Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[CoD MW3] General News and Discussion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

AdamD wrote: »
    :|:|:|

they were both overpowered. 74u got patched, famas did not.

unless i'm mistaken the famas was also patched at some point

RGDATA! wrote: »
    unless i'm mistaken the famas was also patched at some point

Unsuccessfully then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

:|:|:|

they were both overpowered. 74u got patched, famas did not.

I'll put it to you this way, at MLG, playing for money, most teams used 4x Famas. No smgs. That's when you know theres something wrong. On mw3 there will never be a situation like that, I've never seen such a variety of guns in competitive play as in mw3, in fairness to the game.

Im not arguing that they weren't the best guns, its a shooter... there HAS to be a best gun... its the same with every game really. What happened when they nerf'd/banned the 74u ? Everyone used the MP5K... because it was better than the other SMG's.

I asked you this before but you didn't reply.... why exactly is it a problem if everyone uses the same guns in competitive play ? I've played A LOT of competitive shooters at a high level and there was never any whinging about people using the best guns... cs for example has been the most successful competitive shooter since its release(11/12 years ago) and most of the guns are never used... consistancy is far better than variety for competitive play (Unless the game is boring as **** and you want something to spice it up). Everyone using different guns = it coming down to stats and figures instead of skill and tactics. And as for everyone using the famas in competitive play, it reminds me of WoW (WHatever ! :P) in that at the topend, the best players will change their entire playstyle/gear for just 1 or 2 % increase in performance if their old build/playstyle was effected by a patch. I seriously don't get why anyone would complain about their being a cookie cutter setup for competitive play, really don't.

Fair play if people are using lots of different guns in MW3 tho, however.. its a VERY new game.. takes time for things to settle down.

I never said there was anything wrong with people using the same gun, though there is tbh.
    There is a big difference between being the 'best gun' and being an 'overpowered gun'.

Lets take the mw2 Famas. It was the 'best gun', but the ACR could keep up with it, and the UMP was also used due to it being better than the Famas in close quarters. That's an example of a gun being the 'best' but not being overpowered. In competitive play you would have seen 2 Ars + 2 smgs.

Now lets take the Famas from Bops. This was the best gun, but also overpowered. It was better than smgs up close, therefore removing the need for an smg, making the game 4 x famas. - Overpowered.

There's far more tactics involved in a game with 2xAR and 2xSMG than 4x 1 gun too. People have to play different roles etc

I never said there was anything wrong with people using the same gun, though there is tbh.
    There is a big difference between being the 'best gun' and being an 'overpowered gun'.

Lets take the mw2 Famas. It was the 'best gun', but the ACR could keep up with it, and the UMP was also used due to it being better than the Famas in close quarters. That's an example of a gun being the 'best' but not being overpowered. In competitive play you would have seen 2 Ars + 2 smgs.

Now lets take the Famas from Bops. This was the best gun, but also overpowered. It was better than smgs up close, therefore removing the need for an smg, making the game 4 x famas. - Overpowered.

There's far more tactics involved in a game with 2xAR and 2xSMG than 4x 1 gun too. People have to play different roles etc

Meh... i guess its kind of silly for me to discuss competitive CoD since i really don't know anything about it and comparing it to a skill based shooter like cs isn't ideal i guess where 1 on 1 situations come down to gamesense and aim, not whos got the best weapon (Well... on buy rounds anyway ! :D). I understand your point about the 2xAR/SMG thing and looking back at blops i'd probably pick the Famas over the MP5K even in close combat.. shame they nerf'd the AK74u i guess !

Im sure the type95 doesn't reign supreme over the SMG's in MW3 tho ? I thought the MP7(?) and PP90M(? The gas gun !) were much better in close maps and like you said theres a few other good AR's. For public play... if people have K/D's much higher on the type95 than the other AR's then i guess their would be no arguing that either tho.

Magill wrote: »
    Meh... i guess its kind of silly for me to discuss competitive CoD since i really don't know anything about it and comparing it to a skill based shooter like cs isn't ideal i guess where 1 on 1 situations come down to gamesense and aim, not whos got the best weapon (Well... on buy rounds anyway ! :D). I understand your point about the 2xAR/SMG thing and looking back at blops i'd probably pick the Famas over the MP5K even in close combat.. shame they nerf'd the AK74u i guess !

Im sure the type95 doesn't reign supreme over the SMG's in MW3 tho ? I thought the MP7(?) and PP90M(? The gas gun !) were much better in close maps and like you said theres a few other good AR's. For public play... if people have K/D's much higher on the type95 than the other AR's then i guess their would be no arguing that either tho.
    Type doesn't outdo smgs since the patch (is banned on eues/decerto anyway), MP7 and PP90 are both good, can't decide which is better atm :P

On other games I see your point, like on Kz2 we played with only 1 gun, rfom was obviously based around the carbine etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Creasy_bear

I thought the type95 was pretty good... but... can people back up their claim that it is so overpowered with cold hard facts ???

Hightower + Creasybear..... can you link your cod elite page so we can check... im expecting your stats for hte type95 to be through the roof... i'll take a lack of reply as proof that they aren't.

BLOPs was the same, everyone whinging about the 74u + famas yet the FACTS showed that the only stat which was imbalanced was how much people used them.

I don't have cod elite. I cannot understand how anyone would pay for that ****e. What I can tell you is......I used the type95 just before christmas I think it was, this was after the "patch". I hadn't used it since my first preistge. Two games of team death match.

25/1
    19/3

The gun is joke if your accuracy is half decent.

Widening the hip-spread I think is what they did?

They need to take away the rapid fire.

I don't have cod elite. I cannot understand how anyone would pay for that ****e. What I can tell you is......I used the type95 just before christmas I think it was, this was after the "patch". I hadn't used it since my first preistge. Two games of team death match.

25/1
    19/3

The gun is joke if your accuracy is half decent.

Widening the hip-spread I think is what they did?

They need to take away the rapid fire.

You don't have to pay for elite !! :D

Those scores don't really mean anything to me other than you had a good game.. unless you never get those type of scores with any other gun !

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

So I just used it there, the infamous Type 95 for a few games.

Only 1st prestige, lack of playing time innit. I've only ever unlocked RDS for it once, and that was just there. But once I stopped rushing around after the first game, it was easy mode... much like the Famas in MW2. I was playing a bit crap beforehand admittedly but scores were back to where I'd expect. Simply put, I was just picking off people at will.

The reason I'am not overly bothered about it... I rarely see it and rarely killed by it. Yeah selfish outlook I know. Now I have used the M16 in MW3, the other 3 burst rifle and compared to that.. the difference is incredible especially factoring in previous COD games where the M16 was all powerful.

I rather they fixed the travesty that is the spawn system and give us some decent feckin maps than worry about the guns at this particular moment in time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭hightower1

Hightower + Creasybear..... can you link your cod elite page so we can check... im expecting your stats for hte type95 to be through the roof... i'll take a lack of reply as proof that they aren't.

Elite wont log me in via URL so I had to screen cap the xbox app.

So from a total kills of 9675 kills so far......

WP_000137.jpg

You can see that 90 have been from picked up type 95s.
    (compare that to the g36c - 1800 kills - arguably one of the most average guns in game which requires skill to use as you have to actually engage in firefights rather that point and click one burst kills)

WP_000135.jpg

And for added effect, the overpowered FMGs have a grand total of ..... 9 kills by me. You see, I practice what I preach. There is no skill in using type 95s or fmgs, they are globally known as overpowered and using them just adds to the problem. Im not a great player, Im pretty average but if Im to get better I'll do so by a fair playing field and not relying on inept and slow actions of developers leaving in and not patching overpowered guns.

WP_000136.jpg

...... Care to show your stats for the same weapons???? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Creasy_bear

You don't have to pay for elite !! :D

Those scores don't really mean anything to me other than you had a good game.. unless you never get those type of scores with any other gun !

you don't have to pay for it? there you go.....

that tells you how much I give a fcuk about stats on a video game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

So I just used it there, the infamous Type 95 for a few games.

Only 1st prestige, lack of playing time innit. I've only ever unlocked RDS for it once, and that was just there. But once I stopped rushing around after the first game, it was easy mode... much like the Famas in MW2. I was playing a bit crap beforehand admittedly but scores were back to where I'd expect. Simply put, I was just picking off people at will.

The reason I'am not overly bothered about it... I rarely see it and rarely killed by it. Yeah selfish outlook I know. Now I have used the M16 in MW3, the other 3 burst rifle and compared to that.. the difference is incredible especially factoring in previous COD games where the M16 was all powerful.

I rather they fixed the travesty that is the spawn system and give us some decent feckin maps than worry about the guns at this particular moment in time.

I couldnt tell you how many times I've been killed by the type 95, must be less than a dozen I remember, akimbo fmgs I do encounter a lot but rarely burst fire weapons tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Thomasheen

krudler wrote: »
    I couldnt tell you how many times I've been killed by the type 95, must be less than a dozen I remember, akimbo fmgs I do encounter a lot but rarely burst fire weapons tbh.

This exactly its a burst fire weapon which instantly turns alot of people off. You need to have good aim to use it properly. I the hands of a good player its a powerful weapon but in the hands of your standard cod player it will hinder more so than help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,181 ✭✭✭✭klose

IMO type 95 is only good at range for picking off people, up close your usually pissing against the wind cause it has to be dead on with hip hire as there's no time to a.d.s.

Fmg9s are only useful akimbo, tried using em regularly there pants. I've a few classes with em akimbo because it's either that or get killed most the time. The only thing that stops em really is bad initial accuracy or getting dropshotted (ohhhhh dropshotting)

Mostly rocking the mp5 or pp90m1 thing.

Errrrthings op from what I read bar the handguns..

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

krudler wrote: »

That slipped my mind for a sec. Yup totally agree with you, akimbo FMG's most certainly need to be patched first and foremost re: OP guns. Not one doubt about that. I do get frustrated when being killed by them I'll admit as the range and accuracy is beyond comprehension and shouldn't be winning gun fights. Skorpions (looking at Xcal's vids only) and MP9 are alright, seems more bullets are needed for both to get the kill.

9887 kills
    4576 deaths

304 wins
    167 losses

2269 Type 95 kills
    28 FMG kills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

I've over 11,000 kills and just less than 2,000 are with FMG's. Who gives a fück. I moan about them all the time for being overpowered. To combat that, I use them myself.

hightower1 wrote: »
    Elite wont log me in via URL so I had to screen cap the xbox app.

So from a total kills of 9675 kills so far......

WP_000137.jpg

(compare that to the g36c - 1800 kills - arguably one of the most average guns in game which requires skill to use as you have to actually engage in firefights rather that point and click one burst kills)

WP_000135.jpg

And for added effect, the overpowered FMGs have a grand total of ..... 9 kills by me. You see, I practice what I preach. There is no skill in using type 95s or fmgs, they are globally known as overpowered and using them just adds to the problem. Im not a great player, Im pretty average but if Im to get better I'll do so by a fair playing field and not relying on inept and slow actions of developers leaving in and not patching overpowered guns.

WP_000136.jpg

...... Care to show your stats for the same weapons???? :rolleyes:

Are you drunk or just stup... nvm. You've just proved my point.

I asked for screenshots of your stats so that YOU can back up your claim of how overpowered the type95 and FMG's are, i personally don't give a flying **** what guns people use, its a bloody game..... your stats clearly show that they aren't as overpowered as you make them out to be... your K/D is about the same for all those AR's and thats not even the top of your list !

If they were as overpowered as you claim.. surely you're stats with said guns would be much better than the rest of the weapons ?

Personally i think the type95 is probably the best gun for long/medium range in the game... but not by as much as you seem to think.

I've over 11,000 kills and just less than 2,000 are with FMG's. Who gives a fück. I moan about them all the time for being overpowered. To combat that, I use them myself.

Is a bit ridiculous considering that they are a secondary weapon..

Are you drunk or just stup... nvm. You've just proved my point.

I asked for screenshots of your stats so that YOU can back up your claim of how overpowered the type95 and FMG's are, i personally don't give a flying **** what guns people use, its a bloody game..... your stats clearly show that they aren't as overpowered as you make them out to be... your K/D is about the same for all those AR's and thats not even the top of your list !

If they were as overpowered as you claim.. surely you're stats with said guns would be much better than the rest of the weapons ?

Personally i think the type95 is probably the best gun for long/medium range in the game... but not by as much as you seem to think.

My point was that I dont use these....like....at all. They are overpowered so I wont set them to any class. We already know they are overpowered or do you think the community at large are wrong and your right?

There is no question that they are overpowered, hell, do a fricking google search and just see! Go on, type "MW3 FMG" or "MW3 TYPE 95" and see whats listed as the top three returns on those keywords.(something you cannot do with literally any other gun in mw3) Look at the stream of those twitter comments asking when are they to be patched?

Yeah, I suppose your right and the majority vote are wrong :rolleyes:

The big question is who uses them , who needs overpowered guns and who knows they are overpowered and tries justifying using them to themselves? Sure as sh1t aint me, see I've a bit of a backbone and wont give in to using broken sh1t to be competitive, I'll do that with normally balanced weapons thanks. Now, you wanna throw out your screen shots for the same weapons???? Something tells me your stats on them would show a shamefull amount of use.

Also, I cant see how your making a point of them not being overpowered as I have a 2.0 kd with them, I have used the weapons quite literally a handful of times, do you expect someone to be proficient with a weapon after what could amount to three games use??? You give anyone a real amount of time with those weapons and you 'll see a ridiculous KD ratio but I sure as hell arent gonna be that noob.

What a great attitude to have, so we will all use the obvious choice overpowered weapons to combat the obvious imbalance and that'll be really fun! :rolleyes: Its a kin to the "she hit me so I hit her" argument children have with their parents. Its a flimsy excuse.

• This content has been removed.

Playing competitively (where all that craps banned) >

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

What a great attitude to have, so we will all use the obvious choice overpowered weapons to combat the obvious imbalance and that'll be really fun! :rolleyes: Its a kin to the "she hit me so I hit her" argument children have with their parents. Its a flimsy excuse.

Why would I, by choice, put myself at a disadvantage?

My point was that I dont use these....like....at all. They are overpowered so I wont set them to any class. We already know they are overpowered or do you think the community at large are wrong and your right?

There is no question that they are overpowered, hell, do a fricking google search and just see! Go on, type "MW3 FMG" or "MW3 TYPE 95" and see whats listed as the top three returns on those keywords.(something you cannot do with literally any other gun in mw3) Look at the stream of those twitter comments asking when are they to be patched?

Yeah, I suppose your right and the majority vote are wrong :rolleyes:

The big question is who uses them , who needs overpowered guns and who knows they are overpowered and tries justifying using them to themselves? Sure as sh1t aint me, see I've a bit of a backbone and wont give in to using broken sh1t to be competitive, I'll do that with normally balanced weapons thanks. Now, you wanna throw out your screen shots for the same weapons???? Something tells me your stats on them would show a shamefull amount of use.

Also, I cant see how your making a point of them not being overpowered as I have a 2.0 kd with them, I have used the weapons quite literally a handful of times, do you expect someone to be proficient with a weapon after what could amount to three games use??? You give anyone a real amount of time with those weapons and you 'll see a ridiculous KD ratio but I sure as hell arent gonna be that noob.
    god..... so much eeffffort !

lol, not that i give a fook... but i really don't/didn't use them that often.

Just over 9000kills, 290 type95 and 240FMG

gunsx.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Dude your most used gun for mw2 was the ump which was/is considered the most over-powered gun in the game.

Who cares what weapons people use whether you or any one else thinks that they are op .

Play the game and have fun .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Gandalph

So what are the overpowered loadouts for me to use and feed on tears?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Thomasheen

Played again today for a bit. The game has its fun moments but alot of bs. My bit*h from today is the support streaks. They are almost as bad as death streaks imo. At the end of every game at least 2 stealth bombers and an emp came in from people going negative in tdm's. Why should they be rewarded for playing terrible? Really annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭CptMackey

Thomasheen wrote: »
    Played again today for a bit. The game has its fun moments but alot of bs. My bit*h from today is the support streaks. They are almost as bad as death streaks imo. At the end of every game at least 2 stealth bombers and an emp came in from people going negative in tdm's. Why should they be rewarded for playing terrible? Really annoying

Stealth bomber shouldn't be a support killstreaks. That and emp should only last 30 secs.

Wrecks my head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

CptMackey wrote: »
    Stealth bomber shouldn't be a support killstreaks. That and emp should only last 30 secs.

Wrecks my head

"emp ready for use!"
    "enemy osprey gunner inbound!"
    *click*

tumblr_lvfovkv8h21qaq3rpo2_500.png

no osprey for you good sir!