Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dating a Stripper?

• 13-01-2011 5:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭

Hi all.

I'm currently studying International Business in college.

But there is this girl in my course, she's 21, from Estonia, and she is extremely pretty. Doesn't talk too much, and seems quite shy. Me and my friends have recently been hanging out with her and some of the other girls from the course.

Turns out from one of her friends, that this girl I really like is single, and she is also into me :D... sweet!

Thing is, turns out she is actually a Stripper. She does this to get by apparently.

Now i have just been told this today, and it made me think...

Should knowing what she does affect my feelings towards her, say if i wanted to ask her out some day?

It's really getting to me now.

I really like her, but hope knowing this would not interfere with a possible relationship.

So. Would you guys date a stripper? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

Been there. Done that. Whats the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭MoodeRator

yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Cobbe354

Haha.

It's more of a subconscious feeling that her being a stripper could mean that she'd be disloyal in a relationship and probably a bit sleazy.

Also, if i brought her to dinner at the familys house, the amount of questions my brothers would ask haha. They'd eventually find out and they would make it very awkward for me.

More of an in my head problem then anything else. Maybe not such a big problem if I think of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Soul Stretcher

Yes I would.

Don't take this the wrong way OP - but you'd need to Man up quickly and build a bridge over this issue or you'll never have a chance with this girl.

She deserves a person who sees beyond what she does for a living. Fair dues to her for being independent and enterprising enough to step outside her comfort zone. No-one is harassed into going to strip-clubs to spend their hard-earned dough on dances.

If she gets a smell of a judgmental attitude from you, she'll rightly dismiss you as a suitor.

Good Luck.

Yes I would.

Don't take this the wrong way OP - but you'd need to Man up quickly and build a bridge over this issue or you'll never have a chance with this girl.

She deserves a person who sees beyond what she does for a living. Fair dues to her for being independent and enterprising enough to step outside her comfort zone. No-one is harassed into going to strip-clubs to spend their hard-earned dough on dances.

If she gets a smell of a judgmental attitude from you, she'll rightly dismiss you as a suitor.

Good Luck.

No, your absolutely right.

Thanks for the insight :D. It's just i don't date much, last girlfriend i had was when i was about 16 and that was not even proper relationship. I'm 21 now and have to overcome this.

I'll try and play it cool and just accept it, even if it's a bit bothersome for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Denisejcc

Cobbe354 wrote: »
    Hi all.

Doesn't talk too much, and seems quite shy.
    Thing is, turns out she is actually a Stripper.

Not so shy apparently :rolleyes::D:D

Just go for it OP, dont see why not, if you both like each other... Good Luck ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

What other people feel about this is irrelevant. It's whether you're ok with it yourself.

It's ok to have a problem with that, if that's what you're asking. It's ok not to have a problem with it too.

You need to ask yourself if you'd be ok with it. Dont wonder what other people will think, or what you should think. Try to figure out what *you* think. If you dont ask her out because you think you shouldn't, it will annoy you. If you do ask her out, but actually do have an issue with it, that would be crap too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

I think I speak for everyone here when I say:

Pics or GTFO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

stimpson wrote: »
    I think I speak for everyone here when I say:

Pics or GTFO

Yes, but this isn't AH :)

Apparently she likes you OP. Think about that for a minute, because I don't know any particularly unattractive strippers - she is into you. And you like her. Even more than the physical attraction, you've been hanging out with this girl and getting to know her personality and she yours. After all that, you're still into each other. Personally, I fail to see the issue. It is a job, it'd be just as weird to bring back a girl who cleans toilets for a living as a girl who strips. Stripping isn't prostitution and forget about the whole meeting the family thing, that's counting chickens stuff...deal with the here and now. I'd go for it tbh :D

At the end of the day, us TGCers telling you what we would do in such a situation isn't relevant. All that's relevant is if you think you could get past the fact she strips for a living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GodlessM

What matters mate is whether you would date a stripper, and the easy question to ask yourself here is would you be able to deal with knowing your girlfriend takes her clothes off for other people on a regular basis? Some guys would care, others wouldn't, either response is valid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭BopNiblets

A Gentlemans Club without pictures of sexy ladies is no Gentlemans Club at all!
    *takes hat and coat*
    Good day!

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Time to cowboy up. What would Jesus do? He was friends with a prostitute. If he can do that, then surely a stripper is ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

If you are comfortable with her striping for other random men for money then go for it.

Indeed.

OP - I'd rather regret dating a stripper than regret not dating a stripper. Lifes to short to not date strippers.

Thank you all for the replies gentlemen + (and possibly some ladies), the feedback seems to point in the direction that i should give her a chance and shake any misconceptions off my mind.

Definitely want to be with this girl, her smile is amazing.

However it sort of bothers me knowing that she would take her clothes off for men.
    Guess i'll have to get used to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

I can understand why you're a bit wary but dude you're not marrying the girl. Take her out, see how it goes and don't get too serious too quickly. It might be that it dies on its arse long before the stripping becomes a problem, or it might be so good you wouldn't care if she was a FF minister. If it doesnt work, it doesnt work
    If it were me tho, I wouldn't risk wondering what might have been, you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

Don't think of it as stripping think of it as her using her natural talents to take money off men who have too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭crow_eat_crow

Didn't know there were any strip clubs in Dublin, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

tbh wrote: »
    or it might be so good you wouldn't care if she was a FF minister.

Ah jaysus tbh, you just had to go and lower the tone. Apologise :mad: [/AH]

As for the op, go for it. If she's that good looking and wants to go out with you, realise how lucky you are and go for it. If it doesn't work out, then at least you'll know you tried. If you don't have the balls to go for it, then you will regret it.

And starting threads later on like "I should have dated that stripper when I had a chance" aren't going to be much fun for you to write. All everyone will tell you is basically that you f*cked up. So save yourself future hassle, do yourself a favour and ask her out.

Also something of note; have you ever been to a strip club or seen a stripper of a private party? It's no longer just about taking the clothes off; there is definitely always some sort of sexual contact, usually gyrating or boobs in the face on the strippers part involved. That's something else you will need to accept and ultimately not mind at all if you go for it. Just make sure you have all the cards on the table before you play your hand is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I don't have a problem with the profession in the slightest, if some one wants to strip then power to them. I would never look down on/judge some one who does, each to their own.

However I would have a problem if some one I was dating was stripping. I would have a problem with her getting in her nudey on a regular basis for other people's pleasure, for them to gawk at her. That's for me to gawk at :)

If my OH started I would have a problem, though then again we've been going out 4 years. Same way I wouldn't like to start stripping, it is a sexual thing, and I wouldn't consider that fair on my OH.

If it was someone I had just met and knew from the start what was what (like the OP), I wouldn't walk away because of it, but if things did start to get serious it would start to become an issue.

However if things do go somewhere, well you are in for some awesome private shows!

Honestly, from your language and uncertainty, I think you are likely to get headwrecked about this. You seem to be making your decision based on the consensus of a group of random strangers, rather than really nailing down how you feel yourself. I'll reiterate that what others think really is irrelevant here. People are wired very differently.

The abstract idea of going out with a stripper appeals to a lot of guys. Strippers are sexy. But many people would be bothered by the actual reality of it. Imaginary things often lack the emotional context that they would have in reality. A kid might enjoy pretending he is a soldier, killing lots of enemy soldiers. That doesn't mean he wouldn't be horrified if he killed someone in real life.

A more pertinent example would be between the reality and the fantasy of a threesome. A lot of guys who love the idea of that are freaked out when it comes to reality: "There's somebody kissing the girl I like :O"

How easily do you become sexually jealous? if you tend to get jealous at all easily then I think you should forget the idea. Do you get pissed off when random guys check out a girl you're with? How about if they do it in a sleazy and direct manner? What about if they offer them money for sex? Do any of these ideas fill you with rage? The last one would make me very angry anyway. I'd say strippers often have guys offering money for sex.

I think you really should take this slowly. Avoid becoming too emotionally involved too quickly, or maybe at all. Be honest with yourself about how you feel about the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Peanut2011

Cobbe354 wrote: »
    Thank you all for the replies gentlemen + (and possibly some ladies), the feedback seems to point in the direction that i should give her a chance and shake any misconceptions off my mind.

Definitely want to be with this girl, her smile is amazing.

However it sort of bothers me knowing that she would take her clothes off for men.
    Guess i'll have to get used to it.

OP, it obviously bothers you that she is a stripper. A lot of people here are saying just go for it, but I think you need to be sure what you are letting yourself in for.

Here is the question. Would you be comfortable if you started dating and one of your mates was to have bachelors party or you got invited to one. Stripper was ordered.. So far so good. Than she showed up!

Would you be ok having your girlfriend take all of her clothes off in front of all of them and dance around the groom to be in a very provocative way?

What if he grabbed her by the a**? What if she put her t**s on his eyes???

Would you be ok with that??

I guess if answer is NO to any of this than you have a problem as this is part and parcel of what you would be signing up for.

Even worse, you said your brothers would give you hard time. What if they hired her just to mess with you!

Sorry but there is no point in wrapping the answer up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

I think the best advice on this issue comes from Mr. Wyclef Jean.

He states, on the issue of relationships with exotic dancers;

"Just Cause She Dances Go-go That Don't Make Her A Ho-no, Call Up My Momma Tell Her I'm In Love With A Stripper Yo"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭Loco

You will regret it if you don't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

I'd go for it. Would probably be a turn on

Can see some potential pitfalls. IF you did start going out with her chances are she's given some people you know a lapdance before. Some places that would be getting fully naked and you know . . . might be awkward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

She's a stripper, not a hooker.

Go for it dude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 chrisxii

she wont always be a stripper, but if shes right for you you will always have her,ask yourself is she the one for you long term, if not have some fun with her in the short term everyones a winner.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

I don't get half the replies here. Good on her! She's independant! Bravo to her! if you have a problem she deserves better.

Yup, have your opinion and that but I think it's warped tbh.

OP, I was at a bachelor party for a mater a while back. A lot of the lads had their faces rubbing on her tits, she was spreading her legs and flashing that which is dearest - whilst nude. Getting the guys to lick cream off her.

Wouldn't date a woman who'd do that. Ever.

Empowerment? Bravery?

Bollóx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

Happens more often than you think.:)

Smyth wrote: »
    OP, I was at a bachelor party for a mater a while back. A lot of the lads had their faces rubbing on her tits, she was spreading her legs and flashing that which is dearest - whilst nude. Getting the guys to lick cream off her.

I hope you went to confession afterwards.

I don't get half the replies here. Good on her! She's independant! Bravo to her! if you have a problem she deserves better.

Empowerment? Bravery?

Bollóx
    Well that would be my personal feelings on the matter too tbh. But different strokes and all.

Me, I admire people who are under pressure, but dont resort to nasty behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

stimpson wrote: »
    I hope you went to confession afterwards.
    3 hail Marys and a prayer to Raptorjesus cleansed me of my sins.

Cream tasted good man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Once you're not the jealous type, you should be grand.

Oh, and don't have a beer at her place of work, as that'll just end badly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

If The Wrestler taught me anything, it's that strippers are awesome companions as well as being smoking hot. Go for it pal. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Empowerment? Bravery?

Bollóx

I don't have a problem with strippers. She is obviously good looking with a good body so she is using what she has to make money. I have zero interest in seeing a stripper as I see it as a bit sad/pointless.

But that does not mean I see anything wrong the girls themselves. Of course I'd rather a girlfriend who worked in a bookshop instead of having lads lick cream off her (not that every stripper does that either), but if I were the OP and knew a nice girl who liked me, her job would not put me off her.

I went on a date with a girl who worked as a life model on occasion. Plenty of people had seen her nearest and dearest too. Other men seeing her naked would not really bother me. I would have had no problem with her as a GF (pity she didn't think the same about me :D). So long as a stripper does just that (i.e. strip), then I would have no issues. Obviously if it went seedier that is different. But stripping would not put me off a girl if I liked her.

Edit: I'm not equating stripping with life modelling! Just using it as an example of somewhere else that people get money for being naked

I find the naivity of people here equating stripper with automatically hot and in shape hilarious. Not saying the OP's girl isn't, but the idea that being a stripper means a girl must be hot is a bit surreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

have before and would again

if i thought it was damaging her mentally of whatever i would offer advice but otherwise it dosnt have too much to do with me, you still have to trust them the same as anyone else you would be with

edit; if they had no ambition to be anything other then a stripper i would probably lose attraction and respect for them fairly quickly though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

GodlessM wrote: »
    I find the naivity of people here equating stripper with automatically hot and in shape hilarious. Not saying the OP's girl isn't, but the idea that being a stripper means a girl must be hot is a bit surreal.

well besides the fact that your tongue in cheek detector seems to be off today

you wouldnt consider dating someone you didnt think was hot would you? so you can safely assume that anyone considering dating a stripper thinks they are hot weather you do or not dosnt really matter

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 102 ✭✭Sungodbr

just cause she dances go go it dont make her a hoe no!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

GodlessM wrote: »

Well the OP has already said she is very attractive. Anyway he likes her and that is all that really matters.

And yes I know there are some less than aesthetically pleasing strippers. One lived across the road from me. I have no idea who would pay money to see her! But somebody obviously did and fair play to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭yizorselves

The reality of the situation is that the majority if not all strippers are hewers with coke habits. Sorry brah but its the truth

Putting herself through college my orse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Stimpson kindly read our charter before posting and keep the AH style answers for AH,cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

I may sound like an oul fart but I honestly don't think I could date a stripper. I just wouldn't be ok knowing that plenty of other fellas are gawking at her lovely boobies every night of the week.
    Thats just me though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭jmn89

I seem to recall some excellent advice from Wyclef Jean (Perfect Gentleman): "Just cuz she dances go-go, that don't make her a ho, no... Called up my mama said I'm in love with this stripper yo"

IMO loads of people work crap jobs just as worthy or unworthy of respect as stripping... she's being responsible and doing what she can to support herself - fair play to her. Go for it if you want - at least don't let that be the reason you don't. If you don't, some other guy will and you'll be kicking yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭vicecreamsundae

well all that matters is what you think OP of course, but since you asked..
    I would not date a stripper.
    I wouldn't date someone who flirted heavily with other women. I certainly wouldn't date one who did it to the extreme on a daily basis, who was literally paid to do it. That would wreck my head. Also, I'd respect someone more who got a job in mcdonalds. yeah, the money is a lot ****ter, but i'd still respect it more. plus free mcflurries!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

Funkfield wrote: »
    Been there. Done that. Whats the problem?

??.. The problem is that every dirty fat ugly pervert, has their cum stained hands all over your birds tittys.
    Far from perfect.

Stay well clear. She is hardly a keeper.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 102 ✭✭Sungodbr

jmn89 wrote: »
    I seem to recall some excellent advice from Wyclef Jean (Perfect Gentleman): "Just cuz she dances go-go, that don't make her a ho, no... Called up my mama said I'm in love with this stripper yo"

hey man u stealing my work and rebranding it:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Fittle

Who told you she was a stripper OP?

Is there a chance she may not be and this is a rumour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

What are you going to do when its time for her to meet mommie?