Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

got 10euro left out of dole-Need to get Drunk

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

2 Nagens of Jager for 10.00

or

12 party cans of Bulmers for 8.99

in O'Briens in Bray. Very good value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,010 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

Yup we dont know.

The OP could have budgetted for everything and this 10 could be all that stands between him and the tat at a Euro saver shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

OP.

x6 bottles of Tyskie (500mls -Alc 5.6% vol) @ €1.65 each in Aldi.

10 cents change from a tenner.

Quality! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭mixed up

OP.

x6 bottles of Tyskie (500mls -Alc 5.6% vol) @ €1.65 each in Aldi.

10 cents change from a tenner.

Quality! :cool:

I can't argue with this anybody with the username cheap thrills must know how to get drunk on €10 :D

It's 17 units of alcohol. But nice!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,145 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

that pretty much makes no sense, if you snort something it pretty much just goes straight to your esophagus which is where it would end up if you drank it. snorting alcohol does nothing more than make your eyes water. maybe it has some sort of placebo effect but now that you know this it wont work
    Snorting goes to your esophagus? See a doctor, mate - you're in danger of blowing yourself up! IANAD, so ymmv. No quoting, please - my insurance does not provide cover for same.
    It's 17 units of alcohol. But nice!!!
    Actually 16.8 units. This is what's wrong with this 'country'. Rounding errors.

Not your ornery onager

Esel wrote: »
    Actually 16.8 units. This is what's wrong with this 'country'. Rounding errors.

Yeh, but the 10 cents buys you a slurp of someone elses drink!!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 listowelbelle

Dein wrote: »
    only got a tenner left,anyone know what i can buy for 10 euro that will get me smashed up??

Ha ha read this and all the other assholes who gave you suggestions. im siittin here drinking POTEEN!! and if any of you guys had a brain you would know you can distill it from SPUDS!! available NATIONWIDE (or roughly 13.oo euro a wine bottle size)!! lovely in Irish Coffee!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Yeah that is a very fair point but is it not also fair that if someone is entitled to the dole they should be entitled to what they want with it? It might not be to everyones liking but for all we know the OP could have spent the rest of his money on maybe getting a CV done up, buying clothes to impress at an interview etc....... Although I cant imagine he did but we dont know that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Ha ha read this and all the other assholes who gave you suggestions. im siittin here drinking POTEEN!! and if any of you guys had a brain you would know you can distill it from SPUDS!! available NATIONWIDE (or roughly 13.oo euro a wine bottle size)!! lovely in Irish Coffee!!

no way dude, your like so totally cool.

r U cAlLiN mE uN rSeH0lE ? :P !!!

*puts up dukes*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭macquarie

seanybiker wrote: »
    Yeah that is a very fair point but is it not also fair that if someone is entitled to the dole they should be entitled to what they want with it? It might not be to everyones liking but for all we know the OP could have spent the rest of his money on maybe getting a CV done up, buying clothes to impress at an interview etc....... Although I cant imagine he did but we dont know that.

How exactly can you spend €10 doing your CV up?

And what sort of interview clothes can you buy for €10?

Anyway it's my tax money (well to be honest it's more the ECB/IMF's €10 that he's spending on drink) but I'd rather this guy spent €10 on a few cool beers than a group of dodgy property developers, politicans and bankers spending €10 billion of my tax money on mansions in america, bmws, boats and private jets . People need to open their eyes to what's really going on in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,145 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

macquarie wrote: »
    How exactly can you spend €10 doing your CV up?

And what sort of interview clothes can you buy for €10?
    seanybiker said "...the OP could have spent the rest of his money...". Anyway, €10 is easily spent on a CV (paper, binding, etc.).

....€10 billion of my tax money.....
    What is your income, if you pay €10 billion in tax? OK, I know what you meant. It's our tax money. Don't forget to vote.

Not your ornery onager

FFS !!

What kind of begrudging assclown has a problem with a social welfare receipient spending €10 on alcohol :rolleyes:

Shut it!!! People deserve their €10 fun.

Stop trying to shame them! PAH :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭macquarie

Esel wrote: »
    seanybiker said "...the OP could have spent the rest of his money...". Anyway, €10 is easily spent on a CV (paper, binding, etc.)

Yeah but I highly doubt this €10 made the difference between the op buying some paper (and seriously who gets their CV binded, how many pages is yours??) anyway most CVs are sent electronically now. I doubt the op had to make a choice "Ok €10 left, will I buy paper or drink .....hmmm .... drink it is". Give him a break. If we were allowed dictate exactly how our PRSI is spent and what it is spent on, then I would agree with the government enforcing how SW payments are spent also. But that's not the case.

i didnt say spend 10 on his CV I said maybe he spent the rest of his money on CV, clothes for interview etc thus leaving him to spend the 10 on whatever he wants.
    I was basically agreeing with you that he should be allowed spend his money on what he wants to spend it on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Copper23

Dudess wrote: »
    Do you think people on the dole during this time of mass unemployment shouldn't be allowed have €10 worth of booze?

Oh god, here we go...
    To be honest I think the money could go to better use yeah... if you're asking.
    If someone is out of work then they are well entitled to the dole. Dole money is tax payers money and meant to be for the person obtaining it to still maintain a basic standard of living. So basically that covers, food, water, housing, etc... necessities, not luxuries...

So sorry but yeah, the tone of the original post doesn't exactly sit tremendously well.

Yeah I know, this will be horrendously unpopular but thats my view and tbh I'm not gonna change it.

And what do you mean by "the times"... please don't give me the whole "recession, recession" rabble. People find themselves on the dole in good times and bad, it doesn't change the rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

FFS !!

What kind of begrudging assclown has a problem with a social welfare receipient spending €10 on alcohol :rolleyes:

Shut it!!! People deserve their €10 fun.

Stop trying to shame them! PAH :mad:

Thread was likely started by someone wanting to rabble rouse against social welfare recipients in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

that pretty much makes no sense, if you snort something it pretty much just goes straight to your esophagus which is where it would end up if you drank it. snorting alcohol does nothing more than make your eyes water. maybe it has some sort of placebo effect but now that you know this it wont work

Way off. Most of it would end up in your trachea not your esophagus because you're breathing not swallowing. But the snorting alcohol effect actually has"straight to the brain" basis. The olfactory nerve is more or less brain tissue.
    Its a dumb idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

I'm so sick of begrudging, bitter, self-righteous cnuts turning every thread with a bit of craic in it into a fcuking opportunity to talk down to people.

The guy gets 200 bills a week to spend as he sees fit. You really think a tenner to himself is extravagant?

Anyone but the most unenlightened know he's not "spending your money", but that he's a victim of those (with jobs - very high paying jobs) who have bumbled and yet somehow colluded to drive this country into the ground. No, stick him in the fcuking gulags.

Fcuk off with your self-righteous ranting.

OP, Lidl or Aldi should see you right.

Salut!

davyjose wrote: »
    I'm so sick of begrudging, bitter, self-righteous cnuts turning every thread with a bit of craic in it into a fcuking opportunity to talk down to people.

The guy gets 200 bills a week to spend as he sees fit. You really think a tenner to himself is extravagant?

Anyone but the most unenlightened know he's not "spending your money", but that he's a victim of those (with jobs - very high paying jobs) who have bumbled and yet somehow colluded to drive this country into the ground. No, stick him in the fcuking gulags.

OP, Lidl or Aldi should see you right.

Salut!
    you have a better way with words than I do. Top post.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

OP Hang around on a street corner in one of the 'dodgier' areas, then Pretend you're Lost and an innocent Culchie type

Some Scurrilous Drug dealer type will come along anf give you a free bag of drugs to get you hooked.

Well thats what I heard on the radio and read in the Newspapers anyway, I'm tellin ya lad if you play yert cards right they mifght even come round and deliver it straight to your door for free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I can't help but think he added the "out of dole" bit just to start a bit of a debate :rolleyes:

But all the same, he is fully entitled to spend a tenner on a drink for himself! Are you expected to sit in your house with barely the essentials and nothing else if on the dole?! I think not.

Also, Tesco value vodka, guaranteed to make a night you can't remember :p

Aoifey! wrote: »
    But all the same, he is fully entitled to spend a tenner on a drink for himself! Are you expected to sit in your house with barely the essentials and nothing else if on the dole?! I think not.

Why not? I'd love a new car but the state/tax payers aren't gonna pay for that.

Dole is not given out for discressionary purchases. It for the person to maintain a basic standard of living.

And don't give me the thing about spending it on his poor kids and all that. Yeah, for all I know, he might have, but for all you know, he didn't and the tone of his post was asking how best to get smashed on his dole money. Sorry, I will NOT be persuaded that I should be accepting of this sort of post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Copper23 wrote: »

Dole is not given out for discressionary purchases. It for the person to maintain a basic standard of living.

And don't give me the thing about spending it on his poor kids and all that. Yeah, for all I know, he might have, but for all you know, he didn't and the tone of his post was asking how best to get smashed on his dole money. Sorry, I will NOT be persuaded that I should be accepting of this sort of post.
    Well by your attitude I'm guessing you have never been in the situation where you had to rely on the dole? Have never had any experience of how sad your life can feel when you have nothing to do but sit at home all day, maybe some enjoy this but quite a lot are forced into it by circumstance.

And in no way would I compare a new car to spending a tenner a few drinks, what car are you getting for 10 euro?!

POST TRIPE ON BOARDS

frogs face

FEEL SELF RIGHTIOUS

Aoifey! wrote: »
    Well by your attitude I'm guessing you have never been in the situation where you had to rely on the dole? Have never had any experience of how sad your life can feel when you have nothing to do but sit at home all day, maybe some enjoy this but quite a lot are forced into it by circumstance.

And in no way would I compare a new car to spending a tenner a few drinks, what car are you getting for 10 euro?!

Exactly, you are guessing... please do not guess or make presumptions about my personal finances or situations without knowing anything about me.

I mean really, yeah fair enough, someone buys themselves something for a tenner out of the dole... big deal... I know, it's hardly worth discussing.

But the point here was a post was made asking how to get smashed using his dole money. Nobody has yet rationalised to me in this thread why I should get a warm fuzzy feeling in my heart about this... if someone needs the dole then I have no problem with that, people should be able to get it when needed and carry on life as normal as they can. But posting here somehow being proud or boasting about taking the money and using it to get smashed doesnt exactly instill me with a lot of faith in the person being the sort to only spend a tenner on themselves and scouring the town for jobs, attending courses, classes, reading some literature to help them gain some skills, etc, every other minutes. It sets the tone that they are happy to sit there drinking away our tax money... sorry argue it whatever way you want, that is how this particular person came across more so than anything else and I certainly won't be encouraging that attitude.

Also... to be honest, I DO know what its like to be at home for any length of time and it certainly thought me that spending my time drinking was probably the least healthy or productive thing I could possibly have been doing with my time.

Exactly, you are guessing... please do not guess or make presumptions about my personal finances or situations without knowing anything about me.

I mean really, yeah fair enough, someone buys themselves something for a tenner out of the dole... big deal... I know, it's hardly worth discussing.

But the point here was a post was made asking how to get smashed using his dole money. Nobody has yet rationalised to me in this thread why I should get a warm fuzzy feeling in my heart about this... if someone needs the dole then I have no problem with that, people should be able to get it when needed and carry on life as normal as they can. But posting here somehow being proud or boasting about taking the money and using it to get smashed doesnt exactly instill me with a lot of faith in the person being the sort to only spend a tenner on themselves and scouring the town for jobs, attending courses, classes, reading some literature to help them gain some skills, etc, every other minutes. It sets the tone that they are happy to sit there drinking away our tax money... sorry argue it whatever way you want, that is how this particular person came across more so than anything else and I certainly won't be encouraging that attitude.

Also... to be honest, I DO know what its like to be at home for any length of time and it certainly thought me that spending my time drinking was probably the least healthy or productive thing I could possibly have been doing with my time.

it honestly hasn't occurred to you that the OP was a troll wanting to spark exactly the kind of ridiculous response you've left?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

davyjose wrote: »

Salut!

Maybe he spent the rest of his dole on a prossie and got change,didnt enjoy it ,feels guilty and wants to forget about it all.