Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

wood for a stock

• 12-01-2011 7:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭

hi im new to this forum but i have a marlin 925mn for about 6 months and love it

basically i want to make my own stock im not looking for any expensive or rare grades of wood as i plan on staining it quite dark just wondering is their any where in dublin i could get this

cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

I know that Pat Sludds in Wexford makes stocks so he is probably could set you up with a stock blank. He has a website so you can contact him through that. I have never dealt with him but I have heard he is very good and an easy man to deal with.

Also welcome to boards and you will never be short of advice and encouragement.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭johnnymolloy

thanks for the quick reply them stocks are very nice do you know how much he charges for a finished stock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

thanks for the quick reply them stocks are very nice do you know how much he charges for a finished stock

Welcome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

I couldn't tell you as I say never dealt with him. Someone did say on here before that he is very reasonable and cheaper than most others. I suppose price all depends on the quality. Best bet is give him a shout and have a chat with him. I spoke with him on the phone a few times as I have refinished stocks myself and was looking for advice. I found him helpful and very polite.;)

cool ill get onto him about it in the next week or so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

hi im new to this forum but i have a marlin 925mn for about 6 months and love it

basically i want to make my own stock im not looking for any expensive or rare grades of wood as i plan on staining it quite dark just wondering is their any where in dublin i could get this

cheers

are you going making it from scratch or just buying a pre-made stock and staining it the colour

i was goin to make it from scratch and then stain it and finish it

cool :) take lots of photos and keep us updated and post them here. i'd be very interested in this :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

It'll be very tough to get it right. I do a bit of woodwork in my spare time and you want some nice tight grained quarter sawn American Walnut - great stuff to carve. I had a few nice blanks but gave them to a work colleague for his beretta project. Your local sawmill should be able to help, just make sure it has a good low moisture content.

i will indeed:D

do you know anywhere in dublin that would sell that american walnut in the width and length i need

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭david

I don't. I got my pieces from a cousin who's in the business - they were (big) offcuts.

http://www.johnleefurniture.com/

I'd give him an email he might be able to advise you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Feidhlim Dignan

you could use maple, it fine for a .22mag. and it doesnt matter about the grain if your going to stain it very dark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

wood working is my trade all traditional and had made furniture

mcmahons on the docs in dublin would most definitly have what you want

maple is very very hard and also very hard to work if your not use to it and your tools have to be excepionaly sharp ( second to none )

amercan wallnut would be easyer to work once tools are sharp and it will stain up beatifull maple is very pale and you will find it hard to get a good dark colour also maple wouldnt have nice enough grain in my opion the walnut would just make sure its bark would the pit is the best part ot the tree for what you want good tight grain

be sure to get enough to do sample of colours first and make sure you get the sample as clean as you want the stock to get e threw image of the colour

if you need any more help just ask

cheers lads all the help is much appriciated

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

I don't know if this is of any help or if the man himself can help you out, but i got a stock done by Enda Walsh of www.gunstocksirelnad.com and he made mine from american Walnut. Might be worth a call to see if he has any "spare". Only problem is he is in Dungarvan, Waterford.

Here is a couple of pics of the stock in its varying stages.

picture.php?albumid=939&pictureid=7607
    picture.php?albumid=939&pictureid=7608
    picture.php?albumid=939&pictureid=8433
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭sfakiaman

Fixed that link for you Ez. http://www.gunstocksireland.com

that looks stunning if you dont mind me asking how much did it cost

how does the cheek piece adjust ez? or does is it just fixed for your comfort?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

Garv,

Set screws:

O%26WBB.bmp

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

sfakiaman wrote: »
    Fixed that link for you Ez. http://www.gunstocksireland.com

Cheers :o
    that looks stunning if you dont mind me asking how much did it cost

€500 - €550 for any stock, any design and made to suit your length of pull, position, grip, etc. For €700 he will glass/pillar bed the rifle also.
    garv123 wrote: »
    how does the cheek piece adjust ez? or does is it just fixed for your comfort?

I needed to save weight so i went for the two allen screws, but he can fit a turn dial in the stock that increases it bit by bit, but as said i needed to save every drop of weight for FTR class so optde against it. Also he measured the bolt length and left the cheek piece a 1/4" back from the bolt so i can put the bolt into and out of the rifle without having to remove the cheek riser. The only time it comes off is when i clean and even then i have the pins marked so it goes back the exact same position.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

Jonny,

A word of caution.

Get the driest, most stable wood you can get your hands on. A moisture content of 7% to 10% and a twelve quarter to fourteen quarter stock blank is what you are shooting for. A stockmaker or good cabinetmaker/joiner/furniture maker's shop would be my choices as they usually have a good stock of top quality timber on hand, seasoning. David's link to John Lee and Ezridax's link should get you started.
    Pat Sludds may be able to help also: http://www.gunstocks.ie/

Good luck.

cheers

this guy is right in what he is sayin tgat place i told you about all the timber is very stable american timber is because it is all progressive killin dryed but the timber is dryed to 12 per cent i would really get less than that because if your safe it in the garage or shed it willbe to cold in winter the house would be to wArm you have to think if you take it out in the rain preferably not the cold ghe wind where you store it this is alfactors to consider when getingthe timber but you prob might have to dry it less than twelve yourself if you want it less than twelve but it is a dificult enough process because it can be done to slow and to quick

just know exactly what you want before you do anythin

not that the timber is expensive but there seems to be a lot of work in doing it it would be rough if it twisted half way trough manufacture

that stock looks great i hAve to say beatifull bit of timber

the killin dryed american stuff i think should be well balanced and stable enough for what you want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

higginbothams......coolock.... just ask for george

cheers again lads. theirs alot more stuff to think about than i first taught like the moisture content of the wood

i bought a cheap bit of timber for the minute to practice on so ill take pictures and post them up

ye do it would be great to see and hear your progress
    id love to follow it threw tge stages anyway sounds like a really cool project

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Irish Henry

Jonny,

A word of caution.

Get the driest, most stable wood you can get your hands on. A moisture content of 7% to 10% and a twelve quarter to fourteen quarter stock blank is what you are shooting for. A stockmaker or good cabinetmaker/joiner/furniture maker's shop would be my choices as they usually have a good stock of top quality timber on hand, seasoning. David's link to John Lee and Ezridax's link should get you started.
    Pat Sludds may be able to help also: http://www.gunstocks.ie/

Good luck.

If you are looking for a gunstock for a good price - then definitely get in touch with Pat Sludds. Only a few hundred euro for a custom made gunstock. And he sizes you up first with his measuring gun.

If you are looking for a project for yourself then get yourself a ready made walnut blank. I know Pat Sludds has a selection of them in his workshop.

He is based in Wexford. www.gunstocks.ie 087 6904289

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 the lough

some Brooks hardware stores stock hardwoods,you could pick up walnut planks there to practice on