Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RAG Week Line Up Revealed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭therealmccoy

Which is?

Its for charity blah blah blah (Change the record) :cool:

Im not saying the week shouldnt be about raising money for charity, clearly saying that on-top-of-what-they-are-already-doing they could organise a big high profile event coving costs which provide extra entertainment for students. Please explain your issues with this suggestion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭iseegirls

Myself and lots of friends wouldnt mind paying €10-15 for a ticket to a well known act, and id say most others wouldnt, except we get charged a fiver for all these naff "DJs" *cough*4play djs*cough* and novelty acts *cough*hardy bucks*cough*

You go on about wanting Rubberbandits, and then you say you don't want novelty acts? :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭Charlie Haughy

iseegirls wrote: »
    You go on about wanting Rubberbandits, and then you say you don't want novelty acts? :pac:
    Rubberbandits are actually really funny live and actually talented lads, I saw them live about a year ago. Hardy bucks are not, that show on RTE was cringe worthy. Oh well, ill just have to save some money next week and head up to another rag week on the week off as nothing really interests me on the line up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

It's a very good point raised about other venues. I have no doubt that they would raise a lot of money if they collaborated with the likes of the Forum but I've said it time and time again that WITSU's exclusive deal with Harvey's is bad for students and bad for other businesses in Waterford.

For example, I'm going to the IADT Rag Week soon and they have a lineup that includes The Heathers and The Rubber Bandits - and this is from a college that isn't remotely near the same size as us yet they'll raise their money because they're collaborating with larger venues that they will pack!

The deal with Harveys is terrible for students. Why should there by any deal in place? Work all pubs/club (that are left in the city) and try maximise profits with them. The rag ball last year in Revs, Escape was a great success because it gave a variety of music in 4 different venues in the same location. But AFAIK following a disagreement with the owner of Revs/Escape it is no longer an option. Im astonished that there is no arrangement with Forum tbh! They would also have contacts with top comedy acts and provide a perfect arena for it as a previous poster said the sounding in the College Hall is terrible!

I see Mr Doyle, President of WITSU has locked himself in a box for two days. Certainly a novel way of raising money. Not so good if you need the Unions help with something urgently, especially with other members of the Sabbat team unavailable..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭tramoreman

rubberbandits are actually rubbish they played in the venue in tramore last sat week and played for only 50 mins i heard dont know if its true or not that they charged 7k for 50 mins where the beardy man last friday night played for 1 and a half hour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭FrankieMul

Why are other members of the union not available! Seems like a quiet Rag week compared to other years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭Sparkles:)

rubberbandits = 8000€

money raised from skydive = 8000€

yeah great idea,

one college made a LOSS of 20k when they had tinchy strider last year...

I am having a great week as is everyone ive been talking to! and loadsa people got into micky joe!

i wouldnt pay to see rubberbandits, tinchy strider! now imma go back to the dome, sing along to paddy casey and go out to harveys tonight and have a laugh with my friends and raise money for charity...

rubberbandits = 8000€

yeah great idea,

I am having a great week as is everyone ive been talking to! and loadsa people got into micky joe!

i wouldnt pay to see rubberbandits, tinchy strider! now imma go back to the dome, sing along to paddy casey and go out to harveys tonight and have a laugh with my friends and raise money for charity...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Musicman2000

Sparkles:) wrote: »
    rubberbandits = 8000€

yeah great idea,

I wouldnt pay €2.00 to see the Rubberbandits, Saw them that night in Tramore complete rubbish. They are milking it while they can with thoese prices, they will be forgotten about in the next few months

rubberbandits = 8000€

yeah great idea,

I agree with u that I wouldnt pay a cent to see the Flubberbandits, and the organisation that lost 20k for Tinchy Strider must have been shockingly bad.

But Il ask you a question.. on top of what the SU have organised already for charity why not hold a major concert with a top act where they simply cover the costs for the event?

Could be held in the forum, which is the largest venue in town. Forum would have given a great deal/ if not for free knowing its rag week (they would make their money from the bar) top act 10-15k.

Capacity at forum roughly 600-700? Open to correction on that, but even at that the SU could cover their costs by sellin tickets approx €20.
    I always hear students maoning about prices too high, but i guarantee you that if you have a top name band from the Irish/British scene people would be willing to pay for it!

This would bring in the same revenue for the SU for the charities but also give students a great night out without incurring a loss.

Seems like the SU took the lazy way out this year..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I did enjoy the week all in all, but I agree they should have more deals than just Harveys. It'd make more money for a start and give more variety rather than just constantly hearing about what's going on in Harvey's - which I don't really like that much anyway.

nah i'm not big on harveys either anymore... tho i was there last night and had such a laugh, that may have been my own sobriety encouraging me to watch drunk people fall...

with regards the big named act, i couldnt afford a tenner for neil delamare, someone in my class couldnt afford 4€ for the rag ball... times are tough...

and the SU took the lazy option you say? how about you get off boards and type www.ticketmaster.ie, i reckon you'll find great acts there... now i'm spent

i had a fantastic rag week... on par with last year not better tho, think i'm getting too old...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

But Il ask you a question.. on top of what the SU have organised already for charity why not hold a major concert with a top act where they simply cover the costs for the event?

Could be held in the forum, which is the largest venue in town. Forum would have given a great deal/ if not for free knowing its rag week (they would make their money from the bar) top act 10-15k.

Capacity at forum roughly 600-700? Open to correction on that, but even at that the SU could cover their costs by sellin tickets approx €20.
    I always hear students maoning about prices too high, but i guarantee you that if you have a top name band from the Irish/British scene people would be willing to pay for it!

This would bring in the same revenue for the SU for the charities but also give students a great night out without incurring a loss.

Seems like the SU took the lazy way out this year..
    All well and good in theory, but
    1. You'd have to sell out every single ticket to cover costs in that scenario.
    2. The Forum are not going to put on an event in the middle of the week when they can't be guaranteed at least a considerable profit.
    3. If the Forum wanted to do it, they'd be going it already.
    4. Biz Ball was a huge success in The Forum last year, and thats the sort of event I think is plausible and would work.

All well and good in theory, but
    1. You'd have to sell out every single ticket to cover costs in that scenario.
    2. The Forum are not going to put on an event in the middle of the week when they can't be guaranteed at least a considerable profit.
    3. If the Forum wanted to do it, they'd be going it already.
    4. Biz Ball was a huge success in The Forum last year, and thats the sort of event I think is plausible and would work.

ATM, there is no support for a mid week event in the forum. (Mainly due to the Harveys deal) If the SU supported such an event, people would attend, as proven by the Biz Ball being supported by the Biz Soc.

Biz Ball is the proof that an event like this can happen. that was organised by 4/5 people last year, to be fair who put in a fair amount of effort on top of being full time students. The SU has a fulltime welfare officer and a parttime ents officer and an ents crew (if im not mistaken). With the hand power involved with the SU they could easily have thought big!

dont forget that denise has a full time job... as in beyond rag week. I think it's a little unfair to be union bashing so much... why now write what you've said here and call into the su office and make suggestions there...

rather than ranting online where very few ppl read

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,068 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

WITSU do read these forums, as do many in the college. :)

Feedback can be taken from many sources, this is just one of them. I'm sure people do let WITSU know re: RAG Week. Before RAG Week it was acknowledged, the above type complaints. anyway.

I dismiss the "She has a fulltime job outside of WITSU" theory. To be fair, the officers were elected to do a job and most are being paid to do it plus expenses. If they cant, they shouldn't run again or should not have run in the first place.
    (Note: Just pointing out that if another job is taking from an officers duties, then its time to step aside - I am not sure if that is the case here or not)

who said any sabat has a job beyond the WITSU, i said beyond rag week, i meant with regards the welfare case work etc.

Sorry if that came across wrong :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,068 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

who said any sabat has a job beyond the WITSU, i said beyond rag week, i meant with regards the welfare case work etc.

Sorry if that came across wrong :)

Ah yes, sorry, I misread your post it would seem. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭shanemul

Well €25,170 Raised for WIT Raise & Give Week 2011 proves that the whole week was a huge success and all ye nay sawyers were once again proved wrong. It great to say that WIT Students can raise that much money for charities Local, National & International

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Icky Thump

shanemul wrote: »
    Well €25,170 Raised for WIT Raise & Give Week 2011 proves that the whole week was a huge success and all ye nay sawyers were once again proved wrong. It great to say that WIT Students can raise that much money for charities Local, National & International
    line up was still really crap though. it was the worst ragweek ive ever been at.

but congrates for he raising everyone

Its fantastic to see how much money was raised, but it doesn't get away from the fact the amount of people who didn't like the lineup. But, charity is the goal and it would seem they scored that goal and for that - hats off to em!

Can I assume you refer to me as one of the nay sawyers? (In your words)

I dont recall being a naysayer, merely pointing out the lack of entertainment being provided as proven by the comments on this page and the general lack of buzz around campus.

Great news about money raised. Although I am still baffled by the lack of progressive thinking within the Union..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,108 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

The nay sayers donated money because it was for charity...that doesn't take away from the fact the line up was shíte..Can't you understand that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 ilikemusic

callaway92 wrote: »
    The nay sayers donated money because it was for charity...that doesn't take away from the fact the line up was shíte..Can't you understand that?

Thats very true. WIT Rag Week was terrible compared to other colleges. Just on the su facebook page and seen that they are running two events in the forum, the rubberbandits and the Coronas!! Why were these not on during rag week instead of later in the year when people are busy with projects & study etc.. They would of been great for rag week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

ilikemusic wrote: »
    Thats very true. WIT Rag Week was terrible compared to other colleges. Just on the su facebook page and seen that they are running two events in the forum, the rubberbandits and the Coronas!! Why were these not on during rag week instead of later in the year when people are busy with projects & study etc.. They would of been great for rag week!
    WITSU aren't running those events, they've been lined up for weeks. The Forum booked and organised those events. WITSU is just selling tickets towards it.

ilikemusic wrote: »

Thats very simple WITSU have nothing to do with the Rubber bandits apart from selling tickets as it would be mainly students that would go to these gigs. One The Coronas they are touring in the USA at the moment (which is great for em) so they wern't in the country for Raise & Give Week, the kit for The Coronas is too big now n won't fit into the Dome so the logical venue that the SU and Curve Music Management get was The Forum. All tickets for the gig are being sold by the SU so if its anything like their gig @ christmas in the Forum get in and get your tickets fast as its gonna get epic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 ilikemusic

Thats very simple WITSU have nothing to do with the Rubber bandits apart from selling tickets as it would be mainly students that would go to these gigs. One The Coronas they are touring in the USA at the moment (which is great for em) so they wern't in the country for Raise & Give Week, the kit for The Coronas is too big now n won't fit into the Dome so the logical venue that the SU and Curve Music Management get was The Forum. All tickets for the gig are being sold by the SU so if its anything like their gig @ christmas in the Forum get in and get your tickets fast as its gonna get epic

I see what you mean now, but if su are exclusively selling the tickets would that not mean that they would be getting a cut of the ticket sales too? If the tickets were on sale on ticket master would'nt they be getting a fee for selling tickets? If this is the case, the su could of asked the forum to organise something over rag week, where they sell the tickets and raise money for charity that way? just an idea! I think your right about the ticket sales, a lot of talk about the coronas gigs, it will be epic :)

There is no fee for them selling the tickets the forum approached the su to sell the tickets for the Rubber Bandits. The Coronas gig is a WITSU event being held in the forum.