Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Enda Kenny - the Taoiseach that we need or spineless gimp?

• 07-02-2011 9:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭

Its probably both, but I just can't understand how this guy got elected to the Dail, not to mention to the top post in one of main political parties.
    Although I think what Vincent Browne said about him was out of order, Kenny should have turned up for the debate, made a point of rebuking Browne for his remarks and gotten stuck into Martin and Gilmore.
    But no. His party throw a blanket over his head and he runs for cover...again.
    This, is whats going to represent us in the international arena over the next few years.
    Heaven help us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭nosey rosie

Gimp, in answer to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Ali Babba

He should have gone when he got the chance, i'd probably vote FG if he wasn't leading the party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Well I'll be the first to admit that politics mostly flies right over my head, so I avoid political discussion.

However my impressions of Kenny, and these are not just formed recently, is of a spineless gimp, devoid of any human emotion or charactor.

FG probably thought 'we have this in the bag, lets counter punch and don't do anything stupid & we're there' - but this whole VB thing has blown up in Enda's face and makes him look like a coward running from the big boys, and I think people are concerned now that he'll be eaten alive on both the national and international stage now.

He's coming across very weak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Spineless Gimp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

I'm hoping 8-10 months after he takes office, his own party will oust him.

I think I can manage to put up with the dweeb for about that long.

Thanks Biko.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

He's fine gael, hope he doesn't get the votes :D

RichieC wrote: »
    He's fine gael, hope he gets struck by a car.

See this is the kind of stupid sh*t that gets threads locked, and I'm not back seat mod'ing either - it works across the board.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Nice loaded question OP :rolleyes:

More idiotic rabble-rabble garbage.

/AH mode on

DURR DEY SHUD ALL DIE IN A FIRE ALONG WITH DE BANXERS DERP

/AH mode off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭SnowY32

Enda Kenny is a freak i dont want him as Taoiseach so the wealthy blueshirt elite wont be getting my vote:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭black & white

I don't have any great time for Inda but it's a change to see a politician not allowing TV or papers to call the shots. The other meeja are all jumping up and down because if this catches on, some of them will not get the access they think they are entitled to. Just finished reading Peter Mandlesons autobiography and it's frightening to read the influence media (particularly Murdoch's crowd) had over the Blair and Brown governments.

Fine Gael leader Enda Kenny has confirmed that proposals will be included in the party's election manifesto to provide for the abolition of Irish as a compulsory subject in the Leaving Certificate examination.

Conservative shower of cnuts:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭enfield

Enda had his chance with the head to head with Bertie when he bottled it at the last election. If FG chose another leader I would give my votes to them but if they choose a leader like this what chance is there for the future of the country. I wrote a letter to Enda six weeks ago before the election was on the horizon regarding remembering the Irishmen who died in ww1 and the disinterest the last government and our own President have in it. He did not answer me, so I emailed him saying can I have an answer please, still not reply. If he or his party does not communicate before an election what chance is there that they will do so when they get elected?
    Evil flourishes where good men do nothing. As Mary Black? sang 'Is no word from you at all the best that you can do?'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

He's a diva. He knows he's probably going to be Taoiseach anyway so he doesn't seem to give a ****. I don't think he'll be a good Taoiseach - I hate to judge him before he even gets the job but all I have to go on is what he gives us and here we are.

It's not like anything will have changed in a monts time. We're just swapping Eurasia for Eastasia. Let's see how he handles himself when the full weight of the vitriol Cowen's been getting is turned on him. Hopefully he'll have manned up a bit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

SnowY32 wrote: »
    Fine Gael leader Enda Kenny has confirmed that proposals will be included in the party's election manifesto to provide for the abolition of Irish as a compulsory subject in the Leaving Certificate examination.

Really? Gets my vote then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Richard Bruton would be a far better Taoiseach.

Seriously, have you got a link to that?.

Great idea.

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Great idea.

Why?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

In the fine tradtion of Irish Taoiseachs (Taoisighí?) can't he be both?

See this is the kind of stupid sh*t that gets threads locked, and I'm not back seat mod'ing either - it works across the board.

well i didnt think it was that bad, tbh, I will withdraw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Grasshoppa

There's an AH thread just started on it.

Enda's not only coming across as a spineless gimp, but now on his third excuse as to why he won't participate, he's coming across as a lying spineless gimp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭thomasm

Spineless gimp

Why?.

I'm not in favour of abolishing it completely, but I'm in favour of restructuring it. Learning Irish poetry for the Leaving was ridiculous. Why should it affect my future the way it currently is? Same could be said about English.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0207/election_tracker.html

Ya he said it on RnaG this morning, the election tracker on rte is the only thing i can see it mentioned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭gerryo777

Maybe we need a boring, uninteresting guy at the helm.
    God knows fianna fail gave us such great personalities as haughey, ahern, mccrevvey, cowen etc and they did wonders for our country, didn't they???

gerryo777 wrote: »
    such great personalities as haughey, ahern, mccrevvey, cowen etc and they did wonders for our country, didn't they???

Haha I've seen more personality in a goldfish ffs same can be said with Kenny!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭gerryo777

Sarcasm, snowy32, sarcasm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

He's not spineless.. it takes balls to make a ****** joke in public.. he's just a cnut

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

Any smidgen of respect that I had for Enda Kenny has been eroded by him refusing to go on Vincent Browne. What a cowardly drip of a man. No thanks.

Our last Taoiseach was an arrogant arsehole. Is there no happy medium?

Personally, I really like Eamon Gilmore and would love to see him get the job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

For those saying spineless, were you happier with a back slapping, "how are the hard-working men", good with the media, some say charismatic and pretty good at debates former leader?
    They wouldn't have turned down the debate and would probably have won it.

The debate on TV3 will be nothing but scripted answers prepared by media consultants and who can shout over everyone else.

Fair play to him for backing out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭barbiegirl

He's spineless and when you look at the bullying from Europe at the moment from France and Germany he is NOT the man to lead the country as he will roll over, sign us up for centralised corporation tax system and then any hope we have of getting out of this mess is gone. This election is about more than just punishing anyone, it is about plans to get us back on our feet, an ability to be a proper states person on the world stage and creating some element of trust. Enda is a spineless gimp of the finest order, and fails across the board.
    Problem is Fine Gael are not listening and still see him as the golden child.
    All the parties are so bad it's not a matter of choosing the best, but rather the least offensive person to lead the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

For those saying spineless, were you happier with a back slapping, "how are the hard-working men", good
    with the media, some say charismatic and pretty good at debates former leader?

The debate on TV3 will be nothing but scripted answers prepared by media consultants and who can shout over everyone else.

It is obvious that there hasn't been too many TV debates before going by the talk on here. If anyone bothered to watch the UK election debates last year, you could easily see that all they were all controlled by the media, and a shouting match.

Enda Kenny isn't a good speaker, we all know that, and by not going on, he is saving himself from some his weaknesses. Nothing wrong with that is there? How will debating save this country? It won't.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

He's a gimp in a party full of gimps. Fianna Fail mark 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

For those saying spineless, were you happier with a back slapping, "how are the hard-working men", good with the media, some say charismatic and pretty good at debates former leader?

That's a load of ****. As a prospective leader of the country he should be prepared to take part in debates with other party leaders regardless of how futile the debate may be. The fact that he's shying away from them isn't exactly going to instil a sense of confidence in voters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,663 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

That's a load of ****. As a prospective leader of the country he should be prepared to take part in debates with other party leaders regardless of how futile the debate may be. The fact that he's shying away from them isn't exactly going to instil a sense of confidence in voters.

Agree. It just makes him look even more silly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

Enda Kenny isn't a good speaker, we all know that, and by not going on, he is saving himself from some his weaknesses. Nothing wrong with that is there? How will debating save this country? It won't.

That's the point though... As a leader, he SHOULD be a good public speaker. It's part of the job. And if he can't do it, he shouldn't get the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,663 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

F***ing eejits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

He's lost my vote over this, I would only have been a reluctant FG voter anyway.

Labour and an Independant have picked up my vote now instead.

Enda comes accross as amateur and this episode of stage fright proved beyond any doubt that he will be a pi$$ poor taoiseach.

He looks wishy washy and he is wishy washy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Until now, I felt that people who said Enda Kenny was a liability were being unfair.

But the man, and his party, are like the mid table football team who suddenly find themselves at the top of the table with 1 match to go. And they don't know how to handle it so they shooting themselves in the foot by scoring a series of own-goals.

Besides the interview issue with Browne, the party's plan to make Gaeilge optional for the leaving cert has guaranteed that no Fine Gael candidate will ever get a vote from me.

Also, the cheap, opportunistic drivel that they're spouting about taking cars off former taoisigh and looking into abolishing the senate are populist cheap, bandwagonry tactics.

Let me ask Mr. Kenny this: if he is so concerned with saving the country money,

a. why didn't he come up with these ideas before the public started getting upset about them? and...

b. how does he explain €676,745.95 in salary and expenses between 2005 and 2008. That's an average of €225,000 per year therby making his expenses claim to be more than his salary as a TD.

c. how does he expalin being the 4th highest claimant in 2003?
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/td-claimed-91300-expenses-last-year-207486.html

d. how does he explain having over-claimed and being sent a letter regarding that by the oireachtas committe governing such?
    http://www.tribune.ie/article/2010/nov/14/eight-tds-and-senators-queried-on-overclaiming-exp/

e. how does he explain trying to get away without repaying limousine costs of c. €3000 in London?
    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/ireland/article6889004.ece

Fine Gael claim to be squeaky clean and that Fianna Fáil are the dirty ones. They're all dirty if you ask me.

If you vote Fine Gael cause you think they're the goodies and FF are the baddies, then you are wearing blinkers.

Can't stand either and to be honest I've lost all hope this this country and I'm not even sure if I could be bothered to vote. Looking at the candidates in my constituency, the heart despairs.

One thing for sure though, if I do vote, it won't be for FG or FF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭papajimsmooth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

I'm going to side with Enda as much as it pains me too type that:o

Does the man have much charisma, no.

But i wouldn't call him spineless he took over a FG party in disarray after the 2002 elections and re-organised it from the grass roots up. He faced down a heave against him in the party when everyone thought he would be defeated and won. Do we as a country want somebody that can organise and control his party in government or somebody who gets on great in a kitchen cupboard or on the telly.

Eamon Gilmore - might as well be Joe Duffy all showmanship with no real substance.
    Gerry Adams - imagine sending him to the white house on paddys day:eek:
    Michael Martin - leader of a party who has brought economic ruin to this country!
    John Gormoly - Doesnt ever seem to know whats going on and will be leader of party that may not exist after the election, see P.D.'s destruction for how this will play out.

BTW Kenny is right not to appear on VB that man is in an idiot, seriously who gave him a bloody TV show:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Gerry Adams - imagine sending him to the white house on paddys day

He's already been there....

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

But i wouldn't call him spineless he took over a FG party in disarray after the 2002 elections and re-organised it from the grass roots up. He faced down a heave against him in the party when everyone thought he would be defeated and won. Do we as a country want somebody that can organise and control his party in government or somebody who gets on great in a kitchen cupboard or on the telly.
    LOL

Brian Cowen also faced down a heave against him when everyone thought he would be defeated and won.

Do you honestly think that FG are any different to FF?

He's not spineless.. it takes balls to make a ****** joke in public.. he's just a cnut

Didn't hear about this... I feel **** for withdrawing my wish for him to be struck by a car now :C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭Up-n-atom!

Enda's a gimp, and many other things...

And nevermind his policies, I'm finding his hair really distracting these days - it seems to get more Donald Trump every time I see him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭sanbrafyffe

well didnt richard bruton challenge him a few moths ago for the leadership and lost heavily so enda kenny must ave something when more than the majority of his party voted for him to lead the party.he mite not be the best talker but maybe he has it up there.so all mite not be too bad when he gets elected.anyway look at the mess he has to sort out from ff.
    I'm hoping 8-10 months after he takes office, his own party will oust him.

I think I can manage to put up with the dweeb for about that long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

He's already been there....

I meant as Taoiseach.
    cournioni wrote: »
    LOL

Brian Cowen also faced down a heave against him when everyone thought he would be defeated and won.

Do you honestly think that FG are any different to FF?

Brian Cowen faced down his leadership contest and did you see what happened after that! Ya big difference.

Yes i do think FG are different to Fianna Fail. I would like to see Richard Bruton as Finance Minister which i think will happen if FG get into power and James o'Reilly would make a good health minister, two areas that need huge improvment.

Dont get me wrong I know FG arent perfect and neither is Enda Kenny but then again no politician in the world is going to please everybody all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

kraggy wrote: »
    b. how does he explain €676,745.95 in salary and expenses between 2005 and 2008. That's an average of €225,000 per year therby making his expenses claim to be more than his salary as a TD.

You said that the figure is for both his salary and expenses. So obviously the combination of the two will be greater than his salary..

c. how does he expalin being the 4th highest claimant in 2003?
    I'd assume it'd make sense that the leader of the opposition incurs greater expenses than the typical TD.

d. how does he explain having over-claimed and being sent a letter regarding that by the oireachtas committe governing such?
    http://www.tribune.ie/article/2010/nov/14/eight-tds-and-senators-queried-on-overclaiming-exp/

Not really enough info in the article to start crying controversy.
    e. how does he explain trying to get away without repaying limousine costs of c. €3000 in London?
    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/ireland/article6889004.ece

It was explained in the article the exact reasons why the party initially felt that the bill wasn't their responsibility.

The way people go on you'd swear that Enda Kenny was a pedophile or something. The media has ruined his reputation. He has no skeletons in the closet. He has never given reasons for someone to suspect him of being a bad person. He lacks charisma - that's it. Sure there's probably others in FG who would make better leaders, but the policies would be largely the same regardless of who is in charge and would have the same effect on your life. Enda Kenny's lack of charisma doesn't change that.

A lot of FG TDs felt that Enda Kenny deserved a chance as Taoiseach. If he's not performing he'll be booted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Until now, I felt that people who said Enda Kenny was a liability were being unfair.

One thing for sure though, if I do vote, it won't be for FG or FF.

Not just you, if someone doesn't vote, they have no business complaining, praising or commenting at all on the government.