If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Swim, Bike, Run....if only it was that simple!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭El Director

Hey El D a 41/29 bike run split in BB was good going in the conditions. Especially the run. With it being a NS event the field was deeper too. Your result this year would have landed you a top 10 last year :)

How Aodh O'Neill ran 23 for that run course (7km and 150m+ climb) is beyond me :eek: and it was after posting one of the the top bike splits too :eek: someone give that man some swim lessons!!!

Cheers dude, I did my best on the day and I suppose that's all you can do. Mr O'Neill is just a savage and I'm sure he has plans in place already for a tough winters swim school, and then there's no hope for everyone else :o

Weds Afternoon 11th Aug

Plan 2.5hr Z2 Bike/1 hr Z2 Run
    Actual 2hr 41min Z2 Bike/22min Z2 Run

I have neglected the endurance brick for my HIM preparations :rolleyes: Again perhaps a coach wouldn't have allowed that:rolleyes: as you all know it's hard to think of everything when you have a busy life. Now I have been doing long bricks during the summer but I was doing parts at a high pace-especially the run and while there is a place for race pace bricks, they should be shorter in distance than the endurance one. Anyway I will be doing both over the next two weeks.

It was a tough bike leg, out to Trim wind in my face all the way. I really wanted time on the tri bars but both my training wheels are fairly badly buckled and I didn't have time to sort it out so I just used the roadie. Things were easier on the way back but I kept it handy anyway.

I decided against the 1 hour run after yesterdays LSR opting for a shorter run trying to keep it as comfortable as possible. I'm glad to say the aches and pains of the previous days running were gone. One thing is for sure-I WON'T be doing a sub 90 run in Galway. That was the only target I had for Galway 70.3. Time for me to be realistic. I will some day though :) I think sub 95 MIGHT be on...we'll have to wait and see. My HR Monitor was acting up so again no HR data which is a bit of a disaster as I really need that info now as the day draws closer (24 days). Anyway fixed it this evening.

Bike

First Half Dist 36.2km; Time 1:23:09; Speed 26.1km/h; Cad 81rpm
    Second Half Dist 37.6km; Time 1:18:43; Speed 28.7km/h; Cad 78rpm
    Overall Dist 74.8km; Time 2:41:52; Speed 27.4km/h; Cad 80rpm

Run

Dist 4.6km; Time 22min; Pace 4:35/km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Are you going to go with a coach next year?

Hope you're sister is recovering well.

I cycled the 70.3 route yesterday. Your observations were spot on. Going to make for an interesting bike leg! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

2) 165psi in my tyres

Jaysus thats a bit much, i'm surprised they didn't explode. No need to ever go over 120 psi. I'm sure I've read something about the fact that you have less traction and start bouncing along the road with silly pressures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,585 ✭✭✭✭tunney

nomadic wrote: »

Jaysus thats a bit much, i'm surprised they didn't explode. No need to ever go over 120 psi. I'm sure I've read something about the fact that you have less traction and start bouncing along the road with silly pressures.

Pressures that are higher than required don't result in less traction but slower speeds. Increases the Crr and slows you down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Think El D is on tubs, are tubs not generally higher than clinchers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

The same principal still applies though. No need for over 120 psi on the road.

It seems that on the track higher pressures are ok because of the smooth surface. Thanks for giving me something to google to pass the last hour of work.

@ pgibbo I haven't made a decision on a coach for next season yet, I will make a final decision by the end of Sept. First time I went this high on the psi was only two weeks ago but it seemed fine/I didn't really notice a difference.

@ Nomadic The tubs I use have a psi of 170 so it ain't silly, I was under the impression the more pressure/air the faster the wheels would turn, right? :o
    First time I went this high on the psi was only two weeks ago but it seemed fine/I didn't really notice a difference.

@Bambatta Yep, I use tubs

@ Tunney what is crr and can you explain briefly how it slows you down pls?

Fri Morn 12th Morn

Plan Core/strength/rolling
    Actual Core/strength/rolling

My usual session.

Plan NAC LC Swim Session
    Actual NAC LC Swim Session

After the warm up and some drills I got started on my main set of 16 x 100m but after the first 4 I knew there was no point finishing this set as My times were crap and arms heavy. Done a fair bit of swimming the last few days off the back of two weeks of low swimming milage. Sometimes you have to know when to push and when to back off.

Time 45min
    Dist 1,600m

Fri Afternoon 12th Aug

Plan Short sharp brick
    Actual Short sharp brick

10k on the bike with some 'bursts' and 20min run with some strides.

Bike

Time 22min
    Dist 10k

Run

Time 20min
    Dist 4.5k

Caroline Kearney tomorrow, looking forward to a flat fast course. That is it then for the racing until Galway.

Bambaata wrote: »
    Think El D is on tubs, are tubs not generally higher than clinchers?

Tubs can take higher pressures, doesn't mean that they should.

After mulling over this I think I understand.

Having the tyres that hard can lead to an uncomfortable ride especially on our roads. This in turn could lead to slower times. A nice smooth road may be a different story.

After mulling over this I think I understand.

Having the tyres that hard can lead to an uncomfortable ride especially on our roads. This in turn could lead to slower times. A nice smooth road may be a different story.

Not quite, ignoring the comfort factor there is still a speed difference to an overinflated tyre. It rolls slower.

Comfort is also a factor, rode a duathlon before I knew this at 220psi before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,725 ✭✭✭kennyb3

kennyb3 wrote: »

Ah yes, makes sense. Thanks Nomadic for bringing this up dude :)

Sat 13th Aug

The third race weekend in a row and the last race before Galway, only 3 weeks away now :o

I've actually learned a lot from these races and this latest one was the most satisfying. Although not a PB (swim and bike was long/run short) it was still very very satisfying to get the pacing spot on.

Race Report

So my usual breakie and race morning rituals, as the season as progressed I am a slick machine on the morning of races now-no forgetting my bike shoes, trisuits etc... :rolleyes:

No problem getting to Lilliput, a lovely race venue. I had plenty of time and got in a good warm up. I went off in wave one put others in my age group were in wave two, the way the waves were spilt didn't really make sense :confused:

Swim

The water in Lough Ennel was lovely and clear but I couldn't believe how cold it was! This week the organisers made sure everyone was behind two posts for the off, I was on the front line ;) The cannon went off and I sprinted off, not taking a breath for 20m or so. I was straight away into clear water and that was the way it stayed for the entire swim, got no legs to hang onto. That was fine, I was in a good rhythm and feeling strong. I could see a group ahead and I tried to catch them, by the time I caught them they had strung out though. I came up along side someone and I wanted to get pass him so I took 5/6 good strong stroke-no breathing and that did the trick, I powered by him. So every now and again I'd throw in 5/6 strong strokes-keeping my head down, it really seemed to help. I did however lose concentration for a couple of minutes were my mind drifted-forget now what I was thinking about but that sholdn't happened and when I snapped out of it I noticed I was definitely going slower. I was surprised to see 25:xx when I exited the swim but I was confident that my swim was good, maybe it was longer than norm. I was 15th out of the water in my wave.

Time 25:25; Split Pos 32/272 (12%); Pace 1:40/100m

T1

A nice fast one for once

Time 0:48sec; Split Pos 14/272 (5%)

Bike

So with 120psi in my tyres ;) I set off on the bike. The course was very wet but the surface imo - excellent, for Ireland anyway. It was a two loop affair. I was very aware of not overcooking the bike so I kept it comfortable on it. There are long straights and I know I must be near the pointy end of things as I couldn't really see anyone ahead of me. Eventually I did catch a few (4), but for the most part I was on my own. One person from wave two passed me on his forst lap and my second. After about 18km's a blood bee got stuck in my helmet and stung the crap out of my for a good 5 minutes. At first I thought I was imagining things but I wasn't. There was no way I was stopping though to get it out, I just shook my head a few times but he was well lodged. I still had over half to go :o Loved the course though, flat and good surfaces :) I have heard since that has been measured at nearer to 44km than 40km.

Time 1:09:20; Split Pos 22/272; Speed 37.3km/hr

T2

The DJ let me know I was 11th in T2 (from my wave) happy days-maybe I could push into top 10, not lightly I thought.

Time 0:42; Split Pos 38/272 (14%)

Run

A flat run course which suits me just fine. I wasn't making any inrodes into the 10th place position and after the first turn around I knew my race was to keep a 2 fast moving dudes behind me, they seemed to be passing everyone...and I was no different. That was fine I was doing my best and actually moving well for once. Don't get me wrong it felt tough at times but I was feeling strong throughout. One other guy got me in the last km - Colm Turner from wave one, good to see him back on form. The run was a bit short from what I hear.

Time 0:39:18; Split Pos 31/272 (11%); Pace ; 3:55/km

So after wave 2 taken into account overall 20/272.

Felt very satisfied with a well paced race :)

Mon Morn 15th Aug

Plan NAC SC Swim Session
    Actual NAC SC Swim Session

The main set this morning was 3 x 500m off 9:30:

1) 8:48
    2) 8:51
    3) 8:42

Feeling good in the water this morning :)

Time 1:15
    Dist 2,700m

Mon Afternoon 15th Aug

Plan LSR with tempo section
    Actual LSR with tempo section

After reading the thread in the main forum I made sure I was well hydrated and for once I felt a lot better during my LSR. I put in 10km of what felt like a decent pace. I did have the garmin with me but I want to get the feel of a steady run, incase the garmin goes on the blink on the big day.

10k tempo

Time 44:26; Pace 4:23/km; HR 159;

Overall

Time 1:26:19
    Dist 18.5km
    Pace 4:41/km
    Hr 149/170

Tues 16th Aug

Plan Core/Rolling/Strength
    Actual Core/Rolling/Strength

Time 30min

Plan NAC LC Swim Session
    Actual NAC LC Swim Session

The main set this morning was 16 x 100m off 2 min, set of 4 x 4 with one min between sets. The aim was to descend 1-4. Found it tough going and I wasn't really descending them. They coming in between 1:44-1:55.

Time 1:20
    Dist 2,700m

Well done at the weekend. You're getting a fair amount of racing in.

You must be looking forward to Galway now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

Great going, El D, v impressive biking!

pgibbo wrote: »
    Well done at the weekend. You're getting a fair amount of racing in.

You must be looking forward to Galway now?

Thanks P, I planned a 3 week racing block after a month of hard training in July and then no racing for 3 weeks before the 70.3 (except tonight's aquathon in Bray-more a training race and good OW practice). I am looking forward to Galway but I'm also nervous about it. It'll be my first time doing that distance and I really don't know what to expect...fear of the unknown I guess.

Weds Morn 17th Aug

Plan 2.5hr bike/20 min run
    Actual 2.5hr bike/20 min run

I wanted to keep this in Z2, just a bit of endurance work. Got the buckled wheel on the TT bike sorted so I used that. No problem really staying in the aero position.

Bike

Time 2:32:41; Dist 73.3km; Speed 28.8km/h; HR 108/149

Run

Time 20:05; Dist 4.3km; Pace 4:39/km; HR 144

Like I said above, I'm a little nervous re Galway. Despite taking easy on the bike my legs still felt very heavy on the run. Perhaps it's accumulated fatigue, maybe after a good taper I will be ok?? :confused:

It has to be just accumulated fatigue. After a heavy training load and 3 weekends of racing you're bound to be feeling it. You'll be in flying form for Galway.

Plenty of rolling and maybe a leg rub between now and Sep 4th.

Enjoy the Aquathon tonight. OW, I've forgotten what that's like! :D

As I said before I love to hit these aqua'a as it hits my two weaker disciplines in one go. Last month I mentioned how I was always under the impression that if you could (a) get into the top 10 and (b) go under the 30 mins for these aqua's - then you must be super fit! Last month I ticked one of the boxes with a 8th place finish...this evening the other :) Finished under the 30....but so did 20 others :o The swim was very short and fast. I finished out side the top 10 this time too...so next year top 10 AND under 30 mins in the same race :p

Race Report

Swim

It was a frantic start and I was at the front so I didn't hang about. Went hell for leather, throwing in some strong strokes 5/6 at a time without breathing-only a few because we were flat out. The swim I'd say was only 600m though not 750m.

Time 8:50(ish)

Run

Slow enough in transition but once I got on the run I started moving fairly well despite todays long(ish) brick session. 3 guys passed me and I passed 3 I think. At the final turn around I noticed a guy moving very well, "he'll be on top of me very soon" I thought to myself. I also thought "...but I'm doing my best, if he passes he passes..." then another voice, "...fvck that sh1te! Make him work for it surprise him..." So when he pulled up beside me with a km to go I dug in, he came up beside me but I don't wouldn't let him pass....it felt like I was sprinting already and still 800m to go. I was sly, using prom walkers as blocks, he'd have to go round them-I was just being assertive ;) The latic acid then started to take hold just as we came to the turn for the finish...only 150m to go but I couldn't hold on. Fair play to him he was fitter and stronger than me but I'm delighted I got challenged in the final part of the race like that-good for the mental side of things. I consoled myself with the thought that he wouldn't have even caught me only for my brick that morning :p

Time 18:25(ish)

Overall 28:07 (15/72)

Good days work. My legs are crying out for the taper now which starts next week, I forget what fresh legs feel like...mmm fresh legs...sigh.

No point in being nervous at this stage of the game, the work is done and if I fall short of my expectations in Galway then I will figure out way and put it right next time.

BTW loking at the top 10 tonight they were all very slightly built, light triathletes so next year I may get there. Saw my weight down to 80.8kg this week! Delighted with that, maybe I will reach my goal of under 80kg by Galway as per my very first post.

I was sly, using prom walkers as blocks, he'd have to go round them-I was just being assertive ;)

I love it! Just glad you'll be long gone past me in Galway by the time the run comes around, those dirty tactics are deplorable :D

ronanmac's comment got me wondering what way the waves will be handled for the 70.3. I would assume based on AG so you are actually racing your AG rather than yourself and not knowing where you are in your AG. Even if they do base it on AG, it will be hard to know who is in your AG. Hmmmmm

pgibbo wrote: »
    ronanmac's comment got me wondering what way the waves will be handled for the 70.3. I would assume based on AG so you are actually racing your AG rather than yourself and not knowing where you are in your AG. Even if they do base it on AG, it will be hard to know who is in your AG. Hmmmmm

These are the wave starts, pgibbo. I'm in 35-39, which seems a bit crowded! Not sure if ElD is in 35-39 or 30-34. Yourself?

07:00hrs Pro Athlete Start Mixed Colours 14
    07:05hrs Male Age 35 to 39 Green 427
    07:20hrs Male Age 30 to 34 White 369
    07:35hrs Male Age 18 to 24 and 40 to 44 Blue 326
    07:50hrs Male All Other Age Groups Red 435
    08:00hrs Female All & Relay Teams White 379

I'm off at 7:05 so. :cool:

Well guys, I'm off at 07:20 myself and looking forward to it even if I am a little spoofed at how I am feeling in training lately, dead, heavy legs etc... I am putting it down to the training load and hopefully the taper will leave me fresh on the day.

I hit for Galway at the weekend and got in some good sessions on the course

Friday 19th Aug

I did a short swim/bike/run session in the evening.

Swim

The swim was about 1,600mts and while the water was lovely and there were no jellies in sight - swimming back towards the diving boards was a challenge but I must say I was loving it! The big waves turned me around a bit but good experience.

Time 30 min
    Distance 1,600m

Bike

The bike was out to Barna, take a right and head North over to the N59 and back to Galway, approx 25km of the route. Glad to say the loose chippings are no longer there but there is a very poor section before Barna Golf Club.

Time 51 min
    Dist 25.5km
    HR 133
    Speed 29.7km/hr
    Cad 84

Run

Decided to do a loop of the run. I felt pretty good and employed a tactic Eanna McGrath used to use (I read lately). Pick something within sight, 200/300m ahead aim for it, keeplooking at it. This keeps you focused and your head up, encouraging good running pose. I felt it worked for me that evening any way.

Time 40 min
    Dist 9.05km
    HR 152
    Pace 4:25

Things I saw on the run....

1. A Auzzie Rules football game in South Park
    2. A Gay pride party in the Spannish Arch (not the first time I ran straight into a gay pride thing in Galway while out running...Q wolf whistles and the like :pac:)
    3. Two young priests walking the prom in full priest gear, happy out with two 99 cones, like something out of father Ted :D
    4. A segway polo match in South Park...like horse polo except...well with segways! About 8 on each team.
    5. Fishermen on the pier at South Park singing away and about 20 tourists sitting just listen as the sun went down on a beautiful Galway evening. Magic.

Only in Galway, made me lament having to leave :(

Sat 20th Aug

Swim

Same as yesterday but not as rough. Very busy with divers and swimmers there, great craic!

Time 30min
    Dist 1,600m

Bike

The full course this time. Road still very rough the Galway side of Moycullen and Oughterard. I had earphones in and didn't hear my TWO bottles hop out of the saddle bottle cages, only noticed in oughterard. Thats how rough parts are, thankfully I had money to but some water. I did get them on the way back, one was burst though. I was using by purposed race nutrition, a gel every 40 min (51g of carbs per gel) with a banana at 30km. The drink I will used is water with nuun tab X 2, I may pick up a Gatorade at 60km so I tried that too. The liquids went down fine but the gels are too thick I think, on the run I felt like they had just lined my throat thus making it hard to get O2 in! I have one more practice run on Weds and I will use the gels I use for running - ISO Gels, not as thick but only 22g of carbs so I will have them every 20 min.

Time 3:04:31
    Dist 92.5km
    HR 133
    Speed 30.3km/hr
    Cad 85

Run

Today I found the run tougher, same route as yesterday. As I said above I think the gels did not help nor did the very strong breeze heading back to Salthill.

Time 41:40 min
    Dist 9.02km
    HR 162
    Pace 4:37/km

Mon 22nd Aug

Took a rest day on Sunday. So a short brick today, back in Dublin.

Bike

Got arm warmers delievered this morning, I ordered them as it could be bitterly cold in Galway so just in case. Sported them today too. Enjoyed the bike ride this morning, sun was out which was nice for a change.

Time 1:48 min
    Dist 53.7km
    HR 120
    Speed 29.9km/hr
    Cad 82

Run

For the last few months I have obsessed with shortening my stride and upping my cadence. Today I decided to lengthen the stride just a bit, not back to were I was but somewhere in betwenn and what do you know - running felt good for a chance :) So long as when I glance down I can't see my feet I know I am not over striding and therefore heel striking. It felt great, I also engaged my core more which over the summer as got much stronger I think and I really felt strong, a little confidence booster just at the right time :)

Time 19:42
    Dist 4.6km
    HR 154
    Pace 4:18/km

Also my new weighing scales came in the post today - the one the Bambaata recommend a few weeks back. It measures body fat %, water % and muscle mass % also. If it ain't measured, it can't be managed. This is a big limiter for me. So every Monday evening just before my main meal I will weigh myself for the official weigh in of the week. I need to set targets for myself...in the long term I am thinking 75kg and BF% of 10%, soon I will nail that down and have medium term goals too. For the record todays readings...

Weight 83.4kg
    BF% 14.4%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

I am surprised with your weight/bf % as you did not seem to be carrying any weight when i met you in IMUK. Have you a link for those scales?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Hey ElD, just some points on the scales. Best bet would be to weigh yourself as soon as you get up. Weighing yourself late in the day could give inaccurate results as everything you do, eat and drink that day can have a bearing on your results. When i get up i head to the jacks, do the necessary, splash some water on the soles of my feet and then weigh myself. Gives a more true reading to compare day to day, week to week as conditions are as controlled as they could be.

+1 on first thing in the morning.

I have been meaning to dampen the soles of my feet but have yet to.

BTW EL D, 83 to 75 is a fairly big drop. I'd suggest doing it gradually rather than big bang. Also, expect a lot of comments from friends and family. I dropped 4kg between Feb and May this year and I've maintained that weight drop. I get lots of comments:

From other triathletes, etc: looking lean and fit P
    Family, colleagues, etc: you look to skinny, etc

OH always said she's like to see me with a sixpack. Then when you get one you're too skinny! :confused: LOL

@JB here is the link dude http://www.amazon.co.uk/Tanita-BC570-Glass-Composition-Monitor/dp/B000VI55TC/ref=pd_cp_ce_3

I suppose people would not notice because I am a bit over 6 foot so I can carry it.

@Bambaata I weighed myself this morning first thing and I was 80.9kg and BF was 15%. This was to be expected according to the manual that came with the scales. Over night we dehydrate hence the drop in weight and therefore the increase in BF%. As you say best do it under the same conditions each time, again the manual says it is best do it before the evening meal although I had planned to do it each morning...and if it's good enough for Bambaata then it's good enough for me!

@PGibbo I hear you on the weight drop. I have already gone from 88kg in Jan to my current weight and I get similar comments. I also ordered "racing Weight" today, follow athletes may understand but the general population think it's unhealthy. Personally I feel the weight loss for me is a key issue as I have already identified it as a limiter this season. My running is not getting worse but it ain't getting better. I also plan to reduce the weight over time 10-18 months or so. So between a good balanced diet with smaller portions and upping running to 5/6 times a week (4 at first) I should be able to reach my goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭BTH

@JB here is the link dude http://www.amazon.co.uk/Tanita-BC570-Glass-Composition-Monitor/dp/B000VI55TC/ref=pd_cp_ce_3

I suppose people would not notice because I am a bit over 6 foot so I can carry it.

@Bambaata I weighed myself this morning first thing and I was 80.9kg and BF was 15%. This was to be expected according to the manual that came with the scales. Over night we dehydrate hence the drop in weight and therefore the increase in BF%. As you say best do it under the same conditions each time, again the manual says it is best do it before the evening meal although I had planned to do it each morning...and if it's good enough for Bambaata then it's good enough for me!

@PGibbo I hear you on the weight drop. I have already gone from 88kg in Jan to my current weight and I get similar comments. I also ordered "racing Weight" today, follow athletes may understand but the general population think it's unhealthy. Personally I feel the weight loss for me is a key issue as I have already identified it as a limiter this season. My running is not getting worse but it ain't getting better. I also plan to reduce the weight over time 10-18 months or so. So between a good balanced diet with smaller portions and upping running to 5/6 times a week (4 at first) I should be able to reach my goal.

Do you really want to be as skinny as me? You'll be cold ALL the time. OW swimming without a wetsuit is out, even in the warmest day of summer. OW swimming with a wetsuit is out till mid May at best. I was frozen that morning I met yourself and Bambaata at the 40ft and when we stopped for about 2 minutes I couldnt get warm again and lost all feeling in my arms and feet. 5/6 layers on the bike in winter. It'll cost you a fortune in base layers. Its not that much fun!!!