Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dark Souls

• Registered Users Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

sin0city wrote: »
    Was thinking about going with the deprived lad in the loincloth so I could see how I play and build him as I find out? Also, will I be in the loincloth for the whole game??

Your start class and setup will be very different after a few hours. You won't be naked for long. If you want stealth, thief would be your best choice, the knife gets a damage bonus for sneaky attacks.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 dead_tree

Is it weird that I'm at tomb of the giants and still using the drake sword+? I've never been able to carry anything better and am level 33. Starting to struggle a bit now.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,438 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

dead_tree wrote: »
    Is it weird that I'm at tomb of the giants and still using the drake sword+? I've never been able to carry anything better and am level 33. Starting to struggle a bit now.

Hmmm, at that stage of the game the Drake Sword starts getting pretty redundant. Did you get the Large Ember in the depths? Or the Very Large ember in New Londo ruins? Give those to Andre the blacksmith and you can upgrade your weapons to +10 and +15 respectively. Also the Giant Blacksmith in Anor Londo can make you Lightning weapons.There's many more embers to find as well that will send your weapons along different elemental paths. You'll never use the Drake Sword again:)

For a starter the drake is great up to the depths after that it makes it tough, there's better weapons out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭sin0city

penev10 wrote: »
    Stealth isn't really a factor in Dark Souls.

If you prefer to dodge attacks to blocking (which is the big choice to make) then keep your Equipment load at 25% or below so you can fast roll. You can still roll up to 50% but it isn't as good for avoiding attacks. Endurance (END) determines your equipment load so boost that and wear light armour.

If you prefer to "tank" it and block attacks choose the Knight to begin with as he has good starting armour but cant really roll. Otherwise the Bandit, Warrior and Pyromancer are good starting classes.

You wont be stuck with the armour you begin the game with so don't worry about the loincloth!

Good stuff. I like a bit of the aul doge, dip, dive duck action.

Was also liking the look of the Pyromancer. That axe looks well good.

And I want that loincloth! Lightweight, slimming. If someone invades my game I'm a strip off to the loincloth, ready to fcuk **** up :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭Danonino.

ionapaul wrote: »
    I'm about 12 hours in (over the past 2 weeks, that's as much as I can realistically play) and only yesterday did I discover:

- You can make a running jump! Only discovered this as I watched a 'Let's Play' video on Youtube
    - You can get Humanity without using the consumable Humanity items! Was stuck fighting the Bell Gargoyles for the 20th time and was thinking of giving up the game for good as I couldn't see a way to turn human to summon anyone, but decided to Google 'bell gargoyles no humanity' and found a post somewhere mentioning you could get 'soft' humanity grinding in an area where the boss was still alive - had no idea about the concept of soft humanity OR grinding for it, thought the only way was to find humanity on a corpse!
    - You can summon NPCs! Found this out randomly while reading the Google results above.
    - Your humanity / souls can be retrieved as normal after you die in an invasion! At the very end of my playing time last night, after being killed by those gargoyles about ten times and then grinding for a while, I finally got a single humanity, reversed the hollowing and eagerly went into the church, hoping to summon someone to help me with the gargoyles. Obviously instantly some tool invaded, waited for me at the top of one of the ladders in the church and insta-killed me. I quit in disgust and thought about having to stop playing this frustrating game, but decided to check to see if somehow I could recover my hard-won humanity (I just assumed you couldn't, as I understood the point of invading was to kill another player and take their humanity). Glad to find out that I can retrieve this :) God knows what goes through the minds of those invading a beginning player like myself and slaughtering me as I stand, can't be very satisfying!

I do think the game errs on the side of giving players too little info on actual game mechanics.

This is why I'm not that worried about the announcements for Dark Souls 2. I mean they can add a hell of a lot of guidance before they even scratch the vagueness in 1. (ha vagueness is a word. awesome.)

Oh and you can double tap B to slide down ladders ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭penev10

dead_tree wrote: »
    You should have the Lightning Spear and the Crystal Halberd by now which are both far stronger than the Drake Sword. You'd be a bit unlucky to have missed both.

SL33 is low for the TOTG, fair play. Most people would probably be at SL50+

If you post your stats you'll get plenty of advice for a new weapon. You may need to level up a bit though to get the most out of a scaling weapon.

If you have STR 16 to use the Drake sword you will be able to use the Claymore (on bridge with Red Dragon). Strengthen that up and it would be better.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,438 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Every time I visit the Darkmoon tomb to offer a Souvenir of Reprisal to Dark Sun Gwyndolin this song comes into my head!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭Kerplunk124

Wow I love this game. I've never played a game that makes me feel so good after getting through a stage. Amazing stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭sin0city

So went through the tutorial last night. Really enjoyed it, the riposte animations are savage and the big demon was great fun. He wasn't fond of the aul axe to the back.

So I'm at the bonfire and I have a humanity item. What exactly does humanity do? It says in the menu it increases drop rate and fills your hp. Is there any point to taking it now or should I save it for another boss fight or the like?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭penev10

sin0city wrote: »
    So went through the tutorial last night. Really enjoyed it, the riposte animations are savage and the big demon was great fun. He wasn't fond of the aul axe to the back.

So I'm at the bonfire and I have a humanity item. What exactly does humanity do? It says in the menu it increases drop rate and fills your hp. Is there any point to taking it now or should I save it for another boss fight or the like?

Humanity does several things but most importantly it allows you to regain human form at bonfires. This in turn allows you to summon other people to help with bosses etc. When you die you lose human form so use them wisely during the early parts of the game. Maybe wait til you find a boss, inevitably get killed and then when you return to the bonfire regain human form and then summon a couple of helpers.

Later in the game you'll get a steady stream of humanity and can use them more liberally. Using multiple humanities increases the drop rate of items from fallen enemies and also powers up some weapons. Can be used as a last-ditch health replenishment too when you;re in a tight spot.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

http://blog.eu.playstation.com/2013/01/22/demons-souls-creator-looks-back-at-the-making-of-an-rpg-classic/

Discount on the Dark Souls DLC tomorrow on PSn. I'll be buying it anyway and will probably get back into the game. Haven't played it in ages.

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭Sl!mCharles

Reached Seath the Betrayer - he is quite the bollox. I like the Archives though, looking up at them from Anor Londo is a sight and the view from up top is cool - its been some journey from the bog in Blighttown to this vast library.

This is my first run through and I'm loving this game. About 35 hours in and SL 64 I think? Probably a bit high but I've been taking my time.

EpicNameBro's vids and their ilk really augment the story experience I find, the lore makes the world so mistily mysterious.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

Reached Seath the Betrayer - he is quite the bollox. I like the Archives though, looking up at them from Anor Londo is a sight and the view from up top is cool - its been some journey from the bog in Blighttown to this vast library.

This is my first run through and I'm loving this game. About 35 hours in and SL 64 I think? Probably a bit high but I've been taking my time.

EpicNameBro's vids and their ilk really augment the story experience I find, the lore makes the world so mistily mysterious.

its not high
    its a perfect level to be at
    cause alot of people are within the range of level for summoning :) also good level if you want to change your type , like going pure mage or tank

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭Sl!mCharles

saiint wrote: »
    its not high
    its a perfect level to be at
    cause alot of people are within the range of level for summoning :) also good level if you want to change your type , like going pure mage or tank

Pretty much a complete tank at the mo (Tarkus' armour), my faith and intelligence are very low so stealth/mage run-through will be the next one I think :)

Didn't really know what I was doing with regards upgrading so I ended up pimping out a few weapons without having the stats to wield them - gotta Raw Ricards Rapier + 5 (just kept tapping A on Andre's reinforcing menu) but had to level up the Dex a few times to actually use it! Got the hang of the system now though.

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭Here Come The Pretzels

Good god Im finding Knight Artorias tough going. Im not a magic or pyro based character
    so I have to get up close and personal with him to land a hit. Im using a Black knight sword +3 to not so great effect.
    Ill have to mentally wax on/wax off today and give it a good shot again tonight.
    Anyone else find him particularily rough?

Good god Im finding Knight Artorias tough going. Im not a magic or pyro based character
    so I have to get up close and personal with him to land a hit. Im using a Black knight sword +3 to not so great effect.
    Ill have to mentally wax on/wax off today and give it a good shot again tonight.

Everyone did at the start, magic had little or no affect on him, pyro does some but not much. Actually fought him with the BKS at first myself. It was +5 and it was still tough going, the problem with the BKS is it's waay too slow for him. Better off trying a quicker weapon and slowly knock off his HP or the very minute he misses an attack use the bks's jump attack on him.. Learn his moves, its quite easy to dodge them all and not need to block.

BTW have you beaten seath yet? because the clams before him have a good drop rate of twinkling titanite, so you can upgrade the sword.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,990 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

upgrade the weapon more if possible , try to parry his attacks and use the ring that gives the bonus to critical attacks. you can kill him quickly enough this way. also their should be plenty of lads to summon in this area (and plenty of invasions)

BTW have you beaten seath yet? because the clams before him have a good drop rate of twinkling titanite, so you can upgrade the sword.

I havent beaten Seath yet on this play through as I just did the bare bones to get to the DLC area as I didnt fancy trying it on my NG+.

I have a crystal halbeard as well which deals him good damage but I was afraid it breaking irreparably early on, but I might give it another shot tonight now that I know his attacks better.

When Artorias goes into his power up mode on 75%, 50% etc. health left, is when the going gets tough. My current strategy is to slap him out of it as he tries to boost but this tatic poses its own problems as I can get quite gung ho and leave myself open.
    I think a more controlled version of this is needed.
    Looking forward to getting stuck in again tonight.

Crystal halberd's a good weapon, don't worry about it breaking(if you upgrade it resets the damage), to be honest if titanite slabs were more plentiful, i'd crytal weapons all the way.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,990 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

I havent beaten Seath yet on this play through as I just did the bare bones to get to the DLC area as I didnt fancy trying it on my NG+.

I have a crystal halbeard as well which deals him good damage but I was afraid it breaking irreparably early on, but I might give it another shot tonight now that I know his attacks better.

When Artorias goes into his power up mode on 75%, 50% etc. health left, is when the going gets tough. My current strategy is to slap him out of it as he tries to boost but this tatic poses its own problems as I can get quite gung ho and leave myself open.
    I think a more controlled version of this is needed.
    Looking forward to getting stuck in again tonight.

sorry , i got my bosses mixed up on the last post , I was thinking of the end game boss !

you can't parry Artorias (as far as I know) so forget that strategy. Better off just getting one two handed hit in when he goes into powerup mode. It's ok to slap away when you have a few summoned, but better off taking longer in the fight on your own. Have you any magic/spells at all ? Any thing will make the fight a bit easier. Even magic weapon spell to buff a weapon to boost the attacks.

2smiggy wrote: »
    sorry , i got my bosses mixed up on the last post , I was thinking of the end game boss !

Jaysus i was wondering there, was i missing something, even typed parry artorias into youtube.

Crystal halberd's a good weapon, don't worry about it breaking(if you upgrade it resets the damage), to be honest if titanite slabs were more plentiful, i'd crytal weapons all the way.

Yeah I was a bit weary about using the crystal halbeard as its tough to upgrade it but ill throw caution to the wind tonight. Whats the worst that can happen? :)
    On a side note, thats actually one of my only gripes with the game that its too easy to repair standard weapons. The fact you can repair at a bonfire and there is a only minmal soul cost for doing so, takes away alot of the tension that would come from having a weapon put out of action for a lenght of time when broken.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 6,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭PerrinV2

Any1 seen this at a good price recently?
    Saw the special edition(xbox/ps3) for 27 on the gamestop website.
    Been relucant to get it for ages now as I can imagine I'd get easily frustrated with it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭saiint

PerrinV2 wrote: »
    Been relucant to get it for ages now as I can imagine I'd get easily frusrated with it.

frustrated but you'll also fall in love :D

I finally beat Knight Artorias last night. I wielded the crystal halberd
    two handed and it turned out grand in the end.
    I think when you feel comfortable enough dodging his attacks you can
    concentrate entirely on using your weapon two handed.
    I did keep the grass shield equipped (but on my back) to give the old stamina a bit of a boost,
    as I found rushing towards him to knock him out of his power up was a must...

Onward to the Ooacile Township!

PerrinV2 wrote: »
    Been relucant to get it for ages now as I can imagine I'd get easily frustrated with it.

Yeah give it a shot. I rented it months ago and nearly gave up on it but once it clicks, it clicks hard :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

archers on anor londo are giving me nightmares.. have tried at least 20 times to get past them.. had to turn the game off,, before the ps3 went out the window...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭Danonino.

There are a few ways.
    :Buy some poison arrows back off the lady in the aqueduct. Fire a few and play the waiting game.
    :Run like a bastard to the top of the ramp walk towards the right hand archer rolling under the arrows, once close enough he will take out his sword. Block and push off/beat up. If you have powerful pyro/miricles/spells blast him.

If you cant time the rolls, you can block the arrows but make sure your back is facing the wall to your left otherwise you will be pushed off.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

Danonino. wrote: »
    There are a few ways.
    :Buy some poison arrows back off the lady in the aqueduct. Fire a few and play the waiting game.
    :Run like a bastard to the top of the ramp walk towards the right hand archer rolling under the arrows, once close enough he will take out his sword. Block and push off/beat up. If you have powerful pyro/miricles/spells blast him.

If you cant time the rolls, you can block the arrows but make sure your back is facing the wall to your left otherwise you will be pushed off.

ta.. Ill try the poison arrows.. went the other way and it was a ball ache, in the end got so frustrated.. silly putting this in the game, that ledge is so small and the power of those arrows..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Is it feasible to play Dark Souls as a jack-of-all-trades? I'm about level 28 IIRC and haven't specialised at all; I started as a pyro and use fire ball or fire orb relatively regularly (and have upgraded the pyro glove thing), I also use the sorcerers catalyst for soul arrows, but mainly play as a straight forward fighter using a shield to block and then counter-attack with the drake sword. I also use my short bow +3 often if needed. I'd like to continue putting points into most of the attributes and remain versatile as a result; is this do-able or recommended?