Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭MfMan

elefant wrote: »
    I'd love to see some evidence of this 130m score...

You sure you're not confusing it with the last-minute equaliser he scored v Turlough' in the '92 (?) semi-final in Loughrea? Hit that one from play, wind-assisted if I remember, from well inside his own half.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

elefant wrote: »
    I'd love to see some evidence of this 130m score...
    I'd love to see it again myself too. It was only the other day myself and Sylvie Linnane were talking about it. Hayes was some operator.

If anyone would know of where to get a video of it somewhere give me a shout.

The 1991 final was won with a last minute goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

With the hurlers looking to move to Munster with all the ****e going on in Leinster,should the real question now be a radical overhaul of the hurling championship eg C/league format,or dig the heels in and go back to the old way straight into A/I semi final.
    Surely not letting the underage teams in is an insult to the Leinster underage players themselves by their own county boards they are admitting their underage teams are ****e and are afraid of Galway teams beating them.That does no good for anyone,would these teams not like to get more games and test themselves against one of the perceived better underage counties a rising tide lifts all boats.
    Failing that back to the old days a let them crib about Galway having played no games to get to an all Ireland semi final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,728 ✭✭✭blue note

The Slobs wrote: »
    Minor and U21

Munster
    1.Clare

2 Cork

3Tipp

4Waterford

5 Clare

Leinster

1. Offaly
    2 Carlow
    3. Laois
    4.Westmeath
    5. Kildare
    6. Dublin
    7. Kilkenny
    8.Wexford
    9. Meath

There already 9 teams in Leinster and only 5 in Munster

So why Leinster ( Yes I hear you say we need Galway to supply a challenge to Kilkenny and more recently Dublin at Minor ) U21 is more competitive with wexford carlow and Westmeath having their moments in recent times and in any given year Laois or Offaly fancy their chances,

Going forward with minor going to u17 this grade will be less important and might even suit an open draw competition as the excuse of tradition will not be a reason to say no.

In The Leinster u21 championship with 9 teams involved and with the matches starting in end of May right before the leaving and may Kids who are 19 are not able to play as they are doing the leaving cert because of the numbers doing TY. The Munster championship starts after the leaving cert and Galway I know come in cold in third week in august .

so why leinster why not Munster and not always be knocking lenister.

True KK & Dublin will be competitive but why blame the other leinster counties for objecting to galway as they see them a a threat to the rare opportunities they have of success/
    After all Galway were in Munster once a upon a time and came out of it because they could not win matches

Goose and gander and all that

ah here, leinster at underage is clearly not competitive enough. Other than kilkenny they're just not producing strong underage teams. At minor the last Leinster county to win an all ireland other than kilkenny was Offaly in 1989. At u21 it's wexford in 1965!

From a fairness point of view for the whole competition galway should be in Leinster. Of course the actual fairest thing would be an open draw, but I won't hold my breath for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

[quote="blue note;101712716"

From a fairness point of view for the whole competition galway should be in Leinster. Of course the actual fairest thing would be an open draw, but I won't hold my breath for that.[/quote]
    They won't give up Munster final

Fair play to Davy Glennon for his candid honesty on the Claire Byrne show tonight. I wish him well

If its on his gambling addiction he actually did a big interview with the Examiner earlier this year.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/hurling/davy-glennon-i-wasnt-trying-to-kill-myself-but-i-wanted-to-kill-the-life-i-was-living-398150.html

If its on his gambling addiction he actually did a big interview with the Examiner earlier this year.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/hurling/davy-glennon-i-wasnt-trying-to-kill-myself-but-i-wanted-to-kill-the-life-i-was-living-398150.html

I remember reading it. Its good to keep the issue in the public eye though. Badly needs to be tackled.

As somebody who follows the hunt racing I can only imagine the feeling of losing a couple of grand on Annie Power falling... a horse falling in a hurdle isn't too common.
    A big favourite falling at the last even less so... must have been a sickening feeling for him. I get cranky enough losing e2 or e3 bets.

Though maybe in the long run it was a blessing it happened as it did, he'd have lost more over the long run if he was doing e5-e50 bets, you're nearly as well off to get a major wake up call than small ones you can easily forget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Galway team to play Sligo on Sunday in the FBD League:

1-Rory Lavelle

2-Luke Burke 3-David Walsh 4-Johnny Duane

5-Paul Varley 6-Gareth Bradshaw 7-Seán Kelly

8-Michael Day 9-Fiontán Ó Curraoin

10-Johnny Heaney 11-Thomas Flynn 12-Peter Cooke

13-Paul Mannion 14-Barry McHugh 15-Seán Armstrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Galway team to play Sligo on Sunday in the FBD League:

1-Rory Lavelle

2-Luke Burke 3-David Walsh 4-Johnny Duane

5-Paul Varley 6-Gareth Bradshaw 7-Seán Kelly

8-Michael Day 9-Fiontán Ó Curraoin

10-Johnny Heaney 11-Thomas Flynn 12-Peter Cooke

13-Paul Mannion 14-Barry McHugh 15-Seán Armstrong

Interesting team. Barry McHugh had a superb club championship last year and deserves a shot.

Sean Armstrong was also impressive in last years club games. Could really add something to that team if he can get back to inter county pace.

Big opportunities for the likes of day, Cooke and mannion in the next few matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,024 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Former legend Val Daly's son Michael is the great white hope for later this year probably, very exciting player. You'd have hopes for Army coming back in obviously, and Cooke has always been well touted. Defence looks set enough but you'd expect Duane to be strongly pushing for a place somewhere. Looks like a nice bit of depth and competition this year, in stark contrast to last year. Especially when the Corofin lads come back in

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Former legend Val Daly's son Michael is the great white hope for later this year probably, very exciting player. You'd have hopes for Army coming back in obviously, and Cooke has always been well touted. Defence looks set enough but you'd expect Duane to be strongly pushing for a place somewhere. Looks like a nice bit of depth and competition this year, in stark contrast to last year. Especially when the Corofin lads come back in

God, I dont know about that. Kyne (despite all star nomination) was badly shown up in the league last year and against Tipp. I think Walsh should look at putting in somebody else there for the league, even if it is just to challenge for the number 3 spot. I like Gary O'Donnell but I think that number 6 could be up for grabs too. David Wynne also has to improve on last year's performances. If Cathal Sweeney got fit again and back to his form of 2 years ago, be nice to see him back in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,024 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

I agree on Kyne to an extent. Had 3 excellent games in championship but obviously a couple of stinkers. Can see him keeping his place though. Dont agree whatsoever on O'Donnell. He's been one of our best, most consistent players for about 4 years and one of the only experienced leaders. He's the last player on that defence i'd drop

Wasn't great along with the rest of them v Tipp tho'. HF line looks poor enough for tomorrow.

I do like O'Donnell. I think his place could be under threat though. Kieran Molloy could certainly claim a spot in the half back line if he continues his club form. Then with so many new options in the forwards, it would not be too surprising to see Heaney moved back to 7. I like O'Donnell and he's done well. However I'm expecting a little bit of experimentation in that half back line. I probably wouldn't drop him either but it wouldn't be a huge surprise to me to see him having a fight on for his place. If I remember correctly, last year liam silke played more at centre back than O'Donnell (but nobody seemed to notice). So it's the likes of Heaney, molloy, Bradshaw etc. he'll be competing against. It is good to have this kind of competition though.

MfMan wrote: »
    Wasn't great along with the rest of them v Tipp tho'. HF line looks poor enough for tomorrow.

Thomas Flynn is no centre forward anyway, and Heaney doesn't offer much of a scoring threat either. Be interesting to see what Cooke can do though.

Overall I wouldn't expect more than about 6 of this team to be starting in the Summer, but hopefully a few of the new faces and fringe players give Walsh something to think about. Although some people have little time for these pre-season competitions I think they provide a good opportunity to have a look at a few new players and see what they can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Michael Daly was exceptional today,class act.Dread the thought of us facing him later in the year.

Peter Cooke was the standout player in the corresponding fixture last year,I'd expect he'll turn into a top class player.

Galway have an embarrassment of riches up front with the Corofin lads including Michael Lundy and of course Shane Walsh and Damian Comer.

seligehgit wrote: »
    Michael Daly was exceptional today,class act.Dread the thought of us facing him later in the year.

Peter Cooke was the standout player in the corresponding fixture last year,I'd expect he'll turn into a top class player.

Galway have an embarrassment of riches up front with the Corofin lads including Michael Lundy and of course Shane Walsh and Damian Comer.

Daly is a good player alright but there have been questions over his temperament. In club games, he is often targeted (as Mountbellews main man) and it seems to have an effect on him. He gets wound up too easily.

Galway do have a top class forward line. Going into the summer, I am guessing it could be a forward line:

Sice
    Walsh
    Lundy
    Brannigan
    Comer
    Armstrong

If Ian Burke could bring in his Corofin form, then he could get a place. Same with Michael Farragher. Then, you have Danny Cummins who did well last year. Barry McHugh is going well at the moment and may emerge from the FBD as a contender for a place. And the aforementioned Michael Daly & Peter Cooke. Some really serious options in our forward line. Mayo would absolutely love some of the forwards that we have. It is number 1 - 9 where we will struggle. Our 1 - 9 v Mayo's 1 - 9 and Mayo are far better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,555 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

seligehgit wrote: »

Here's the thing. Under Kevin Walsh Galway are massively underachieving. With the players they have they should be challenging at division 1 level. However under current management they still remain there for the taking

I wouldn't rule out anything as regards Galway this year . It should be competitivev on all fronts but until they have there full hand to pick with ....anything can happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭RobbieRuns

Daly is a good player alright but there have been questions over his temperament. In club games, he is often targeted (as Mountbellews main man) and it seems to have an effect on him. He gets wound up too easily.

Galway do have a top class forward line. Going into the summer, I am guessing it could be a forward line:

Sice
    Walsh
    Lundy
    Brannigan
    Comer
    Armstrong

If Ian Burke could bring in his Corofin form, then he could get a place. Same with Michael Farragher. Then, you have Danny Cummins who did well last year. Barry McHugh is going well at the moment and may emerge from the FBD as a contender for a place. And the aforementioned Michael Daly & Peter Cooke. Some really serious options in our forward line. Mayo would absolutely love some of the forwards that we have. It is number 1 - 9 where we will struggle. Our 1 - 9 v Mayo's 1 - 9 and Mayo are far better.

So you would drop Danny Cummins who was fantastic last year, banging in goals when we needed them. One of the few who did not let his standards drop v Tipp. Got an All Star nomination for his performances..... and you would put in a returning player in his thirties who abandoned the cause and has had a few good club games. Nothing like keeping harmony in the camp with all those players who trained hard to win a Connacht title.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

At least Army had an excellent club run but Lundy definitely shouldn't be in a side ahead of Danny. Lundy had a fantastic breakthrough year but didn't carry that form. Danny is far more consistent than Shane Walsh too.

That I'd agree with. Shane Walshe for all his talent has not really performed with any consistency and has a tendency to go missing in games.

Danny was excellent last year. He always gave great effort and work-rate but was lacking in end product, but he improved that part of his game greatly and was one of our better players in 2016.

My idea of a forward line would be similiar to TCDStudent only I'd have Cummins in ahead of Armstrong. And maybe Armstrong himself coming into the starting team if Walshe doesn't up his game.

There's no doubt we have some good options in the forward line and we're not too bad at midfield either but it's the backs you'd worry about. At the moment we basically don't have a full back line of intercounty standard.

That I'd agree with. Shane Walshe for all his talent has not really performed with any consistency and has a tendency to go missing in games.

Danny was excellent last year. He always gave great effort and work-rate but was lacking in end product, but he improved that part of his game greatly and was one of our better players in 2016.

My idea of a forward line would be similiar to TCDStudent only I'd have Cummins in ahead of Armstrong. And maybe Armstrong himself coming into the starting team if Walshe doesn't up his game.

There's no doubt we have some good options in the forward line and we're not too bad at midfield either but it's the backs you'd worry about. At the moment we basically don't have a full back line of intercounty standard.

Or half-back line either. There's no world-class defenders in Galway football anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Or half-back line either. There's no world-class defenders in Galway football anymore.
    Lack of a top class goalkeeper also. The current number one is accident waiting to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,030 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Reading a Damien Comer interview there the last day and he seemed to blame the defeat to Tipp on Galway going away from the served them well against Mayo and Roscommon. They pushed out more and left the full-back line exposed and a physically small full-back line was taken to the cleaners by two big men inside in Quinlivan and Sweeney who scored 3-6 between them.

Interesting to see how Galway go this year. By rights they should be even better this year as they have a number of players available that they didn't have last year (Lundy, Duane, O'Curraoin and Armstrong). A number of talented young players that could make the breakthrough but should at the very least add more depth to the squad (Daly, Cooke, McHugh, etc). Every year is different though so no guarantees that they even retain their Connacht title.

Loads of options in the forwards and midfield but maybe short a couple of defenders still. Especially in the full-back line.

I think we need to be realistic about what the footballers can achieve. There's a bit more depth but if you were to select players who'd make any of the top teams in the country I don't see too many. First target for me as it has been for a few years is that we really need to make a sustained push for promotion from Division 2 which we haven't done since about 2012. I know it didn't benefit Roscommon last year but longer term Division 1 is definitely better preparation for the big tests than messing around in division 2.

We've 4 games at home. Cork is the first one. Cork are probably the best team in the division but you never know where they're at really. Apart from that Meath have big expectations and we're playing them away. No easy games but nothing out of reach either. We've been so inconsistent throughout the league the last few years with form varying wildly even within games.

We're a small bit better in the half back area, with Gary O'Donnell, Bradshaw, Liam Silke. Johnny Heaney could do a job there too, and Paul Varley. Not amazing but better than what we have in the full back line, which is basically nothing.

We've 4 games at home. Cork is the first one. Cork are probably the best team in the division but you never know where they're at really. Apart from that Meath have big expectations and we're playing them away. No easy games but nothing out of reach either. We've been so inconsistent throughout the league the last few years with form varying wildly even within games.

Cork don't tend to perform that well in the league especially in the earlier rounds so I wouldn't fear them. In this division every game is winnable and losable in almost equal measure. What's been sorely lacking the last couple of years is consistency, as you've said the level of performance has varied so much even within games never mind game to game. There's a lack of composure, a lack of leadership and a lack of confidence when a game starts to go against them.

We're a small bit better in the half back area, with Gary O'Donnell, Bradshaw, Liam Silke. Johnny Heaney could do a job there too, and Paul Varley. Not amazing but better than what we have in the full back line, which is basically nothing.

Cork don't tend to perform that well in the league especially in the earlier rounds so I wouldn't fear them. In this division every game is winnable and losable in almost equal measure. What's been sorely lacking the last couple of years is consistency, as you've said the level of performance has varied so much even within games never mind game to game. There's a lack of composure, a lack of leadership and a lack of confidence when a game starts to go against them.

Cathal Sweeney was superb 2 years ago. Very tigerish corner back. Eoghan Kerin did fairly well last year too.

But it is the line that is definitely a huge weakness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Not so long ago Cork were the best league team winning many titles in a short space of time.

Nowadays they have no consistency in the league as shown last year by hammering Mayo in round 1 only to get hammered by Roscommon in round 3.