Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

RobbieRuns wrote: »
    Have to disagree with your arguments regarding Danny Cummins. He has struggled with injuries, (as you confirm) but has always showed real class when fit and given the opportunity. It cracks me up that you can have a season like he did last year when his goals lit up the team, played a huge part in beating Mayo, was one of a few players to come away from the Tipperary game with credit, tops it off with an All Star nomination.... and people want to bring Army back. He constantly is at the top of the scoring charts without being a free taker. In fairness he probably should move to Corofin, Salthill or some senior team to get more club recognition, that or grow another foot, because something always seems to stop him from getting the support that he should get.

Aah well, be boring if we all agreed ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭elefant

Have to disagree with your arguments regarding Danny Cummins. He has struggled with injuries, (as you confirm) but has always showed real class when fit and given the opportunity. It cracks me up that you can have a season like he did last year when his goals lit up the team, played a huge part in beating Mayo, was one of a few players to come away from the Tipperary game with credit, tops it off with an All Star nomination.... and people want to bring Army back. He constantly is at the top of the scoring charts without being a free taker. In fairness he probably should move to Corofin, Salthill or some senior team to get more club recognition, that or grow another foot, because something always seems to stop him from getting the support that he should get.

I find it hard to understand any argument picking Armstrong over Cummins. There's nothing in recent history to support it.

elefant wrote: »
    I find it hard to understand any argument picking Armstrong over Cummins. There's nothing in recent history to support it.

The likelihood is that probably neither will start come championship if everybody is fit. Sice, Walsh, Daly, Brannigan, Comer, Flynn are likely to be the 6 forwards in whatever way they end up lining out

I don't think it's unlikely Cummins will start at all.

He was nominated for an All-Star last year.

I don't think it's unlikely Cummins will start at all.

He was nominated for an All-Star last year.

From the 6 players I mentioned, who do you drop in favour of him?

Flynn, Brannigan and Daly.

I like Cummins myself and I'd have him over Armstrong anyway or Flynn.... Flynns been very anonymous lately.
    Wouldn't even say he's playing poorly as he's just absent.

However I'd rather him at midfield than Conroy, he's just too ponderous on the ball, slows the play in whats now a game of speed (in attack) and fancies himself as a McDonald and just kicks a few balls away each game.

It's funny everyone is overlooking McHugh, I don't see how you could pick Cummins or Armstrong over him.
    He's not doing a pile from play but his free taking is worth more than either of those players who are hit and miss.

As clueless as I think Walsh is, it's one thing he at least seems to see as McHugh has started basically every game from memory.

Sice/Walsh/Daly/Comer/McHugh/Brannigan for me.

Would pref' push Sice back to wing back and Flynn to midfield

Flynn, Brannigan and Daly.

Whatever about the argument in Armstrong v Cummins, I wouldn't play Cummins over Daly in a million years! Have you seen his current form?
    I like Cummins myself and I'd have him over Armstrong anyway or Flynn.... Flynns been very anonymous lately.

However I'd rather him at midfield than Conroy, he's just too ponderous on the ball, slows the play in whats now a game of speed (in attack) and fancies himself as a McDonald and just kicks a few balls away each game.

It's funny everyone is overlooking McHugh, I don't see how you could pick Cummins or Armstrong over him.
    He's not doing a pile from play but his free taking is worth more than either of those players who are hit and miss.

As clueless as I think Walsh is, it's one thing he at least seems to see as McHugh has started basically every game from memory.

Sice/Walsh/Daly/Comer/McHugh/Brannigan for me.

Would pref' push Sice back to wing back and Flynn to midfield

Think you are being a bit harsh on Conroy there. Conroy and Comer have a fantastic understanding. Comer absolutely thrives on Conroy's passes. We saw it briefly in the Fermanagh match this year.

Yeah, McHugh has started every game. He has also been taken off in the last 2 games at crucial points in the match. Same in the Meath match. When the match was in the melting pot, he was taken off. I'd really love to see him make it but he has probably not quite done enough from play. However, in saying that, at the start of the league, it was doubtful if he could offer anything at this level. I think he has proven he can offer something by holding onto his place for the 7 games. I do remember in the Fermanagh game (the only game in which him and Comer played together in the full forward line if I recall correctly), they really didnt link up well and even got in each other's way at times. If Comer was injured, McHugh will get his place. But I doubt both will start.

It is probably encouraging that there is such a debate about who will be starting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,014 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

He was anonymous at the start of the league but was probably our best player against Meath, was good against Down and good again yesterday.

Can't for the life of me see McHugh starting, even for all his good qualities. While Conroy is frustrating at times, hes one of our top 4/5 players and to want him dropped is ludicrous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

Talk of dropping Conroy is pure ridiculous. Another All star nominee last year. Really do not know what people see at these games. Conroy would be the first choice for me in midfield. Shane Walsh is the best footballer that we have and as he gets stronger and fitter this season he will flourish, he would be the first name in the forwards for me and if fit the automatic choice (even though people have disagreed with that) followed by Comer, who has shown what he can do at the top level. Cummins would be the next name on the forwards, his speed and movement opens up teams. Every top team needs those fast forwards who create space and draws fouls and he showed last year that when trust was put in him he delivered. He has always played well in Croke Park were the open spaces suit him.

Daly is undoubted class and will be better served out the field most probably in the half forward line this year, he will have a long and hopefully successful Galway career ahead of him. I would probably move Sice to the half back line.

I can go on, but the real truth for me is that I see real talent and good healthy debate over who should play in the forwards but the backs..... there is our problem and what will stop us from reaching the last four in the country.

Really looking forward to the league finals, a brilliant step in the right direction. This would be a great game to win for the team as a whole.

Talk of dropping Conroy is pure ridiculous. Another All star nominee last year. Really do not know what people see at these games

I see a traditional midfielder in a game that's changed.

MDMA would run him into the ground.

If we weren't booting aimless balls to midfield then we wouldn't need to waste two positions on competitors and FOC does a far better job at that.

I couldn't give a fiddlers if he won a nomination that doesn't make you right and me wrong.
    There are 6 players picked and primarily drawn from the last 8 so the odds look pretty high to me.

If you want to argue that he should playing CF or FF I won't really dispute that but picking midfielders like him against the likes of Dublin will be fruitless.

Conroy has a big enough engine to get up and down the pitch. In your scenario against Dublin, with us starting Flynn and FO'C, and them starting MDMA and Fenton, which player would you have FO'C picking up? I'd far far rather have Conroy in that situation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Sweet Science

All the talk about backs . I seen your minors play us last year and the full back was very impressive . Is he with the 21s this year ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,032 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Conroy is far too good a footballer for Galway to drop. His performances can be up and down at times but when he's good he's very good.

We only had four All-Star nominees last year and people are suggesting that two of them should be dropped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,032 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

All the talk about backs . I seen your minors play us last year and the full back was very impressive . Is he with the 21s this year ?

He's still minor this year actually. Yeah looks a very good prospect alright. Badly needed to if he can continue developing.

Conroy is far too good a footballer for Galway to drop. His performances can be up and down at times but when he's good he's very good.

We only had four All-Star nominees last year and people are suggesting that two of them should be dropped?

I wouldn't start Declan Kyne this year :):)

The argument against Cummins is completely different to mine against Conroy.

I'm against picking traditional midfielders and kicking the ball out to midfield... something that nearly cost us against Kildares B team.

I'm not against Conroy per se, I'm against him at midfield.
    Id personally only consider him for CF/FF myself.

Cummins is being flat out disregarded.

I'd love if we were in a position to drop Paul Conroy as he drives me crazy some days looking at him but in the position we are in at the moment there aren't really proven alternatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

The argument against Cummins is completely different to mine against Conroy.

I'm against picking traditional midfielders and kicking the ball out to midfield... something that nearly cost us against Kildares B team.

I'm not against Conroy per se, I'm against him at midfield.
    Id personally only consider him for CF/FF myself.

Cummins is being flat out disregarded

This I would agree with.

Cummins has pace, great workrate, great ball winning ability for a smallish player and has improved his finishing from what it used to be.
    He was one of our standout players last year. Can be frustrating at times but there's no question about his attitude. Admittedly competition for places in the forward line is the toughest it's been for a long time.

Right now I'd go with this forward line (for championship)

10. Gary Sice (probably our consistently best player over the last few years and barring a loss of form he has to start)
    11. Shane Walsh (in rare form at the moment, lets hope he keeps it up)
    12. Michael Daly (so much natural ability and has taken to this like a duck to water)
    13. Eamon Brannigan (wasn't always everyone's cup of tea but he is proving a lot of people wrong at the moment and deserves to start. Can play more or less anywhere and leaves room for a 2 man full forward line)
    14. Damien Comer (has emerged as one of our most important players and an automatic choice if fit)
    15. Danny Cummins (as stated above. much maligned but proved a few doubters wrong last year. options on the bench if he isn't going well)

subs that may be used:
    Lundy (superb a couple of years ago but has become a bit disappointing since)
    McHugh (good freetaker but Sice and Walsh can handle that job)
    Burke (so much ability but it's never really happened for him at county level. not too late yet but it seems he's a bit down the pecking order)
    Armstrong (wouldn't start him but not a bad guy to have on the bench and still has something to offer)
    Flynn (I know he will probably start because Walsh clearly loves him but his form this spring hasn't been all that great and he is not a forward)
    Meehan (even if only 70% of his former self he'd still be a great impact sub to have. seemingly injured again but there's plenty of time before the serious stuff starts)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭MfMan

Well reasoned arguments but Flynn, though a very moderate footballer, will be needed as a physical counterweight to the likes of Walsh (though bulking up a bit), Daly, Cummins, Brannigan etc. as these are (yet) quite light. Hope we're not expecting too much too soon from Daly.

Onto domestic matters, and the local hurling c'ship starts today. For me, stand-out game is Thomas' v Turlough' this evening in Athenry. Both fast and skillful teams; Thomas' are reigning champs but Turlough' have a lot of quality players coming through and, if guided properly, will I think win the c'ship within 2-3 years. Early round games can be a bit slow to get going but Turlough' should be keen to impress new supremo James Horan and are a good punt at 11/8.

http://hoganstand.com/galway/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=268738

If this article is to be believed Glynn will commute back from New York for the championship.

Must be somebody funding that if it's true as he'd hardly be able to afford that himself.

He was a big loss last year, would likely have turned that one point loss into a win and we could very well of broken the long wait.

He's a great ball winner which is something we're not blessed with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

http://hoganstand.com/galway/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=268738

If this article is to be believed Glynn will commute back from New York for the championship.

Must be somebody funding that if it's true as he'd hardly be able to afford that himself.

He was a big loss last year, would likely have turned that one point loss into a win and we could very well of broken the long wait.

He's a great ball winner which is something we're not blessed with.

Gerry mcInerney springs to mind

You'd wonder in this day and age if Glynn can make a worthwhile contribution. I'm sure he's been keeping himself in good shape but the physical and mental toll of going over and back and the lack of any meaningful hurling since September 2015 surely have to count against him. Also, to have him on the same wavelength as the others is going to be difficult. Even with Gerry McInerney I'm open to correction but I think he came back to Galway for a block of time in the summer so at least was preparing with the other lads.

If his contribution is only cameos off the bench it might just offer us something different but it's a long shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,503 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

MfMan wrote:
    Onto domestic matters, and the local hurling c'ship starts today. For me, stand-out game is Thomas' v Turlough' this evening in Athenry. Both fast and skillful teams; Thomas' are reigning champs but Turlough' have a lot of quality players coming through and, if guided properly, will I think win the c'ship within 2-3 years. Early round games can be a bit slow to get going but Turlough' should be keen to impress new supremo James Horan and are a good punt at 11/8.

Good call!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

You'd wonder in this day and age if Glynn can make a worthwhile contribution. I'm sure he's been keeping himself in good shape but the physical and mental toll of going over and back and the lack of any meaningful hurling since September 2015 surely have to count against him. Also, to have him on the same wavelength as the others is going to be difficult. Even with Gerry McInerney I'm open to correction but I think he came back to Galway for a block of time in the summer so at least was preparing with the other lads.

If his contribution is only cameos off the bench it might just offer us something different but it's a long shot.

10 mins might be enough or all his needed for now,can't see him staying on the bench to long he is the only ball winner Galway have.

Flynn has to start imo, whether it's instead of FO'C or alongside him and Conroy. FO'C is a horses for courses player, great against teams with no ball winners at midfield. Against Mayo though, we need Flynn in there as Fintan will get killed by runners. I'd personally start him and Conroy against Mayo but suspect it will be all 3. Teams never play 6 forwards now anyway

McHugh out and Liam Silke in... wtf.

Kyne starts as well.

He's in last chance saloon for me, has no temperament and is a liability to get himself sent off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭jam83

McHugh out and Liam Silke in... wtf.

Kyne starts as well.

He's in last chance saloon for me, has no temperament and is a liability to get himself sent off.

Galway look sharp so far. Terrible miss by sice there. Galway bay online is miles behind the tv

Online radio is always a good bit behind, not specific to GBFM to be fair.

Are we the only team playing football at a decent level that just lets teams kick it out short under no pressure?.

It beggars belief.

The opposition are getting to your 45 every time.

Also do our players and management not know that you don't have to stay above the 21?... if our corner backs pulled right out into the corners not alone would they be able to receive most of the kick outs but it opens the space.

We're going to get killed in D1 next year doing this crap.

Kick it short and press the oppositions.

Even Louth and Tipperary had kick out strategies ffs.

Hows that not a free.

He got shouldered without the ball... laughable.