Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Camaro or Skyline

• 10-01-2011 11:57am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭

I am thinking quite seriously to buy a car for me that I could take with me to Finland later on.

But what car I should get, I have to think about. I want to buy something nice for me, so I am not looking basic a-b cars, but something extra.

First option would be:
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Chevrolet/Camaro/V6-3.4-A/200917192553057/advert?channel=CARS

I like the car, based on the looks, always wanted to buy a USA car and it is LHD. Downside is that it is not V8, but V6 and even worse, it is 3.4l version, not 3.8l V6. Seems to be clean, well kept car. And yes, that huge spoiler have to go:)

Second option would be:
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Nissan/Skyline/GTS-T-TY/200841190372900/advert?channel=CARS

Nice car, looks clean, 2.5l turbo, rhd. I have driven r34 Skyline GT and it is a nice car.

Both cars have about same resale value in Finland, maybe Skyline is 1k extra. Insurance for Camaro would be about 800e, I think Skyline is a bit more but I think I would be able to get insurace for both cars. Road Tax (for 6-9 months) is about the same, Skyline a bit less I think. If Camaro would be V8, I would go for that but it is not, so lot of think about.

Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

Skyline as it has a turbo Camaro is nicer but its kind of a fur coat no knickers car and with 160bhp in a car like that is a bit gay tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Just saw the Camaro interior and I felt ill.

Skyline would be my choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭itarumaa

Interior wise I think they are same level, Skyline r34 has much nicer interior than r33.

But rest of the opinions said, yes I agree. Camaro is a bit pointless with that engine. Well my friend will see the Skyline today so lets see what he thinks about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

For rarity the Camaro ticks the boxes but the Skyline kicks it's ass in every other way, more power, superior handling and it'll give you far more smiles per gallon. Also parts would be far easier to source in Europe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭thirtythirty

You could always go Supra

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

If I was in the market for a RWD weekend car I'd be having a Twin Turbo Supra myself

This one never crossed to my mind, thanks.

Is this one 3.0l V6 Non-turbo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Out of those 2 choices I would go for the Skyline - and that's coming from a Muscle Car owner! If you really want a Camaro or other American Car buy '68-'79 - after that they went to sh1te in both style and performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

itarumaa wrote: »

Yeh its too cheap to be a TT and a TT is what you want!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭Antomus Prime

It would have to be the skyline!! That model Camaro is rotten!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭thirtythirty

I'm afraid I'm not up on my Supra engine variants - even if it's missing it's turbo it's still got at least 220bhp anyway. You'd have to ask them though tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Another vote for the Skyline here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

what ever you get, make sure you get a manual, auto just kills the drive of those type of cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

No V formation engine in the Supras. Its an inline 6 cylinder engine. And as the one that was linked is so cheap im guessing its non turbo.

Any comments about Supras in general?

I think 3l auto might be option as well, hard to say, since I have never driven any Supras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Second option would be:
    http://www.carzone.ie/search/Nissan/Skyline/GTS-T-TY/200841190372900/advert?channel=CARS

Nice car, looks clean, 2.5l turbo, rhd. I have driven r34 Skyline GT and it is a nice car.

That's a r33 GTS-T thar. Incase you missed it :p

Skyline hands down tbh. You could always drop in a RB26DETT off of a GTR if you wanted more power...

Yes I know it is r33, not r34. The only Skyline I have driven is r34 Non-Turbo (GT) model. I think that r33 has enough power already, 250hp? Or is that even 280hp?

And no I am not 100% educated with different Skyline models, I know that GTR is 4x4 tough and that car in the link is rwd. Does it have a traction control, any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

Camaro is an anemic turd. Even over here they get laughed at. Very little show and feck all go.
    Skyline or Supra all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Yes I know it is r33, not r34. The only Skyline I have driven is r34 Non-Turbo (GT) model. I think that r33 has enough power already, 250hp? Or is that even 280hp?

And no I am not 100% educated with different Skyline models, I know that GTR is 4x4 tough and that car in the link is rwd. Does it have a traction control, any ideas?

RB25DET - twin-cam TURBO (T3 Turbo) (245 to 250 hp and 319 N·m)

I dont think traction control comes with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Out of those 2 choices I would go for the Skyline - and that's coming from a Muscle Car owner! If you really want a Camaro or other American Car buy '68-'79 - after that they went to sh1te in both style and performance.

I would buy a BMW M3, proper interior and a proper engine

Id say if you crashed that camaro the airbag would be lucky to protect your thumb from breaking, looks about as safe as ford model T

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

I'd go with a Subaru Impreza Type R :) if not too

your liking Skyline is my next choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

No need to drop rb26dett in to skyline to make it good, my gtst rb25det got 400hp, more then enought.

You dont need to be GTR to be a skyline is a golden rule, theres tons of 400-500hp rb25det's

On topic: Skyline ofc, but thats not becouse i own skyline and love them. I would LOVE and american muscle car for weakends, but these camaros are just worst thing about muscle cars.

If you really want a class muscle car, get american V8 older stuff.

As for skylines, those are prety reliable things, will go as a tank. My ones goes like a tank for half year, only changed oil in it, and i drive to work daily. The only problem i got with it, as i jumped in to huge pothole and now i get small banging noise sometimes out of steering on low speeds. So basicly my own foult...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Moses7

Skyline for sure. The old V6 Camaro is a far cry from a sports car, plus the interior just looks BAD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Supraman

There's plenty of different type of Supra specifications so you should look up a bit more about them if your considering one.

There is Jap spec and Uk spec models.

Jap come as n/a and twin turbo. Have the options of auto/tiptronic/5 and 6 speed manual boxes.
    Pre 96.5 n/a's come with 5 speed boxes. Post 96.5 to 98 are speed if manual. All have the same auto box if going auto. 98 on come with a tiptronic also.

The uk spec were only made from 94 til 96 I think. They were available with a 6 speed or automatic box Nothing else.

The most desirable model is the uk spec 6 speed twin turbo for enthusiasts in the uk. The car generally will have better service history etc than a grey import. Dependent on who imported the car it may not necessarily be the case. There's one or two guys in the uk who have reputations in bringing in the top spec Supra's from Japan. Jm-Imports is one that springs to mind, he trades on the mkiv supra owners club and has a fantastic reputation on there.

The auto box is a decent one, it has a manumatic mode that offers more feel than the regular manumatic modes on some other cars I have driven, it won't replace the feeling of a manual but it does for a very comfy cruiser if that whats on the agenda. A Skyline generally will handle better than a Supra in the twisties, certainly a 4wd gtr will. Supra's are small money these days to buy but certainly are not cheap to run/maintain. If you can afford that aspect then I'd choose a twin turbo Supra over any gtst/gtt assuming similar budgets similar spec etc. Having been in both the skyline doesn't give the same sense of enjoyment to me.

The R33 GTR and R34 GTR I have been in and driven, the R34 for me was a fantastic experience, luckily I drove one that 550bhp and one that is nearly 700bhp. The 33 gtr was closer to standard not sure of power figures and I'd be hesitant to be able to pick a clear winner between a tt supra and a 33 gtr.

34 Gtr for me would be the pick of the bunch. Havent driven a 32 yet so can't comment. Haven't a bulls notion about camaro's so won't comment .

If your looking for some more info on Supras go to mkivsupra.net
    Skylines go to skylineowners.com

Regards
    Mark

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Five grand for that heap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Skyline hands down from the two choices listed. Supra TT would be the winner for me though.

I have deciced to forgot Camaro for the reasons mentioned here. That V6 engine is quite pointless for me.

I was also considering briefly Subaru Impreza WRX but I think my main interests are now either Supra 3.0l auto or that r33 Skyline.

My friend actually checked the Skyline today and he said that is really clean and since he drives Skyline himself, I think he knows something at least:)

For the Supra, it still interest me, a nice, sporty cruiser a bit like Camaro would be with decent engine.

I think I have to go and see the Supra as well and start to think over this.

Thanks all the advice so far and keep them coming:)

Supraman: How do I know the difference between UK and JapSpec Supra?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

I have deciced to forgot Camaro for the reasons mentioned here. That V6 engine is quite pointless for me.

I was also considering briefly Subaru Impreza WRX but I think my main interests are now either Supra 3.0l auto or that r33 Skyline.

My friend actually checked the Skyline today and he said that is really clean and since he drives Skyline himself, I think he knows something at least:)

For the Supra, it still interest me, a nice, sporty cruiser a bit like Camaro would be with decent engine.

face palm, don't get an auto....

By looking at them , a standard uk spec will have a bonnet scoop, headlight washers, bigger brakes 4 pot fronts. Rear numberplates different size. Glass headlamps in uk spec, plastic in jap spec although a lot of jap will have retrofitted glass headlights and bigger brakes.

The SZ-R is the base model.
    NA engine, 5 or 6 speed manual gearbox only, and a limited range of optional extras.
    The SZ is the top-spec NA hardtop model.
    NA engine, auto, 5 or 6 speed manual gearbox, a few more options.
    The SZ-R Aerotop is the only NA Aerotop model.
    NA engine, auto only, a few more options.
    (So the SZ has more standard fittings than the SZ-R, but the SZ-R Aerotop has the same
    fittings as the SZ)
    The 'original' RZ is the entry-level TT model.
    TT engine, auto or 6-speed manual, limited range of optional extras.
    The RZ-S replaces the RZ as the entry-level TT model.
    TT engine, auto or 6-speed manual, limited range of options.
    The 'new' RZ is the middle spec TT version.
    TT engine, 6 speed manual only, a few more options.
    The GZ (inc. Aerotop) is the top-spec TT model.
    TT engine, auto only, some options fitted as standard.
    (When the GZ stopped production the RZ became the top spec model.)

Common problems.

Toyota has an enviable reputation for reliability and the Supra is no exception. The engine
    is absolutely bullet proof; easily able to take enormous power increases without major
    modification.

Both the auto and manual gearboxes are also robust units, as is the
    transmission. Turbos are generally reliable, again able to withstand higher boosting without
    significantly shortening their lifespan.

So what does go wrong?
    Valve stem seals are the most common fault. These tend to start leaking around the 10
    year or 80,000 mile mark and a puff of blue smoke on start-up or with a blip of the throttle
    is the most common sign. While the seals themselves aren’t expensive the labour is, and
    this isn’t really a job for the DIY-er. Expect to pay at least £400 for replacement.
    Turbo seals are another item that can require replacing at around the same time.
    Unfortunately again the seals themselves are relatively cheap but it’s the labour that puts
    the cost up, and removing the turbos is a job that can at best be described as ‘difficult’.
    The turbos themselves can go of course, and typically it’s No.1 turbo that goes first.

As above, labour costs will be high, and the turbos themselves won’t be cheap. It’s tricky to
    put a price on the cost of turbos since prices vary considerably. Forget about buying new
    ones from Toyota (way too much) and instead consider second-hand or after market
    turbos. Many people take the option to ‘go single’ when turbo seals or turbos need
    replacing, although obviously this is considerably more outlay. Turbo life is unpredictable –
    some let go on stock boost well before 100,000 miles, while others will happily take more
    boost for 150,000. Generally Supra turbos have a good lifespan compared to other
    turbocharged cars. Turbo replacement couldn’t really be described as a ‘common’ fault on
    Supras.
    Heater matrix replacement is probably the worst job from a labour point of view and it has
    to be said a piece of poor design on the Supra. If your heater stops working and the matrix
    needs replacing then the entire dashboard needs to be removed. That’s not just the panels
    you can see around the steering wheel, it’s that entire front section, from side window to
    side window. One Supra specialist told me ‘I usually charge £1000 in the hope that it will
    put them off, it’s a terrible job’. Again though this isn’t a common Supra fault, it’s just a
    nightmare job if it needs doing.
    Other than that most other faults are minor and easier to fix. The right hand warning lights
    on the dashboard can stop working, electric aerials conk out, the auto selection lights
    behind the dashboard can blow bulbs, engine hoses can pop off – all faults that have been
    seen quite a few times over the years, but all easy to fix. Many Supras are past 100,000
    miles now, a few are over twice that. Despite being a performance car it’s still a Toyota at
    the end of the day. When things do go wrong there's loads of 'how to' information around,
    as most of the common modifications and fixes have been carried out and refined over
    time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Jimbob 83

I see you have gone off the idea of a Camaro but there are a few nice proper ones (2nd Gen) for sale here at the mo. The first one is totally mint, I know the car well. With any of the models below you can avail of classic insurance, classic road tax (€48p.a.) and they're NCT exempt - obviously that applies to this country only.

View2-3735014.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1489655

View2?id=4674055
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1561602

View2-4739861.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1750165

Thanks again with all the advice.

I think the older Camaros are too old and too expensive, I can get those cars in Finland for half of that money so no point, so the car have to be newer.

So therefore I think I am going to forget Camaros for now and focus either on the Supra or Skyline.

I have to see the Supra to know more, what is eventually better car for me.

But at the moment it is 50/50 for those cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

How about a Toyota Soarer

DSCN4383c.jpg

Toyota Soarer is not bad, but do you actually get parts for that car, if there is need for it.

I only found two Soarer's for sale, 1991 and 1992. So they are quite old cars as well.

Ohh Soarer is a good one. Not as "sporty" at the supra (good bit heavier) but a real comfortable, reliable, nice looking and reasonably quick car. Doesnt handle too bad considering its weight.

Good choice sir\mam. A good car is a good car regardless of its year, but to each their own. They were sold in the UK so I cant imagine parts being too hard to get. It some in i6 i6 twin turbo (2JZ?) and V8 config.

Soarer?

Are ye mad in the head lads?

Nice car and all in its day but no, just NO!

The best one of these you can find isn't worth €1k now IMO.

Soarer?

Are ye mad in the head lads?

Nice car and all in its day but no, just NO!

The best one of these you can find isn't worth €1k now IMO.

Why not? Could say the same about a Camaro hehe :D Seriously tho, why not?

*and yes I am mad in the head, but that has nothing to do with this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I see you have gone off the idea of a Camaro but there are a few nice proper ones (2nd Gen) for sale here at the mo. The first one is totally mint, I know the car well. With any of the models below you can avail of classic insurance, classic road tax (€48p.a.) and they're NCT exempt - obviously that applies to this country only.

View2-3735014.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1489655

View2?id=4674055
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1561602

View2-4739861.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1750165

omg lad..... you should be shot for this..... so much win in one post is not aloud ;).

I just would LOVE one of these babies!!!!

Why not? Could say the same about a Camaro hehe :D Seriously tho, why not?

*and yes I am mad in the head, but that has nothing to do with this

I would have loved one in '97 maybe - wouldn't go near one now. Similarly I wouldn't go near a 3rd or 4th Gen Camaro.

Yeah but why? Dated looks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭AntiVirus

Skyline or Supra, tough choice! I'd be happy with either but if I had to pick one the Supra would just do it for me. Even today after all these years its still looks fresh! :)

Yeah but why? Dated looks?

IMO it's a car that's had its day and will never be a classic. It's pretty much reached the end of its life as far as I'm concerned. On the other hand any model Supra or Skyline I would be happy to own. As said above I'm an American car fan (and owner) but a 3rd or 4th Gen Camaro don't do it for me in any shape or form either.

Things are definitely getting forward and I found nice 3l Supra manual non-turbo that I have go and see soon.

Does those Supra engines have a timing belt or chain and what is the distance they needed to be changed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I only found two Soarer's for sale, 1991 and 1992. So they are quite old cars as well.

Newer does not equate to better, and overlooking cars simply because they've been around the block a few times is silly. Those camaros are much nicer than the crap in the original post.

I agree, but the problem is: I can go to Finland and buy a nice 80s Camaro with NTC and V8 engine for 6k, those Camaros in Ireland are way more than that.

See the difference is that 80s Camaro in Finland is normal day-to-day car, it is not a classic like in here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Stealthirl

A Toyota Soarer is a good alternitive to the supra.4 years ago i was looking at supras and soarers and bought a soarer.

Mine is a JZZ30 with the 2.5 TT engine [1JZ-GTE] I got mine thro a specalist soarer dealer in the uk.
    i went with the soarer over a supra because
    much bigger boot
    its a 4 seater and not a 2+rear bench
    cheeper tax and inshurance
    nearly the same performance with small proper mods
    its diferant,i see lots of supras but very few soarers on the road.

this is mine
    67073_438870847746_748362746_5279967_3112992_n.jpg
    Ohh Soarer is a good one. Not as "sporty" at the supra (good bit heavier) but a real comfortable, reliable, nice looking and reasonably quick car. Doesnt handle too bad considering its weight.

Good choice sir\mam. A good car is a good car regardless of its year, but to each their own. They were sold in the UK so I cant imagine parts being too hard to get. It some in i6 i6 twin turbo (2JZ?) and V8 config.

well mine runs a 13.9 quarter and at santa pod 2 years ago at supras @ the pod it was fater then a few TT supra autos and 6 speeds

it's done quite well on track days in mondello suppriseing a few people as its a SLOW AUTO.

factory weight for the 1JZ soarers are 1540-1600 kg and the supra is 1500-1570kg depending on spec and year so not as big a diferance as most think.
    supras feel faster as it has Sequential turbos and the soarer has Parallel turbos untill 96 when it changed to a single turbo with VVTi

most parts are very easy to get at main dealers here or for hard to get parts there loads of specalist here and the uk that can help you out.

they were NEVER sold in the uk.

the toyota soarer was sold only in japan [RHD] and the lexus sc was only sold in the USA [LHD]
    there is no such thing as a lexus soarer

the soarer was avalabell with 3 diferant engines
    the fastist was the 1JZ-GTE inline 6 twin turbo 280bhp and 270ft/lbs with auto and 5speed
    then the 1UZ-FE V8 quad cam was next with 250bhp and 260ft/lbs auto only
    then there was the 2JZ-GE inline 6 220bhp and 210ft/lbs auto only

in 96 they all got VVTi and the 1JZ went to a single turbo.

the top spec was the 4.0GT-L active control suspension
    it had air suspension and 4 wheel steering,satnav,dvd player,eletric seat and a host of other goodies back i n 91 :D

the soarer 3rd gen was from 91 till 2001 when it was replace but the new one.

any questions u have about eather the soarer or supra i would be happy to help with and if ur around the dublin area i would happly let you have a look at mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Stealthirl

oh and if u want 4 door practabillity [sp] theres the Chaser,Cresta and Mark II they all came with the 1JZ-GTE aswell or the Aristo [jap lexus gs300] in japan they came with the supras 2JZ-GTE but auto only

Thank you again for all the advice,

And yes I have to agree Toyota Soarer starts to interest me as well:=)

So many options to choose from, starts to get hard to know what to do.

I think I have to start to see the cars and try to think what would be a good option.

I think now it would be somewhere in Supra, r33 or Soarer.

Or maybe r32...

Or maybe even Impreza...but maybe that is a bit too ordinary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Ferris

What about a mitzi GTO? 4wd might be useful in Finland.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1488015