Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

JS Dylan Haskins running for General Election in Dublin South East

• 02-02-2011 4:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭

Fair balls to him. And I thought running for SU elections was a time-consuming challenge.

Here's an interview with the University Times that he did yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭TunaSaladBB

This constituency which contains TCD. Students who are Irish citizens living on campus should register to vote there if they wish to vote for him.

I'm not sure if there's ever been an undergraduate student in the Dáil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭martingore

I saw his poster this morning..convinced it was a child tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭PurpleFistMixer

I have magnitudes more respect for someone who runs for actual election than those who run for SU elections (sorry Ryan!).

Not sure how good his chances are though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Kwekubo

Students who are Irish citizens living on campus should register to vote there if they wish to vote for him.

UK citizens can vote in Dáil elections too if I'm not mistaken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭d93c2inhxfok4y

I remember him from back in the DIY, Zines and Distros, anarcho-punk type days. Always seemed like a good lad, really pro-active. Hope he does well, but yeah, he does face some very stiff competition in that constituency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Kwekubo

Not sure how good his chances are though...
    Gormley and Andrews will struggle to keep their seats IMHO. Even with an extra seat most likely going to Labour, there will probably be space for one independent in the constituency to take the fourth seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭REPSOC1916

Kwekubo wrote: »
    Gormley and Andrews will struggle to keep their seats IMHO. Even with an extra seat most likely going to Labour, there will probably be space for one independent in the constituency to take the fourth seat.

I doubt DSE will return an independent.
    He should get a lot of the student vote who live in the constituency. But he'd do well to poll above 5%. As someone posted earlier, it's a competitive constituency and more than likely it'll be 2 Lab 2 FG.

It's a smart thing to do if he wants to run for the locals in 2014. Blood himself and build a profile.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

Fair play to him, I hope he gets the internship, I hear there are loads of people applying for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

He will do well to get 300 votes.
    Mannix Flynn as an independent and local York Street native will sweep transfer votes in the constituency.

It is a constituency where a "big name" is usually dethroned.

All going as predicted it will be:

Ruairi Quinn (LAB) - safe, probable poll topper
    Lucinda Creighton (FG) -safe
    Chris Andrews (FF) - With FF only running 1 candidate, the 2007 poll topper should sneak in
    Dogfight between Kevin Humphreys (LAB) / Eoghan Murphy (FG) and Mannix Flynn (IND) for 4th and final seat.

He seems like a nice guy and is very driven but realistically he wont make a dent in the ballot boxes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

I'd say he'll do a lot better than people think. He's had interviews this morning on Today FM and Newstalk, which is much better coverage than his opponents so far.
    If people want to vote for him (or anyone for that matter) it's vital that they ensure they are registered by Tuesday.

And if anyone wants to help out with Dylan's campaign, he's holding a rally in Andrew's Lane at 6.30pm this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭_Bella_

I don't think he has a chance to be honest. In my opinion the four seats are going to Ruairi Quinn, Lucinda Creighton, Eoghan Murphy and Chris Andrews. I would be very surprised if it didn't turn out like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,164 ✭✭✭Konata

Saw his posters this morning and thought he looked fairly young alright :P

Fair play to him though - even if he doesn't get in this election, he's certainly getting himself known in the political world good and early!

I'm off to the rally now, I'll let ye know how it goes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭gamma23

I have magnitudes more respect for someone who runs for actual election than those who run for SU elections (sorry Ryan!).

:) (lol is too cliché)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭bythewoods

Fair play to him, but is it a fair to ask what he intends to do about finishing college?
    Surely it won't be easy to juggle 3rd and 4th year AND a seat in the Dail?

I'm pretty much asking this out of curiosity, not in a horrifically judgemental way. If the University Times article is anything to go by, he sounds like one of those wonder people who's already achieved more than most of us ever will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

bythewoods wrote: »
    Fair play to him, but is it a fair to ask what he intends to do about finishing college?
    Surely it won't be easy to juggle 3rd and 4th year AND a seat in the Dail?

I'm pretty much asking this out of curiosity, not in a horrifically judgemental way. If the University Times article is anything to go by, he sounds like one of those wonder people who's already achieved more than most of us ever will.

I think being an TD would be a fairly justifiable excuse to defer for a few years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭woop

martingore wrote: »
    I saw his poster this morning..convinced it was a child tbh

ah here which jedward twin is he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

I love his pre-war hairdo. Why is he 23 and only in 3rd year?

Not everyone does the "typical" route of school-college-work with nothing in between. I presume he got some real life experience before going to college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

thanks for passing your presumptions on to me, i'll wait for a factual answer all the same though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Fair play and all that, but he won't get in.
    Not everyone does the "typical" route of school-college-work with nothing in between. I presume he got some real life experience before going to college.

Wow, that doesn't sound pretentious or condescending at all. I suppose real life experience doesn't include the stuff that happens in uni and people live in a four year bubble.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

He's actually topping the boards general election poll...might have a chance? Not by much though.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

He's actually topping the boards general election poll...might have a chance? Not by much though.

I don't think so, boards isn't a random sample of voters in that constituency by any means.

And AFAIK he spend a while after school doing stuff. As in, organising various projects and whatnot to do with the arts in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

He did a degree in NCAD before starting in Trinity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

why would you vote for him :confused: what policies has he got at all bar to do a heap of stuff for dublin - he's not going to do anything for anyone outside dublin going by his policies..

if you look through his policies on his website he's basically the same as jackie healy-rae except instead of him being a gombeen culchie he's going to be made out to be a great local kid trying to work for the community :rolleyes:

he's not going to help the country - he's not suitable for the dail - he'd be a great county council representive - not a TD - that's the biggest problem in this country - local issues being used as a bargaining tool to pass national legistlation - some independent wants a new road built and in return he'll give his vote to the government..

that's just not on today - Haskins is only out for Dublin South East and has no ideas/policies that will be helpful on a national level which is what a TD's real job is...

I'd love to get canvased by him to see what his actual economic policies are for example... how he intends to create jobs.. how he intends to develop the "knowlegde economy" or whatever it's being called these days..

His policies aren't strong enough or clear enough to deserve a vote - until this changes he should be avoided like the plague..

I have not problem with the lad for having ambitions for change and all that - but he's not strong enough of a candidate from what I've seen of him to be considered to be a TD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Cinephille1888

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KLdHZ5LNIhs

Just because no one else has posted it yet. :D

He's a breath of fresh air and very articulate. Very personable and connected with Social Movements and the arts. As a candidate he's got more personality and likability appeal than most of the Dail.

We need young people, and we need Independents.

Even if he doesn't get a seat he's doing the right thing.

Everyone's talking about him, and they will for years to come.

There's room for an Independent in DSE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

He doesn't really seem to have concrete policies, just "I'm me, I believe in doing things like organising bands and events and getting stuff done, so I'll be an awesome politician"

Am i wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Aoiferz

Tragedy wrote: »
    He doesn't really seem to have concrete policies, just "I'm me, I believe in doing things like organising bands and events and getting stuff done, so I'll be an awesome politician"

Am i wrong?

No, I got the same impression too. I don't think he'd make a great TD, tbh, don't think he'll get in either.

andrew wrote: »
    I don't think so, boards isn't a random sample of voters in that constituency by any means.

And AFAIK he spend a while after school doing stuff. As in, organising various projects and whatnot to do with the arts in general.

I know yeah but I thought he'd be well out of the running even in a poll, most new Independents are. Not saying he'll top the election polls but I think he has a better chance of a seat that originally thought. He's second now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

He has absolutely no chance.Some people ae getting a little carried away here.
    johnmcdnl said it all in his post,which was right on the money.No need for me to elaborate further.

He has absolutely no chance.Some people ae getting a little carried away here.
    johnmcdnl said it all in his post,which was right on the money.No need for me to elaborate further.

Never said he was a dead cert for a seat, just think the boards vote page for his constituency might be indicative that he has more of chance than I originally thought, ie, none. The poll is absolutely bang on for my constituency anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Never said he was a dead cert for a seat, just think the boards vote page for his constituency might be indicative that he has more of chance than I originally thought, ie, none. The poll is absolutely bang on for my constituency anyway.
    Boards definitely isn't a random sample.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭Fo Real

Mark200 wrote: »
    Boards definitely isn't a random sample.

This gentleman is absolutely correct. The Boards demographic is male, ages 16-30, virgin, has a bum fluff goatee and wears a Che Guevara T-shirt. Take a brief look at the politics forum - it's jammed full of Sinn Féin hacks. Hardly representative of the Irish population at large. I wouldn't pay much attention to Boards' little polling experiment. When you grow up, leave college and get a real job, your political views will inevitably change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭PurpleFistMixer

Fo Real wrote: »
    wears a Che Guevara T-shirt.
    As a "crazy lefty", I have not found an awful lot of sympathy to my views here, actually. That said, I only post in a couple of forums, so perhaps they are anomalous.

This gentleman is absolutely correct. The Boards demographic is male, ages 16-30, virgin, has a bum fluff goatee and wears a Che Guevara T-shirt. Take a brief look at the politics forum - it's jammed full of Sinn Féin hacks. Hardly representative of the Irish population at large. I wouldn't pay much attention to Boards' little polling experiment. When you grow up, leave college and get a real job, your political views will inevitably change.

wait and see how SF actually do in the elections... SF are polling around the 12-13% in all the national polls and it's no different here..

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    wait and see how SF actually do in the elections... SF are polling around the 12-13% in all the national polls and it's no different here..

I see your location is Co. Cavan - the progressive, enlightened heart of Irish society. I'm sure Sinn Féin will win a seat in your constituency, but the rest of the Irish populace hasn't forgotten about the disgusting acts of atrocity committed by the IRA in the past.

Pearse Doherty was revealed to be a liar during the week over his college qualifications and Gerry Adams, the Bailiff of the Manor of Northstead (LOL), was shown up to be economically illiterate with regards to the Republic's economy in a recent BBC NI interview. He didn't even know what the child benefit rate was! Fact is, he's a citizen of a foreign country and there is a reason Sinn Féin have never gotten into government down south. If there's anything worse than a idealistic, middle class Trinity student trying to save the world, it's an ignorant Sinn Féin head.

I see your location is Co. Cavan - the progressive, enlightened heart of Irish society. I'm sure Sinn Féin will win a seat in your constituency, but the rest of the Irish populace hasn't forgotten about the disgusting acts of atrocity committed by the IRA in the past.

Have a look all through the general election results through every constituency in Ireland and look how well SF are actually doing...

not just Cavan/Monaghan that SF are doing well in is it :rolleyes:

you'll find there's a lot of population of Ireland have accepted the Peace Process and are moving on today - maybe it's just you that's stuck in the past...

Have a look all through the general election results through every constituency in Ireland and look how well SF are actually doing...

not just Cavan/Monaghan that SF are doing well in is it :rolleyes:

you'll find there's a lot of population of Ireland have accepted the Peace Process and are moving on today - maybe it's just you that's stuck in the past...

Why did you even bother coming to Trinity? Are you aware that the college was founded by Queen Elizabeth I?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭dabh

Why did you even bother coming to Trinity? Are you aware that the college was founded by Queen Elizabeth I?

I think you are making an unfounded assumption there. See another thread on 'Abolishing the Seanad':
    well seeing as I didn't go to Trinity or NUI I don't get to vote for it or have any say who gets into it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭sron

Are you aware that both the Free State and subsequent Republic in which you reside was founded by militant nationalists? Why do you bother staying?

sron wrote: »
    Are you aware that both the Free State and subsequent Republic in which you reside was founded by militant nationalists? Why do you bother staying?

Now all the IRA heads come crawling out of the woodwork...

Don't worry. I won't be residing in your failure "Free State" for much longer. I'll be joining the thousands of other young graduates deserting this sinking ship in their droves.

Now perhaps you will answer my question: why did you bother coming to TCD? Surely you're aware if its strong British and Protestant connections?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭sron

Now all the IRA heads come crawling out of the woodwork...

Don't worry. I won't be residing in your failure "Free State" for much longer. I'll be joining the thousands of other young graduates deserting this sinking ship in their droves.

Now perhaps you will answer my question: why did you bother coming to TCD? Surely you're aware if its strong British and Protestant connections?

I'm neither a Shinner nor an ardent nationalist, so the question bears no particular relevance to me. I simply find Shinner-bashing to be the last refuge of the political bore.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

The IRA/Sinn Féin/Queen Elizabeth I posts above are off topic.

Stick to discussing Dylan Haskins.

Jonathan wrote: »
    The IRA/Sinn Féin/Queen Elizabeth I posts above are off topic.

Stick to discussing Dylan Haskins.
    The more I think on it, the more I dislike his campaign and his candidacy. Seems more like an ego boost than anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭Kama

It's an adroit move, Haskins running. As his (clearly self-authored) wiki will testify, he's an individual mildly obsessed with personal branding/self-promotion (I mean this as observation rather than criticism, it's an utterly valid life-choice). So minimally you have a huge boost in eye-ball hours, press coverage, face on streets etc. Which imho is what it's all about; positioning, promotion, PR.

In terms of actual voting, last I checked Ireland remained a house-owning democracy; the boardsie catchment ≠ Irish political selectorate. That being said, he's gone from 50-1 to 12-1 on PaddyPower in a week ;)

Judging by the history of the IPs that have been editing the page(and defending it on the talk page), both he and friends/team are aggressively using wiki as an attempt to raise profile.

What a dick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭aas

Oh no, anything but my personal repository of anime trivia and diagnosis criteria for various autism spectrum disorders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭gearoidof

I saw some of his posters had been put up facing west on pearse street. Oh dear...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Steve Higginson

gearoidof wrote: »
    I saw some of his posters had been put up facing west on pearse street. Oh dear...

Maybe he's trying to highlight the drop in footfall on the street because of Trinity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 dannyc

this picture of haskins pretty much sums up the issue for me.

he does have a lot of experience, and if he was running for head of the arts council i wouldn't think twice about giving my vote. but i don't see what in his cv should give him the right to cast a valuable vote on issues relating to defense, economics, health, or really anything not pertaining to the arts. just saying "i'll take a look at it when i get into office", or "i'm willing to listen to what people think should be done about the issues", while admirably open minded, doesn't in my opinion qualify someone for a role in determining the future of the irish state. in a lot of ways i think its pretty arrogant of him to think he's ready for such an important position without having the credentials of at least some junior position in the government to show that he can operate within the political system. i won't be voting for him this season.