If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Swim, Bike, Run....if only it was that simple!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

interested wrote: »
    You're like a p.b machine these days will all the down time during the day ... and yes, Im just jealous.
    +1 :cool: Well done on the latest one El D, good swimming!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Thanks dude. Here was me talking about the rain, wind etc... totally forgot about the crappy road surfaces :o I will leave my time up now thats it's there but if I don't get it I won't let it ruin the day as I know I'll just do my best on the day. Actually anyone planning on staying around for a good night out that day??

I'll be staying on anyways. Hoping to take a few days off that week and explore Conamara with the folks.
    pgibbo wrote: »
    I have to say you're spot on here Bambaata. The road surface isn't great. Although parts of it have been resurfaced and are nice, the majority isn't great. It's been a while since I cycled the route but will probably be doing it next weekend. I'll report back after that. There's also the fact that there's always a wind on that road will make for an interesting bike split. ;)

How are you after Austria?

How recently have they done work? I was on it 4 weeks back and there were still some awful spots between Rosscahill and Oughterard!

Unfortunately i picked up an infection race week which ended up being cellulitis in my right foot. Was in bits immediately after the race. The scab of the culprit, an infected blister, hasn’t quite healed yet. Been cycling since June 1st after 9 day layoff and got back swimming on Wednesday but tonight is the first run since race day! Only a 20min easy exploratory run so fingers crossed it goes well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭El Director

Thanks lads but the latest PB is just a first recording of that distance so it was always going to be a PB. Funny enough interested I'm getting very little downtime during the day, still in school working during the exams so my time is not quite mine just yet ;)

Fri Afternoon 10 June

Plan Yesterdays Club Session :rolleyes:
    Actual Yesterdays Club Session :rolleyes:

Broke a golden rule of mine today - never chase up a missed session. Thats what I did today. Got the session of the coach and did it in the local park this afternoon. 200, 400, 600, 600, 400, 200 - 2 min after 200's, 3 min after 400's, 5 min after 600's. The targets were as follows - 200's - 32sec; 400's 68sec; 600's 1:45. The reality:

200 - 32 sec
    400 - 71 sec
    600 - 1:59
    600 - 2:03
    400 - 80 sec
    200 - 34 sec

Well as ye can see this session was not quality and therefore a waste of time...perhaps more harm than good actually. My left quad is still sore and getting worse actually, thought the day off would help. O and also....why the hell did I give my roller to someone else :rolleyes: So stretching will have to do for now.

Time 1:15
    Dist 8.1km

Fri Eve 10th June

Plan Bikram Yoga
    Actual Bikram Yoga

Has anybody ever done this? It is an hour and a half of torture :o I must say though I'm kinda lovin the pain. I can see how flexibility can be improved by it so I will be keeping it up 2/3 times a week.

Time 1:30

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

200, 400, 600, 600, 400, 200 - 2 min after 200's, 3 min after 400's, 5 min after 600's.

Hey ElD what is the reasoning behind the recovery times in between? They look on the high side compared to what we do in the club:confused:

Actual Bikram Yoga

Has anybody ever done this? It is an hour and a half of torture :o

Yeah me. 1.5 hours though a couple of times a week is a lot. I used to do 50-60 mins session once a week over the base phase. Its really good and I miss it and will bring it back for the taper phase. Very good for flexibility, loosening you out and generally putting a pep in your step

Hey ElD what is the reasoning behind the recovery times in between? They look on the high side compared to what we do in the club:confused:

The reason for this session JB is that there is a focus on the reps - they have to be quality. So longer recovery is required. On Tuesday it was short recovery stuff and also during the winter (cross country season).

Sat Morn 11th June

Plan OW Swim
    Actual OW Swim

Headed to the 40 ft this morning and was in the water for 8am. I did roughly 600m, got a bit freaked out by the sight of all the jellyfish so didn;t hang around too long. Lovely morning too.

Time 20min
    Dist 600m

Then...

Plan Club Run Session
    Actual Core/Rolling Session

With the left quad still giving me trouble I decided to replace the run session with an easy session and much needed rolling. I hate missing sessions, the guilt :( Even when there is a genuine excuse. In reality I've had a good run of it this year, injury wise. It's hard to let go of missed sessions though when things where rolling a long so nicely, especially in the consistency department.

Time 1 hour

So this week has not gone to plan at all but that's life. I will start taper on Friday instead of Thursday. Hope the leg is ok for the race tomorrow. Looking at last years 1,2,3 at this race just shows you never know who'll turn up at these events. I'd love a top 5 tomorrow so we'll see, the main thing is that my quad holds up.

Utterly miserable day in Galway for the COPE Tri but as usual enjoyed it. My first podium and my first cheque which has left me very satisfied this evening. Once the results are up I'll do a report.

13.5 days to Euro AG Champs......:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Well done today El D, the results are up on redtagtiming.com if you want them. I knew you would do well today but I didn't think you would be pushing Geraghty and O Dowd so close, well done

As regards your weight battles, I was telling the mrs after you were talking to her that fella is trying to lose 5 kilos .........."where off his ankles"?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,176 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Well done El D! Fantastic result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Still grinning I take it dude? :D Super result. Saw the splits last night - impressive going. Your bike split really stood out to me. Kudos. :cool:

@Bambaata: unfortunately that stretch is still a real bone shaker. I'm not sure if there are any plans for that to be re-surfaced but it could do with it in a bad way.

catweazle wrote: »
    As regards your weight battles, I was telling the mrs after you were talking to her that fella is trying to lose 5 kilos .........."where off his ankles"?.

What?! I have fat ankles?? Damn I thought that was the one part of me in check! :pac:

Sunday 12th June

Plan Galway COPE Sprint Tri
    Actual Galway COPE Sprint Tri

Arrived in Galway late Sat night, it was only then I realised that I forgot my tri suit :rolleyes: The SOS went out and between P Gibbo, Ronánmac and Catweazle they sorted me out-a real team effort thanks lads! My sisters apartment was right across from transition so it was my intention to get registered early and get a prime transition position (the less running with bike in hand the better imo).

Race Report

TBH I came here looking for a podium. I've just wanted that feeling for once and I knew this was my best chance of the year. I was up at 6am and had my usual pre-race breakie. Got registered and was first into transition so I grabbed what I considered the best location for my steed. At this stage the first drops of rain started to fall. It was only to get worse. Met Catweazle then and so Lidl's finest tri suit it was-actually very comfortable :) Then met Ronánmac, he was in good form but his heel was giving him trouble (hope it held up well dude).Did about 6km warm up on the bike and just started my run warm up when it was race brief time so I cut it short.

Swim

It was a running beach start and I got myself right on the start line. Off we went and I sprinted in hoping to get away from any messing that might occur. We swam straight out and it wasn't so bad as we were protected by the rocks on the left. Once we got to the first left turn then it got really hairy. The swell was massive and I for one could hardly see the bouy's, so I was basically following blindly whoever was in front of me. I starting thinking "..ok forget podium, just get through this swim". Then we took another left towards the beach and as I was sighting I noticed nobody on the beach so I know I wasn't doing too badly. It took forever to get back into shore, Then about 50m ahead of me I saw the lead group starting to get out, I kept swimming all the way in until my chest was nearly touching the sand. A much better exit this weekend. My watch said 12:xx and I heard the locals shouting for local hero Ruaidhrí Geraghty, he was right behind me so I knew I mustn't be doing too bad.

Time 13:17 (14/183) Last year 12:44 (50/192)

T1 Efficient enough in transition but it's getting on the bike I have to work on. Geraghty was beside me and despite me being in first he was out before me.

Time 42 sec; Last Year 1:08

Bike

I must work on mounting. I lost 15 sec here on Geraghty at least. Once I got going though I starting reeling in as many as possible. We had the wind at our backs on the way out. After 7/8 I had caught everybody except Geraghty (or so I thought). I felt I was making progress reeling him in. Then about 200/300m to the turn around I noticed Tom O 'Dowd so I was 3rd not 2nd as I thought. After the turn it was cruel. The head wind really slowed things down.
    There were times I thought Geraghty was pulling away and times I thought I was catching him. I then made the decision to go after him, I know he is a strong runner so I need to catch him and put distance between us to give me any chance of 2nd. Just as we were coming back to the promenade I caught him, right in front of my sisters apartment actually. I went by him (had to nearly pinch myself :o) and I should have kept the hammer down but I let him back and the two of us were shoulder to shoulder along Upper Slathill Road, a photographer got a good pic of this. Despite the crap weather there was a large crowd and of course they were all shouting Geraghty along, I was loving the buzz! Once again he was so much smoother than I dismounting, in fact he gained 10m or so on me here.

Time 33:15 (3/183); Last Year 35:32 (8/192)

T2 Once in T2 I couldn't believe my luck, Geraghty sat down to get his shoe's on, I saw this as my big chance to gain 10-15 sec on him and so I was out of there onto the run in second (actually got 24sec on him here).

Time 56 sec; Last Year 54 sec.

Run

With the HR spiking I had to get the breathing under control with some deep breaths. I was probably going fast but it felt slow against the head wind. Then I started to get into a good rhythm. After about 2k I could hear the footfall of Geraghty. I composed myself with a few deep breaths and said to myself to stick with him as long as possible. He came past me at about 2k mark. I stuck to his shoulder for almost a km but realised that I wasn't going to be able to keep it up. We got such great relief rounding South Park, wind finally at our backs. There were a couple of right hand turn that gave me a chance to see what was going on behind me. I saw 4th place and thought "ok, thats not bad, he is a good bit back". Then with about a km to go I had another look. He was closing for sure. Back onto the foot path and the mind games. "Don't let this go...this will be your only chance this year of a podium....you can't let this go". I was hurting. I picked up the pace again when I really thought I couldn't. I was in oxygen dep for the last 500m. I had another quick glance with 300m to go, he had begun his kick. With the finish in sight I decided it was time to empty the tank. To my delight I had a strong kick and sprinted home 4 secs ahead of 4th place. It was pretty cool with the big crowd (what semed like anyway) encouraging us all the way to the end. I then asked the guy taking the numbers manually were I'd come and he said 4th :eek::mad: My heart sank. If that had been the case I would have been devastated. But I knew he was wrong and other lads knew it too. Thank god he was.

Time 19:23 (6/183); Last Year 20:02 (10/192)

Overall 1:07:34 (3/183, 2nd AG); Last Year 1:11:54 (9/192)

For once I was hanging around afterwards for a prize. I still wasn't sure though if I got 3rd until it was announced. Nice to get something back and if I'm honest I was thrilled :). It wasn't an NS or anything but still I felt I had had a really good race and pushed Geraghty as much as I could. Or did I (see below)? So Linda is finishing exams on Tuesday so I'll use the cheque for a nice meal and a small celebration.

I was delighted with my bike, I was only 7 sec behind O Dowd and 2 behind Geraghty.

Just a couple of things:

1) I should have had the confidence to really have a go at Geraghty earlier on the bike. I feel I could have got him earlier and tried to put some distance between us. Maybe not, but I'll never know now.

2) I have to over the taper period practice mounting and dismounting, I'm so bad it's embarressing :o

3) A good mate of mine told me yesterday that he made 40 sec on me in transitions in Athy, I only beat him by 30sec so I have to work on transitions too.

These are just the small details that I need work on. If I can take care of them over the next two weeks then the rest should take care of itself :)

Thanks again to the lads for sorting me out. Fair play to Catweazle and Ronán who both had great races in horrible conditions. Fair play also to the organisers and marshal's they were terrific on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

Fantastic stuff, super biking and running. I've seen Geraghty's name well up on a few results this year so your mixing it with the right company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Sweet. Great racing. From what I have just read you gave it your all (although you feel you gave have gave another small percentage). Delighted for you with the podium finish. Well Done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,725 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Savage stuff, fair play on the podium. 19.23 is great running off the bike.

Make sure to say hi on wednesday night - i ll be in a black and red northwave jersey. See you then.

Congrats on the podium finish, well deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Nice report. Made good reading.

Do you ever go to a race fully organised or without forgetting something??? :rolleyes:

That was savage racing, I felt the pulse of it in our report. You have to have been pushing like an animal to battle with him on the bike and to still be on his shoulder at 2k. I'm no slouch on the bike and he put nearly 2 mins into me at Joey then ran something like 35 off it :eek: I reckon you will be giving Bambaata a run for his money next!

Well done on the podium El D, its been coming and thoroughly deserved!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

Cracking report El D, and cracking race. You were looking strong the two times I saw you (going the opposite direction on the bike and run!). I'm looking forward to seeing where you're going with this rate of improvement, it's very impressive. That said, I think a good 15% of your podium place is down to Catweazle's Lidl suit... make sure you don't give it back though, for your sake and mine :D

kennyb3 wrote: »
    Make sure to say hi on wednesday night - i ll be in a black and red northwave jersey. See you then.

Will do dude, what bike have you again? Not sure whether to go into the second or third group but we'll see.
    pgibbo wrote: »
    Do you ever go to a race fully organised or without forgetting something??? :rolleyes:

Hard as it is to believe I am usually Mr. Organised but recently I've turned into a bit of a feather head.
    That was savage racing, I felt the pulse of it in our report. You have to have been pushing like an animal to battle with him on the bike and to still be on his shoulder at 2k. I'm no slouch on the bike and he put nearly 2 mins into me at Joey then ran something like 35 off it :eek: I reckon you will be giving Bambaata a run for his money next!

Well done on the podium El D, its been coming and thoroughly deserved!

Ha! Not likely dude, I wouldn't know were to start on that one, Bambaata is a different kettle of fish altogether. I will leave ye two to battle things out at the top of the pile!

I think Geraghty in fairness to him was just caught on the hop, he probably knew he wasn't going to win and may have been surprised to have someone pushing him for 2nd. Thanks dude.
    ronanmac wrote: »
    I think a good 15% of your podium place is down to Catweazle's Lidl suit... make sure you don't give it back though, for your sake and mine :D

Too late dude....I gave it back....sorry :(

Weekly Summary Peak Phase Week 1

06 June - 12 June|# sessions|Time hh:mm|Distance kms
    Total|13|11:30|137.6
    Swimming|4|02:55|7,100
    Cycling|3|03:15|104.5
    Running|3|03:40|24
    Strenth/Core/Bikram|3|03:45|N/A

Weight Watch

Last Week 84.6kg
    This Week 84.7kg

Missed Sessions Watch

This Week 3
    Altogether This Block 5
    Overall 22

A 'peak week' only in name. A terrible night sleep and a quad injury concern dictated that I miss 3 sessions. Pity as I was going well this year so far. On the positive side it left me fresh enough for Sunday and the quad seems ok now. Giving up on the sub 80kg weight target for the Euro's, no biggie I will just have to get it as low as I can. Taper will start this week soo I will need to watch what I eat and portion size.

Still not happy with bike milage, running was low this week but usually it's not too bad. The swimming is were the consistency is however.

Peak Phase Week 2

Monday Morn 13th June

Plan Club Swim Session
    Actual Club Swim Session

So up and in the pool for 6, a bit later than usual but at least I got there. I actually found this mornings session one of the toughest since the beginning of the year. Still a great session once I got into it.

Time 1:30
    Dist 3,150m

Mon Eve 13th June

Plan Club Run Prescribed Session
    Actual 8km recovery session

No watch, garmin just a nice easy run. Haven't done a recovery run in a long time. Really enjoyed just running/jogging, took it really easy. Hadn't time to do the prescribed session so I just swapped tomorrow's session and todays.

Time 42 min
    Dist 8km

Will do dude, what bike have you again? Not sure whether to go into the second or third group but we'll see.

Defy 4. It wont make too much odds which really - on that course group 2 will be caught after 2 laps or so id reckon, so i ll do my work until then (no heroics ) then look to hop on the group 3 train and work from there. It just depends how early you want to suffer:D

Tues Morn 14th June

Plan Bike Hill Session
    Actual Nothing

Tues Eve 14th June

Plan Club Run Session
    Actual Nothing

I was just wrecked this morning and these days, so close to the Euro's, it's my body that dictates what I do. I suppose essentially I am now in my taper period, which with 12 days to go I should be anyway.

I missed the evening session as myself and Linda went out for that meal with my cheque from Sunday :cool::)

It really is time I returned to my Goals and Objectives that I set in the first week of Jan. Dreading this for a while because I must have been on something when I came up with them :o They certainly were not SMART and in all honesty I am a little embarrassed by them. I still believe I can reach those heights but they really should have been 18/24 months goals/objectives. Anyway with 6 months of the year down and my first A race fast approaching it's time to look at them again:

Season Goals (Chronological Order)

1. Euro Triathlon Championships, Pontevedra, Spain 25/26th June Top 25% in AG I don't believe I can do this now, especially since I saw the bike course (more on that later) I will do my best though as always and see what happens

2. Galway 70.3 Top 25% in AG Still believe this could happen, all depends on who turns up. I was hoping for a sub 4:50 time but it is actually impossible to predict with that bike and swim course

3. Dublin Marathon Sub 3hr 10min 90% sure I won't be even attempting this. Too close to the HIM and my heart isn't really that set on it. Think I'd be better off concentrating on the cross country season and some IMRA races. Like the IM I think you have to really want it and prepare properly for it

Training Objectives

Overall

-Consistency is key - make 95% of sessions by the end of each training period I must check this out actually, at a guess I'd say I've made 90% so far.

-Weight - currently 88kg, target for A priority race day >80kg Not going to happen. If I got near to 81/82 I'd be happy, plus I don't want to compromise power either

Swim

-Get my 1,000m T-time down to under 16mins Maybe in 2 years time :rolleyes:

-Hold this pace by Galway 70.3 for a 30min swim Funny enough but I am pretty sure I could do this given calm(ish) sea conditions, I have great confidence in my new wet suit

Bike

-Improve my FTP by 15% by Galway 70.3 Only did one test back in Feb so I will test again in July when I go back to base stuff

-Bike split in Euro's - sub 62min (if relatively flat course) Well thats out the window now :rolleyes: Though after last weeks TT I know now that on a flat course and fresh legs I could do this

-Do a sub 30min 20k TT Actually done! Last week on the second half of my 40k TT and once on the turbo when doing the FTP test. So I think I can cross that one off.....:p

Run

-Get 8 PB's

- 800m - 2min 15sec Might Happen
    -1500m - 4min 45sec Should Happen
    -3000m - 10min 30sec Will Happen
    -5k - 17min 59sec Perhaps Next Year
    -8k - 29min 59sec Lucky if I get a crack at it this year
    -10k - 37min 59sec Lucky if I get a crack at it this year
    -Half Marathon - 1hr 29min 59sec I'd love to give this one a bash, will fit in an attempt before the end of the year
    -Marathon - 3hr 09min 59sec Not this year (90% sure)

All stand alone.

Looking Ahead to The ETU Champs Spain

After studying the bike course in more detail on mapmyride http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/33193406 I feel a little better. Anyone know an example of a Cat 5? It ain't as bad as I thought. I was almost 100% sure that I'd now be bringing the Road bike but after closer examination I think the TT will be coming. Road surface looks excellent. Apparently it is 'very technical' so that won't suit me. In Gran Canaria I struggled so badly on technical descents on my TT, the lads were stunned at how poor I was. Pretty sure it is due to a very bad snowboarding accident I had a few years ago...the fear is still there. But because it will be more than likely dry I will chance it, coming back into the town will be hair-raisingly fast!!

I'm glad there is a hill on the run course and we have to do it 4 times. I am very confident running hills.

The swim looks like a nice urban course, not sure what the current there will be like though.

Weds Morn 15th June

Plan Club Swim Session
    Actual Club Swim Session

Feeling strong in the pool this morning. On a real good roll with the swimming. The main set was 15 X 100m off 2:10 trying to hold 1:45. I was coming in on 1:44-1:46, my pacing has improved a lot in the last two months. I feel my RPE was 7, so hopefully by Sept 4th I can do a similar set with a target time of 1:40/100m

Time 1:20
    Dist 2,825m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

Tues Morn 14th June

Run

-Get 8 PB's

- 800m - 2min 15sec Might Happen
    -1500m - 4min 45sec Should Happen
    -3000m - 10min 30sec Will Happen
    -5k - 17min 59sec Perhaps Next Year
    -8k - 29min 59sec Lucky if I get a crack at it this year
    -10k - 37min 59sec Lucky if I get a crack at it this year
    -Half Marathon - 1hr 29min 59sec I'd love to give this one a bash, will fit in an attempt before the end of the year
    -Marathon - 3hr 09min 59sec Not this year (90% sure)
    Some big targets in there, I wouldn't be in a position to comment on many of them, but you're taking care of the bike and swim ones handy enough.
    Curious about the DCM plan, I know you're thinking of knocking it on the head now, but had you planned to ramp up running mileage post Galway 70.3, or put in long (over 15 miles) runs during the 70.3 training. I had a marathon in mind, but couldn't see that I'd have the long miles up by the time I had the 70.3 out of the way. Was thinking therefore of a spring marathon, but it's a long, long winter :(
    As for your running time targets, sub 1:30 half is definitely attainable if you're planning a sub 38 10k, as would the sub 3:10 full marathon.

We have identical targets for the half and full marathon times and without question you are a stronger runner than me so i would say these are well within reach.

ronanmac wrote: »
    Some big targets in there, I wouldn't be in a position to comment on many of them, but you're taking care of the bike and swim ones handy enough.
    Curious about the DCM plan, I know you're thinking of knocking it on the head now, but had you planned to ramp up running mileage post Galway 70.3, or put in long (over 15 miles) runs during the 70.3 training. I had a marathon in mind, but couldn't see that I'd have the long miles up by the time I had the 70.3 out of the way. Was thinking therefore of a spring marathon, but it's a long, long winter :(
    As for your running time targets, sub 1:30 half is definitely attainable if you're planning a sub 38 10k, as would the sub 3:10 full marathon.

I had planned to just make my LSR longer basically. But really by now I should be up to 25km for my LSR's. The fact is I haven't been doing LSR's really in the last 6 weeks. I don't want to start upping my run milage and therefore increase the chance of injury before Galway 70.3. It's just not a good idea for me-someone who has never ever gone over 21.1km. To try and do a 3:10 marathon (on first attempt) I think one needs to respect the distance. Therefore, like you, I was thinking a Spring marathon, Barca perhaps :)
    We have identical targets for the half and full marathon times and without question you are a stronger runner than me so i would say these are well within reach.

Thanks JB, I know the half is but, I genuinely do not have the milage in the legs yet for a marathon. I may work on that over the winter though...could be coming to both you and Macanri for advice yet ;)

Weds Afternoon 15th June

Plan Core/Rolling Session
    Actual Core/Rolling Session

35 minutes of core and rolling-especially the troublesome left quad which is kinda re-surfacing. Hopefully the fast approaching taper will give it time to sort itself out.

Time 0:35
    Dist 7km (bike commute)

Nice to meet you tonight, that was epic fun. Was delighted with how it went - I picked a good wheel (Raam) and just followed it around the last lap - that experience for ya tho and knowing the lads. You were right there all the way and seemed to be going very well. The technical bits just take a bit of getting use to esp when the pace goes mental like that on the last lap.

I had loads of digs but all closed down, anytime anyone bridged they just brought the bunch along. When you came across i was so tempted to keep plowing but we need one or two stronger bigger lads for the flat. The little guy in red was only sandbagging anyway and wouldnt come through so know way the 2 of us would of kept it going.

Was great craic anyway, pity the pace was so up and down, we could of stayed away had we worked more the first lap as we were motoring after that. Hope you enjoyed it mate, no doubt i ll see you at one again soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭kingQuez

Great result in COPE and a very nice report, just catching up on the log now. Well done!

kingQuez wrote: »
    Great result in COPE and a very nice report, just catching up on the log now. Well done!

Thanks KQ, I was delighted. Now to the next phase of my diabolical plan of world triathlon domination mwahaha:pac:

Weds Eve 15th June

Plan Swords League Race No. 9
    Actual Swords League Race No. 9

Race Report

Met with Kennyb before the race and great to see him in such good nick. He gave me some good pointers and a run down of the lap. The last time I saw KB was when he was leaving me for dead in the Simon 8k race last Oct :)

Competed in my 3rd league race of the year last night, one of which was a TT. This was my 3rd proper road race though and still learning/getting used to them.

I went with group 2, my plan was to try and get an idea of the course, it was a four lap affair and there was a nice mixture of ups and downs, flat and really bad road surfaces :rolleyes:

We headed off about 5 minutes after group one, I had totally forgot how these races take off, before I knew it I was losing touch with the group after a km :eek: I didn't panic and just woke up and caught up with them, using more energy than I would have liked this early in the race. We got motoring then for a while but the pace was very much up and down, having to tap on the brakes quite a bit. I'm not used to this group racing but if I had to say something it was that we were not working well as a group. I took my first turn at the top going up the 3 sisters (I think-the hill after the left turn??) I was feeling fine and comfortable. I noted one part of the circuit - a quick right turn (chicane of sorts) followed by left and up a hill. Most guys seemed to accelerate into this section but I was slowing going into it and then really pushed going up the hill to keep contact. This was to be my downfall on lap 4.

We were about 3 min down on group 1 after the first lap. I'm used of TT'ing and a nice constant speed (as much as possible) but this continuous accelerating/decelerating was proving a little frustrating at times. Especially when accelerating out of a corner going up a hill and finding you just had to sit back down again. This meant losing momentum thus making going up the hill more difficult and less efficient. Again on the second lap I found myself at the top of the group going up the 3 sisters.

Half way around lap 3 I noticed KB had gone out on his own at the top, I said to myself 'can't leave him on his own go after him and see if anybody comes with'. When I caught up with KB I asked him how he was feeling and if it was worth a go, he said, and rightly so, 'probably not, there isn't enough of us'. A young lad did follow but wasn't taking his turn, at least we pushed the pace a bit. I continued to push hard enough after being caught especially after the school, I tired to take the chicane as fast as I could in prep for what would be the most important part of the course on the last lap imo.

We were caught by group 3/4 half way around lap 4 and I was chuffed to be able to up my speed to match theirs. This is were the race really began. You could really feel the sense of anticipation. I took a turn or two at the top at this stage but when we got to the more tech bits I was losing ground. I would make it up again but when we got to the chicane I was rightly caught out and by now the top of the group was too far away. When we took the last left onto the finishing straight which was flat I went all out. I've never been involved in a sprint finish and I was delighted to find out I had a decent sprint in me. Caught loads and just got in at the back of the main bunch of sprinters, top 20 or so I'd say.

Really enjoyed it and learned loads. My weakness is cornering, descents and in general technical bits, these races are perfect for me to improve and even last night I found I improved on each lap.

Thanks to the marshall and organisers on the night too.

Time 2:00
    Dist 64km (incl wu and cd)

kennyb3 wrote: »
    Nice to meet you tonight, that was epic fun. Was delighted with how it went - I picked a good wheel (Raam) and just followed it around the last lap - that experience for ya tho and knowing the lads. You were right there all the way and seemed to be going very well. The technical bits just take a bit of getting use to esp when the pace goes mental like that on the last lap.

I had loads of digs but all closed down, anytime anyone bridged they just brought the bunch along. When you came across i was so tempted to keep plowing but we need one or two stronger bigger lads for the flat. The little guy in red was only sandbagging anyway and wouldnt come through so know way the 2 of us would of kept it going.

Was great craic anyway, pity the pace was so up and down, we could of stayed away had we worked more the first lap as we were motoring after that. Hope you enjoyed it mate, no doubt i ll see you at one again soon

Great to meet you too KB and thanks for all the advice. I got caught out in the end due to my cornering/handling skills but other than that I felt strong and well able. Unreal how quick you are getting back up to speed and your bit of experience really showing. Well done dude impressive stuff last night....and what fun :D