I can see it now Ireland at war with itself and all prisoners released with kneecaps in a bag.

gerry%2Badams%2Bpraying.jpg22200727raymondgilmourpv8.jpg
    Most active member of SF
    Gerry_Adams.jpg

your name suits your post,your a joke.you have some neck .were did you get the pic from ?some anti irish pro unionist site.?you should rename your self ,sick joke.
    adams is in in louth.like it or not they will win plenty of seats for the great work they done up north alone..what you think about that sick joke?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

joesoap007 wrote: »
    bla bla bla bla .all the partys had their hand on the gun at one time or another,as for McConville it was a war people get killed.if your warned to stay away from the enemy well stay away.you cant blame adams for every murder.as for moving on we did a great job moving on without our brothers and sisters in the north.they carried on the fight our fight and now your all calling them terrorists.did yous forget how we won our freedom in the south ?.if you dont trust sinn fein ask the psni they raided their offices a few years back did they find anything?no not even a bad spelling (unlike me) lol..oh still dont trust SF ask the loyalists on the shankill road why they vote for them

come think of it the barefaced cheek of you ,victims of the IRA terror campaign can hardly move on, can they you said..rrrr god love them.tell that to the millons killed over 800 years of english rule.tell that to the bloody sunday marchers after the queen pinned medels on the parras chests for Bravery,

.http://ograshinnfein.blogspot.com/2011/01/shankill-road-residents-vote-for-sinn.html
    this republican bull is getting old ,if this is all that sf is about then ireland is better off without sinn fein,same guff as for last 40 years