Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

What a rubbish second half, the decision making, execution and control from most of the players was rubbish.
    Jack Carr gets a chance to win it and instead of advancing the ball a few feet before striking he just hit it tamely straight away.

Ffs what a farce of a year in the small ball.

Take the seniors out of that team and theyd have struggled against most.
    Flynn from the seniors was woeful though.

First of all fair play to Wexford, an up and coming side and that win meant a lot to them.

From a Galway point of view, shambolic final 22-23 minutes for Galway. Something like 2 points scored and completely lost our shape. Started the 2nd half well and looked in a good position but as usual with Galway in all codes instead of driving on, we started messing around, missing silly chances and giving up handy frees to bring Wexford into it. As the half progressed we completely lost our shape and started taking pot shots from out the field. Was critical of the backs in the first half but they did as much as they could in the 2nd half. Bad decision making, loss of shape and key players going missing really cost us.

There needs to be a massive change in Galway hurling over the winter, seniors, intermediates and u21 all melted from strong positions when in control and the minor side was the worst I've ever seen representing Galway. This isn't meant to diss anyone's time or effort but this fluting around can't continue. More and more sides are passing us out. Galway hammered a lot of this Wexford side at minor a couple of years back. Wexford are a good side but I reckon Clare will blow them out of the water which really shows how far back Galway are when a number of this team are in or around our senior team.

Things are only going to get worse if radical changes are not made from the top down in the coming months. I know in my heart and soul we are in for more of the same old sh1t for the coming years though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,582 ✭✭✭MfMan

Eanna Burke is having a nightmare

More and more I'm starting to get fed up of the Thomas' lads, they look soft and seem to play for themselves. Burke came more into the match in the second half but spoiled his work with stupid snatched wides. A lot of the Senior lads, bar Jason Flynn, showed well and the defence got better and better as the game went on. Hanbury in particular has been playing good hurling this year and could be the makings of a good 'un if he's brought along properly. A couple of silly, messing-about mistakes cost us points against a sharp Wexford attack and the goalie looked dodgy. Have to say too that Cathal Mannion looks the real deal; skillful, two-sided, quick and most importantly has the composure to make the correct use of possession, whether it's scoring or a pass to a teammate in space. I hope he'll be a mainstay for us in midfield for the next decade.

As much as anything, it was probably the extra games that pulled WX through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭T0001

Impressed with Johnny Glynn in the Half-Forward line. If he had some decent runners would be dangerous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Anthony Daly has stepped down as Dublin manager and rumours he could be on his way to Gaillimh.

There is the makings of a good team in Galway, but ye need to find a settled full back and center back. At least youth got a chance this year. Get rid of David Collins, his day is done. I think some good defensive coaching is required. Ye need at least one more midfielder too.

But there is plenty of potential up the other end, it's a case of coaxing the best out of them. Would be nice to see ye win something, would rather see Galway win then Clare (and the big 3 unquestionably) especially if Daly was in charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

Anthony Daly has stepped down as Dublin manager and rumours he could be on his way to Gaillimh.

There is the makings of a good team in Galway, but ye need to find a settled full back and center back. At least youth got a chance this year. Get rid of David Collins, his day is done. I think some good defensive coaching is required. Ye need at least one more midfielder too.

But there is plenty of potential up the other end, it's a case of coaxing the best out of them. Would be nice to see ye win something, would rather see Galway win then Clare (and the big 3 unquestionably) especially if Daly was in charge.

I'm not 100% convinced about Daly but I really don't think Cunningham is up to the job so for that reason I'd be happy to give daly a chance.
    We have a decent enough core group of players I'd say but we defintley aren't quiet good enough and even our much vaunted underage success had dried up a lot over the past couple of years.

However daly did decently with Dublin and I really think we have better hurlers than them so who knows what daly might be able to do with us.

Also I'm going to presume you don't watch much Galway hurling games if you hold that opinion on Collins? Or if you do watch them then you don't really have a great knowledge of the game.

Collins has been consistently a very solid performer for us over the years and in the year just gone he was again one of our most dependable players. I guarantee that if we can reach a stage where we have 6 backs better than Collins then we'll be very close to winning that all Ireland. That man has at least 2 more years in him in the county jersey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

I'm not 100% convinced about Daly but I really don't think Cunningham is up to the job so for that reason I'd be happy to give daly a chance.
    We have a decent enough core group of players I'd say but we defintley aren't quiet good enough and even our much vaunted underage success had dried up a lot over the past couple of years.

However daly did decently with Dublin and I really think we have better hurlers than them so who knows what daly might be able to do with us.

Also I'm going to presume you don't watch much Galway hurling games if you hold that opinion on Collins? Or if you do watch them then you don't really have a great knowledge of the game.

Collins has been consistently a very solid performer for us over the years and in the year just gone he was again one of our most dependable players. I guarantee that if we can reach a stage where we have 6 backs better than Collins then we'll be very close to winning that all Ireland. That man has at least 2 more years in him in the county jersey

Lad, he was about 20 yards off his man time and again versus Kilkenny the firs day.

Daly did a great job with his own County and a team I wouldn't have considered great myself either. Think he can certainly improve Galway and he'd be a manager who I would consider capable of winning an all ireland, it will be a real indicator I think if Galway have the players.

Lad, he was about 20 yards off his man time and again versus Kilkenny the firs day.

Daly did a great job with his own County and a team I wouldn't have considered great myself either. Think he can certainly improve Galway and he'd be a manager who I would consider capable of winning an all ireland, it will be a real indicator I think if Galway have the players.

Anyone can have a bad day but I guarantee you we've a lot bigger problems than Davey Collins.

It looks like it's daly now anyways so we'll just have to see how it goes. His Dublin teams generally were strong in the air, very physically strong and generally played with a fairly defensive approach.
    Now how much of that is down to his own personal philosophy and how much is down to it being a case of that it was just down to the players he had available is hard to know.

The dubs were defintley better than us in those 3 areas but I feel we have better forwards than then aswell as just having more skilful players overall, so if he can bring the strengths of his Dublin teams to us then we could be on to a winner but that's a huge if

Anyone can have a bad day but I guarantee you we've a lot bigger problems than Davey Collins.

It looks like it's daly now anyways so we'll just have to see how it goes. His Dublin teams generally were strong in the air, very physically strong and generally played with a fairly defensive approach.
    Now how much of that is down to his own personal philosophy and how much is down to it being a case of that it was just down to the players he had available is hard to know.

The dubs were defintley better than us in those 3 areas but I feel we have better forwards than then aswell as just having more skilful players overall, so if he can bring the strengths of his Dublin teams to us then we could be on to a winner but that's a huge if

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭h2005

Funny time to single Collins out. The season gone was one of his best in a Galway jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

h2005 wrote: »
    Funny time to single Collins out. The season gone was one of his best in a Galway jersey.

I'd second that. I saw him play four times against KK this year and he played well in all four.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,826 ✭✭✭threeball

How is it that we have the shillings to fork out for Daly yet don't have a penny for the footballers even though it was the hurling board who ****ed our finances. We don't even need to change the hurling manager right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

We don't and that's why Cunningham gets another year IMO. There'd be war (well, more than usual)if the footballers get undercut again despite making more progress than the hurlers on the big stage.

I'd imagine any outside manager brought in (in either code) will be paid for mostly by a supporters trust or wealthy supporters not by the county board.

Hopefully the Comer brothers have a fondness for Iarla Tannian :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,024 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

I'd imagine any outside manager brought in (in either code) will be paid for mostly by a supporters trust or wealthy supporters not by the county board.

Tasty and tempting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

After that game today how far behind are the hurlers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,582 ✭✭✭MfMan

I said wrote: »
    After that game today how far behind are the hurlers

A very long way behind. Yet, 2 years ago they drew with a KK team nearer to their prime. AI finals are for one year, not eternity.

What are hurlers are missing is competition. I mean, seriously, what Galway man would have the balls to take off Joe Canning if he was having a bad day?? He was poor v Laoi this year and should have been hauled ashore but the manager team lacked the conviction required to do so.

Similarly Iarla Tannion with respect to him goes down with cramp after 55-60 minutes 90% of the time. Surely he would be best kept and brought in as a sub late in the first half/halt time and be able to play in the crucial closing minutes.

A strong management team is also required. Even if the money isn’t there to pay them surely there must be people around the county who would volunteer to coach each section i.e. forwards, backs, goalies.

Someone from outside the hurling ‘circle’ would be ideal, but whoever get’s the job needed to come in with a no nonsense attitude and not be afraid to make the hard decisions.

In general we are a long way behind and have huge issues to rectify at all levels within the county, thinking otherwise is deluded but having said that we had that Tipp side on the ropes in Thurles at the beginning of July but as usual failed to drive home our advantage and were swamped in the final quarter. Its no use talking now but having won that Tipp were able to build against limited opposition to get to the level they were at today.

The intensity today was huge and it was a memorable occasion but its not like 2009/2010 where Kilkenny and Tipp are miles out in front. There isn't much between most teams. The bar keeps rising. How Galway react over the winter will decide whether we can keep ourselves in the chasing pack or whether we will continue to slide away from the top table.

My main concern would be further down the food chain at underage level where we have produced a number of poor sides at minor and u21 in recent years.

On this issue, it was said that the new manager would be from Galway by the County Secretary but have heard a lot of rumours over the last number of days that the job is Anthony Daly's. I amn't in the know so don't know if there is any truth in them. Wouldn't be my ideal choice but given the list of candidates put forward for the job would probably be the best option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭TheCoolWay

In general we are a long way behind and have huge issues to rectify at all levels within the county, thinking otherwise is deluded but having said that we had that Tipp side on the ropes in Thurles at the beginning of July but as usual failed to drive home our advantage and were swamped in the final quarter. Its no use talking now but having won that Tipp were able to build against limited opposition to get to the level they were at today.

The intensity today was huge and it was a memorable occasion but its not like 2009/2010 where Kilkenny and Tipp are miles out in front. There isn't much between most teams. The bar keeps rising. How Galway react over the winter will decide whether we can keep ourselves in the chasing pack or whether we will continue to slide away from the top table.

My main concern would be further down the food chain at underage level where we have produced a number of poor sides at minor and u21 in recent years.

On this issue, it was said that the new manager would be from Galway by the County Secretary but have heard a lot of rumours over the last number of days that the job is Anthony Daly's. I amn't in the know so don't know if there is any truth in them. Wouldn't be my ideal choice but given the list of candidates put forward for the job would probably be the best option.

Not what I've been hearing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

TheCoolWay wrote: »

Do go on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

TheCoolWay wrote: »

Yes enlighten us

Footballer manager nominations will be announced at lunchtime.

Kevin Walsh and Pete Warren announced as the nominees for the Football Manager position.

Co-managers maybe?

T0001 wrote: »
    Kevin Walsh and Pete Warren announced as the nominees for the Football Manager position.

Co-managers maybe?

Doubt either manager would go for that and personally wouldn't want it. The lack of candidates reflects what's thought of the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,023 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Doubt either manager would go for that and personally wouldn't want it. The lack of candidates reflects what's thought of the job.

I dont think that's the case at all. A top 7-12 team thats very young and has room to improve, with a fanbase that expects little at present and a good club scene to work with. It's been obvious they wanted someone from inside the county from the start